Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Club Crown

Published

on

Confidence and comfort win the day. It’s a simple partnership to envision, but not always a cinch to incorporate. When you tee up a golf ball, any number of notions serve to distract your thoughts from the immediate task. If you have a way to concentrate your thoughts on the tee shot, you just might bring about that desirable merger of confidence and comfort. A product called Club Crown encourages both moods.

Club Crown by VIVE debuted its high-tech film in 2013 to great notice. The film is affixed to a driver or wood crown and serves a functional purpose: it protects club tops from sky marks and other dings. The extremely cool element to the film is the variety of colors and logos that could potentially adorn your club. Club Crown offers collegiate mascots, armed service icons, family tartans and a host of traditional and eclectic patterns.

With all the talk about the sole and the face of a driver, the side viewed by golfers when it counts and when the match is on the line is the crown. Having a visual in that space is restorative and consolatory, which adds up to more confidence and better execution. In other words, why waste the space?

“I saw that a major item in golf that cannot be customized in an easy and economical way is the head of the golf club,” said Andrew Glaser, CEO of the company. “Balls, tees, gloves and a myriad of other items, yes, but how much does that customization directly impact your game?

Mario Clemens Club Crown

Mario Clemens, a member of the PGA Tour Latinoamerica, would certainly suggest a positive impact. Clemens recently tied for 4th place in the Chile Open (Abierto de Chile) after leading the event after three rounds. Clemens proudly displays the flag of Mexico on his driver head, courtesy of Club Crown.

“We’re thrilled Mario is using our product,” said Brendan Doyle, president of ClubCrown. “After a stellar collegiate career, he’s making a smooth transition into the professional golf arena. We look forward to many more years of success with him.”

The Club Crown brings about this transformation in a microscopic way. The film weighs 2 grams, increasing the heft of your driver head by one percent. This isn’t The Princess And The Pea, so I suspect that as sensitive a driver as you are, you won’t notice the slight weight gain. The Club Crown is removable, albeit in the same hands of the installer who put it on. It won’t slide off from common use, so smash away with fairway metals and driver with complete confidence. Each Club Crown costs around $40, making it accessible for golfers of various economic levels.

atomic bomb

Club Crown’s “Atomic Bomb” design.

Installation is a quick and thoughtless process. Trained installers are found in 30 states plus the District of Columbia. For the rest of us, it’s easy to send the club in via preferred shipping method. Turnaround time is quick, ensuring that the club will be back in your hands before your next golf escape, tournament or outing. For those with adjustable drivers, find a small box and send the head in. No worries about the shaft. I shipped my Adams driver head in and had it back within eight days. No fuss and no hassle are the operative words when it comes to a Club Crown installation.

Custom orders are available with a minimum of 12 pieces. The company currently works with each client to design the custom decal, but greater things are in the works. In the near future, Club Crown hopes to debut an engine that permits the upload of personalized images, be they family photos, favorite scenes or an individual monogram. Whether used as a marketing or recruitment tool, or simply as a keep sake, the potential is vast and encouraging.

It took less than 10 minutes to decide on the specific film for my club head. My eyes disquiet at the slightest interference, so I immediately discarded the diamond patterns, attractive as they might be. My options were reduced to dark and light. Since I bought a white-headed driver because it was, you know, white, it made sense to grab the lighter film. During my three to four rounds since the transmutation, I’ve stepped up to the tee with a swagger and let loose with all the confidence of a matador.

It has been 25 years since I was an undergrad, but I still love thinking,”GO Deacs!”

Wake Forest Club Crown White

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

46 Comments

46 Comments

  1. The General

    Dec 28, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    Good comment to kwoot. Any pro that’s worth a nickel will tell you the shaft is the most important part of the golf club so get that sucker right! ClubCrowns look great and I think the marketing possibilities are endless….enough variety to satisfy just about everybody! (must say I’m not much on the halloween skulls)

  2. Marko

    Dec 12, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    These have been out for awhile.Different company.
    And you can put it on yourself. I think they were about $10 each.

    • markb

      Dec 29, 2013 at 11:27 pm

      I can’t speak for the quality of a Club Crown, but I have tried the do-it-yourself competitor (bigwigzskins.com) and I found them to be difficult to apply and low in quality. Very hard to smooth out the wrinkles around the hosel completely and very easy to over-stretch, tear, or distort the skin. If you touch the adhesive at all it will lose its tack and fail to adhere well. I gave up after 2 failed tries. In my opinion, professional application is probably a very good idea.

  3. Whitey Nichols

    Dec 4, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    I have one with ball marks on it. It matches the ball marks I already have on the top of my driver. Works great !

  4. Dan

    Nov 30, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    I want mine to say “tour prototype” so I can sell it for double to some knucklehead like myself

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 30, 2013 at 5:12 pm

      Dan, et al…

      Leave the middle man out (but keep reading)!! Get in touch with the ClubCrown people directly (but keep reading) and let them know you want customizable crowns (but most of all, keep reading.)

  5. Jack L

    Nov 30, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    Good idea. I would like a one or two word swing thought on mine. Like “shift”.

  6. tinytim

    Nov 30, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    where to buy just a single customize one for my driver? dont wanna order 12 pieces with my name on it

  7. ClubCrown

    Nov 29, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks for the review! As a reference, here is a demo video of the careful and concise steps we take in installing a ClubCrown http://www.clubcrown.com/demo/

  8. Benny Mac

    Nov 29, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    I’m on my tenth Club Crown. Major style points! I’d highly recommwnd the product. Nice write up too

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 11:05 pm

      Benny Mac…
      Are they all on drivers or do you have them on fairway metals and hybrids as well? What styles have you chosen? Have you switched any out for newer ones?

  9. Jim

    Nov 29, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    Nice review, I got a Clemson one at the World Amateur, amazing product, GO TIGERS

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 11:16 pm

      Jim,

      ACC baby! All the way. Congratulations on that new women’s golf team at Clemson. Go Tigers (and Deacs). Thanks for reading.

  10. paulmuehlboeck99

    Nov 29, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    How is it possible, that those “covers” fit every crown???

  11. Martin

    Nov 29, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    I think they are hideous.

    Sort of like Stars and Stripes or Union Jack pants.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      Martin,

      Some are outlandish, no doubt. Others are subdued. It’s personal taste and if it’s not you, don’t take that road. Do, however, continue contributing here.

      • Martin

        Nov 29, 2013 at 5:32 pm

        I generally like my golf clubs to look fairly subdued, drivers with very little on top of them.

        These are like the white R1 graphics on crack…grinning madly

        • Ronald Montesano

          Nov 29, 2013 at 11:06 pm

          I understand that premise, Martin. However…if you find that one look that brings it all together, it’s pretty cool. Thanks for your comments. Keep reading.

  12. ZJohnson

    Nov 29, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    If these are put on correctly, they look very good and only add a small amount of sw. Very simple option for those who don’t like the colored heads and want to make it black.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm

      “The film weighs 2 grams, increasing the heft of your driver head by one percent.”

      ZJohnson…what does the 2 grams translate to in swing weight? You’re right…it isn’t much. Thanks for pointing that out.

  13. t

    Nov 29, 2013 at 11:53 am

    the difference between club crown and bigwigs is who installs it. bigwigs is $12 and you put it on yourself with a blow dryer and scissors.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      t,

      Interesting! If you screw up the do-it-yourself, can you pull it off quickly? If so, it seems like a great system. Mine show no signs of coming off…but I’ll let you know after a year if that assessment still holds. Thanks for your insight.

  14. Tyler

    Nov 29, 2013 at 10:46 am

    I’ve seen these at my local shop. I can see some people liking them. Not for me though.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 11:19 am

      Understandable…not every thing is a thing for everyone. Is it the price, the look, or the absence of a look that you’d like on your driver?

  15. melrosegod

    Nov 29, 2013 at 8:13 am

    I replaced a driver this spring because of a skymark that just pissed me off everytime I saw it. A constant reminder of a horrible tee shot. For $40 i may just throw on a flat black crown and give it another go.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 8:16 am

      You only had one? Man, I had my share and didn’t even think of that bonus when I said “yes” to the crown. Keep us posted on what you think, if you get it done.

  16. Billy

    Nov 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    Saw these at my local golf shop, not bad.

    Lots and lots of designs to choose from. Maybe one day, i’ll give it a go.

  17. kwoot

    Nov 28, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    $40.00′ I’ll pass. I don’t keep a driver long enough to want something like this…

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 28, 2013 at 8:41 pm

      You should check your shaft fitting. If you get rid of drivers that quickly, my guess is it’s the fault of the shaft, not the head.

  18. Brian

    Nov 28, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    So, how are these different than those sold by bigwigskins.com?

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 28, 2013 at 7:32 pm

      I think the fact that bigwigskins dot com is not a functioning web site is one way in which they are different. If you find me a working URL, I will certainly take a look at the competition. Thanks, Brian. Keep on reading.

    • Kelly

      Nov 29, 2013 at 3:33 pm

      I don’t have any experience with either of these products, but I have looked at the Club Crown fairly closely, and just watched the promo video for BigWigs. From this limited perspective, this is a bit like comparing a low end car and a high end Lexus. They both get you to your destination, but the style and experience are quite different.

      Almost unbelievably, if you look at the promo video for BigWig Skins, even their demo result looks crappy/amateurish. Scissors around a round edge? Seriously? Look at where the film meets the front of the club — there’s a wrinkle. Not only does it look like crap, but that’s probably coming off real soon.

      Like I say, I’m not even sure that I would do this to a driver, but if I did, I think I would take the upgrade. Unlike the Lexus example, I can afford this one.

      • Ronald Montesano

        Nov 30, 2013 at 3:21 pm

        Nice comparison. Think I’ll run all future articles by you for editing purposes. Thanks for writing, Kelly. Keep commenting in the future.

  19. Matt

    Nov 28, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    I saw these at the PGA Show last year and was very impressed, good to see success

  20. Really?

    Nov 28, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Meh

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 28, 2013 at 7:34 pm

      Really?,

      You’ll doubt me, but I thought the same when I agreed to review and write this piece. The logo is extremely high quality and gives me a real confidence when I tee it up. I think they are worth a try, especially with the cost not being prohibitive. If you have any dings on your driver crown, this doo-dad will cover them up, too.

      • All Good!

        Nov 28, 2013 at 8:13 pm

        Just meant the product…. Not the review man… Good write-up

        • Ronald Montesano

          Nov 28, 2013 at 8:53 pm

          I figured that…I meant the product, too. I thought it would be some cheeseball thing and it was much more. It’s psychic improvement for a mental game, which is a good thing.

      • Jack

        Nov 28, 2013 at 9:30 pm

        I think it’s a good idea. Doesn’t always look the best, but why not? Soon people will put portraits of their dogs and beloved grandmothers on there. A Ferrari! Koi Fish! The possibilities are endless.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending