Connect with us

Reviews

Fujikura Motore Speeder VC 7.2 Tour Spec Review

Published

on

Review by member: MTF

I find myself reading a lot of reviews from GolfWRX but I rarely post a review.  I felt the need to post my opinion of this shaft as I recently put it into my Titleist 910 D3 9.5* driver.

Prior to receiving the shaft from Titleist I was looking for information and opinions on this shaft and had a hard time finding a lot of good info.  I found one pretty detailed review but I don’t think it did this shaft justice so I want to give my opinion of this shaft.

Click here to read the discussion in the forums

I’ll start by giving some info about myself.  I am 43 years old, 5’7″, 160 lbs.  I am fairly athletic but by no means strong.  I started playing golf around 14 years old but never took it seriously or got very good at it until 2005 when I started dedicating myself to practicing 7 days a week.  I got down to a 6 handicap and then rarely played until the beginning of this year when I took up the game again.  I have a swing speed radar device that was around $100 and it tells me my swing speed is around 104 – 108 mph.

With a correctly fit shaft, my drives are usually around 280 yards total distance with a few drives going 300 – 310 total distance.  I’ve always migrated to X flex because I can’t control anything softer.  In 2003 I was fit for a driver with a radical fitting device that was a little black box that connects to the shaft.  I was astonished to recently find out that this little device is Mizuno’s primary fitting tool now.  It calculates how you load and release the shaft to determine proper bend profile and flex.  This device told me that based on my swing characteristics I should be in the stiffest shaft possible regardless of swing speed.

A few month ago at the beginning of my quest for a new driver, I met with a Titleist fitting rep in Arizona where I live.  Titleist sent several shafts for me to try.  However, only one matched the specs that I requested, which are the same specs that I have played for many years.  Those specs are mid 70 gram weight in X flex.  Of course, the one shaft they sent that met those specs happened to be the one I hit the best.  it was a Graphite Design Tour AD DI 7 X flex.  So, I ordered my new Titleist driver with that shaft.  I never had any consistency with that shaft.  Even when I would hit one perfect, I’d find out that the most I ever got out of it was 275 yards and I’d find the ball sitting one foot behind it’s pitch mark in the fairway on most drives.  I was getting zero roll in Arizona.  I was again on the hunt for a new driver shaft.  I spent countless hours researching shafts to determine which shaft might be right for me and decided to try an Aldila RIP alpha 70.  That didn’t work either.  The torque was way too low.  I decided to call Fujikura Golf directly since they were the makers of the shaft that was probably the best shaft I have ever hit, the Motore F1 75.  I was very interested in the speeder line thinking I would likely fall into the 7.1 based on specs and trajectory claims.  It would be something I could get the ball up in the air with but with a mid ball flight.   The rep started asking me a lot of very detailed questions about my swing.  I told him about shafts that I had success with in the past and shafts that I didn’t like and why I didn’t like them.  By the time we were done with our 15-20 minute conversation he said he would recommend the vc 7.2 Tour Spec.  I was shocked but decided to go out on a limb and buy the shaft because I trusted him based on the types of questions he was asking and his analysis of my answers.
Click here to read the discussion in the forums

Finally, here are my thoughts on this shaft.  The shaft is a Fujikura Motore Speeder vc 7.2 Tour Spec.  It came from Titleist as an off menu offering and was tipped 1/2″ as is standard for Titleist.  Since I have been doing my own club work for well over 10 years and I am the only one I trust to work on my clubs, I had Titleist send the shaft uncut for length.  I cut the shaft to 44 3/8 on my Mitchell measuring device and put the grip on and got a finished length of about 44 5/8 which I just call 44 1/2.  I play all of my clubs at D3 swingweight except my wedges which are at D5.  Based on other reviews of this shaft I was scared to death of what it was going to be like.  I was expecting it to be so stiff that I wouldn’t even be able to get it to kick.  I was expecting every drive to be a bullet 5 feet off the ground.  This is based on other reviews I read saying it was a super low launching shaft.  After I got the shaft in the head, cut it to length and put the grip on, I took exactly 1 swing on the swing speed radar with no warm up just to see what I would get.  Keep in mind that my first few swings are usually around 96-98 mph because I’m not warmed up yet.

My one swing with the 7.2 Tour Spec was 106 mph.  A few hours later I was at the range.  I warmed up with my irons and then after several shots I pulled out the big stick.  I have to say, for me, this is one of the best shafts I have ever hit.  The feel was phenomenal.  It feels soft yet crisp at the same time.  Compared to the Diamana Blue Board, which had a good feel but always felt mushy to me.  I have always had success with shafts that have a very quick load and release as compared to a shaft that when you swing to the top you have to wait 5 minutes for the shaft to load before you can start the down swing.  This shaft was exactly that.  It plays like it is an exotic sports car.  It is always ready to launch the second you put the pedel to the metal.  I didn’t feel that it was demanding at all.  It had a smooth yet snappy feel.

According to Fujikura… With efficient energy transfer and enhanced structural stability from 7-Axis Technology, the Motore Speeder allows you to swing with confidence. That’s because the uniform reinforcement provided by our Quadra Axis Composite and Triax woven material helps you return the head more consistently to impact. This translates into longer and straighter drives.

Through impact, it unleashed its stored energy with ferocious power.  It is the only shaft I’ve ever hit that caused the club head to get to the ball at the same times as my hands.  This shaft is also incredibly straight.  I was watching the golf tournament today on TV and they were saying that Steve Stricker was complaining that his tee shots with this shaft were going too straight.  When I tried to hit the ball straight or draw it, I got what I would call a medium ball flight and the ball went very straight or had an ever so slight draw.  There were no low bullets 5 feet off the ground.  What I really liked about this shaft is that I could hit a high sweeping cut that seemed to fly forever but I had complete control of the ball.  I hit 3 straight drives on the course that afternoon that went 300-305 and one of those was a slight drop kick.  I also hit a few high cut shots that went to places on the course I’ve never been to off the tee before.  Regardless of how high or low I hit the ball with this shaft, I got a very penetrating trajectory, probably due to low spin.
Click here to read the discussion in the forums

The bottom line, don’t be intimidated by this shaft.  It’s a great shaft with great feel and great kick.  I didn’t feel it was demanding at all even in a 74 gram X flex. But, like anything, it has to be the right shaft for your swing.  Personally, I can’t figure out what shaft is right for me in a one hour session.  I have taken months to put my latest set of clubs together.  I did a lot of testing of different shafts for irons and woods.  I wanted to find what was most consistant over time, not based on how I was swinging on one particular day.  Think outside the golf industry box when getting fit.  Most people will benefit more from a shorter driver than a longer one.  I personally get more distance from shorter heavier clubs than longer and lighter clubs.  I was golfing with my dad one time who was 60 years old at the time and not a golfer or an athlete for that matter.  I’m guessing his swing speed was around 75 mph.  He has a POS sporting good store driver and he was in the trees all day.  On the 10th tee he wanted to try my driver which had a 44.5″ Diamana Blue 73 X at the time.  He hit that driver about 230 yards straight down the middle of the fairway.  He was hitting his driver about 180 into the trees.  I’ve heard of a lot of guys that swing 115 mph that are playing S flex.  I couldn’t control an S flex if my life depended on it and I don’t swing 115, at least I don’t think I do.  Keep an open mind and experiment with flex, weight and length.  Being in the fairway is much better than being 10 yards longer in the trees or out of bounds.  The average driver length on the PGA Tour is 44.5″ which means for every guy that is playing a 45.5″ driver, there is someone playing a 43.5″ driver.  I absolutely love this shaft and felt it needed a review that did it justice.  I hope this review was helpful.

motore-speeder
Click here to read the discussion in the forums
Company Line: Fujikura Motore Speeder 6.2 Tour Spec-  The design concept was to keep the same unique feel of the VC.2 Motore Speeder but increase tip strength for lower spin plus eliminate the left with high ball speeds.  The S flex design will have almost the same tip stiffness as the X flex but the butt will be 7-10 CPM’s weaker to accommodate the high swing speed player who needs the tip strength but needs the handle a bit softer for smoother transitions.   We expect this shaft to accommodate the better golfer that wants to keep the spin low and not loose control of their shots.  Each Motore Speeder is equipped with our Proprietary Quadra Axis Composite and Triax Woven material creating a revolutionary 7-Axis Technology. This uniformity throughout the shaft assists with eliminating deformation (ovaling) yet provides the maximum amount of feel through the entire swing increasing overall performance and stability.
Click here to read the discussion in the forums

Your Reaction?
  • 42
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. chad

    Aug 27, 2014 at 1:01 am

    A 105 mph swing speed going over 300?

  2. Cole

    Jul 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    try the new project x prototype. i hit the tour spec before i bought the prototype and the project x is unbelievable. can’t go wrong with either though

  3. akshots

    Nov 10, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    great review thanks, i think im gonna get one, im in club buying mode right now

  4. Gabriel

    Nov 5, 2012 at 4:32 am

    he swings rahter upright, and stands closer to the ball at address compared to what the thought of a traditional one planer is but this is very well loved at the moment. if you want to see the difference between is shaft slant at address and how it relates to the angles right through his swing, take a look at wanyne defrancesco’s swing analysis here on youtube, you’ll see the his angles match up better than some of the more traditional one planers, its similar to say and anthony kim

  5. Big Bopper

    Sep 28, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    Nice review, I play this shaft tipped an extra inch (1.5 total) in my 910 D3 and I do like it but the ball just stops, no roll at all. It carries a mile and has low spin but i am looking to try something with a lower launch, any suggestions?? Just got fitted and stumped the fitter ball speed of 182 and 327 carry( I know you think I’m BSing the #s but I am not, dabbled in Long Drive, avg clubhead speed of 127-135). He says stay where I am but I would like to squeeze out a little roll if possible. Help….??

  6. hty3210

    Sep 26, 2012 at 1:09 am

    you have no idea what you are talking about!!!

    • Alain

      Nov 3, 2012 at 3:57 am

      hi. take the shoe . right shoe . the shoemaker puts a small piece of pltasic . 3 inches long . 3/4 inch hi9gh. at the back of the shoe to the sarch. this causes legs to stay stable, forces right knee to stay stable , and foot connected to rthe ground . it does work. please stay away from shoemakers in a mall just go to a small shop. a very high number of medical staff have the same thing done to thier shoes. when you tell the shoemaker what it is for. he will understand. it is a very simple illegal adjustment . the shoemaker will have you wait . cost under ten bucks. go for a walk before playing with the brace. after two months you could have it removed . there were shoes built this way early 90s . they worked so usga banned them . ken venturi, ben hogan, sam snead and byron nelson to name a few used this method . good luck . sorry spelling eyes screrwed up from cancer hack saw surgery .

  7. Kalob

    Sep 18, 2012 at 1:03 am

    Great review, I have been really interested in this shaft, do you know how it plays compared to the white board?

  8. Neil Harvey

    Aug 26, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Excellent review been looking at the Rombax and the Oban prototype for my D3 but think this has swayed me to the Motore Speeder 7.2 tour

    • MdHoney

      May 25, 2013 at 1:42 pm

      Did you try hitting it against the oban or the rombax?

  9. Matt C

    Aug 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Great write up! I purchased this shaft from Will Peoples after a fitting suggested a low launch, low flight shaft would suit my swing best. I could not get over what a difference this shaft made in my 910D. To quote Chazz Michaels “No exaggeration, I could not love a human baby more then I love this shaft.”

  10. Alex K

    Aug 16, 2012 at 9:04 am

    Great in depth review thanks, will definitively help me in my on going search for the perfect shaft.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Blade vs. mallet: What style putters do the top-50 players in the world use? (2022 update)

Published

on

Four years ago, I wrote an article where I analyzed the putters that the top-50 players in the world were using, and the top-50 players in strokes gained: putting. I wanted to find out whether more mallet-style putters, or blade-style putters, were being used by the world’s best.

In 2018, I found that 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

Flash forward to 2022, and it would seem that more and more top golfers are switching into mallet putters – Scottie Scheffler, for example, just switched into a mallet putter after using a blade-style putter throughout his career.

What are the actual numbers, though? Are more top PGA Tour players really using mallet putters these days, or is the shift overblown?

I wanted to find out.

For my research, I simply went through the most recent GolfWRX WITB photos, and the most recent photos on Getty Images, to figure out what style putter each player in the Top-50 in the OWGR is using, as well as each Top-50 player in strokes gained: putting on the PGA Tour for the 2021-22 season.

Below are the results:

Top-50 in OWGR: Blade or Mallet?

Mallet putter users, 62 percent (31 out of 50)

Rory McIlroy’s TaylorMade Spider Tour mallet putter

Rory McIlroy (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Scottie Scheffler (No. 2: Scotty Cameron T-5.5 Proto)

Patrick Cantlay (No. 4: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (N0. 5: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Xander Schauffele (No. 6: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Will Zalatoris (No. 7: Scotty Cameron Circle T Phantom X T-11 Proto)

Justin Thomas (No. 8: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto Tour-Only custom)

Viktor Hovland (No. 11: Ping PLD DS 72)

Sam Burns (No. 12: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Billy Horschel (No. 16: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Cameron Young (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T5 prototype)

Max Homa (No. 18: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Sungjae Im (No. 20: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Shane Lowry: (No. 21: Odyssey DFX 2-ball)

Abraham Ancer (No. 23: Odyssey White Hot No. 5 Stroke Lab)

Keegan Bradley (No. 25: Odyssey Versa Jailbird)

Sepp Straka (No. 27: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 28: Ping Vault Oslo)

Kevin Kisner (No. 29: Odyssey 2-Ball 11)

Dustin Johnson (No. 30: TaylorMade Spider GT Black)

Corey Conners (No. 31: Ping PLD Prototype)

Tom Hoge (No. 32: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

K.H. Lee (No. 33: Odyssey Works Versa 2-ball)

Adam Scott (No. 34: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Aaron Wise (No. 36: TaylorMade Ghost)

Brian Harman (No. 37: TaylorMade OS CB)

Daniel Berger (No. 43: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Jason Kokrak (No. 44: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Harold Varner III (No. 46: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S)

Seamus Power (No. 48: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

Harris English (No. 49: Ping Scottsdale Hohum)

Blade putter users, 38 percent (19 out of 50)

Tom Kim’s new custom Scotty Cameron blade-style putter

Cameron Smith (No. 3: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Collin Morikawa (No. 9: TaylorMade TP Soto)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 10: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Jordan Spieth (No. 13: Scotty Cameron 009 tour prototype)

Tony Finau (No. 14: Ping PLD Prototype)

Joohyung “Tom” Kim (No. 15: Scotty Cameron TourType GSS Prototype)

Hideki Matsuyama (No. 19: Scotty Cameron Newport 2 GSS)

Joaquin Niemann (No. 22: Prototype Ping PLD Anser)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 24: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Ryan Fox (No. 26: Ping Anser 2D)

Thomas Pieters (No. 35: Scotty Cameron Squareback Select 2 Tour Only)

Talor Gooch (No. 38: Odyssey Tri-Hot Two)

Brooks Koepka (No. 39: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Kevin Na (No. 40: Odyssey Toulon Madison)

Kurt Kitayama (No. 41: Scotty Cameron Newport prototype)

Louis Oosthuizen (No. 42: Ping Vault 2.0 Voss)

Mito Pereira (No. 45: Ping Vault 2.0 Dale Anser Stealth)

Paul Casey (No. 47: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Alex Noren (No. 50: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Top-50 in Strokes Gained: Putting

Mallet users: 70 percent (35 of 50 players)

Kelly Kraft’s custom Odyssey Versa 1-Ball Red prototype mallet

Lucas Herbert (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Denny McCarthy (No. 2: Scotty Cameron GoLo N7)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 4: Ping Vault Oslo)

Beau Hossler (No. 5: Odyssey 2-Ball Ten)

Christiaan Bezuidenhout (No. 6: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Kelly Kraft (No. 7: Odyssey Versa 1-ball Red Prototype)

Kevin Kisner (No. 9: Odyssey 2-ball 11)

Sam Burns (No. 10: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Martin Trainer (No. 12: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype Phantom T12)

Chesson Hadley (No. 13: Odyssey White Hot OG 2-Ball)

Mackenzie Hughes (No. 14: Ping Scottsdale TR Piper C)

Rory McIlroy (No. 16: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Ian Poulter (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T-11 Proto)

Justin Rose (No. 20: Axis1 Rose Prototype)

Billy Horschel (No. 21: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Matthew Wolff (No. 23: TaylorMade GT Notchback)

Adam Long (No. 24: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Viktor Hovland (No. 25: Ping PLD DS 72)

Max Homa (No. 27: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Patrick Cantlay (T28: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (T28: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Wyndham Clark (No. 31: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Xander Schauffele (No. 32: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Vince Whaley (No. 33: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Rory Sabbatini (No. 34: Scotty Cameron Flowback Prototype)

Austin Cook (T35: Ping Sigma G Tyne)

Sungjae Im (No. 37: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Andrew Putnam (No. 38: Odyssey Stroke Lab Black Rossie)

Sepp Straka (No. 39: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Seamus Power (No. 40: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

J.T. Poston (T41: Scotty Cameron GoLo 5 Black Tour Prototype)

Adam Scott (T41: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Troy Merritt (No. 43: Yes! C-Groove Mollie Tour)

Jason Kokrak (T46: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Mark Hubbard (No. 50: Odyssey Metal X Milled #9HT)

Blade users: 30 percent (15 of 50)

Matthew Fitzpatrick’s custom Bettinardi blade-style putter

Brendon Todd (No. 3: Sik Pro C-Series)

Cameron Smith (No. 8: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Matt Kuchar (No. 11: Bettinardi Tour Department SS28 DASS)

Marc Leishman (No. 15: Odyssey Versa #6)

Alex Noren (No. 18: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Maverick McNealy (No. 19: Toulon Stanford MM Custom)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 22: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 26: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Patrick Rodgers (No. 30: Odyssey Toulon San Diego)

Seung-Yul Noh (T35: Scotty Cameron Select Prototype)

Scott Stallings (No. 44: Scotty Cameron Newport 2.6 Prototype)

Brooks Koepka (No. 45: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Justin Lower (T46: PXG Prototype)

Richy Werenski (No. 48: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype)

Patrick Reed (No. 49: Odyssey White Hot Pro #3)

Conclusion

In 2018, 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

In 2022, 62 percent of the top-50 players in the OWGR use mallet style putters, and 70 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet style putters.

What do you think this means?

To me, it means that each golfer should try as many putters as possible – under the supervision of a professional fitter or local club professional – and find the best possible putter to fit their stroke style and preferences.

Your Reaction?
  • 155
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW9
  • LOL1
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

REVIEW: Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) putters for 2022

Published

on

Not every golfer has access to custom-built golf putters like PGA Tour players do, but with Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) program, they can get pretty darn close.

Through the newly launched website, pingpld.com, golfers will have access to precision milled putters like the ones seen on Tour, and they can even customize their own putter with a Tour-level fitting experience either online or in person.

There’s three essential levels to the new PLD program: PLD Custom, PLD Limited and PLD Milled. Each of the levels comes with different putter options at differing price points.

“The PLD program allows us to bring golfers more of what we do best – design and build the highest-performing custom putters in the game,” said Ping President John K. Solheim, in a press release. “It offers nearly endless possibilities. Golfers can craft their own custom design through PLD Custom, choose the proven performance of a PLD Milled model or add to their putter collection by acquiring a PLD Limited. It gives golfers a chance to play what the pros play and own a piece of Ping history.”

“We established the PLD name several years ago as an extension of the PING Putting Lab,
where we’ve been fitting some of the top players in the world for more than 20 years,” said
Solheim. “Until now, access to the master fitters who deliver these custom putter experiences has been limited to the best players in the game. We can now bring golfers what they’ve been asking for either through a virtual or in-person experience.”

Below, we go further in-depth on each of the three options within the PLD program.

Ping PLD Milled

PGA Tour players such as Viktor Hovland, Tony Finau and Bubba Watson use Ping PLD precision milled putters, and now consumers will have access to those Tour-proven putters.

Each of the heads (Anser, Anser 2, DS72 and Prime Tyne 4) are machine milled from forged 303 stainless steel. Ping offers a breakdown of the specs for each available model, which will sell for $485 each:

Anser

Slight Arc
350g
Matte Black finish
Ping black graphite shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Anser 2

Slight Arc
350g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

DS72

Straight Stroke
365g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 2°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Prime Tyne 4

Aerospace grade, machined aluminum hosel
Strong Arc
360g
Matte Black finish
Matte-black stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

“The PLD Milled is an exciting addition to our putter line,” said John K. Solheim. “We’ve
identified a couple of our most popular models from the past and some newer designs that have attracted a lot of attention in the last couple of years. We’ve given the new putters a very clean, premium look to emphasize the precision process they undergo before they are ready for play. As we collaborate on new designs with our engineers and tour staff through the PLD program, we’ll add new models to bring golfers the latest in tour-proven performance on the putting green.”

Ping PLD Limited

Ping’s PLD Limited will feature periodic limited-edition releases consisting of either putters that are played on Tour, or iconic designs from history. According to Ping, these putters are mostly targeted toward collectors, so they will have serialized numbers and will not be available for custom modifications.

For its first release ($790), Ping developed a 2022 version of the original Ping Anser, celebrating the 55th Anniversary of receiving the original Anser Patent on March 21, 1967.

“A lot of time has passed since the invention of the Anser putter,” said John A. Solheim, Ping’s Chairman & CEO and the youngest son of Karsten Solheim, who designed the original putter. “We think it’s important to remind the golf industry and some of the younger golfers that the iconic design they see with other brands’ name on it was created by Karsten in his garage in the mid-1960s. I was fortunate to be at his side building the first Ansers, and continued to do so for many years. It’s time Karsten gets the credit he deserves for inventing the Anser putter.”

Ping PLD Custom

The highest level in the Ping PLD program feature the PLD Custom putters, where golfers can customize their own designs with either the help of a Ping Master fitter in person, or virtually through the PLD program online. To help golfers find their perfect putter, they will use the PLD iPing putting app, and a Ping Master fitter will analyze the player’s data to recommend a putter.

Then, golfers can fully customize the putter to their liking, with ability to change head model, Tungsten weighting, face milling, finish, alignment aids, stampings and paint fill. Ping’s Master Fitters will also help golfers get the correct length, lie angle and loft for their stroke and biometrics.

The putters themselves will sell for $1,290, and a $200 non-refundable payment is required to schedule and participate in a PLD Custom Fitting, whether it’s virtually or in person.

Personally, I received a Ping PLD Custom Fitting in-person at the company’s indoor facility in Phoenix, Arizona. After identifying my stroke flaws (of which there many) using Ping’s iPing putting app, I tried out a slew of different head options and we made head adjustments along the way to figure out what truly works. Here were my final specs:

Head model: Ping Anser
Finish: Patina
Weight: 350 grams
Alignment line/dot: None
Stamping: “T” on the hosel
Length: 35.5 inches
Shaft: Chrome Stepless Steel
Grip: PP58 Black Midsize

What blew me away most was how impactful length and lie angle can be on comfort at address and stroke pattern. Even minor changes felt drastic. Also, the depth of face milling can truly change both feel and sound; I never realized how much.

Another point of note: Switching up alignment lines obviously can affect aim, but for me, they also influenced my stroke itself due to the visual changes. I highly suggest going through a full putter fitting to determine what specifications you prefer for yourself.

Check out the photos below of the putter that was designed for me through my work with a Ping Master Fitter:

Ping PLD putters are available for pre-order today, and head over to Ping’s PLD website to book your own fitting here.

Your Reaction?
  • 119
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW14
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

Reviews

Giveaway, member testing roundup: Cobra LTDx Driver giveaway + more!

Published

on

Our forum faithful are well acquainted with the incredible giveaways going on in the realm of threads and comments, but we want to make sure front page readers are able to get in on these unique opportunities.

Check out a roundup of our current giveaways and review opportunities below!

GIVEAWAY: Cobra LTDx Driver

Cobra Golf is bringing real firepower to their driver line this year with three brand new King LTDx drivers! We are giving 3 lucky members that chance to win a King LTDx driver of their choice, including custom options! Enter now for your chance to win!

Enter here.


MEMBER TESTING: SQAIRZ Speed Golf Shoes

SQAIRZ has been making some extremely advanced and highly engineered shoes for a few years now. The Sqairz Speed is a new shoe model aimed at providing you with improved performance of your golf swing, unique to any other golf shoe on the market. The Speed is lighter weight for those who love to walk and we are looking for 5 members to test out these new shoes! Apply now for your chance to be a tester!

Enter here.


GolfWRX GIVEAWAY: Cobra RADSPEED Driver

GolfWRX is giving away a Cobra RADSPEED 9* head with a Project X HZRDUS Smoke Blue RDX 60g 6.0 (Stiff) shaft. Headcover included!

Enter here.


The reviews are coming in…

10 GolfWRXers received early access and are testing L.A.B. Golf’s new MEZZ.1 Putter.

Three GolfWRX members are testing Callaway’s Apex UW Fairway Wood.

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending