Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

New Balance NB574 Golf Shoe Review

Published

on

Pros: The comfort and fit you’d expect from New Balance. They’re waterproof, and at $129, very affordable for their level of quality and comfort.

Cons: Only one width and two colors available.

Bottom Line: If you like New Balance shoes already, you’ll love the NB574. If you don’t like New Balance already, a round in these may make you a convert.

Overview

Acclaimed shoe manufacturer New Balance is entering the golf footwear marketplace with six unique styles for this golf season. The Massachusetts-based company is bringing both cleated and spikeless shoes to market this year. New Balance’s mid-level offering at $129, the NB574, is between the Minimus and NGB2001 models in price ($119-$159).

Based on the popular New Balance 574 shoe, the offering is described as the 574 shoes plus golf technology. In other words, it is the application of New Balance’s technological understandings about footwear to golf with a premium on comfort, fit, durability, balance and stability.

As New Balance Product Director Carey Langley said, “We were with one of our [Tour] players this weekend, and he said ‘This is the shoe I wear every day.’”

nbg574wrd_nb_14_i

The NB574 and the other shoes in this collection are built from high-quality waterproof leathers and innovative water-resistant mesh fabrics. The 574s, in particular, come with a two-year waterproof warranty.

Reduced midsole drop and lower heel stack height positions the golfer’s foot closer to the ground. The shoe is designed with a wide midsole to enhance lateral stability, and its midsole is built from REVlite material, which enhances lateral stability and support.

Additionally, the Champ Zarma state-of-the-art One-Lok cleat system, the market’s thinnest and lightest cleat receptacle system, positions the outsole platform closer to the ground than other cleated systems.

Screen-shot-2014-05-07-at-11.59.08-AM

Speaking with Mr. Langley, he indicated that the company’s emphasis is on creating light, stylish looking shoes that get a golfer lower to the ground that offer all-day comfort. Repeatedly, he said the NB574 is the shoe for the golfer looking to walk 36 holes in a day.

  • Price: $129.99
  • Sizes: 8–12, 13, 14, 15
  • Widths: D
  • Weight: 11.7 oz
  • Colors: White/Red and Grey/White

Performance

What do we expect from our golf shoes at a minimum? Comfort, stability, reasonable waterproof-ness and style, I think. Perhaps there are shoes out there that will take five strokes off your game. However, I’m yet to see said shoes.

Certainly, the NB574s clear the low bar we’ve set. They are light and comfortable as advertised, and there is a distinct sensation of being low to the ground. Between that and the style of the shoes, it’s easy to forget you’re wearing golf spikes at all.

nbg574wrd_nb_16_i

Certainly, there’s no drop off in traction from what would be expected as a function of the lower spikes and height. The additional cleating on the bottom of the shoes beyond the screw-in spikes provides plenty of grip throughout the swing.

Overall, the sensation when walking the course is one of walking in a quality pair of sneakers that happen to have spikes in them.

The One-Lok spikes are easy to remove and install as advertised, and an amateur test of the 574’s “waterproof-ness” proved the shoes are quite impervious to water. Throughout the swing, the shoes perform as one would expect a quality golf shoe to, with the appropriate balance between flexibility and stability.

Looks and Feel

Aesthetically, the NB574s follow in the recent trend of sneaker-style golf shoes with an appealing blend of leather and mesh and prominent New Balance “N” logos. A simple white/black/gray scheme with red accents creates what would be a relatively conservative sneaker. In the world of golf shoes, however, the design hits all the right notes and is a balance between the overwhelmingly plain golf shoe of yore and today’s busier models.

nbg574gr_nb_14_i

From a comfort standpoint, the 574s are immensely easy on the feet. Upon sliding your flippers in, this will be immediately discernible. While walking, too, the shoes are in the upper-tier of comfort among golf shoes, fitting well in both the heel and toe.

The Takeaway

If you’ve worn and liked New Balance shoes casually/for other sports, you’ll likely love the 574. And if you want a golf shoe that is similar in appearance to a sneaker, the 574 will surely appeal to you.

nbg574wrd_nb_15_i

This is a great shoe for the casual golfer and the golfer who isn’t looking for something incredibly dressy or expensive that will sustain him (or her) through multiple weekend rounds.

Ultimately, the 574 offers the comfort, style, and stability golfers want and New Balance has done a first-rate job with their initial effort in the golf sphere.

Your Reaction?
  • 91
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP11
  • OB3
  • SHANK38

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. Gerry

    Jul 16, 2015 at 7:42 am

    Im in Canada, where do you buy the the replacement one-lok spikes???

  2. Dave C.

    Jul 7, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    I’ve been wearing NB sneakers for years. I’ve always worn dress shoe type golf shoes for almost 50 years, but I thought I’d try the NB golf shoes. Just received them yesterday, and was on the course 8:00 AM today. I walk exclusively. I didn’t get halfway down the first fairway, and my feet felt wet. A couple holes later, I took off on shoe, then the other. Both feet were soaked. Water resistant, my rear.
    I’m very disappointed in these shoes after one round. I guess golf today is expected to be played riding carts on perfectly groomed courses. I bought them online, so to try to return them will require additional loss for postage.
    Pathetic shoes.

  3. Dave S

    Feb 25, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    I don’t get the new fad of wearing golf shoes that look like regular shoes… you just look like a scrub on the course. I’m not an old curmudgeon either, I’m right within the target demographic. I don’t have an issue with more athletic looking shoes (i.e. Nike Lunar control), but some of these are just ridiculous.

  4. Nately18

    Feb 10, 2015 at 6:58 am

    Worst golf shoes I’ve ever had. Wore them twice and got blisters on both feet, toes on the left foot and bottom front on the right. They’re supposedly the same size as the NB running shoes I’ve been buying for 20 years, 11 4E. Just looked at the tag again. Says Made in China. Doesn’t New Balance always tout Made in US?

  5. Joseph Thibodaux

    Jan 29, 2015 at 11:29 am

    I wish I still had the response email received from newbalance two years ago that said they had no plans for a golf shoe. I knew they would be a great company for it, and I really didn’t believe them then. I look forward to stepping into a pair.

  6. Manfred Jusko

    Oct 1, 2014 at 5:57 am

    Hi there,
    I am looking for a shop in Europe or Germany who sells NB golf shoes?
    best regards
    Manfred

    • Michael

      Mar 4, 2015 at 4:47 am

      Hi Manfred,

      having worked in the sports industry in Germany for a couple of years, I still have some guys, I can contact. The man in charge at NB Germany told me last year, that they don’t have any plans for adding golf shoes to the German line. Not sure, if that changed in the meantime, but that’s what I heard last year.
      Regards,
      Michael

  7. Shad Rafferty

    Sep 9, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Is it possible to get a pair of size 11 wide of the New Balance 2001 in either black or white, or do I understand correctly that New Balance doesn’t make those shoes in wide widths?

  8. Randy Behrmann

    Jun 8, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    Hello,
    I love the New Balance NB574 golf shoe, but where can I buy “one-lok” replacement spikes? Can’t find listed online nor in golf stores?
    Thanks!

    • Andy

      Jul 16, 2014 at 11:39 pm

      Can’t find replacement one-lok spikes anywhere!!!!…and the link doesn’t work. Does anyone know where to find replacements??

  9. Pingback: Wanna Shop Adidas Golf 2014 Mens Adicross III Golf Shoes – White – UK 10 Wide Review | Mens Golf Shoes UK

  10. Jeremy

    May 22, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    You haven’t found a pair of shoes that can take 5 strokes off your game? Then maybe you aren’t using them right. #footwedge

  11. Gary ODell

    May 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    I just bought a pair in a different style from the NB Store in Shreveport LA and played 27 holes in them yesterday. Mine are 2E wide. They are Oxford style with molded built in spikes. I absolutely love them. They are as light as a feather and the most comfortable golf shoes I have ever owned!

  12. Jim

    May 21, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    Please follow up and review the NB NBG2002 golf shoes. They seem better in looks and fit, but maintain the performance mentioned above.

  13. Jim

    May 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    New Balance shoes have fit me like a glove for over 30 years. I just bought another pair of gray “country walking” shoes which I have hit balls with, very comfortably at the range. Glad to know they are now making golf shoes and will likely pick up a pair of the gray shoes pretty quickly. I also look forward to their introduction of black shoes – the color I normally wear.

  14. Neil J

    May 20, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I really wanted a pair of the 574’s.

    But being in between width’s in most shoes, these fit on the narrow side, and thus prevented me from owning 574’s.

    On the flip side – the New Balance 2002 shoes do fit slightly wider, and are just as comfortable. I bought 3 pair of NB2002 (all 3 colors they make) and have been more than pleased in fit, looks, and performance.

  15. Billy

    May 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    I’ll get a pair, good thing I am “Medium” width in all my golf shoes.

  16. Mike

    May 20, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    The white definitely have my interest. Wish they had a black version instead of the grey though.

  17. Ben

    May 20, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    the lack of ‘wide’ options is concerning, especially considering NB’s availability of such sizes have always been a hallmark of their company.

    • Peter

      May 21, 2014 at 8:28 pm

      I agree. I am a long time NB fan because of their width selection. I’d buy a pair this minute if they had wide sizes available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa Golf Shoe

Published

on

The Product

The new Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, available in North America now, selling for $250 at adidas.com (only available on Adidas’ website, this shoe will not be at retail).

The Pitch

From Adidas: “The adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa® is the epitome of performance golf footwear, designed to offer micro-adjustability in two separate zones. The first is the independent main dial with high strength Boa lace that when combined with the forged 360 wrap creates unparalleled power for your swing by locking the area between your midfoot and forefoot. The second provides micro-adjustability from the middle to bottom instep for a customized fit, feel, and support. The Boa Fit System activates both zones to deliver the ultimate in power, stability, and performance.”

Our take on Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa

BOA technology, a ratcheting cable system that replaces laces for securing the shoe, has been around for a while now. It was a radical departure when it first hit the market and traditionalists viewed it with some skepticism, but those who tried shoes using the system became hooked on the ease of use, secure feel, and reliability of the system. I have had to replace shoelaces, but I have never had a cable fail in a pair of shoes with Boa technology.

With the TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, Adidas has introduced the next step on Boa technology (pun intended). The shoe has a sleek, technology-forward look that is associated with Adidas products. It even looks good in the size 13 that I sport. The color selection is limited, to say the least. You can choose from white with green trim or white without green trim. But the star of the show is the Boa technology, which is implemented in two dials located on the outside of each shoe, replacing the one dial on previous iterations.

Each dial controls the fit for a different part of the shoe, and the ratcheting dial gives the wearer the most precise fit available. The real advantage over laces is that the Boa system stays secure longer and is easier to tighten than re-tying shoelaces. It’s so easy to reach down and give a couple of clicks that it became routine for me to check on each tee box to make sure I had a good fit before teeing off. Equally pleasing is the quick release on each dial that gets you out of your shoes at the end of a round without the terror of facing a wet double-knot.

The shoe is waterproof leather, and it is light and comfortable enough to walk 18 on hilly tracks. I personally would have preferred a slightly wider toe box, but that is nit-picking.

Overall, the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is a performance shoe that promises, fit, comfort and stability, and it delivers on all fronts. Not everyone has $250 to drop on a pair of golf shoes, but if you want the tech on your feet to match the tech in your bag, then the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is perfect for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB4
  • SHANK49

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Linksoul golf apparel

Published

on

Product: Linksoul golf apparel

Pitch: From Linksoul “Linksoul is more a philosophy than a brand. More of an experience than a clothing company. Linksoul is the collective life’s work of people who care about each other and enjoy collaborating. We believe in creating products we value, with the people we love, for the good of our families and our community. Our roots are in golf. We descend from a long line of golfers, craftsmen and artists. But now we fill our time with many interests, including surfing, skiing, hiking, yoga, travel, cooking, parenting, dog walking…We believe that these everyday practices teach us the most about ourselves.”

Our Take on Linksoul’s golf apparel

Linksoul, whose mantra is “Tempus Fugit” (Time Flies), primarily provides golf clothing made to be just as appropriate and comfortable to wear on the course as off of it. The company has a range of different types of polos, tee-shirts, shorts, and pants available, but it was a button-down shirt from the company which I was most intrigued to check out.

Right off the bat, the brand’s Anza Heathered Button-Down shirt impressed with its ultra-soft fabric. To complement that softness, the shirt is wonderfully light and boasts an excellent fit. The length of the shirt sleeves is ideal, so you won’t need to keep fidgeting before and after each shot, and the comfort and fit combined gives you that added flexibility in your swing. The collar fits naturally the moment you put the shirt on and marks the clear quality that went into its creation.

It seems many are on the fence about whether button-down shirts on the course are for them (I was one of those!), but my take now is that they are the ideal summer shirt on the course. In the heat, comfort has to be the number one priority, and the button-down structure gives you so much more air. With Linksoul’s Anza button-down you’ll experience maximum breathability.

Linksoul offers the shirt in six color codes (White, Black Heather, Tidepool Heather, Ink Heather, Dark Gray Heather, and Dawn Heather). For $80, considering the caliber of the shirt, the only gripe I could make is that there aren’t more exotic colors available!

The brand’s Boardwalker Shorts are another piece of apparel that I found to contain the perfect blend of comfort and quality, as well as looking great. The shorts contain a four-way stretch fabric which gives you a plethora of flexibility during your swing, while the weight of the shorts I also found to be on point. The shorts are lightweight but not so much as to take away from the durability and quality of the shorts.

 

There is plenty of mobility on offer with the Boardwalker Shorts, while I also enjoyed that the shorts are a classic style length and sit right at the knee.

You can choose from eight different color codes (Black, Chalk, Khaki, Dark Gray, True Black, Bronze, Navy, Army, and River), and the shorts retail at $76. With their no-fuss look, high quality, and a clear focus on comfort, Linksoul’s Boardwalker shorts offer everything you’d want in a pair of golf shorts.

For those that prefer to play solely in trousers, you’ll be glad to hear that the company provide the same product in a pant style—the BoardWalker Pant.

There’s a huge amount to like about the apparel Linksoul is offering up, and at prices which are extremely reasonable considering the quality provided. Their site Linksoul.com offers a multitude of polos, button-downs (in both short and long sleeve), shorts, pants, and tee-shirts. If high-quality adaptable golf apparel is your thing, then it’s a company well worth checking out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes (available at Dick’s and Golf Galaxy). 

Pitch: Via Jordan: “Jump up the leaderboard in the Nike Men’s Air Jordan ADG Golf Shoes. Famed for its incredible comfort and lightweight feel, the ADG features a Zoom Air unit for responsive cushioning and an integrated lacing system for a secure, supportive fit. The Integrated Traction pattern offers you enhanced grip on every terrain and the signature Jumpman logos give you extra style on the course.”

Our take on Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Confined to the feet of Keegan Bradley for years, the iconic sneaker brand seems to have proof of concept in the golf space, as evidenced by the growing roster of tour players (Pat Perez, Harold Varner III), and numerous retail offerings.

We got to test one of said retail offerings: the just-released spikeless Air Jordan ADG. Now, the Jordan style may not be for every golfer (can’t imagine them catching on in Tuesday morning senior leagues across the nation), but if you like the look of Js on the court or street, you’ll love the look of these. Indeed, you’ll probably love the look of all Jordan offerings for the fairway, as the company has done an excellent job of bringing its aesthetic to golf, rather than the opposite (if that makes sense…tacking the Jumpman logo on a pair of saddle shoes was never going to work).

So, appearance wise, the elephant print leather upper and other signature brand elements look great (and the translucent sole is an awesome touch). However, when it comes to golf shoes, particularly of the spikeless variety, we’re always concerned about stability during the swing (both in terms of contact with the ground and within the shoe internally) and appropriate support/comfort for the five-plus mile trek that is a round of golf.

On both of the aforementioned fronts, these shoes are superb. You can feel the comfort and support the instant your heel hits the Jumpan Golf logo on the insole, and the shoes do everything you’d ask a spikeless shoe to do on course. Highly recommended; we look forward to seeing what his Airness’ cordwainers come up with next.

A look at the white colorway, via Jordan, below. 

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB6
  • SHANK32

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending