Connect with us

19th Hole

How much do caddies really earn? The answer might surprise you

Published

on

For golf fans, being a looper for a professional golfer sounds like the most ideal job in the world; however, the going salary has always been a source of speculation.

Joel Dahmen’s caddie, Geno Bonnalie, began looping for his man back in 2015 when Dahmen earned his Korn Ferry Tour status (Web.com at the time) and has been on the bag of the 33-year-old ever since.

Over the weekend, Bonnalie went in-depth on the common question of ‘How much does a caddie make?’, taking to Twitter to reveal all in a series of tweets on his story that begun with him pursuing his dream by leaving his $50k a year desk job.

Check out Bonnalie’s thread below on what it’s like to caddie for a pro on the Korn Ferry Tour, including how he believes he made a loss for that first year.

@genobonnalie

Fascinating insight from Geno who you can follow on Twitter here.

Would any WRXers be willing to give up their day job to chase the dream of caddying for a pro? Let us know in the comments!

Your Reaction?
  • 135
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW11
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP6
  • OB3
  • SHANK21

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected]com. Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

9 Comments

9 Comments

  1. GOLFFRRBMW

    Mar 25, 2021 at 12:14 pm

    Joel is leading the PGA event right now! maybe WRX gave him some good luck with this article 🙂

  2. JD

    Mar 24, 2021 at 2:30 pm

    I hear that Stricker and Westwood currently dont pay their caddies anything…

  3. McKoochie

    Mar 24, 2021 at 1:26 pm

    Koooooccchhhhhh. pays

  4. Ell

    Mar 24, 2021 at 12:14 pm

    If Arnie’s original caddie, Angelo, is still alive, which I doubt, it would be interesting to ask him what Arnie paid him back when the tournament winnings were less than $10,000 for 1st place.

    • Kevin Ricciardelli

      Mar 24, 2021 at 12:49 pm

      Angelo Argea was Jack Nicklaus’s caddy.

  5. JP

    Mar 24, 2021 at 11:56 am

    What did DJ’s brother make in 2019?

  6. Fly Ricky

    Mar 24, 2021 at 11:08 am

    No thanks unless you are 20 years old.

  7. Joe

    Mar 24, 2021 at 10:26 am

    Doesn’t tell enough. Dahmen is a random (journeyman) pro. So many different pros with different levels of production. I’m sure Tiger’s caddies through the years have made far more than some journeymans caddies

    • Mike

      Mar 24, 2021 at 12:21 pm

      And how many Tiger Woods are on the golf tour that one could caddie for?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Coolest thing for sale in the GolfWRX Classifieds (04/09/21): Custom TP Mills putter

Published

on

At GolfWRX, we love golf, plain and simple.

We are a community of like-minded individuals that all experience and express our enjoyment of the game in many ways. It’s that sense of community that drives day-to-day interactions in the forums on topics that range from best driver to what marker you use to mark your ball. It even allows us to share another thing, including equipment or, in this case, a beautifully milled putter.

Currently, in our GolfWRX buy/sell/trade (BST) forum, there is a listing for a TP Mills Anvil series Tradition II

To check out the full listing in our BST forum, head through the link: TP Mills – Anvil Series Trad II

This is the most impressive current listing from the GolfWRX BST, and if you are curious about the rules to participate in the BST Forum you can check them out here: GolfWRX BST Rules

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Bryson DeChambeau reveals the problem he has at Augusta National

Published

on

Bryson DeChambeau’s challenge at this year’s Masters tournament got off to a poor start with an opening round of 76 to put Bryson behind the 8-ball going into Friday’s round.

The 27-year-old never looked comfortable all day at Augusta National, and following his opening round, DeChambeau revealed his main issue at the course:

“I need to understand how the ball flies off of downhill slopes into uphill greens, and conversely uphill slopes into downhill greens, and all of the above. We just can’t calculate and adjust the numbers very well, and the wind is pretty tricky out here. The greens are bouncing pretty hard, and that’s what happened.”

Bryson told the media that the issue is only here at Augusta, while confirming that the new driver would stay in the bag for today’s second round.

On what he needs to do to play well here, DeChambeau highlighted every aspect of his game and how he also needs to begin adjusting to the difference in the speed of the practice green to the actual greens at the event.

“You’ve got to have every aspect. You’ve got to iron it well. You’ve got to putt it well. There are some greens that got really, really quick, looked pretty brown. We just couldn’t adjust for it. The practice green is completely different than the golf course, and that was something that I know, but I just didn’t adjust for.”

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Abraham Ancer left ‘gutted’ after being assessed 2 stroke penalty at the Masters

Published

on

Abraham Ancer is competing in his second Masters this week and believed he had got himself off to a steady start with a round of 73.

However, 73 soon turned into a round of 75 after Ancer had unknowingly touched the sand before making his third stroke from the greenside bunker on 15.

After signing his scorecard, video evidence was reviewed by the Masters Competition Committee regarding a potential breach of Rule 12.2b (1), which states that “touching sand in a bunker right behind the ball results in a penalty” – and Ancer was handed a two stroke penalty.

On social media, Ancer posted the video of the incident along with the following statement:

“I was just informed that I have been assessed a 2 stroke penalty for unintentionally grazing the sand in my backswing on hole 15. While I’m gutted, I can’t wait to get after it tomorrow.”

Per Jim Hyler Jr., chairman of the Competitions Committee, Ancer was given the penalty as the touching of the sand was visible to the naked eye.

Your Reaction?
  • 8
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending