Connect with us

Equipment

GolfWRX Spotlight: Tour Edge Exotics EXS Blade wedge review

Published

on

At GolfWRX, we leave no stone unturned to find the best golf equipment on the market. Although this may come across as an insinuation that some golf equipment can be found under rocks, that is not that case. One of the names that has long intrigued me is Tour Edge. I consider it the next Mizuno (with apologies to anyone who finds fault with that characterization.)

For the longest time, Mizuno flew well under the radar, preferring to spend dollars on research and development, rather than self-promotion and tour sponsorships. Guess what? Same business model at Tour Edge. Those who play TE stand by the equipment as if defending a fortress. That was enough for me to reach out to the company, to find out what is really up with the Illinois firm.

Supplied to me were 54-degree and 58-degree Tour Edge Exotics EXS Blade wedges, with a True Temper Dynamic Gold 115 shaft in each. Over the course of one month, I had the opportunity to put them in play on a variety of golf courses. I decided to not test them in practice circumstances, as that is not the modus operandi of the majority of recreational golfers. Instead, my thinking was, I’ll pull them out of the bag when I need them, and we’ll see how they feel, how they connect, how the ball reacts, and how my confidence wanes or grows. In other words, I gave them a real-world, weekend-golfer assessment.

After my on-course review, I dug into the true technology behind the release of the EXS Blade series. After a thorough inspection, three elements of the clubhead construction stood out, and I feel justified in sharing them with you here. These aspects are: milling, the flared toe, and sole grind. Each is unique to this club, and separates it from wannabe peers.

1. Milling

The first aspect of milling, as related to these wedges, concerns the milling out process of moving weight up and down for distance control. We are fallible swingers of clubs, and our strikes are not always where we anticipate. Tour Edge anticipates this. If we deloft or proloft the club face, weight is there to save us to a degree.

The second aspect of milling is milling for precisely-forged tolerances. The grooves are exact. Their spin communication is exact. Our pitches and chips are more exact, thanks to individually-milled faces.

2. Flared Toe Design

My word of the day is chamfer, which is a cut into a right angle, for transitioning purposes. Like a bevel, it is a carpentry term. There is a chamfer on the rear of the face, directly above the words Milled Forging. What appear to be aesthetic, is actually part of the weight-positioning process. The flared toe allows for continued distribution of weight (see milling out above) to enhance shot values.

I’m an aesthetics guy, and the wedges I used previous to receipt of these (54 and 58 degree) models, had a traditional toe, with more of a gentle pear shape. The Tour Edge flared toe stands out to me, or at least it did, over the rounds I’ve played. Reminding my own self that I had to trust the tech, it wasn’t long before the form took a back seat to the function.

3. Dual Groove Construction

Something I had not encountered in wedge development, is dual groove construction. The grooving for the lower lofts (50 and 52 degree) differs from that found on the higher-loft (54, 56, 58, 60 degree) clubs. According to Jon Claffey, vice president of marketing at Tour Edge Golf,

The dual groove construction optimizes groove edge contact, maximizing the spin needed for the diverse array of shots around the green.

What this means to me, then, is that shots that come in lower (and hotter, even fractionally) will benefit from deeper grooves (more spin.) This will align those wedges with the higher-lofted ones, whose descent into the green will be steeper and softer, and will not require the same bite as their more vertical siblings.

Verdict

These wedges will stay in my bag, replacing the Mizunos that were there before. I’ll look forward to seeing how they wear over time, as five rounds become ten, become twenty, and more. If something magical (or unfortunate) occurs, I’ll speak up below in the comment space, to apprise you of the realization.

If you haven’t heard of Tour Edge before, and also if you have, give them a look. Golf club companies don’t stay in business on pity and charity; they need solid product that emanates from quality research and development. Tour Edge has four golfers on PGA Tour Champions on staff. Consider this for a moment: you’re in the twilight of your career (sad, happens to all of us) so you decide to use inferior equipment? NEVER going to happen. That’s why Lehman, McCarron, Petrovic, and Waldorf opted in on Tour Edge golf for their PGA Tour Champions livelihood.

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 56
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Dave Bryce

    Nov 20, 2020 at 9:39 pm

    Have the 56 degrees bent too 55,love this wedge,looks,feel and spin are great!

  2. boydenit

    Oct 17, 2020 at 8:06 pm

    A lot of milling, milling, milling for a club that look like it was made in China for a few dollars a head!

    • Ronald Montesano

      Oct 18, 2020 at 7:43 am

      Beauty and all things are in the eye of the beholder. Exclamation points should be used sparingly. Here is a link to their description page: https://www.touredge.com/exotics-exs-pro-forged-blade-wedge

      They have contact information on site, and would be happy to discuss the process with you. Worth a call, I suspect.

    • Wedge Guy

      Oct 19, 2020 at 8:55 am

      Wow. I’m a club fanatic from way back and I’m shocked you would say that. These scream premium to me. I guess beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder.

      • Ronald Montesano

        Oct 23, 2020 at 8:55 am

        They play so well. I was invited to a premium course in Buffalo last weekend, and had so many 50-100 yard shots into greens (had to punch out a lot 🙂

        I was so darned comfortable with them. Hit the ball inside 15 feet on all of those 3rdies into par 4s. Putter was balky, but wedges were stellar.

  3. Milo

    Oct 17, 2020 at 6:54 pm

    I’m looking for a 46° to take the place of my PW. Probably end up being a Mizuno. I have a 60° mack daddy • forged raw and a 56° S5 blue ion.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Oct 18, 2020 at 7:46 am

      Are you a “looks” player or a “feel” player? As I revealed above, the look matters to me, so I had to get used to a bit different toe on the Tour Edge club. How do the Mack Daddy and Blue Ion toes and top lines compare, or doesn’t that matter? If it doesn’t, awesome…you can pick the best-feeling wedge to fill the 46 degree gap.

      If looks do matter psychologically, you’re handcuffed a bit, but there are so many options available. I can’t wait to see how the new Tour Edge lines/toe compare with the one I just reviewed.

  4. ChristianR

    Oct 17, 2020 at 2:07 pm

    They’re also known for their hybrid and fairway woods, but latest models of drivers have got lot of positive reviews, looks like they have the numbers of the big ones despite a lower price.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Oct 18, 2020 at 7:48 am

      I bet that you were waiting for this review. You have a nice understanding of their product. As I posited, they became the company that Mizuno used to be. They have sincere quality and are just not “out there” yet. I can’t wait to read about all the new models, and with luck, will have an opportunity to test them. Good luck with your game.

      • ChristianR

        Oct 18, 2020 at 3:50 pm

        It’s not a case my irons are Mizuno!
        Thanks for the answer Ronald.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Whats in the Bag

Christian Bezuidenhout’s winning WITB: 2020 Alfred Dunhill Championship

Published

on

Driver: Callaway Epic Flash Sub Zero (8.5 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana DF 60 TX

3-wood: Callaway Epic Flash Sub Zero (15 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana DF 70 TX

Hybrid: Callaway Mavrik Pro (19 degrees)

Irons: Callaway X Forged ’18 (4-PW)
Shaft: KBS Tour 125 S+

Wedges: Callaway Mack Daddy Forged Wedges (50, 54, 60 degrees)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold S400

Putter: Odyssey Works Big T #5

Ball: Titleist Pro V1

Your Reaction?
  • 35
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX x TRENDYGOLF USA: Fall must-haves – Mid layers & hoodies

Published

on

Recently, we at GolfWRX have been showcasing the hottest golf shoes in different categories with the good folks at TRENDYGOLF USA.

For your reference, you can check out those selections here:

Now it’s time to venture into the must-have apparel, which you can get your hands on as the weather begins to turn.

First we took a look at some of the most stylish jackets and pants on the market, and then we covered the sweater and vest category. Now we’ll highlight what we feel are some of the best mid-layers and hoodies available from a bunch of different brands. So let’s get to it!

Fall must-haves – Mid layers & hoodies

G/FORE

1 x 1 Striped Mid – $165

Color Codes: Heather Grey, Mid Cobalt

“The 1 x 1 Striped Mid is brand new this season from G/FORE. Made from a technical poly/spandex blend interlocked with a mossed interior for ultimate comfort. Heathered striping details offers a classic look that pairs with anything.”

Greyson

Den Of Thieves Tate Mockneck – $150

Color Code: Mockneck Bluejay

“The Tate is back this season from Greyson. Constructed with the finest technical yarn sourced from Italy, the blended Nylon / Elastine brushback knit fabric was developed with serious function and a luxury feel. The Tate is decorated with a perforated camo interior neck and flat lock seems. The quarter top is slightly elongated access and function. The Tate bears the iconic reflective Wolf at the wearer’s back neck.”

Linksoul

Dry-Tek Quarter Zip – $101

Color Codes: Heather Grey, Midnight

“The Dry-Tek Quarter Zip is brand new this season from Linksoul. This cotton/poly midlayer is perfect for those transitional autumn days. It’s lightweight and features moisture wicking properties as well as plenty of natural stretch. Features a Linksoul detailed zipper as well as patch detailing on the left hip.”

Peter Millar

Drirelease Natural Touch Quarter Zip – $138

Color Code: Melange Stripe Cape Blue

Polo Golf Ralph Lauren

Fine Gauge Terry Half Zip – $125

Color Code: Royal Navy, Grey Heather

“The Fine Gauge Terry Half Zip is back this season from Polo Golf Ralph Lauren. Built from a technical stretchy blend of fabric, this mid layer features a contrast zipper and embroidered Polo horse logo on the left chest.”

RLX Ralph Lauren

Brushback Tech Jersey – $138

Color Codes: Pajama Blue Heather, Light Grey Heather, Cruise Royal, Tiki Green Heather, True Orange, Lime Quartz, Pure White, Dark Sport Heather

“Here for the 2020 season a revamped version of a golfer’s favorite performance piece that both could be worn as a midlayer, on top of a polo, or as mock neck shirt itself. Perfect to carry in the back when the weather turns. Features a right chest pocket, as well as signature RLX logo on the back neck and wearer’s right sleeve.”

Cashmere Hoodie – $298

Color Codes: Royal Blue, Polo Black, Dark Sport Heather

“The Cashmere Hoodie is brand new this season from RLX Ralph Lauren. Perfect for range days or relaxing in off course, this hoodie is super soft and comfortable. The cashmere fabrication makes it super luxurious and lightweight. The cuffs and drawstring hood have contrast tipping with the signature RLX logo on the lower right arm.”

Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB2
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

Equipment

Best golf gifts on Amazon

Published

on

To supplement our holiday gift guides, we thought we’d give our readers some of our best picks for best golf gifts on Amazon. We’ve included 12 items to help you in your holiday gift selections, with a bonus extra for our friends in the UK!

So whether you’re looking for ideas for gifts you want to give, or even better receive, we have you covered!

Best golf gifts on Amazon

The Golf Father Gift Ceramic Coffee Mug

From the listing: “Do you need a gift idea for Christmas, Valentine’s day, anniversary, birthday, family occasion, or father’s day? This novelty mug will make a great gift for your husband, boyfriend, brother, uncle, grandparents, co-worker or friend.”

Price: $8.45

Buy here.

Titleist Pro V1 Christmas Golf Balls – 3 Pack (Amazon UK)

From the listing:Titleist Pro V1 Golf Balls – 3 Pack – Printed with christmas motifs. Total performance for all golfers with the combination of exceptional distance, the best short game spin and control, and very soft feel. Exceptional Distance | Drop-and-Stop Short Game Control. Very Soft Feel.”

Price: $22.50

Buy here.

Nike Men’s Academy 18 Drill Top

From the listing:Sweat-wicking Nike Dry-FIT Technology. Half-zip design. 100% Polyester. Machine Wash. Fastening: Zipper. Academy 18 Drill.”

Price: $49

Buy here.

GoSports CHIPSTER Range

From the listing:Includes 3 Chipping Targets (12 inches, 18 inches, 24 inches) for practicing at varying distances and directions. Targets setup in seconds and neatly store in the included carrying case. Use outdoors with real golf balls or indoor with foam balls.”

Price: $29.99

Buy here. 

Titleist Players Men’s Golf Glove

From the listing:Ultra-thin, for maximum feel and lasting performance. Premium, quality fit means a seamless connection to your club. Utilizes proprietary breathable fabric for comfort and support. Satin reinforcement at cuff and thumb for strength and durability.”

Price: $30

Buy here.

2020 Callaway Chrome Soft Golf Balls

From the listing:Chrome Soft takes Tour performance to another level; We’ve reengineered every aspect and element in the ball for more speed off the tee, and longer distance off of every club in the bag. A faster, larger Graphene-infused Dual SoftFast Core is designed for increased distance; The significantly larger inner core creates higher launch and lower spin. And the thinner, firmer outer core is reinforced with Graphene for better durability.”

Price: $39.99 (down from $47.99)

Buy here.

TaylorMade TP5 Pix 2.0 Golf Ball

From the listing:Better visibility: Multi-Color, high contrast graphics. Better alignment: Unique clear path alignments.”

Price: $39.99 (down from $44.99)

Buy here.

Titleist Golf Warmer 

From the listing:Mitten style with micro fleece lining and cinch opening for comfort. Water resistant shell for performance in all weather conditions. Internal hand warmer compartment.”

Price: $44.99

Buy here.

TaylorMade Pro Stand 6.0 Golf Bag

From the listing:9″ Top stand bag. 7-Way top with a front integrated grab handle and two side grab handles with color co-ordinated air mesh. Light weight high-mount automatic stand system. 4-Point adjustable backpack strap for maximum balance and comfort. Towel loop and umbrella holder.”

Price: $79.99 (down from $129.99)

Buy here.

Garmin Approach S10

From the listing:Simple, easy-to-use golf watch. Sleek, lightweight and comfortable with a high-resolution, Sunlight-readable display. Provides yardages to the front, back and middle of the Green -as well as Hazards and doglegs -on more than 41, 000 preloaded courses worldwide. Keep Score on the watch for a summary of your round, total distance played and total time.”

Price: $99 (down from $149.99)

Buy here.

Under Armour Men’s Spieth 3 Golf Shoe

From the listing:Textile and Synthetic. Imported. Synthetic sole. Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch. Breathable, Clarino microfiber upper & a lightweight waterproof membrane keep you cool & dry. Smart woven forefoot panel & heel counter for biomechanically correct foot support & lightweight comfort. Integrated lacing system for a locked in fit.”

Price: $117.21 (down from $200)

Buy here.

Puma Men’s Ignite Pwradapt Caged Stars and Stripes Golf Shoe

From the listing: 100% Synthetic. Synthetic sole. Adaptive Fit System. Ignite Foam. Power cage. Power frame. Power adapt.”

Price: $169.99

Buy here.

Callaway Golf 2020 Mavrik Fairway Wood

From the listing:MAVRIK is the longest fairway wood that Callaway has ever made. The new A. I. -optimized Flash Face SS20 is forged from exotic materials, which are uniquely designed for each model and loft to maximize ball speed and performance. We’ve combined our industry-leading technologies to deliver distance, forgiveness and performance from every club.”

Price: $249.99 (down from $299.99)

Buy here.

Your Reaction?
  • 8
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending