Connect with us

19th Hole

Rickie Fowler discusses why size isn’t important in golf, how he golfs even while on vacation, gambling on the course, and more on the Dan Patrick Show

Published

on

On Tuesday, Rickie Fowler appeared on the Dan Patrick Show where the 30-year-old shared his thoughts on several topics surrounding the world of golf.

Speaking on the disparity in size between the likes of Brooks Koepka and himself, Fowler explained that while size can help in golf, it isn’t a determining factor.

“That’s what’s the beauty of golf, it doesn’t matter what you look like, how big you are, it’s who can play the best that week, that day.”

*All clips courtesy of AT&T AUDIENCE Network.

Discussing golfing while on vacation, Fowler was bullish on both his and Dustin Johnson’s ability to play when beers are involved on the course.

However, the 30-year-old was less complimentary when it came to his friend Jordan Spieth’s competence while playing under the influence, siding with the host when he cast doubt on Spieth’s previous claim that he was “pretty good” at playing while drinking on the course.

Fowler then discussed his experiences playing golf with both Tom Brady and Michael Jordan, speaking of their competitive edge which still burns bright, their golfing ability as well as gambling on the course.

Speaking on the general topic of gambling, Fowler explained how though he has seen “5 or 10 (thousand)” change hands on the course before, he prefers “good, friendly games” involving “$1 or $2 thousand”.

The Dan Patrick Show airs daily at 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET on AT&T AUDIENCE Network which can be found on DIRECTV Ch. 239.

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 26
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected] Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Speedy

    Aug 9, 2019 at 8:32 pm

    Gambling while lots of bucks are in your bank account doesn’t impress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Bryson DeChambeau reveals the problem he has at Augusta National

Published

on

Bryson DeChambeau’s challenge at this year’s Masters tournament got off to a poor start with an opening round of 76 to put Bryson behind the 8-ball going into Friday’s round.

The 27-year-old never looked comfortable all day at Augusta National, and following his opening round, DeChambeau revealed his main issue at the course:

“I need to understand how the ball flies off of downhill slopes into uphill greens, and conversely uphill slopes into downhill greens, and all of the above. We just can’t calculate and adjust the numbers very well, and the wind is pretty tricky out here. The greens are bouncing pretty hard, and that’s what happened.”

Bryson told the media that the issue is only here at Augusta, while confirming that the new driver would stay in the bag for today’s second round.

On what he needs to do to play well here, DeChambeau highlighted every aspect of his game and how he also needs to begin adjusting to the difference in the speed of the practice green to the actual greens at the event.

“You’ve got to have every aspect. You’ve got to iron it well. You’ve got to putt it well. There are some greens that got really, really quick, looked pretty brown. We just couldn’t adjust for it. The practice green is completely different than the golf course, and that was something that I know, but I just didn’t adjust for.”

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW0
  • LOL6
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK46

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Abraham Ancer left ‘gutted’ after being assessed 2 stroke penalty at the Masters

Published

on

Abraham Ancer is competing in his second Masters this week and believed he had got himself off to a steady start with a round of 73.

However, 73 soon turned into a round of 75 after Ancer had unknowingly touched the sand before making his third stroke from the greenside bunker on 15.

After signing his scorecard, video evidence was reviewed by the Masters Competition Committee regarding a potential breach of Rule 12.2b (1), which states that “touching sand in a bunker right behind the ball results in a penalty” – and Ancer was handed a two stroke penalty.

On social media, Ancer posted the video of the incident along with the following statement:

“I was just informed that I have been assessed a 2 stroke penalty for unintentionally grazing the sand in my backswing on hole 15. While I’m gutted, I can’t wait to get after it tomorrow.”

Per Jim Hyler Jr., chairman of the Competitions Committee, Ancer was given the penalty as the touching of the sand was visible to the naked eye.

Your Reaction?
  • 25
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW8
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK53

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Fun Masters facts from Michael Wolf aka “bamabearcat” on Twitter

Published

on

When it comes to sharing knowledge about Augusta National along with some fun facts about the Masters tournament, Twitter’s Michael Wolf could be as close to an encyclopedia as it gets. Along with being a lover of golf history and course architecture, Michael is an experienced traveler and player agent, and President of 288 Sports.

Bill Gates’ bar tab

I have a feeling Bill and his friends didn’t even notice the final number on their credit cards

Would you like the big mansion or the really big mansion?

No, seriously it’ll fit

Dress for the job you want – not the one you have

Wax on, wax off

Hopefully, nobody writes anything negative about Bryson

Your Reaction?
  • 8
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending