Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

New Balance NB574 Golf Shoe Review

Published

on

Pros: The comfort and fit you’d expect from New Balance. They’re waterproof, and at $129, very affordable for their level of quality and comfort.

Cons: Only one width and two colors available.

Bottom Line: If you like New Balance shoes already, you’ll love the NB574. If you don’t like New Balance already, a round in these may make you a convert.

Overview

Acclaimed shoe manufacturer New Balance is entering the golf footwear marketplace with six unique styles for this golf season. The Massachusetts-based company is bringing both cleated and spikeless shoes to market this year. New Balance’s mid-level offering at $129, the NB574, is between the Minimus and NGB2001 models in price ($119-$159).

Based on the popular New Balance 574 shoe, the offering is described as the 574 shoes plus golf technology. In other words, it is the application of New Balance’s technological understandings about footwear to golf with a premium on comfort, fit, durability, balance and stability.

As New Balance Product Director Carey Langley said, “We were with one of our [Tour] players this weekend, and he said ‘This is the shoe I wear every day.’”

nbg574wrd_nb_14_i

The NB574 and the other shoes in this collection are built from high-quality waterproof leathers and innovative water-resistant mesh fabrics. The 574s, in particular, come with a two-year waterproof warranty.

Reduced midsole drop and lower heel stack height positions the golfer’s foot closer to the ground. The shoe is designed with a wide midsole to enhance lateral stability, and its midsole is built from REVlite material, which enhances lateral stability and support.

Additionally, the Champ Zarma state-of-the-art One-Lok cleat system, the market’s thinnest and lightest cleat receptacle system, positions the outsole platform closer to the ground than other cleated systems.

Screen-shot-2014-05-07-at-11.59.08-AM

Speaking with Mr. Langley, he indicated that the company’s emphasis is on creating light, stylish looking shoes that get a golfer lower to the ground that offer all-day comfort. Repeatedly, he said the NB574 is the shoe for the golfer looking to walk 36 holes in a day.

  • Price: $129.99
  • Sizes: 8–12, 13, 14, 15
  • Widths: D
  • Weight: 11.7 oz
  • Colors: White/Red and Grey/White

Performance

What do we expect from our golf shoes at a minimum? Comfort, stability, reasonable waterproof-ness and style, I think. Perhaps there are shoes out there that will take five strokes off your game. However, I’m yet to see said shoes.

Certainly, the NB574s clear the low bar we’ve set. They are light and comfortable as advertised, and there is a distinct sensation of being low to the ground. Between that and the style of the shoes, it’s easy to forget you’re wearing golf spikes at all.

nbg574wrd_nb_16_i

Certainly, there’s no drop off in traction from what would be expected as a function of the lower spikes and height. The additional cleating on the bottom of the shoes beyond the screw-in spikes provides plenty of grip throughout the swing.

Overall, the sensation when walking the course is one of walking in a quality pair of sneakers that happen to have spikes in them.

The One-Lok spikes are easy to remove and install as advertised, and an amateur test of the 574’s “waterproof-ness” proved the shoes are quite impervious to water. Throughout the swing, the shoes perform as one would expect a quality golf shoe to, with the appropriate balance between flexibility and stability.

Looks and Feel

Aesthetically, the NB574s follow in the recent trend of sneaker-style golf shoes with an appealing blend of leather and mesh and prominent New Balance “N” logos. A simple white/black/gray scheme with red accents creates what would be a relatively conservative sneaker. In the world of golf shoes, however, the design hits all the right notes and is a balance between the overwhelmingly plain golf shoe of yore and today’s busier models.

nbg574gr_nb_14_i

From a comfort standpoint, the 574s are immensely easy on the feet. Upon sliding your flippers in, this will be immediately discernible. While walking, too, the shoes are in the upper-tier of comfort among golf shoes, fitting well in both the heel and toe.

The Takeaway

If you’ve worn and liked New Balance shoes casually/for other sports, you’ll likely love the 574. And if you want a golf shoe that is similar in appearance to a sneaker, the 574 will surely appeal to you.

nbg574wrd_nb_15_i

This is a great shoe for the casual golfer and the golfer who isn’t looking for something incredibly dressy or expensive that will sustain him (or her) through multiple weekend rounds.

Ultimately, the 574 offers the comfort, style, and stability golfers want and New Balance has done a first-rate job with their initial effort in the golf sphere.

Your Reaction?
  • 91
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP11
  • OB3
  • SHANK38

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. Gerry

    Jul 16, 2015 at 7:42 am

    Im in Canada, where do you buy the the replacement one-lok spikes???

  2. Dave C.

    Jul 7, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    I’ve been wearing NB sneakers for years. I’ve always worn dress shoe type golf shoes for almost 50 years, but I thought I’d try the NB golf shoes. Just received them yesterday, and was on the course 8:00 AM today. I walk exclusively. I didn’t get halfway down the first fairway, and my feet felt wet. A couple holes later, I took off on shoe, then the other. Both feet were soaked. Water resistant, my rear.
    I’m very disappointed in these shoes after one round. I guess golf today is expected to be played riding carts on perfectly groomed courses. I bought them online, so to try to return them will require additional loss for postage.
    Pathetic shoes.

  3. Dave S

    Feb 25, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    I don’t get the new fad of wearing golf shoes that look like regular shoes… you just look like a scrub on the course. I’m not an old curmudgeon either, I’m right within the target demographic. I don’t have an issue with more athletic looking shoes (i.e. Nike Lunar control), but some of these are just ridiculous.

  4. Nately18

    Feb 10, 2015 at 6:58 am

    Worst golf shoes I’ve ever had. Wore them twice and got blisters on both feet, toes on the left foot and bottom front on the right. They’re supposedly the same size as the NB running shoes I’ve been buying for 20 years, 11 4E. Just looked at the tag again. Says Made in China. Doesn’t New Balance always tout Made in US?

  5. Joseph Thibodaux

    Jan 29, 2015 at 11:29 am

    I wish I still had the response email received from newbalance two years ago that said they had no plans for a golf shoe. I knew they would be a great company for it, and I really didn’t believe them then. I look forward to stepping into a pair.

  6. Manfred Jusko

    Oct 1, 2014 at 5:57 am

    Hi there,
    I am looking for a shop in Europe or Germany who sells NB golf shoes?
    best regards
    Manfred

    • Michael

      Mar 4, 2015 at 4:47 am

      Hi Manfred,

      having worked in the sports industry in Germany for a couple of years, I still have some guys, I can contact. The man in charge at NB Germany told me last year, that they don’t have any plans for adding golf shoes to the German line. Not sure, if that changed in the meantime, but that’s what I heard last year.
      Regards,
      Michael

  7. Shad Rafferty

    Sep 9, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Is it possible to get a pair of size 11 wide of the New Balance 2001 in either black or white, or do I understand correctly that New Balance doesn’t make those shoes in wide widths?

  8. Randy Behrmann

    Jun 8, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    Hello,
    I love the New Balance NB574 golf shoe, but where can I buy “one-lok” replacement spikes? Can’t find listed online nor in golf stores?
    Thanks!

    • Andy

      Jul 16, 2014 at 11:39 pm

      Can’t find replacement one-lok spikes anywhere!!!!…and the link doesn’t work. Does anyone know where to find replacements??

  9. Pingback: Wanna Shop Adidas Golf 2014 Mens Adicross III Golf Shoes – White – UK 10 Wide Review | Mens Golf Shoes UK

  10. Jeremy

    May 22, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    You haven’t found a pair of shoes that can take 5 strokes off your game? Then maybe you aren’t using them right. #footwedge

  11. Gary ODell

    May 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    I just bought a pair in a different style from the NB Store in Shreveport LA and played 27 holes in them yesterday. Mine are 2E wide. They are Oxford style with molded built in spikes. I absolutely love them. They are as light as a feather and the most comfortable golf shoes I have ever owned!

  12. Jim

    May 21, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    Please follow up and review the NB NBG2002 golf shoes. They seem better in looks and fit, but maintain the performance mentioned above.

  13. Jim

    May 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    New Balance shoes have fit me like a glove for over 30 years. I just bought another pair of gray “country walking” shoes which I have hit balls with, very comfortably at the range. Glad to know they are now making golf shoes and will likely pick up a pair of the gray shoes pretty quickly. I also look forward to their introduction of black shoes – the color I normally wear.

  14. Neil J

    May 20, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I really wanted a pair of the 574’s.

    But being in between width’s in most shoes, these fit on the narrow side, and thus prevented me from owning 574’s.

    On the flip side – the New Balance 2002 shoes do fit slightly wider, and are just as comfortable. I bought 3 pair of NB2002 (all 3 colors they make) and have been more than pleased in fit, looks, and performance.

  15. Billy

    May 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    I’ll get a pair, good thing I am “Medium” width in all my golf shoes.

  16. Mike

    May 20, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    The white definitely have my interest. Wish they had a black version instead of the grey though.

  17. Ben

    May 20, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    the lack of ‘wide’ options is concerning, especially considering NB’s availability of such sizes have always been a hallmark of their company.

    • Peter

      May 21, 2014 at 8:28 pm

      I agree. I am a long time NB fan because of their width selection. I’d buy a pair this minute if they had wide sizes available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

Apparel review: Justin Rose Collection @ Bonobos

Published

on

Bonobos? Bonnaroo? What do they have in common, besides being fun words to pronounce that belong to today’s generations? That’s a question for another story. We’re here to tell you about the latest addition to our curated polo collection, the Performance Golf Polo from the Justin Rose collection. It comes from Bonobos, so kick back to this 2020 Bonnaroo mixtape and read up on white anchors.

Professional golfer, Justin Rose, photographed for his Spring 2021 Bonobos capsule collection.

Bonobos has been working to reinvigorate its golf category that launched in 2011 and bring a fresh face and new thinking to their golf mix. The brand has been eyeing pro-golfer Justin Rose for some time, especially as he’s risen in the game and his style on and off course aligned with the brand’s aesthetic, it was a natural fit. Bonobos made the official partnership in 2019 and since then, Justin has worn Bonobos on the course during his tours, and in his everyday life, by choice.

In March 2021, the brand launched the Justin Rose Golf Collection, its first co-designed golf line with Justin consisting of an assortment of printed performance polos, pants, and shorts that are versatile for casual days on the course, to playing 18-holes and to the clubhouse afterward.

My fit arrived promptly, and I couldn’t help but throw it over my head and shoulders, and strut around the house. No matter the time of year nor the weather outside, a golf polo always works in the indoor arena. I had considered the slim fit, but opted for the standard. It was reassuring to realize that either one would have draped well over my torso. Plenty of room from shoulders to ribs to belly, both static and active. First box, checked.

The next task was no less arduous: wear the shirt in the out-and-about. A brisk day arrived, so I tucked a long-sleeved shirt beneath my polo, and went about my daily business, aka teaching. My students perked up when I entered the hall, and asked immediately about the anchors. “Ya know, just a new polo,” I replied. The company logo was apparent on my sleeve, so no need to ask about its origin. I’ve worn polos in the past that did not interface well with a shirt beneath. When you play golf in the wee morning hours or the evening gloaming, or the shoulder seasons of spring and fall, you often need to trick out your fit with another layer. The Bonobos Performance Golf Polo was comfortable beyond words on this day, and the collaboration with the long sleeve was a success. Second box, checked.

At this point, a little transparency will help matters. I looked good in this shirt, but when I read the added description about the model 40-inch chest, six feet two inches tall, size medium slim fit), I couldn’t help but feel a bit…inadequate? Then I looked in the mirror again, smiled, and winked, and I still looked good.

The final checkpoint was my new, Bryson-esque golf swing pitted against the Bonobos PGP. Having played golf with a gentle, consistent, non-violent swing since I picked up a club, I made the decision that 2021 would be the year that I would tear the cover off the ball. Why wait for a better time than the present, am I right? Swing after swing at the dome produced a variety of shot traces (Bryson wasn’t built in a day, after all), and my body still loved my second skin. Box three, checked.

In addition to the White Anchor pattern, something I would call the small-repeat, Bonobos offers five other patterns for purchase in this shirt model. Two floral patterns (Red Tropical and Teal & Pink) fall under the large-repeat style. The Green Sailboat Geo fills the entire top with a small-repeat, making it hard on the eyes for me. The Blue Lighthouses pattern is a medium-repeat; not as large as the Florals, but more sizable than the anchors, sailboats, and the last pattern (on a dark-blue shirt) the Navy Golf Bags small-repeat. Three white backgrounds, one blue, one red, one teal. That’s a pretty nice lineup from which to select a few new coller-poppers.

End of the day: Two happy shoulders (out of two) for the affordable ($69 retail) Bonobos Performance Golf Polo. If you’ll excuse me, I’m off to check out the rest of their virtual Guideshop. Peace!

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW3
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa Golf Shoe

Published

on

The Product

The new Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, available in North America now, selling for $250 at adidas.com (only available on Adidas’ website, this shoe will not be at retail).

The Pitch

From Adidas: “The adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa® is the epitome of performance golf footwear, designed to offer micro-adjustability in two separate zones. The first is the independent main dial with high strength Boa lace that when combined with the forged 360 wrap creates unparalleled power for your swing by locking the area between your midfoot and forefoot. The second provides micro-adjustability from the middle to bottom instep for a customized fit, feel, and support. The Boa Fit System activates both zones to deliver the ultimate in power, stability, and performance.”

Our take on Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa

BOA technology, a ratcheting cable system that replaces laces for securing the shoe, has been around for a while now. It was a radical departure when it first hit the market and traditionalists viewed it with some skepticism, but those who tried shoes using the system became hooked on the ease of use, secure feel, and reliability of the system. I have had to replace shoelaces, but I have never had a cable fail in a pair of shoes with Boa technology.

With the TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, Adidas has introduced the next step on Boa technology (pun intended). The shoe has a sleek, technology-forward look that is associated with Adidas products. It even looks good in the size 13 that I sport. The color selection is limited, to say the least. You can choose from white with green trim or white without green trim. But the star of the show is the Boa technology, which is implemented in two dials located on the outside of each shoe, replacing the one dial on previous iterations.

Each dial controls the fit for a different part of the shoe, and the ratcheting dial gives the wearer the most precise fit available. The real advantage over laces is that the Boa system stays secure longer and is easier to tighten than re-tying shoelaces. It’s so easy to reach down and give a couple of clicks that it became routine for me to check on each tee box to make sure I had a good fit before teeing off. Equally pleasing is the quick release on each dial that gets you out of your shoes at the end of a round without the terror of facing a wet double-knot.

The shoe is waterproof leather, and it is light and comfortable enough to walk 18 on hilly tracks. I personally would have preferred a slightly wider toe box, but that is nit-picking.

Overall, the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is a performance shoe that promises, fit, comfort and stability, and it delivers on all fronts. Not everyone has $250 to drop on a pair of golf shoes, but if you want the tech on your feet to match the tech in your bag, then the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is perfect for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB4
  • SHANK50

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Linksoul golf apparel

Published

on

Product: Linksoul golf apparel

Pitch: From Linksoul “Linksoul is more a philosophy than a brand. More of an experience than a clothing company. Linksoul is the collective life’s work of people who care about each other and enjoy collaborating. We believe in creating products we value, with the people we love, for the good of our families and our community. Our roots are in golf. We descend from a long line of golfers, craftsmen and artists. But now we fill our time with many interests, including surfing, skiing, hiking, yoga, travel, cooking, parenting, dog walking…We believe that these everyday practices teach us the most about ourselves.”

Our Take on Linksoul’s golf apparel

Linksoul, whose mantra is “Tempus Fugit” (Time Flies), primarily provides golf clothing made to be just as appropriate and comfortable to wear on the course as off of it. The company has a range of different types of polos, tee-shirts, shorts, and pants available, but it was a button-down shirt from the company which I was most intrigued to check out.

Right off the bat, the brand’s Anza Heathered Button-Down shirt impressed with its ultra-soft fabric. To complement that softness, the shirt is wonderfully light and boasts an excellent fit. The length of the shirt sleeves is ideal, so you won’t need to keep fidgeting before and after each shot, and the comfort and fit combined gives you that added flexibility in your swing. The collar fits naturally the moment you put the shirt on and marks the clear quality that went into its creation.

It seems many are on the fence about whether button-down shirts on the course are for them (I was one of those!), but my take now is that they are the ideal summer shirt on the course. In the heat, comfort has to be the number one priority, and the button-down structure gives you so much more air. With Linksoul’s Anza button-down you’ll experience maximum breathability.

Linksoul offers the shirt in six color codes (White, Black Heather, Tidepool Heather, Ink Heather, Dark Gray Heather, and Dawn Heather). For $80, considering the caliber of the shirt, the only gripe I could make is that there aren’t more exotic colors available!

The brand’s Boardwalker Shorts are another piece of apparel that I found to contain the perfect blend of comfort and quality, as well as looking great. The shorts contain a four-way stretch fabric which gives you a plethora of flexibility during your swing, while the weight of the shorts I also found to be on point. The shorts are lightweight but not so much as to take away from the durability and quality of the shorts.

 

There is plenty of mobility on offer with the Boardwalker Shorts, while I also enjoyed that the shorts are a classic style length and sit right at the knee.

You can choose from eight different color codes (Black, Chalk, Khaki, Dark Gray, True Black, Bronze, Navy, Army, and River), and the shorts retail at $76. With their no-fuss look, high quality, and a clear focus on comfort, Linksoul’s Boardwalker shorts offer everything you’d want in a pair of golf shorts.

For those that prefer to play solely in trousers, you’ll be glad to hear that the company provide the same product in a pant style—the BoardWalker Pant.

There’s a huge amount to like about the apparel Linksoul is offering up, and at prices which are extremely reasonable considering the quality provided. Their site Linksoul.com offers a multitude of polos, button-downs (in both short and long sleeve), shorts, pants, and tee-shirts. If high-quality adaptable golf apparel is your thing, then it’s a company well worth checking out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending