Connect with us

Reviews

Review: The Perfect Putter Training Aid

Published

on

Pros: By rolling the ball consistently, the Perfect Putter helps golfers find the correct speed-line combination of any putt. Extra accessories help golfers improve their putting skills, and the Perfect Putter doubles as a Stimpmeter.

Cons: It’s $299. So if you’re not serious about practicing your putting, don’t bother.

Who’s it for? Chalkline and Aimpoint users will love this gadget, as will any golfer who wants the highest-quality feedback from a practice station.

The Review

[quote_box_center]”Practice doesn’t make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect,” said Vince Lombardi, the hall-of-fame football coach for whom the Super Bowl trophy is named.[/quote_box_center]

The Perfect Putter — which you’ve probably seen in our weekly Tour photos being used by several top PGA Tour players — helps golfers stick to Lombardi’s coaching ideals when practicing their putting.

Golfers often purchase a training aid in an effort to fast track their improvement, hoping for an overnight fix. The Perfect Putter will not provide that magical pixy dust, and that’s not its purpose. The training aid, which looks a lot like a Stimpmeter and actually doubles as one, helps golfers set up a perfect practice station that maximizes proper feedback.

Here’s how it works: The Perfect Putter is designed with a Clothoid curve, or “Euler spiral,” to transfer maximum energy on the golf ball, which gets it rolling on the green as soon as possible as it exits the tracks. By rolling instead of bouncing, the ball rolls more consistently on the green, which offers multiple benefits for a golfer.

With the help of its additional gadgets, the device can be used to improve your green reading, alignment, speed and putting stroke, but you must be willing to put the work in to see improvements. If golfers do, it will give them the definitive feedback about what’s working on the greens and what’s not.

For a long time, golfers have used chalk lines on the practice greens to get feedback on whether a putt was hit on their intended line. But drawing a chalk line, which works best on perfectly flat putts, has always been a “guess-and-check” ordeal. The Perfect Putter solves that.

Jim Furyk, a known perfectionist, uses the Perfect Putter -- in his flip-flops.

Jim Furyk, a known perfectionist, uses the Perfect Putter. It even works in flip flops!

Here’s a video of how Kevin Streelman uses the device.

Beginners can also benefit from the Perfect Putter, as it provides immediate feedback on the proper speed to use for a given line. The drills below can help build and sharpen green-reading skills.

The horseshoe-like gadgets, or gates, can help golfers fine tune their aim point and amount of break. Get the speed and line right? Good things happen; the ball goes in.

IMG_6780

Get the speed wrong…

IMG_6784

Or the line wrong…

IMG_6763

And the ball will either hit the gate, or make it through the gate but miss the hole. If you keep hitting the gate and/or get frustrated, there’s larger options with more leeway until you develop a more repeatable stroke.

PerfectGates

Gates come in three sizes: Beginner (2.8 inches), Intermediate (2.5 inches) and Professional (2.2 inches)

A great drill to develop your green-reading skills is to visualize the putt, then use the Perfect Putter to see how it really breaks. Aimpoint users can also use the Perfect Putter to verify their reads, as well as measure stimp and the associated arm bend they use to calculate break.

See more drills here on Perfect Putter’s website.

To use the device as a Stimpmeter, which measures the relative speed of any green, drop a perfectly clean golf ball from the “0” setting in two opposite directions and then average the distance. If the average distance is 10 feet, for instance, those greens would be “rolling at a 10.”

To read more about the Perfect Putter, and find out where to buy one, visit their website.

Your Reaction?
  • 79
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW7
  • LOL7
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK39

He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team and earned a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. Jason

    Sep 10, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    We are lucky enough to be friends with the guys who invented this device and this week we got a on site demo of the Perfect Putter. Admittedly this is not for everyone. Nor is it the type of training aid that you buy and get better without lots of effort on your part. But lets be honest, do these types of trainers really exist?

    I am very impressed at the consistency of the roll and the only limitations are based on your imagination or lack there of. The first thing I noticed was how badly I was under reading putts. Especially putts that break away from me (left to right).

    If you are linear or non-linear you can come up with some great drills with this device. However, if you are not willing to put in the work then don’t bother. Like anything else in life, there are no short cuts to being a good putter.

  2. James Saylor

    Aug 13, 2015 at 6:05 am

    It looks perfect, but the price is prohibitive. Maybe, I have to look cheaper

  3. DaveTrom

    Aug 3, 2015 at 4:45 am

    Didn’t Dave Pelz come up with same thing called a True Roller in the 1980’s?

  4. ooffa

    Aug 2, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    Ha Ha Ha you got me good. This thing is a joke right. Man you guys had me believing this article was real for a moment there. A golf ball ramp for 300 bucks. Wow, good one guys.

  5. Steven

    Aug 2, 2015 at 12:16 pm

    It looks cool, but the price is prohibitive.

    A much cheaper option that would do the same thing, minus the stimp meter, is the Absolute Reader by Esoteric Golf. The advantage of it would be that you can actually putt the ball. If I have more practice time next season I might get one (http://www.golftrainingaids.com/Absolute-Reader/productinfo/ABSOLUTE/).

  6. Andy W

    Aug 1, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    Verify Aimpoint with this PP? Still must get that weighted “feeling” in your feet to your brain, which I can’t even feel half my body parts these days. Something that puts a VISUAL angle/gap in you face for each putt for a perfect Greenread at ebay search, “Surveying Putting”

  7. WolfWRX

    Aug 1, 2015 at 7:39 am

    Looks interesting but very pricey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Putter Reviews

REVIEW: Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) putters for 2022

Published

on

Not every golfer has access to custom-built golf putters like PGA Tour players do, but with Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) program, they can get pretty darn close.

Through the newly launched website, pingpld.com, golfers will have access to precision milled putters like the ones seen on Tour, and they can even customize their own putter with a Tour-level fitting experience either online or in person.

There’s three essential levels to the new PLD program: PLD Custom, PLD Limited and PLD Milled. Each of the levels comes with different putter options at differing price points.

“The PLD program allows us to bring golfers more of what we do best – design and build the highest-performing custom putters in the game,” said Ping President John K. Solheim, in a press release. “It offers nearly endless possibilities. Golfers can craft their own custom design through PLD Custom, choose the proven performance of a PLD Milled model or add to their putter collection by acquiring a PLD Limited. It gives golfers a chance to play what the pros play and own a piece of Ping history.”

“We established the PLD name several years ago as an extension of the PING Putting Lab,
where we’ve been fitting some of the top players in the world for more than 20 years,” said
Solheim. “Until now, access to the master fitters who deliver these custom putter experiences has been limited to the best players in the game. We can now bring golfers what they’ve been asking for either through a virtual or in-person experience.”

Below, we go further in-depth on each of the three options within the PLD program.

Ping PLD Milled

PGA Tour players such as Viktor Hovland, Tony Finau and Bubba Watson use Ping PLD precision milled putters, and now consumers will have access to those Tour-proven putters.

Each of the heads (Anser, Anser 2, DS72 and Prime Tyne 4) are machine milled from forged 303 stainless steel. Ping offers a breakdown of the specs for each available model, which will sell for $485 each:

Anser

Slight Arc
350g
Matte Black finish
Ping black graphite shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Anser 2

Slight Arc
350g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

DS72

Straight Stroke
365g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 2°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Prime Tyne 4

Aerospace grade, machined aluminum hosel
Strong Arc
360g
Matte Black finish
Matte-black stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

“The PLD Milled is an exciting addition to our putter line,” said John K. Solheim. “We’ve
identified a couple of our most popular models from the past and some newer designs that have attracted a lot of attention in the last couple of years. We’ve given the new putters a very clean, premium look to emphasize the precision process they undergo before they are ready for play. As we collaborate on new designs with our engineers and tour staff through the PLD program, we’ll add new models to bring golfers the latest in tour-proven performance on the putting green.”

Ping PLD Limited

Ping’s PLD Limited will feature periodic limited-edition releases consisting of either putters that are played on Tour, or iconic designs from history. According to Ping, these putters are mostly targeted toward collectors, so they will have serialized numbers and will not be available for custom modifications.

For its first release ($790), Ping developed a 2022 version of the original Ping Anser, celebrating the 55th Anniversary of receiving the original Anser Patent on March 21, 1967.

“A lot of time has passed since the invention of the Anser putter,” said John A. Solheim, Ping’s Chairman & CEO and the youngest son of Karsten Solheim, who designed the original putter. “We think it’s important to remind the golf industry and some of the younger golfers that the iconic design they see with other brands’ name on it was created by Karsten in his garage in the mid-1960s. I was fortunate to be at his side building the first Ansers, and continued to do so for many years. It’s time Karsten gets the credit he deserves for inventing the Anser putter.”

Ping PLD Custom

The highest level in the Ping PLD program feature the PLD Custom putters, where golfers can customize their own designs with either the help of a Ping Master fitter in person, or virtually through the PLD program online. To help golfers find their perfect putter, they will use the PLD iPing putting app, and a Ping Master fitter will analyze the player’s data to recommend a putter.

Then, golfers can fully customize the putter to their liking, with ability to change head model, Tungsten weighting, face milling, finish, alignment aids, stampings and paint fill. Ping’s Master Fitters will also help golfers get the correct length, lie angle and loft for their stroke and biometrics.

The putters themselves will sell for $1,290, and a $200 non-refundable payment is required to schedule and participate in a PLD Custom Fitting, whether it’s virtually or in person.

Personally, I received a Ping PLD Custom Fitting in-person at the company’s indoor facility in Phoenix, Arizona. After identifying my stroke flaws (of which there many) using Ping’s iPing putting app, I tried out a slew of different head options and we made head adjustments along the way to figure out what truly works. Here were my final specs:

Head model: Ping Anser
Finish: Patina
Weight: 350 grams
Alignment line/dot: None
Stamping: “T” on the hosel
Length: 35.5 inches
Shaft: Chrome Stepless Steel
Grip: PP58 Black Midsize

What blew me away most was how impactful length and lie angle can be on comfort at address and stroke pattern. Even minor changes felt drastic. Also, the depth of face milling can truly change both feel and sound; I never realized how much.

Another point of note: Switching up alignment lines obviously can affect aim, but for me, they also influenced my stroke itself due to the visual changes. I highly suggest going through a full putter fitting to determine what specifications you prefer for yourself.

Check out the photos below of the putter that was designed for me through my work with a Ping Master Fitter:

Ping PLD putters are available for pre-order today, and head over to Ping’s PLD website to book your own fitting here.

Your Reaction?
  • 118
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW13
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

Reviews

Giveaway, member testing roundup: Cobra LTDx Driver giveaway + more!

Published

on

Our forum faithful are well acquainted with the incredible giveaways going on in the realm of threads and comments, but we want to make sure front page readers are able to get in on these unique opportunities.

Check out a roundup of our current giveaways and review opportunities below!

GIVEAWAY: Cobra LTDx Driver

Cobra Golf is bringing real firepower to their driver line this year with three brand new King LTDx drivers! We are giving 3 lucky members that chance to win a King LTDx driver of their choice, including custom options! Enter now for your chance to win!

Enter here.


MEMBER TESTING: SQAIRZ Speed Golf Shoes

SQAIRZ has been making some extremely advanced and highly engineered shoes for a few years now. The Sqairz Speed is a new shoe model aimed at providing you with improved performance of your golf swing, unique to any other golf shoe on the market. The Speed is lighter weight for those who love to walk and we are looking for 5 members to test out these new shoes! Apply now for your chance to be a tester!

Enter here.


GolfWRX GIVEAWAY: Cobra RADSPEED Driver

GolfWRX is giving away a Cobra RADSPEED 9* head with a Project X HZRDUS Smoke Blue RDX 60g 6.0 (Stiff) shaft. Headcover included!

Enter here.


The reviews are coming in…

10 GolfWRXers received early access and are testing L.A.B. Golf’s new MEZZ.1 Putter.

Three GolfWRX members are testing Callaway’s Apex UW Fairway Wood.

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

Here’s why Jordan Spieth switched into a new Fujikura Ventus TR Blue shaft at Pebble Beach

Published

on

When Fujikura’s new Ventus TR Blue shaft launched in January 2022, we learned all about the updated construction and potential performance benefits compared to the original Ventus Blue. It was unclear at the time, however, exactly who would make the switch into the new TR design on the PGA Tour.

Well, we’re starting to get some answers.

Jordan Spieth, who’s been relatively slow to change into new products throughout his career, is among a handful of names making the change. Spieth conducted recent testing with a Ventus Blue TR 7 X shaft in his Titleist TS2 15-degree fairway wood, and he put it in play this week at the 2022 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am.

Titleist Tour representative J.J. Van Wezenbeeck, who works closely with Spieth on his equipment, said that Spieth came to the Titleist Performance Institute (TPI) on Friday before the 2022 Pebble Beach Pro-Am for a check-up on his equipment. Since Spieth was previously playing Ventus Blue shafts in his Titleist metalwoods, he was intrigued by the new TR version.

As it turned out, Spieth found the new shaft to help with his transition and directional control.

“Coming from Ventus Blue, anytime they update a shaft you’re just intrigued on that, and he liked how [the Ventus TR Blue] loaded compared to the original Ventus Blue for him,” Van Wezenbeeck told GolfWRX on Tuesday. “He felt like when he mishit it, there was a little more control. So that was a good option for him…we did a little bit of internal work on the head to make sure there’s enough spin, because want to make sure his 3 wood doesn’t have too low of spin. He liked how the TR reacted on mishits where the spin didn’t drop, and it had more consistent spin from swing to swing.”

Due to a new Spread Tow fabric in the butt-end section, which is essentially a checkerboard pattern of woven material, the torque on the TR version is 10 percent stiffer in the mid-to-grip end of the shaft. As a result, Fujikura says the TR shaft is designed to improve stability and consistency compared to the original Ventus Blue.

Based on Spieth’s results with the TR shaft during testing, it seems Fujikura’s case holds water.

Spieth is using a Ventus Blue TR 7 X version in his fairway wood.

Pat McCoy, Director of Tour Operations at Fujikura, spoke with GolfWRX about the new shaft, and what players are seeing in their testing out on Tour.

“Compared to the original Ventus Blue, the TR has a stiffer mid-section and lower torque,” McCoy said. “Basically what the shaft does is it eliminates some of the dynamic loft. It eliminates some of the rotation. Obviously, the Ventus Blue was a very stable shaft and one of the best launching shafts we’ve ever had. And we just made it better.

“As far as ball speed and launch and spin, I’m not going to say it’s faster, but we have seen players who have achieved faster speeds with it. It provides more consistency and the ability to turn swing speed into ball speed better. And that’s it. It’s a little stiffer than the original Blue, and it’s a little bit weaker than the [Ventus Black]. It’s a ‘tweener. It gives you something in the middle, and depending upon loft and impact location, you get a better fit.”

The fairway wood shaft wasn’t the only potential change that Spieth will make in 2022, though.

In addition to putting the new Titleist Vokey SM9 wedges in the bag, Spieth is also considering adding another option to the top end of his bag.

Typically, Spieth changes between a hybrid and long irons, depending on course conditions. During the recent session at TPI, though, Spieth took a liking to Titleist’s U-505 wide-bodied driving iron. Ahead of the 2022 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, Spieth took a U-505 2-iron (Graphite Design AD-DI 105X shaft) out onto the course for testing.

“He’s experimenting with a U-505 this week (ahead of the event at Pebble Beach),” Van Wezenbeeck told GolfWRX. “He’s always gone between a hybrid and either a 2 iron, or a hybrid and 3 iron, and we brought out a 505 as kind of a third option on a week where he isn’t sure whether he should play an iron or a hybrid. The 505 being a wide body iron is kind of a blend between the two. And he was really intrigued with how high it launched on a standard shot, and he could flight it more off the tee, where as with a hybrid he can’t do.

“So on weeks he feels like there’s a lot of irons off the tee, he likes to play the iron. On weeks where there are a lot of shots into par 5s, he likes the hybrid. On weeks where there’s a little of both…he felt the 505 might be an option, so he was taking it on the golf course [on Tuesday] to see how it would react.”

While it’s unclear exactly when Spieth will break out the new U-505, it seems like it’ll certainly be in the rotation going forward. The Ventus TR Blue shaft, on the other hand, has already earned a starting spot in the bag this week.

These changes may seem minor to some, but it shows Spieth’s willingness to find small equipment tweaks to improve his game. For amateur golfers, use this as a lesson when gearing up for the new season. Go through your bag, test some of the new shaft and head options, and see where you can make improvements. Now is the perfect time to take inventory and get prepared.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 58
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW3
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending