Connect with us

19th Hole

Symetra Tour player hit with baffling two-stroke penalty

Published

on

While the majority of infractions this year in women’s golf have been down to slow play, over the weekend, Sharmila Nicollet suffered what is likely to be the most uncommon of penalties seen all year.

Nicollet was competing at the Prasco Charity Championship, a Symetra Tour event in the U.S, and was hit with the penalty when her caddie needed to go to the bathroom.

Per Nicollet, the 30-year-old received the two-stroke penalty because her caddy used the cart to go to the restroom, and it’s a penalty that has left golf fans stunned.

The penalty comes under local rule Local Rule G-6, which states: “During a round, a player or caddie must not ride on any form of motorized transportation except as authorized or later approved by the Committee.”

“Golf needs to calm TF down,” wrote one fan on social media, while another added, “Golf needs to take a serious look into some of the rules, which are ridiculous.”

As for those fans mistakenly assuming that Nicollet’s caddie was male, her caddie during the event Nicole Gerome took to social media to correct those fans.

Nicollet went on to finish the event T55.

Your Reaction?
  • 102
  • LEGIT27
  • WOW326
  • LOL40
  • IDHT16
  • FLOP29
  • OB34
  • SHANK480

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected] Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

18 Comments

18 Comments

  1. M Wiggins

    Jul 23, 2021 at 12:38 pm

    Next time just find a tour official, squat down and urinate on their shoes.

  2. geohogan

    Jul 20, 2021 at 8:18 pm

    Those tour bags will hold a , portable , pop up privacy tent, with matching toilet.
    Every caddie should carry one for the next tournament and use them often, to make a statement.

  3. Ffs

    Jul 17, 2021 at 3:39 pm

    Cart riders need to quit golf and leave real golfers like us, alone, and GTFO of commenting saying that the rules are stupid. YOU are stupid. Go play some other sport FFS

    • yawn

      Jul 17, 2021 at 6:58 pm

      It’s not even bait

    • makaveli

      Jul 22, 2021 at 4:31 pm

      You probably haven’t slept a wink since they eased up on the rules over the last few years. As for the caddie taking a cart to the hot house, it speeds up play and its not like carts are some kind of anomaly at a golf course. I would take more umbrage that the player and caddie both spelled caddie wrong, lol.

    • M Wiggins

      Jul 23, 2021 at 12:39 pm

      Semi-finalist in the 2021 Least Convincing Troll Contest.

  4. Jack

    Jul 3, 2021 at 2:50 pm

    caddie is a crude loser, 2 more stroke penalty

  5. gwelfgulfer

    Jun 30, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    Say it ain’t so, golf has stupid rules…

  6. Tinkle

    Jun 30, 2021 at 6:11 pm

    If a caddy used a cart, that means the tournament had a cart available for use.

    Who’s to blame then?

  7. Super Dumb League

    Jun 30, 2021 at 4:36 pm

    So, they want to crack down on slow play, and then they punish a player for something like this? Mixed message? Cognitive dissonance? When the Rules don’t make sense, it’s time to change them.

  8. chip75

    Jun 29, 2021 at 5:30 pm

    I’m not sure social media is the best judge of the rules of golf, they get apoplectic whenever a two-stroke penalty is handed down no matter the rule. Yes, it was a tough ruling (as we often see carts used during playoffs and when players’ need to re-hit), but I’m sure it was written down. It could have been waived too, I doubt the field gained an advantage when their caddy needed to go …

  9. smw

    Jun 29, 2021 at 10:37 am

    so just whip it out and on course next time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Rickie Fowler is the next in line to aim subtle dig at Bryson

Published

on

Following an impressive 64 at 3M Open to hold a share of the 1st round lead, Rickie Fowler joined the many PGA Tour pros to poke fun at Bryson DeChambeau for his controversial comments at last week’s Open.

DeChambeau infamously blasted his Cobra driver, saying “it sucks,” which prompted Cobra rep, Ben Schomin, to respond, “It’s really painful when he says something that stupid.”

Discussing his Thursday round with the media, Fowler commented on how pleased he was with his efforts off the tee.

“That was something that was kind of holding me back from making birdies, moving forward last week. I drove it very poorly Friday and Saturday. It was not my driver’s fault. Had to.”

Who can blame Fowler for getting in on the action, especially since his game seems to be trending in the right direction.

The five-time PGA Tour winner is in search of his first victory since the 2019 Waste Management Phoenix Open. He’s off to an awfully strong start.

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Collin Morikawa had to deal with a very unexpected distraction on his final hole at the Open

Published

on

Golf fans may remember Collin Morikawa stepping away from the tee on the 18th hole at last week’s Open Championship.

On first thought, it seemed like the 24-year old just needed a moment to recalibrate. Yet Morikawa revealed in an interview with Barstool Sports’ Pardon My Take podcast that he stepped away for… another reason.

“Some spectator, at some point in the day, snuck a little old school microphone, like a recording. Threw it underneath one of the marshals around there and started playing these farting noises right as I was about to swing,” Morikawa disclosed.

In typical Morikawa fashion, the two-time major champion was unfazed, and he proceeded to stripe his tee shot down the right-center of the fairway en route to a routine par to win the Open over Jordan Spieth by two strokes.

Morikawa can next be seen representing the United States in the Olympics, as he looks to become the first golfer ever with two major wins and an Olympic Gold Medal.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Nelly Korda spends her off time just like us

Published

on

Newly minted number one golfer in the world, Nelly Korda, is in action this week at the Amundi Evian Championship in France, her first major under that title.

With a hectic schedule of the Evian, the Olympics, AIG Women’s Open and Solheim Cup down the stretch, Korda stressed the importance of de-compressing and taking her mind off golf when she is not in the heat of the battle.

Video games wouldn’t have been our first guess, but Korda reveled on media day that they are an essential aspect of her off the course routine. “Right now, Call of Duty and Modern Warfare,” Korda mentioned when asked what games she plays. “But when I was a kid, I really liked card games, so I may download one of those. Complete nerd coming out of me right now.”

No judgement here. Korda has displayed an admirable level of comfortability on the biggest stage. “You kind of need a way to escape sometimes, so I was like hmm, may as well try it out.”

Not that we needed one, but the best female golfer in the world just provided a sound justification of why video games aren’t half bad.

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending