Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: The Pill

Published

on

Pros: The Pill is idiot-proof; you set it on its edge to practice your putting or on its side for chipping and bunker shots. If your stroke is off, The Pill won’t lie. It’s affordable, portable and easy to use.

Cons: The Pill looks like a fat Necco wafer or an Oreo cookie with dimples. Your friends will give you loads of grief for honing your stroke with a silver dollar pancake wannabe, even after you take their money.

Bottom Line: If you want to become a better putter, you have to develop a solid stroke and strong mental approach. One way to do this is to use smaller targets for your practice. Aim your ball at a smaller hole and the regulation one’s 4.25-inch diameter will seem wider. The Pill, which is roughly half the width of a golf ball, was built on the same concept. Roll it well and your stroke is in good shape. Cut across it and it will wobble or spin out.

Overview

The Pill is so simple that instructions aren’t necessary. All it requires is time. My suggestion is to work between The Pill and your favorite golf ball so that the stroke that you develop when training is subsequently transferred to the ball that you will use on the course.

Plain and simple, The Pill product measures face angle at impact. Too many amateur golfers get ball-bound when addressing putts. It doesn’t matter if the golfer is on the practice green or putting during the course of the round: it happens. The Pill has the potential to free golfers from that tendency.

[youtube id=”xCI4VmycaJ4″ width=”620″ height=”360″]

When practicing with this product, golfers can line up The Pill to a preselected target, and then align themselves to that target at address. A simpler way is to pick a target once you square yourself to The Pill…or better yet, don’t pick a target! Strike The Pill as a child would, without care for its destination. All that matters is your stroke and the reaction of the little disk.

IMG_1823

The Pill is sold on the company’s website. For the curious ones, a single Pill may be purchased for $12.95. A sleeve of Pills saves you a bit of cash at $39.95, while a dozen Pills (a chipping set) are available for $129.95. A Pro Set of Pills, including 50 of the little guys, sells for $497.50.

The Pill offers a series of videos on its website, for the benefit of the customer. There’s an introductory video that shows how to align the disc for one and two-Pill drills. Another video shows how an inside-out swing path causes an open club face and a pushed putt, as well as a quick fix for the problem, while the subsequent video reverses the problem and examines how a closed club face may be caused by an outside-in swing path, with pulled putt as the bottom line.

[youtube id=”ycrND9j2TjY” width=”620″ height=”360″]

There’s also commercial footage that shows the Pill’s ability to be used for chipping and sand play. The golfer lays The Pill flat, on the round side, then plays a routine recovery shot. The device either spins back-to-front (when contacted properly) or erratically in a sideways fashion, if the club face or swing path were not square to the target line.

Performance

The Pill promises to do one of two things: roll out or spin out. It does both when it should. The Pill is a modified golf ball and reacts to a putter-blade strike as any top-shelf orb would. If you have the time to use a chalk line or a set of pins and a string to visually lay out a straight putt, The Pill will serve you well as an alignment tool. If the line and The Pill appear to be misaligned, you’ll know that your eyes deceive you.

I made an effort to replicate the chipping and explosion shots practiced in the aforementioned video. You need to be quick with the eyes to look up and determine the spin, so it’s best to work with a partner (or a video camera) to monitor your path, face alignment and spin outcome.

Looks and Feel

The surface of The Pill is dimpled like a golf ball. It feels like a golf ball and is not distracting in any way. The Pill employs a Surlyn cover that offers a different feel from a premium tour quality ball; you’ll notice this most in the sound, which offers more of a click echo than heard with a urethane cover. For golfers who don’t use premium golf balls, the sound won’t present a problem.

IMG_1814

I struck The Pill with anser-style and high-MOI putters and found that the product sounded and felt as would an actual golf ball. Understand that it wasn’t similar to or like an actual golf ball, but as an actual golf ball would feel.

The Takeaway

The question the consumer must answer is, does the value of the The Pill justify its cost? I’d stake my reputation on the efficacy of The Pill, but I won’t give you a money-back guarantee. Could The Pill 2.0 have an alignment line on it, or would that be overkill? How about a Pill with a softer, tour-ball cover? There is room to grow for this teaching aid.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”Learn more from The Pill” oemtext=”http://www.thepillgolf.com” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JRS6Q68/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00JRS6Q68&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=GTXFOG4ATOKKJPH4″]

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW3
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK2

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. Mike

    Nov 24, 2016 at 3:31 am

    Or you can just buy on aliexpress for 3.58

  2. pugster22

    Sep 30, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    With that price, no wonder golf is on the decline!

  3. MIKE COLLINS

    Aug 20, 2014 at 6:55 am

    I have had a set of 3 practice putting balls for 40+ years. They are called the “Align Pure Strike”. They are similar to the Pill but there are 3 differing widths. You start with the thickest one and when you are able to roll this smoothly you graduate to the next size down and eventually to the skinny one.
    By the time you can putt the skinny one smoothly you will have an excellent putting stroke.
    I pull these out every now and then for a refresher course. I thoroughly recommend them but they have not been available for years. Maybe the Pill makers can do something similar.
    Mike.

    • Jorge

      Oct 1, 2014 at 9:08 am

      I utilized to have a wstbiee that I used to cover this, but it got spammed to death. You seem to be much better at weeding out the spam than I did! Dont give up!???:?? [1.9.22_1171]??????? ???? …?????????????: 0.0/5 (0 ??? ???????)???:?? [1.9.22_1171]?????????????: 0 (???? 0 ???)

  4. george kolb

    Jul 3, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    How much of a kickback are you getting from the Pill? I agree with the guy who said he would rather get a bag of oreo cookies. My wife saw this item being pushed on the Today Show, and not knowing anything about golf she purchased them. They were quick to take her money, but when I told her to return them, we have not heard from them to this date. My next letter is to the Today Show to have them explain why they have people push things on the show who don’t back them up. Good Customer SERVICE! I will do everything in social media to tell people not to waste their money.

  5. Gus

    Jun 15, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    I tried these at Golf Galaxy today and they are really neat. Came home and ordered a set of 3 from their website and used the Father’s Day discount code. They seem like a great training aid.

  6. Johnc

    May 24, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    I got a bottle, I mean sleeve of “Pills,”
    And I love them!
    The Pill shows you immediately what you stroke is doing.
    The mistakes are more emphasized than a regular ball, forcing you to hit it “square”. You can kinda flub up a real put and have a decent result with a real ball. But with the Pill, you practice to eliminate the mis-hit bs putts all together.
    Thanks for the Pills

  7. Brett

    Feb 17, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    If people really want to improve their game they would take the time to practice putting and chipping not just ripping the ball as long as they can then go out and buy things like this use it for 5 minutes question why they aren’t getting better then go back to the long ball

  8. KCCO

    Feb 9, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    I’m just baffled by their “deal” for a sleeve…..$.90 savings!?! That’s a bargain! LOL

    I’ll use a marker….doesn’t say anything about weight difference, and I like practicing with the cover feel of the ball I play.

    Conclusion, I’d rather buy $13 worth of Oreo’s

  9. Colm

    Feb 9, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Check out the “Putterwheel” which adds additional visual advantages with two inner red rings and a name line that will give you sighting and has a great feel …… may be what you are looking for
    I found the “real” ball marker that comes with it with two lines just brilliant when lining up my putts – one line good two lines better – I line it up and then forget it – and trust that line – then all i need to do is get the pace right …. I paid silly shipping charges from US to UK just to get my hands on one !

    website is here – http://www.putterwheel.com/

    • Coll

      Mar 10, 2014 at 2:49 pm

      Putter wheel is weighted plastic crap- not actually like a golf ball. So what does it teach you?

  10. John

    Feb 8, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    Why can’t I just take a crappy practice ball and cut it to look like this thing?

    • Ronald Montesano

      Feb 9, 2014 at 6:44 am

      I wouldn’t want to be remotely responsible for the damage you would do to your body and soul in the process! Is the avoidance/prevention physical harm not worth the price of The Pill?

      Thanks for the comment, John. Keep reading and commenting.

  11. Ronald Montesano

    Feb 8, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    A) Not like the Birdie Ball. The BB is an amazing product. I love it.

    B) Not covered by insurance, lad.

    C) Paul, the line rotates too quickly to be seen. This disk veers sideways when mishit, a more obvious flaw-revealer.

  12. paul

    Feb 8, 2014 at 12:48 am

    I think its a bit silly. I am sure a ball with a line is fine. Or a lesson with a pro is probably enough.

  13. Tony

    Feb 7, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    I travel alot and these are great to practice the stroke with while in hotel rooms.

  14. Jeremy

    Feb 7, 2014 at 11:25 am

    My insurance covers it. Low co-pay too.

  15. tbowles411

    Feb 7, 2014 at 10:33 am

    Well, heck. It’s worth a shot. My putting is terrible!

  16. Ach Underhill

    Feb 7, 2014 at 10:20 am

    Does this perform like the Birdie Ball? I bought my brother a pack of the Birdie Balls (4) for like $12 for Christmas, and they are awesome.

  17. MattyTeaks

    Feb 7, 2014 at 10:16 am

    “a single Pill may be purchased for $12.95. A sleeve of Pills saves you a bit of cash at $39.95”

    $39.95 / 3 = $13.32

    That’s not exactly saving a bit of cash. Sure it’s not $35.95?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK17

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending