Connect with us


USGA, Langer, McCarron fire back at critics



In response to both public and media scrutiny of their putting strokes, Bernhard Langer and Scott McCarron have released a joint statement insisting they are fully compliant with the Rules of Golf.

Interestingly, the authors of said Rules, the USGA, seconded the joint statement with a statement of their own (Hey, we just report this stuff).

So without further ado, the trifecta of statements, starting with persona non grata Bernhard Langer.

“I’m certain that I am not anchoring the putter and that my putting stroke is not violating the Rules of Golf,” Langer said in the statement. “On several occasions, I have been in contact with the USGA and rules officials on the PGA Tour and PGA Tour Champions, and each time I have been assured that my putting stroke is within the Rules of Golf.”

McCarron says he doesn’t anchor…and he’s willing to show anyone who’s in doubt.

“I’d like to emphatically say that I do not anchor my hand, arm or club against my body during my putting stroke. I have worked with the USGA and PGA Tour Champions rules officials to ensure that I am within the Rules of Golf, and I have extended many invitations to demonstrate and teach people how to use a long putter without anchoring.

“I have never competed dishonestly because I have the utmost respect for the game of golf, and I will continue to represent myself and the sport to the best of my ability.”

The USGA, since they drew the line in the sand, had to acknowledge which side of the line Langer and McCarron fall on.

“We are confident that Rule [14-1b] has been applied fairly and consistently and have seen no evidence of a player breaching the Rule, which does not prohibit a hand or club to touch a player’s clothing in making a stroke.”

“Integrity is at the heart of the Rules and how the game is played worldwide, and this essential value has made the game enjoyable for all golfers.”

For the sake of our collective sanity, USGA: Conventional-length putters or anchors away. This middle ground is maddening.

Your Reaction?
  • 43
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW3
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP8
  • OB9
  • SHANK112



  1. Steve

    Jul 24, 2017 at 8:31 am

    I know Scott McCarron is one of the Tour’s “good” or nice guys. No need to convince me. But he should probably send B Langer a portion of his Tour winnings, because in this armchair hack’s opinion, if it were anyone other than Langer, owing to Bernhard’s pristine reputation, I think this putting method, even unanchored, would be banned. It’s just too close to the line and I bet there is a fair amount of banter among the Champions’ Tour players about it. But the fact that Langer is the poster child for it…… has legitimized it in my humble opinion.

  2. Karen

    Jul 14, 2017 at 6:46 am

    I do not believe either are or have cheated. I do however believe that if they have prohibited anchoring that they should have prohibited the said “Anchor putter”. Either 100% allow anchoring/putter ior don’t at all. The USGA is always riding a line to make evveryone happy and it just causes confusion. Just make a CLEAR firm decision and be done with it. There’s always DRAMA ????.

  3. larry

    Jul 11, 2017 at 9:57 pm

    there both cheats

  4. Dave R

    Jul 11, 2017 at 1:04 pm

    Brandel you are a complete jerk. Just go away quietly. Thank you ! This way we won’t have to listen to your stupidly anymore. You’ll never be top dog on the golf channel . And really you should be terminated it’s like your fired.

  5. N. D. Boondocks

    Jul 10, 2017 at 10:28 am

    Gee USGA….. maybe a comment on what anchoring IS, and how we may likewise conclude that this duo ARE NOT doing that would help to clarify this.

  6. Big Richard Cox

    Jul 9, 2017 at 9:03 am

    This all due to Brandel Chamblee. Guy should be more concerned about how ridiculous he looks with his new wife. He’s like 40 years older than her. Looks like a Grandpa with his Grandaughter. Must take Viagra.

    • Michael

      Jul 10, 2017 at 2:54 pm

      Is your real name “Little Richard Cox”?

  7. Shayne Watts

    Jul 9, 2017 at 2:41 am

    You can’t tell me that they’re not still anchoring!

    • Pro Tour Hack

      Jul 10, 2017 at 1:33 am

      Does not matter what you THINK. They are not anchoring. Deal with it buttercup.

      • Michael

        Jul 10, 2017 at 2:55 pm

        Exactly, but I was thinking SJW or Snowflake versus buttercup.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


What GolfWRXers are saying about Kevin Kisner’s new Callaway X Forged CB irons



In our forums, our members have been discussing Kevin Kisner’s new Callaway X Forged CB irons which he has in the bag at this week’s CJ Cup. WRXers have been commenting on the switch and the clubs themselves in our forums.

For lots more photos, check out the full thread here.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • btyh: “Holy offset.”
  • Glf_LU: “These are interesting. Not going to make a rush to judgement until I see them in person. It does look like a little more offset than I would expect to see in this model.”
  • bcflyguy1: “Kisner is not one to make a lot of equipment changes (see the GBB driver he’s still using), so if these do have staying power in his bag that will be interesting to see. I have to wonder if there’s something different about his set, because like others have mentioned there appears to be more offset on his than I recall seeing in the samples I’ve had in hand.”

Entire Thread: “Kevin Kisner’s new Callaway X Forged CB irons”

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading


WATCH: PGA Tour players play hole blindfolded and it’s hilarious/amazing



As part of a Srixon campaign, four PGA Tour players recently participated in a three-hole challenge, with each hole being a different game; hole No. 1 was blindfolded, hole No. 2 was costumes and distractions, and hole No. 3 was alternate shot with a baseball bat. The teams were Smylie Kaufman and Sam Ryder against Shane Lowry and Grayson Murray.

Watch the full video below, since it is quite entertaining (albeit not the type of golf that Old Tom Morris surely had in mind), but in particular, make sure to check out the first hole where Lowry and Ryder play a full hole completely blind folded. It’s amazing to watch how badly Ryder struggles, and how Lowry nearly makes par.

Cleveland-Srixon’s marketing department has been hard at work crafting these viral-esque ad campaigns; if you remember, former long-drive champion Jamie Sadlowski recently dressed as 80-year-old Grandpa Jamie to fool range-goers. That video has since gathered over 1.2 million views on YouTube.

Your Reaction?
  • 41
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW3
  • LOL10
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading


Think you had a bad weekend on the course? At least you didn’t do this



We hope this golfer didn’t take the ultra-premium golf equipment plunge before sending his clubs to a watery grave. Either way, this was an expensive (and strangely calm) reaction to a bad round.

Your Reaction?
  • 20
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL12
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading