Connect with us

19th Hole

Leading analyst believes Tiger could retire at 2022 Open Championship

Published

on

In 2015, Tiger Woods made it clear just how much he loves the Old Course at St. Andrews, revealing he wants to play the course backwards in his lifetime.

”It’s brilliant–how you can play it so many different ways.” said Tiger “I’ve always wanted to play it one time–before I die I want to play it one time backwards.

”I want to play from 1 to 17, 2 to 16, so forth and so on. I’d love to be able to play it that way just one time. That would be just a blast because I can see how certain bunkers–why would they put that there? ”

There has been lots of water under the Swilken Bridge since then but at a recent press conference during the Hero Championship, hosted by Tiger, the 15-time Major winner confirmed he ”would love to be able to play that Open Championship (150th anniversary), there’s no doubt. Physically, hopefully I can,” he said.

”The tournament’s not going to go anywhere, but I need to get there.”

Indeed, Sky Sports golf coach and analyst Simon Holmes, who has worked with the likes of Sir Nick Faldo and Seve Ballesteros,  believes that Woods could even confirm his retirement at the ‘Home of Golf’ in 2022.

Responding to fellow presenter Rob Lee’s thinking that Woods could win a tournament in 2022 – which would make him the winningest golfer in PGA Tour history at 83 wins – Holmes believes Woods may bow out in similar fashion to legends before him, including Jack Nicklaus, the very man that stands in his way for the most Majors won, at 18.

During the final round of the Tournament of Champions on Sky, Holmes replied, “I really hope it doesn’t happen, but it’s something I think that could happen.”

“Jack and Arnie did the same thing on the Swilken Bridge when they played in their last major,” Holmes continued, ”and I could just see Tiger thinking it would be a nice way to go out.”

July 17th sees the Claret Jug being awarded for the 150th running of The Open. It may be memorable for much more besides.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 35
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL11
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP12
  • OB5
  • SHANK81

8 Comments

8 Comments

  1. Tyler Durden

    Jan 13, 2022 at 10:37 pm

    Once again Americans showing what ignorant snowflakes they are.

  2. Prime21

    Jan 12, 2022 at 11:47 pm

    I just wonder where he is considered a LEADING ANALYST ? That & why this was put up as an article for people to read.

  3. JJ

    Jan 12, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    Why would a guy who can play Augusta so well hang it up when he can play a few tournaments a year and likely compete for a number of years on greens he is so good on?

  4. Greg McNeill

    Jan 12, 2022 at 10:06 am

    Man, what passes for a “story” these days…

    • Jerome

      Jan 16, 2022 at 4:18 pm

      GolfWRX doesn’t write stories. They just publish things they find online from their cubicles.

  5. Aztec

    Jan 11, 2022 at 10:02 pm

    Simon Holmes said this??!! Wow…who’s Simon Holmes?

  6. MRduck

    Jan 11, 2022 at 6:10 pm

    I’m think I’m going 2 cry ?

  7. PH

    Jan 11, 2022 at 4:38 pm

    Kindly leave

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Niners star Deebo Samuel wears Tiger Masters winning shirt during playoff win

Published

on

On Sunday, the San Fransisco 49ers defeated the Dallas Cowboys 23-17 to advance to the divisional round of the NFL playoffs.

Niners star Deebo Samuel contributed to the win with 110 all-purpose yards and a rushing touchdown. However, the secret to his success may have come from the shirt he was wearing underneath his uniform.

Samuel was spotted wearing a “TW” Tiger Woods brand red shirt during the game. Woods famously has worn his “Sunday red” in all of his record tying 82 career victories, and it looks to be the mock neck shirt Tiger wore when winning his 15th major.

Perhaps Samuel thought the Sunday red could get the 49ers the victory as well.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

19th Hole

‘Dude..what are you doing? Just stop!’ – Grayson Murray, Kevin Na Twitter spat escalates quickly

Published

on

Over the weekend, the golf world was treated to a good, old-fashioned twitter beef.

PGA Tour players Kevin Na and Grayson Murray exchanged jabs on the social media platform with the golf world tuning in.

Na was the first-round leader after Thursday at the Sony Open and shot an impressive nine-under 61. His performance was noted by reporter Chantel McCabe on Twitter: “Kevin Na walking in putts does not get old.” That’s when it got interesting.

Grayson Murray replied by calling out Na’s slow pace of play:

Na’s response dealt a devastating blow to Murray, as he stated, “u missing the cut is getting old!”. Murray has missed his past seven cuts on Tour.

Ben An and Colt Knost also got in on the action, with An tweeting “Somebody please call an ambulance for Grayson here”, while Knost hit out at Murray, saying “Dude…..what are you doing???? Just stop”

A twitter beef is always a juicy way to start the 2022 PGA Tour season.

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL5
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Kevin Chappell cleverly uses rules to his advantage at Sony Open

Published

on

Golf rules can be incredibly tedious.

However, an intense knowledge of the rules, sub-rules and decisions can often pay dividends, especially if a player doesn’t entirely agree with an on-course official.

Kevin Chappell, currently on a medical exemption and with potentially only a handful of events away from retirement, showed at the Sony Open that there is nothing like an experienced head to get the best out of a round.

After opening with a 63, the 35-year-old wasn’t able to keep pace with the low scoring that occurred for the next three days but showed during the third round that he will never leave a shot out there because of the rule book.

On the 9th hole, the two-time winner had already taken relief from a cart path after an errant tee shot and asked for a similar ruling as he approached the destination of his approach – an almost bare patch in chipping distance from the hole.

After the rules official, Ken Tackett, had refused the initial plea for ground-under-repair, Chappell then asked, ”What about the cart tracks?” and received the same shake of the head.

In went Chappell again. He took another stance and asked, ”That’s not casual water?” Tackett viewed the stance from behind and for the third time refused relief.

”Can you look on the side here?” requested the player, and the official moved just in front of the player, this time allowing not only relief from casual water but also allowing Chappell to lift and clean his ball.

Of course, he then chipped to under seven feet and holed the birdie putt.

If at first you don’t succeed, know your rules and keep going.

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW3
  • LOL1
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending