Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: Axis 1 Joey Putter

Published

on

Pros: The Joey putter has a great weight and a nice, responsive feel when struck. It gave me one of the purest rolls I’ve ever had.

Cons: The unique style can take a little getting used to visually. Off-center hits on lengthy putts have noticeable effect on distance.

Bottom Line: Axis1 putters like the Joey look a little weird at first, but they’re high-quality designs that provide a great roll and help golfers eliminate the all-too-common open-faced miss to the right.

Overview

As with all of Axis1’s putters, the unique style of the Joey results in it being one of “the world’s first 100 percent perfectly balanced putters.” The claim is that the face won’t naturally open up on a golfer because of a heel counterweight built into the putter. This helps place the center of gravity right on the center of the face and perfectly aligned with the axis of the shaft, according to the company. Therefore, golfers won’t struggle as much to return the putter face to square at impact, helping golfers start more putts on the right line.

The square, blade-style head of the Joey offers a traditional look, while Axis1 also offers the Eagle, the Umbra and the Heavy Umbra models.  Each style features the heel counterweight which—contrary to what many people think when they first look at the putter—doesn’t come into play. The unique look of the counterweight even acts as a visual frame at address.

[youtube id=”JJHGmeRhOYA” width=”620″ height=”360″]

The Axis1 Joey is available in either 34- or 35-inch models and sells for $199.

The Eagle ($299) is slightly more rounded than the Joey, and has a copper face insert insert. The Umbra ($299) is a modern mallet with an alignment bar and a black ion finish, and also comes in a heavy model for $349.

IMG_6805

Axis1 putters can be found at axis1golf.com, as well as at select retailers.

Performance

From the first time I picked up the Joey putter, I could tell its balance was different from putters I had used in the past. While you may feel an uneven, heavy weight of some traditional putters, the Joey has such a smooth balance that it feels like the shaft is right in the middle of the club—confirming for me Axis1’s claim of aligning the center of gravity in the center of the face with the shaft’s axis.

IMG_6783

Putting has always been a frustrating part of my game, but the Joey gave me immediate improvements, especially with alignment and roll.

I quickly felt like I had a more controlled stroke because of the club’s balance. In the past, I’ve struggled with cutting across the ball (outside-in) on my putting stroke, with my takeaway being very inconsistent. With the Joey putter, I felt like my takeaway was much more on-line and very smooth through the ball as well. The putter doesn’t waver on the takeaway and doesn’t allow the toe to torque one way or the other.

Coming off the face, the Joey putter provided one of the purest, tightest end-over-end rolls that I’ve ever had with a putter. On several occasions, my playing partners commented on how good the roll was, especially when their balls took a couple hops off their own putters.

I had a lot of confidence in the alignment of the putter, especially inside of 10 feet. Plain and simple: put a good stroke on the ball with the Joey and it goes where you’re aimed. The balance of the putter certainly instilled confidence that my takeaway would be smooth and the toe wouldn’t twist one way or the other.

My biggest struggle with the putter was on lengthier putts (35+ feet). Off-center hits were not terribly forgiving and came up well short. While the center of gravity being in the middle of the striking face certainly helps with the putter’s balance and smooth roll, it doesn’t allow for the greatest forgiveness.

Looks and Feel

IMG_6778

The Joey has a traditional blade-style head, but the unique style of the heel is certainly an eye catcher. That tends to be the off-putting factor for many, but it’s still something that one can get comfortable with after use. Plus, it serves as a pretty good conversation starter if someone hasn’t seen the putter before.

The strike of the ball has a little different sound—a slight ping—than I’m used to, but the face was still responsive. You can feel if you have struck the ball off-center. Mis-struck putts still carry a good line, but speed/distance seemed to be affected.

The stock grip is a Winn, which has a good feel with a little bit of tackiness to it. The red headcover matches the red grip and is a nice accessory to go with the putter.

The Takeaway

IMG_6804

My playing partners assure me that I have no reason not to keep the Joey it in my bag. They have seen my struggles with the flat stick from time to time, and saw how good of a roll I am able to put on the ball with the Joey.

For people thinking about getting the Joey, or any Axis1 putter, I’d encourage them to give it a try. It looks funny, but the putter felt smooth from the first time I tried it and I got even more comfortable over the ball as I continued to practice with it. The balance of the putter, combined with the smooth roll and easy alignment are reasons enough to test the putter. Axis1 also has a 30-day money back guarantee, so the only thing golfers are really risking if they buy one are their shipping costs.

If you’re looking for a putter that will take away the open-face miss to the right, transitioning from an anchored putter or just looking for something different, an Axis1 putter might be for you.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.e2e-store.com/axis1/index.cgi” oemtext=”Learn more from Axis1″ amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CI7TCYI/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00CI7TCYI&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=AY7RFLFXFQ3RHW7Z”]

Your Reaction?
  • 35
  • LEGIT23
  • WOW16
  • LOL11
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP24
  • OB5
  • SHANK9

GolfWRX fan turned GolfWRX contributor. Sports fan, golf enthusiast. Looking to provide a variety of content to GolfWRX.

12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. retiredRichard

    Jul 3, 2015 at 8:20 am

    What are the head weights of the current Joey, Joey c and Umbra models? Had one of the original Axis1 putters-head felt way too light.

  2. AGF

    Dec 18, 2013 at 10:28 am

    Whew! Sorry, but that is one ugly putter. Would never use it.

  3. Rob Munro

    Dec 12, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    Are there any places in Australia where I can get to try one of these?

  4. K dubb

    Dec 12, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    U – G – L – Y you ain’t got no alibi YOU ugly, hey, hey, YOU UGLY!!

  5. Dillon

    Dec 12, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Any plans for lefty models, Axis folks?

  6. R

    Dec 12, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Been waiting for a review on this putter for some time now. Thanks

    • AJ Jensen

      Dec 12, 2013 at 4:16 pm

      Me too! I saw it in a golf catalog last summer and I’ve been wondering how it performs. For the money I’d certainly have to try it before buying

  7. LorenRobertsFan

    Dec 11, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    I don’t want to have to worry about shanking a putt with that ugly thing

  8. Geoff LePoer

    Dec 11, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    I have the Eagle and the Joey. Both are great and everyone that that has tried them, loved them. I collect putters and will say I have bought 4 Scotty Camerons in the last few years and have dumped them all in favor of the Joey. I still have about 10 high end putters in the basement but the Joey has been in the bag close to a year and it performs.

  9. Phil Long

    Dec 11, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    Our Joey Model which was reviewed in this story retails for $199.00 and has been a very popular product for us.

  10. Comment

    Dec 11, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    200-350 for an experiment. Even with a 30 day gaurantee that may or may not give me enough playing time with it is too steep for my blood. Might explain the lack of popularity. Too rich for my blood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: T Squared TS-713i Standard Series putter

Published

on

Product:  T Squared TS-713i Standard Series Putter

About T Squared: T Squared Putters is a small putter manufacturer just south of Buffalo, New York. The company was founded by Tony Tuber who created his first prototype putters, after hours, in his father’s machine shop. Since then Tony and his father have been creating high-quality putters in the same facility that creates high precision instruments for the medical field. They pride themselves on creating the highest quality, most precise putter they can offer. They offer a few different head shapes from small traditional blades to high MOI mallets and even a custom program to get exactly what you want.

The Ts-713i Standard Series is based on the Ts-713, the first prototype that Tony created. It is a blade-style putter with a slightly longer flange and a unique face insert milled from 6061 aluminum. The body of the Ts713i is milled from a solid block of 303 stainless steel that is produced in the USA and has a Teflon backing between the body and face insert.

This Teflon backing helps give the putter a softer feel at impact and reduce any unwanted vibration. Details are what T Squared is all about and the neck of the putter shows off their milling expertise. The neck is similar to a plumbers neck, built with multiple pieces and offering some cool texture on the section bonded to the head. Another great detail is that all the silver markings on the putter are not filled with paint, they are milled into the head. T Squared finished the head in a sharp matte black and then milled all the markings on the putter for a unique, shiny silver look that really stands out. Ts-713i putters are built for customizing and have a ton of options that you can select if you would like to build something totally unique

On the green, the T Squared TS-713i really performs fantastic. I found the feel at impact very solid without any unwanted vibration. The impact produces a muted click and soft feel that I wasn’t expecting from this aluminum insert and thin face. The deep milling and Teflon coated back to the insert really work together to produce a great, responsive feel that I enjoyed. Deep milling usually makes me a little worried because it can soften the putter too much and lose that feel we all demand.

The TS-713i has no issues and transmits impact feel back to your hands with ease. Mishits are a little louder and harsh, but nothing even close to unpleasant. I have used putters that don’t feel as good on perfectly struck shots as the TS-713i feels on mishit putts. Distance and accuracy on those mishit putts are not as drastic as you would expect with a blade putter. I often just missed the cup by small margins when I struck a putt on the toe or heel of the TS-713i. There aren’t too many blade putters that have shown this level of forgiveness on the green for me.

The “T” alignment aid on the flange of the putter is large and easy to use. Not only do you get a straight line from the face to the back edge for alignment, but the back of the “T” also helps you square the putter up to your target. The Pure grip is not my thing, and it would be great for T Squared to offer a few more options, but that is an easy fix and a very minor criticism.

Overall, the T Squared TS-713i is a great putter from young Tony Tuber that exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail, precision milling, and take on a classic head shape offer golfers something different without sacrificing any performance. If you are looking for a great feeling putter that is made in the USA, you should take a look at T Squared and see what they can make for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 53
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW5
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Equipment

WRX Spotlight: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Published

on

Product: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Pitch: From Odyssey/Toulon: “The Odyssey Toulon San Diego Stroke Lab Putter is our take on on another classic putter. It’s an expertly crafted, premium milled blade, with our multi-material Stroke Lab Shaft, deep diamond milled cross hatch grooves, and a new Charcoal Smoke finish.”

Our take on the Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Toulon is the line of all milled putters from Odyssey, originally started by club designer Sean Toulon and his sons. Toulon putters have always featured their Deep Diamond Mill face, adjustable sole weight, and brazed (instead of welded) necks. That combination has created a great putter line that has become popular on tour as well as us amateur players. For 2019, there are some new head shapes, Charcoal Smoke Finish, Deep Diamond Milling across the whole face, and the Stroke Lab putter shaft.

I got my hands on the Toulon San Diego, a more squared-off blade shape, for this review. The shape, milling, and finish on the San Diego are great and really show off what a high quality piece it is. The biggest change visually is the full Deep Diamond Mill face, making the view from address more uniform. The face used to have the milling only in the center of the face and to some that was a distracting look while others liked the way it framed the ball. The new finish also looks great. I always have liked darker finishes and this looks high end while still reducing glare in the brightest conditions.

The Stroke Lab shaft goes well with the finish on the San Diego and the head cover is a plush synthetic leather that feels like it will hold up for years of use.

On the green the San Diego SL has a crisp sound and feel. If you like a little more click to your putter, then the San Diego SL will be right what you are looking for. And don’t take that as a negative thing, that crisp feel gives great feedback on face contact. You know exactly where the putter face and ball met by the sound and feel. The Deep Diamond Mill gets the ball rolling quickly on line with very minimal hop and skid, providing very consistent and repeatable distance control.

This is blade, so shots off the toe to tend to stray from your intended line a bit, the face does seem like it wants to rotate open a bit. Heel strikes defiantly stay online better, but tend to lose more steam and net get the roll out you might expect. The simple alignment line on the flange of the putter is easy to align, even for a guy who has been using mallets for years.

Like I have said before, I think there is something to the Stroke Lab tech, the lighter shaft and weight in the butt of the shaft do affect tempo for me; I noticed a slight calming of my backstroke and stroke through the ball.

Overall, the San Diego is a great putter for those who like a little firmer feel and more audible click on their putter. It is very responsive and putts a great roll on the ball. This isn’t a cheap putter ($450) and the fit and finish let you know that you are getting what you paid for.

Your Reaction?
  • 64
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW4
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP5
  • OB1
  • SHANK37

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: Miura MGP-NM1 Putter

Published

on

Product: Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Pitch: Limited to 300 pieces, the Miura MGP-NM1 is Miura’s first 303 stainless steel putter. Its appearance is in keeping with the bolder designs of the Miura Giken family.

Our take on the Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Miura Giken has become the brand where Miura can push some limits and try out designs and technology not really fit for the standard Miura line. And if doing something new and different is what Miura Giken is about, then the MGP-NM1 fits like a glove. When most people think of Miura, they think forged carbon steel and traditional, old school shapes. The MGP-NM1 is a long ways from that, being milled from 303 stainless steel, having adjustable weights and milled stepped pockets in the sole.

If you love mill marks, then the MBG-NM1 will fulfill all our needs because the head is covered with them. I really liked the top line where the mill marks go front to back but then get much finer around the alignment line. If you look close the milling is still there, but just much finer. It works great along with the alignment lines on the “fangs.” The MGP-NM1 is a great size: large enough to give you confidence that a mishit will stay online, but not too big to be distracting. Like most putters with this (Odyssey No. 7)  shape, it frames the ball really well and looks great to my eye. The way the shaft goes into the head is for sure unique, it is straight from address but does drop down into the head.

I will get my one con on this putter out of the way early: the way the shaft goes into the head from address. I love the shape of the head, but the way the shaft enters the head makes it harder for me to line up. At address you can see the the top line of the putter on both sides of the shaft and for some that might be helpful, but it took me a long time to get comfortable with my alignment. Also, the head cover isn’t up to standard for a putter in this price range.

But the good of this putter really outweighs that bad. The putter  feels and sounds great, much like the Miura KM-009 reviewed previously. Feel is very solid with, to me, the perfect amount of click on impact. There might be just a slight bit of vibration on contact, but very minimal and will probably vary with the ball you play. Contact on the toe and heel really stay on target well; you can tell this mallet has a fairly high MOI. Like any responsive putter should do, this really provides good feedback on mishits. Toe and heel shots are not punished as much as you would think, the ball still rolls out well with minimal distance loss. That solid, soft Miura feel really does come through with this putter.

Overall, I think the Miura Giken MGP-NM1 is a really great way for a mallet user to put a Miura putter into the bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending