Connect with us

19th Hole

Congress members blast ‘pimp’ Greg Norman in meeting at Capitol Hill

Published

on

On Wednesday, LIV Golf CEO Greg Norman met with members of congress to discuss LIV’s current dispute with the PGA TOUR.

It didn’t go very well.

According to multiple sources, Republican Tim Burchett of Tennessee walked out of the meeting due to an inability to understand Norman due to his accent as well as the “propaganda” he felt Norman was sharing.

Burchett later sent a tweet himself about the meeting with “The Shark”.

Burchett wasn’t the only member of congress to give Norman a hard time.. Chip Roy of Texas said to reporters of the meeting: “Don’t come in here and act like you’re doing some great thing, while you’re pimping a billion dollars of Saudi Arabian money,”

It’s unclear whether or not any of the lawmakers gave Norman the reception he was looking for, but he did later thank them for meeting with him via an Instagram post.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Greg Norman (@shark_gregnorman)

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 38
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL15
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK48

7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: ‘Intentional grounding?’ – Marshal at the Presidents Cup gets more than a little carried away – GolfWRX

  2. Hmmm

    Sep 23, 2022 at 1:28 pm

    Fake news…

  3. Chuck

    Sep 22, 2022 at 1:53 pm

    Looking for confirmation on this…

    Greg Norman has remained an Australian citizen his entire life; while living in the U.S. for decades, and with U.S.-citizen wives and children and grandchildren, he is not a naturalized U.S. citizen himself.

    And real estate news stories in 2021 indicated that Norman had sold his Jupiter Island compound and his Colorado Ranch. It’s not clear to me that he owns an American home any more. But the important thing was his stated intention to move back to Australia permanently before his LIV Golf gig began.

    Greg Norman’s founding fathers weren’t Jefferson, Madison and Hamilton. They were King George III, Viscount Sydney, Queen Victoria and Lord Melbourne.

    GolfWRX Australians, what say you?

  4. Chuck

    Sep 22, 2022 at 11:39 am

    Lol.

    This story simply telegraphs the over-confidence that Norman probably felt, after hobnobbing with the Trumps after they have gotten further into partnering with LIV and the Saudis.

    Norman would certainly have known that Tim Finchem was a former DC lobbyist and attorney; that Finchem’s greatest success as PGAT Commissioner was Finchem’s ability to get fantastically favorable federal (incl. tax) treatment for the Tour. Finchem-as-PGAT lobbyist is the stuff of legend in professional golf.

    And so, carrying the Trump flag, Norman probably thought that he could go to a reliably Trumpist body like the RSC (which stands for Republican Study Committee) which is led by and which consists of the most pro-Trump extremists in the House, and perhaps get some good press.

    Little did Norman understand the local politics wherein the PGAT has a big presence still in Ponte Vedra Beach FL, a new headquarters in Frisco TX, and entrenched loyalties all over the USA. Plus, the shadow of what is likely a very agitated Tim Finchem.

    Every turn; every public relations move; it is disaster for LIV. It is a business school (or perhaps law school too) case study in how not to do things.

    • LP

      Sep 23, 2022 at 6:54 am

      Little Chuck has no idea what he is talking about. Another PGA Tour mouth heard from.

      • TDBach

        Sep 23, 2022 at 9:56 am

        Dear LP,

        We’ll pay you for your trolling post, because we’re obliged to by contract. But if you can’t come up with something more…persuasive… in the future, we will cancel your contract, or, if our attorneys say that won’t be possible, come visit you at your home. As-salaam.

        LIV Management

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

‘What’s going on?’ – Justin Thomas left frustrated with two officials over ruling at Hero

Published

on

During Thursday’s first round of the Hero World Challenge, Justin Thomas called for a rules official and subsequently, a second opinion, on the par-5 9th at Albany Golf Club.

The players were playing lift-clean-and-place, and Thomas’ ball came to rest about 5o yards short of the green in an area where it was difficult to identify if the ball was sitting in the fairway or the rough. The ball had gathered some mud, so if the rules official had decided that his ball was in fact in the rough, he would have to hit a pretty difficult shot given the condition on his golf ball.

“Basically, what’s going on?” Thomas asked the official.

The official told Thomas that the change of color in the grass was indicative of the change of fairway to rough, and therefore he would have to hit his ball as it lied. Thomas argued that the grass was cut to the same length in both spots, therefore the color didn’t matter.

“But you see, what I’m saying, this is also beat down from the carts, but look at how much longer this is than this,” he said before walking over to the thicker grass. “Like see, this is the same height [where his ball was and the apparent fairway.] I totally see it’s down grain and it’s a totally different color, but … the change of the length of grass is just what kind of confused me.”

After relief was denied by the official, “JT” called for a second opinion. While waiting for another official to show up, Thomas was heard saying to his caddie Jim “Bones” Mackay, ““It’s the same exact length, this is not rough.”

When the second rules official came over, he said: “I can see the cutline right here,” and pointed to the different shades of grass that the other official mentioned.

Thomas accepted the decision.

Interestingly, announcer Paul Azinger shared his opinion that the second rules official almost never will disagree with the first rules official’s ruling.

“That second opinion almost never works,” Azinger said to Dan Hicks during the broadcast.

“Really?” Hicks asked.

“Never,” Azinger said. “Very rarely will an official go against another official.”

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Data shows how much more difficult green become as the day progresses

Published

on

For many a golf bettor, betting on the first round leader of any tournament revolves around the early starters.

Even a cursory look at this week’s Australian Open shows the morning wave averaging 1.73 shots better than the afternoon players, resulting in 18 early starters finishing in the top-10 by the end of the day, including current leader David Micheluzzi.

However, over on the South African Open, the roles are reversed, with current leader Thirston Lawrence taking up one of 15 places on the front page of leaderboard for the late starters, who shot around half-a-shot less than the morning groups.

Naturally, there are many factors – wind, temperature, dew, grass-types and, potentially, overall quality of the groupings, but these are variables that can change from day to day.

Step in Lou Stagner, data lead of Arccos Golf and all-round numbers guru.

Stagner does not deal in emotion or factors that cannot be measured. It’s facts, figures and that’s your lot!

He will tell you that from the fairway, 80-yards from the pin, professionals simply don’t get as close as many believe:

On Wednesday, the man who once built a Lego model of Augusta #12, tweeted a table showing the variance in putts made by PGA Tour members under morning and afternoon conditions.

Taking stats over 17 years, the table shows an advantage to the early starters, not by much, but enough to consider.

There are plenty of places to take the stats, with a few respondents asking for a table on grass types through the day – Bent v Bermuda v POA – and that will probably turn up on Stanger’s twitter feed soon.

Of course, on a Sunday, later starters have the pressure of trying to win a tournament, which is why we tend to see flashy rounds from those a few off the pace on Payday, but it is enough to consider when trying to get that illusive three-figure first (or second) round leader.

Either way, two-time major champion, and regular tweeter Justin Thomas, decided this was his chance to get in an early excuse when he’s off late in the day.

Make of what you will. Perhaps the stats will one day include how many of these are for par saves against birdie putts, or is that too much?

Either way, Stagner continues to bombard us with stats that delight and entertain, and that can be no bad thing. Unless you are a buddy of Lou’s…

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Cam Smith fumes at ‘pretty s****y’ opening round at Australian Open

Published

on

After an incredible week at the Fortinet Australian PGA Championship, Cameron Smith is off to a rough start at the Australian Open. The Champion Golfer of the Year struggled to hit fairways all day long and finished his round at +1 which is eight shots back of first-round leader David Micheluzzi (-7).

Smith, who received a massive ovation from the crowd, was extremely displeased, calling his play “pretty shitty” as he went from his post-round press conference to the practice range. The 29-year-old also said it was “as bad as I’ve played in a long time”.

“I don’t think it was a mixed bag, I think it was all rubbish to be honest,”

“Maybe some delayed tiredness, maybe. I did feel a little bit foggy out there at times, but it’s not really an excuse, it’s my job to do all that stuff.”

Despite the uninspiring round, the world number three still feels as if he can get back into the event and contend.

“It’s not like I don’t know how to play golf, it was just a bit of a bad day.”

“I’ve just got a few things to clean up, I think. Like I said last week [at the Australian PGA Championship], I felt as though the golf got better every day.”

The Aussie is incredible at recovery shots and finding his way out of trouble. But if he wants to be the first player to win the Australian PGA and Australian Open in the same season since 2011, he needs to start putting the ball in the fairway.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending