Connect with us

19th Hole

Pro poker player almost shoots 59 at Korn Ferry Tour Q School

Published

on

If you’ve ever wondered how competitive Korn Ferry Tour Q School is, then wonder no more, as the talent pool is so deep that there are even players with other primary professions blitzing courses every week.

This week it was the turn of Dustin Denzik, a professional poker player, who rocked up to a pre-qualifier for Korn Ferry Tour Q School at Lake Caroline GC in Madison, Miss, and fired a 10-under-par 60.

The round was first reported by Firepit Collective’s Ryan French, who also dug into some info on Denzik’s poker career to date, which includes multiple cashes in World Series of Poker events.

Denzik describes himself as a “scratch golfer, prop bettor” in his World Series of Poker player biography, and he showcased his golf skills last month when he earned $2,350 for finishing T3 at the Kentucky Open.

But his round of 60 this week may be a sign that we could be seeing much more of Denzik in the future and gives him a three-shot lead at Lake Caroline GC – with the top 32 and ties after three rounds advancing to the First Stage.

After that, the Second Stage begins in October, with the Final Stage starting in November – with competitors making it this far guaranteed to be granted some form of Korn Ferry Tour status.

Your Reaction?
  • 48
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW17
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Gianni is the Managing Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Phil Mickelson says it’s harder to win on LIV than PGA Tour in wild (and amusing) Twitter return

Published

on

Phil Mickelson is active once again on Twitter and is spicing things up in typical Lefty fashion.

There are tomes now written about the 52-year-old since last May, when he pulled out of the defence of his PGA Championship crown,  joined LIV, justified the choice, and spoke of never taking part in an interview with Alan Shipnuck. Each story providing its own element of Lefty as we know him.

Over the weekend, Mickelson posted a tweet that most interpreted as a dig at the PGA Tour’s non-shorts policy, saying:

Then the three-time Masters champ has ramped it up, going after the world number one, Rory McIlroy. In a back-handed compliment, Lefty requested that viewers “see if he can finish it off,” while capitalizing the word “Dubai” and making sure everyone knew the event was being held in the middle east.

The replies were biting but, let’s face it, quite amusing!

To the comment that his career has been loaded with Sunday chokes, especially in majors, Mickelson replies, “I have won 6 though,” a jibe at McIlroy with four majors and none since 2014?

Of course, with less than a month to the start of the 2023 LIV calendar, it is time to ramp up interest again, particularly with a brand new broadcasting agreement.

Mickelson even made a cheeky claim that LIV events are tougher than PGA Tour events, since he’s yet to win on LIV but has “won 45 of those PGA thingies.”

Whatever Mickelson might or might not say and how much we are to believe him, he’s doing the job of generating noise if not interest.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 16
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL10
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK23

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Gary McCord explains why he once missed every green ON PURPOSE during a PGA Tour event

Published

on

Gary McCord, who’s eccentric personality made him popular in the CBS broadcasting booth, did an interview with Barstool Sports on the “Foreplay Podcast” last week.

McCord, who also played a role in the movie “Tin Cup” told an interesting story. He wasn’t the most successful player on Tour, but decided there was one record he could break.

Going into the event, McCord was leading the Tour in putting. In order to preserve his lead in that category, he decided to miss every green in regulation.

“I knew at that particular point my career sucked, and it wasn’t going anywhere,” McCord said then. “So, this was the only thing literally I was going to win.”

The “performance” enabled McCord to win the putting title that season with 28.57 putts per round.

McCord tells the full story here:

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW6
  • LOL12
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

‘This guy does not stop’ – Tour pros take aim at Patrick Reed over latest rules controversy

Published

on

The words Patrick Reed and controversy seem to go hand in hand these days, and it continued at the weekend.

During the third round of the delayed Dubai Desert Classic, Reed took a penalty drop after identifying his ball lodged in one of a group of trees. Trouble is, the ball is only identifiable by a specific arrow marking in what appears to be a palm full of golf balls. And, in this case, by binoculars.

If unable to identify his ball, Reed would have needed to go back to the 17th tee to re-load, more than likely causing to him to score double-bogey instead of just the one dropped shot.

The former Masters champion had already found himself embroiled in a debate surrounding his apparel daubed with ‘LIV Golf’, and in a spat with the world number one in Dubai.

Pre-event, video footage showed McIlroy apparently ignoring his greeting when on the practise ground, resulting in a bit of tee-throwing, leading social media to comment we have moved from ‘Tee Gate’ to ‘Tree Gate’ in the space of a few days.

In a statement issued by tournament officials, the DP World Tour confirmed that “two on course referees and several marshals” identified that Reed’s ball had been caught up in the tree.

As shown by the Golf Channel, this is the alleged offending tree, shown with a heap of golf-balls never to be seen again:

Image

The full statement issued reads:

Image

Despite being cleared of any wrongdoing, a couple of DP World Tour pros seemed not best pleased with the incident, with some footage appearing to show Reed’s ball entering a different tree than where he eventually found his ball.

French Tour pro Matthieu Pavon responded to the video of the incident saying: “Wow wrong tree ?! Maybe optical illusion” followed by a laughing emoji. While his compatriot Mike Lorenzo-Vera went a little further stating: “This guy does not stop.”

According to Reed himself, he would have gone back to the tee had he not been 100 percent sure the ball was his.

Ironically, almost a year to the day after being involved in a rule dispute at Torrey Pines, Reed again finds himself as the focus of attention over a drop.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW13
  • LOL11
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB4
  • SHANK38

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending