Connect with us

Equipment

GolfWRX Spotlight: Tour Edge Exotics EXS Blade wedge review

Published

on

At GolfWRX, we leave no stone unturned to find the best golf equipment on the market. Although this may come across as an insinuation that some golf equipment can be found under rocks, that is not that case. One of the names that has long intrigued me is Tour Edge. I consider it the next Mizuno (with apologies to anyone who finds fault with that characterization.)

For the longest time, Mizuno flew well under the radar, preferring to spend dollars on research and development, rather than self-promotion and tour sponsorships. Guess what? Same business model at Tour Edge. Those who play TE stand by the equipment as if defending a fortress. That was enough for me to reach out to the company, to find out what is really up with the Illinois firm.

Supplied to me were 54-degree and 58-degree Tour Edge Exotics EXS Blade wedges, with a True Temper Dynamic Gold 115 shaft in each. Over the course of one month, I had the opportunity to put them in play on a variety of golf courses. I decided to not test them in practice circumstances, as that is not the modus operandi of the majority of recreational golfers. Instead, my thinking was, I’ll pull them out of the bag when I need them, and we’ll see how they feel, how they connect, how the ball reacts, and how my confidence wanes or grows. In other words, I gave them a real-world, weekend-golfer assessment.

After my on-course review, I dug into the true technology behind the release of the EXS Blade series. After a thorough inspection, three elements of the clubhead construction stood out, and I feel justified in sharing them with you here. These aspects are: milling, the flared toe, and sole grind. Each is unique to this club, and separates it from wannabe peers.

1. Milling

The first aspect of milling, as related to these wedges, concerns the milling out process of moving weight up and down for distance control. We are fallible swingers of clubs, and our strikes are not always where we anticipate. Tour Edge anticipates this. If we deloft or proloft the club face, weight is there to save us to a degree.

The second aspect of milling is milling for precisely-forged tolerances. The grooves are exact. Their spin communication is exact. Our pitches and chips are more exact, thanks to individually-milled faces.

2. Flared Toe Design

My word of the day is chamfer, which is a cut into a right angle, for transitioning purposes. Like a bevel, it is a carpentry term. There is a chamfer on the rear of the face, directly above the words Milled Forging. What appear to be aesthetic, is actually part of the weight-positioning process. The flared toe allows for continued distribution of weight (see milling out above) to enhance shot values.

I’m an aesthetics guy, and the wedges I used previous to receipt of these (54 and 58 degree) models, had a traditional toe, with more of a gentle pear shape. The Tour Edge flared toe stands out to me, or at least it did, over the rounds I’ve played. Reminding my own self that I had to trust the tech, it wasn’t long before the form took a back seat to the function.

3. Dual Groove Construction

Something I had not encountered in wedge development, is dual groove construction. The grooving for the lower lofts (50 and 52 degree) differs from that found on the higher-loft (54, 56, 58, 60 degree) clubs. According to Jon Claffey, vice president of marketing at Tour Edge Golf,

The dual groove construction optimizes groove edge contact, maximizing the spin needed for the diverse array of shots around the green.

What this means to me, then, is that shots that come in lower (and hotter, even fractionally) will benefit from deeper grooves (more spin.) This will align those wedges with the higher-lofted ones, whose descent into the green will be steeper and softer, and will not require the same bite as their more vertical siblings.

Verdict

These wedges will stay in my bag, replacing the Mizunos that were there before. I’ll look forward to seeing how they wear over time, as five rounds become ten, become twenty, and more. If something magical (or unfortunate) occurs, I’ll speak up below in the comment space, to apprise you of the realization.

If you haven’t heard of Tour Edge before, and also if you have, give them a look. Golf club companies don’t stay in business on pity and charity; they need solid product that emanates from quality research and development. Tour Edge has four golfers on PGA Tour Champions on staff. Consider this for a moment: you’re in the twilight of your career (sad, happens to all of us) so you decide to use inferior equipment? NEVER going to happen. That’s why Lehman, McCarron, Petrovic, and Waldorf opted in on Tour Edge golf for their PGA Tour Champions livelihood.

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 58
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Dave Bryce

    Nov 20, 2020 at 9:39 pm

    Have the 56 degrees bent too 55,love this wedge,looks,feel and spin are great!

  2. boydenit

    Oct 17, 2020 at 8:06 pm

    A lot of milling, milling, milling for a club that look like it was made in China for a few dollars a head!

    • Ronald Montesano

      Oct 18, 2020 at 7:43 am

      Beauty and all things are in the eye of the beholder. Exclamation points should be used sparingly. Here is a link to their description page: https://www.touredge.com/exotics-exs-pro-forged-blade-wedge

      They have contact information on site, and would be happy to discuss the process with you. Worth a call, I suspect.

    • Wedge Guy

      Oct 19, 2020 at 8:55 am

      Wow. I’m a club fanatic from way back and I’m shocked you would say that. These scream premium to me. I guess beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder.

      • Ronald Montesano

        Oct 23, 2020 at 8:55 am

        They play so well. I was invited to a premium course in Buffalo last weekend, and had so many 50-100 yard shots into greens (had to punch out a lot 🙂

        I was so darned comfortable with them. Hit the ball inside 15 feet on all of those 3rdies into par 4s. Putter was balky, but wedges were stellar.

  3. Milo

    Oct 17, 2020 at 6:54 pm

    I’m looking for a 46° to take the place of my PW. Probably end up being a Mizuno. I have a 60° mack daddy • forged raw and a 56° S5 blue ion.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Oct 18, 2020 at 7:46 am

      Are you a “looks” player or a “feel” player? As I revealed above, the look matters to me, so I had to get used to a bit different toe on the Tour Edge club. How do the Mack Daddy and Blue Ion toes and top lines compare, or doesn’t that matter? If it doesn’t, awesome…you can pick the best-feeling wedge to fill the 46 degree gap.

      If looks do matter psychologically, you’re handcuffed a bit, but there are so many options available. I can’t wait to see how the new Tour Edge lines/toe compare with the one I just reviewed.

  4. ChristianR

    Oct 17, 2020 at 2:07 pm

    They’re also known for their hybrid and fairway woods, but latest models of drivers have got lot of positive reviews, looks like they have the numbers of the big ones despite a lower price.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Oct 18, 2020 at 7:48 am

      I bet that you were waiting for this review. You have a nice understanding of their product. As I posited, they became the company that Mizuno used to be. They have sincere quality and are just not “out there” yet. I can’t wait to read about all the new models, and with luck, will have an opportunity to test them. Good luck with your game.

      • ChristianR

        Oct 18, 2020 at 3:50 pm

        It’s not a case my irons are Mizuno!
        Thanks for the answer Ronald.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Puma unveils new Ignite Fasten8 golf shoe

Published

on

Puma Golf has today introduced the newest addition to its popular spikeless franchise: the Ignite Fasten8.

The new Ignite Fasten8 ($120) family are designed to provide wearers added stability with a new, exacting fit in multiple sleek designs, featuring both a traditional lace-up style and Puma’s proprietary DISC technology, and also a PRO version with a microfiber upper. The Fasten8 lace version is also available in several eye-catching colorways for women ($100).

The lineup is led by Puma’s new Fasten8 Fit System, which consists of 8 interior webbing support straps that are integrated into the lacing system. The 8 webbing straps are secured from underneath the foot, and when the laces, or Disc, are tightened, each of the Fasten8 straps aims to deliver an exceptionally secure, personalized fit for players with all foot shapes and sizes.

The Fasten8 also features PWRCAGE (a TPU saddle integrated with midfoot support webbing straps), and PWRFRAME (an ultra-thin TPU frame placed in high-stress areas) technologies, both of which are designed to contribute to greater overall stability during the swing and increased comfort while walking. 

Speaking on the new additions from Puma, Andrew Lawson, PLM, Footwear, Puma Golf said

“The new Ignite Fasten8 shoe continues to deliver the cool, classic style that has become synonymous with PUMA Golf, in a popular mix of colorways that will appeal to a wide range of playersWhen you combine our innovative new Fasten8 Fit System with Puma’s other impressive footwear technologies you have a shoe that delivers true versatility, style and performance, all while ensuring the perfect fit and feel for every golfer.” 

Enhanced comfort and performance in a variety of turf conditions (or even for wear off the course) is provided by a strategically designed, organically-altered traction pattern in the sole, as well as IGNITE Foam in the midsole, which bids to yield energy return and cushioning throughout the course of 18 holes.

The Fasten8 shoe also features a non-stretch, waterproof and breathable mesh construction in the forefoot area, which bids to provide versatile performance in varying weather conditions and SoleShield, a micro-thin TPU film that is vacuum-formed around the midsole to make cleaning off dirt and debris quick and easy. In addition, the Fasten8 Pro features a microfiber upper for style and performance.

Puma’s Ignite Fasten8 and Ignite Fasten8 Disc are available in six colorways in sizes 7-14. Ignite Fasten8 Pro is available in five colorways in the same size range, while Ignite Fasten8 Women’s is available in sizes 5.5-12 in four colorways.

You can check out all of the color offerings over at pumagolf.com. The Fasten8 family will be available online and at retail from March 2. 

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW3
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Equipment

The most impressive listing from the GolfWRX Classifieds (02/23/21): Tiger Masters P7TW irons

Published

on

At GolfWRX, we love golf equipment plain and simple.

We are a community of like-minded individuals that all experience and express our enjoyment for the game in many ways. It’s that sense of community that drives day-to-day interactions in the forums on topics that range from best driver to what marker you use to mark your ball, it even allows us to share another thing – the equipment itself.

One of the best ways to enjoy equipment is to experiment and whether you are looking to buy-sell-or trade (as the name suggests) you can find almost anything in the GolfWRX BST Forum. From one-off custom Scotty Cameron Circle T putters, to iron sets, wedges, and barely hit drivers, you can find it all in our constantly updated marketplace.

This is the most impressive current listing from the GolfWRX BST, and if you are curious about the rules to participate in the BST Forum you can check them out here: GolfWRX BST Rules

There is rare, and then there is this: 17/81 TaylorMade T7PW – Masters Edition irons sealed in the box ready for your enjoyment. A set like this isn’t cheap but golly it sure is nice: TaylorMade Tiger Woods Masters Limited Edition Masters Irons Set 17/81

Remember that you can always browse the GolfWRX Classifieds any time here in our forums: GolfWRX Classifieds

You can also follow along on Instagram: GolfWRX Classifieds

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Equipment

Vokey launches new Slate Blue finish on SM8 wedges

Published

on

Looks are important when it comes to having confidence in your clubs, and with that in mind, Titleist is releasing a new Slate Blue finish for its Vokey SM8 wedge line.

The slate blue finish is applied just like a standard PVD (physical vapor deposition) finish but involves using a unique material that increases the production time. The result of the material and additional time is a rich deep finish that not only looks great but also has a longer life compared to traditional PVD.

“Very often, wedge finishes can be beautiful, but they won’t last,” said Vokey. “At the same time, the most durable finishes often aren’t stunning. Slate Blue combines the two. Not only will golfers love their wedge when they see it in the shop, the finish will last through the course of normal play.”

When it comes to technology the Slate Blue Vokey wedges offer the same progressive forward center of gravity for increased MOI and ball flight control, along with 100-percent inspected spin milled grooves.

Price and availability

Vokey Design SM8 Slate Blue wedges will be available in golf shops starting March 19, and will be available in all 23 loft, bounce, and grind options in both right and left-handed.

The wedges will be priced at $199 in their stock configuration which features a True Temper Dynamic Gold S200 and custom BV Wings New Decade Multi Compound grip from Golf Pride.

Additional customizations such as character stamping are available for an additional fee.

Your Reaction?
  • 49
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL4
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending