Connect with us

19th Hole

Jesper Parnevik handed a two-stroke penalty at the SAS Championship for NOT taking a mulligan

Published

on

At the SAS Championship on Sunday, Jesper Parnevik was handed a two-stroke penalty when he didn’t take a mulligan.

The incident occurred on the third hole of Parnevik’s final round, where according to Reuters, the Swede horseshoed a short bogey putt which came back and struck his foot. The veteran then tapped in for what he thought was a double-bogey, unaware that because the ball had accidentally struck him, he was required to take a mulligan. 

Speaking to Reuters, rules official, Brian Claar said

“When a ball on the putting green accidentally hits any person, animal or immovable obstruction, this stroke does not count and the ball must be replaced on its original spot.

Jesper tapped it in. In that situation he’s played from the wrong place. Unfortunately he gets a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, and the one where he tapped in counts but the original stroke does not count.”

If the situation sounds perplexing to you, then you aren’t alone.

According to Claar, when he called the USGA for assistance, the governing body asked him “Did that really happen out there?”, before adding that they had never heard of an incident like it occurring before in tournament play. 

Here is the rule which undid Parnevik explained:

Rule 11.1.b, Exception 2:

When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

Parnevik ended up making a triple-bogey on the hole and finished the event in a tie for 68th place.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 26
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW11
  • LOL6
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK7

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected] Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

5 Comments

5 Comments

  1. jmont04

    Oct 16, 2019 at 10:45 am

    Wait now I’m confused…Why wouldn’t this rule apply to Paul Casey’s putt that hit that bug and went into the hole?

  2. Marie Colllins

    Oct 16, 2019 at 9:13 am

    I called that on an opponent in a tournament when her ball hit a leaf blowing across the green. She looked at me like I was nuts. But the leaf slowed her ball down to where she only had a tap-in and I made her replay the stroke.

  3. ck

    Oct 16, 2019 at 7:31 am

    The USGA rule says movable object, not immovable. What kind of immovable object would you find on a green anyway?

  4. Justin

    Oct 15, 2019 at 3:41 pm

    So if I put the flag stick behind the hole and then putt. If I missed my putt and hit the flag stick I would then be able to take a mulligan?

    • Justin

      Oct 15, 2019 at 3:43 pm

      I accidentally hit the stick because my intent was to make the putt…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

PGA Tour and European Tour announce landmark ‘strategic alliance’

Published

on

The PGA Tour and European Tour have today announced a partnership that will see the two tours working together as part of a “strategic alliance”.

PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan will join the Board of the European Tour as the two tours will combine and explore a range of collaboration opportunities including both schedule and commercial wise – including collaborating on global media rights in certain territories.

As part of the agreement, the PGA Tour will acquire a minority investment stake in European Tour Productions company which produces and airs content to a global audience.

Speaking on the new “strategic alliance”, Keith Pelley, Chief Executive of the European Tour, said

“This partnership is an historic moment for the game of golf and is a fantastic opportunity for both the European Tour and the PGA TOUR to explore ways to come together at the very pinnacle of our sport and work in unison for the benefit of the men’s professional game.

Today’s announcement is the formalisation of a closer working relationship between the Tours in recent years. It was one which was crystalised earlier this year when both Jay and I were part of the working group containing representatives of the four Majors and the LPGA, a group which helped shape the remainder of the golfing calendar for 2020 during unprecedented times.

We shared the challenges of working through a year neither of us could have ever imagined and we found definite synergies in many areas of our respective Tours. That gave us the impetus to move forward together and arrive at this momentous announcement we are making today.”

The Tours will also work together on global scheduling, prize funds and playing opportunities for the respective memberships, with details to be announced at a later date.

“We are thrilled to announce this further strengthening of our partnership with the European Tour, and we look forward to working together for the benefit of the men’s professional game and for golf fans around the world.” – Jay Monahan

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW3
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (11.27.20)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Original chrome vs Raw forced patina.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by The Golf Garage?? (@the_golf_garage)

‘Diamond in the rough’

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Artisan Golf LLC (@artisangolftx)

Clean as you can get from Olson.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by O L S O N PUTTER CO (@olsonmfg)

Zac Lewis custom wedge.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Zac Lewis (@zlgolf)

How do you like this shape, WRXers?

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by NCW_putters (@ncw_putters)

‘Red saw’ Vokey.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Ryan Barath (@rdsbarath)


Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Diego Maradona and his love for golf; golf world pays tribute to sporting icon

Published

on

The sporting world is mourning the loss of a great, with the passing of Diego Maradona on Wednesday. The Argentine, who led his country to glory at the 1986 World Cup,  is widely considered to be the greatest footballer/soccer player of all time but golf was a sport that was also very close to his heart.

Maradona took the sport up at the age of 40 when in Cuba and reportedly became so fanatic over the game that he would regularly play two 18 hole rounds a day.

Speaking to Golfing World a decade ago, Diego explained how he got bitten by the golf bug, and it’s something we all can relate to:

“I only started playing when I was 40, and even though I think I maybe took up golf a bit too late, ever since I started, I’ve been bitten by the bug. I haven’t been able to think of spending a single day without playing golf.”

In the same interview, Maradona, who worked his way down to a 16 handicap, also revealed the similarities between his sport and golf, comparing the movement of the swing to a free-kick in football, and also poked fun at how it’s viewed as a relaxing past time for some.

“There’s a certain similarity between football and golf; it’s in the movements. In the way you position your body for a free-kick as well as a golf swing.

Some people say golf is relaxing, but I don’t think you can relax too much. But it is great fun.”

According to Gerardo Lorenzo, a chauffeur for the British Embassy who played with Maradona while in Cuba: “He became a golf fanatic and even played at night with phosphorescent balls.”

Here is how some tour pro golfers have been paying tribute to Maradona via social media:

“Thanks to the greatest. Diego Armando, we are going to miss you!”

 

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending