Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: SuperStroke Flatso, Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra putter grips

Published

on

Pros: The wide, flat section on the front of the grips helps fill up a golfer’s hands, which can add stability to their stroke and help relieve tension. The pistol-style backing provides more “reminders” for hand placement than SuperStroke’s round-backed putter grips.

Cons: The grips come to a point in the back that is very noticeable in the fingers. Some golfers will love it, others will hate it. The Flatso (100 grams) and Flatso Ultra (85 grams) are also a bit on the heavy side, which could cause swing weight problems.

Bottom Line: They’re still non-tapered, but the Flatso family has a shape that’s much different than… anything else, really. They come in three distinct sizes that should cover the needs of most interested golfers. While they won’t be as popular as SuperStroke’s round-backed grips, plenty of golfers are still going to dig them.

Overview

The Flatso grips build on the platform established by SuperStroke’s extremely popular line of round-backed grips, the Ultra Slim 1.0, Mid Slim 2.0, Slim 3.0 and Flatso 5.0. Like those grips, the Flatso grips are non-tapered, but they have wide, flat section on their fronts that are designed to place goflers’ hands farther apart to help them make a more shoulder-driven stroke.

From top to bottom: SuperStroke’s Flatso, Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra putter grips.

SuperStroke Flatso, Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra putter grip revie

The back part of the Flatso grips form a pentagon-shape, giving them a pistol feel that many golfers prefer in their putter grip. They come in three different sizes, the largest being the Flatso, which has a 1.7-inch diameter and weighs about 100 grams. The Flatso Mid has a 1.4-inch diameter and weighs 60 grams, while the smallest model, the Flatso Ultra, has a 1.1-inch diameter and weighs 85 grams. All three grips measure 10.5 inches in length, and a 17-inch Flatso “Arm Lock” grip will also be available.

The Flatso and Flatso Mid grips will cost $24.99, while the The Flatso Ultra will cost $19.99. The Flatso 17-inch grip will maintain the company’s 2013 graphics (more on that in the Looks and Feel section) and will cost $29.99. All four grips will hit stores in April 2014.

Performance

SuperStroke’s Flatso putter grips are exactly what the company intended them to be: oversized putter grips with a shape that makes them feel much different than the company’s round-backed putter grips.

The wide, flat front sections of the grips helped move their edges into the lifelines of my hands, making them feel more stable on the putter. I also enjoyed the very “feelable” seam on the back of the grip, which served as a nice reminder of where my fingers should rest.

10a51debd88edcecb198cb7092f7b43d

The largest grip in the series, “Flatso,” will most likely be preferred by players with larger hands or by those who want their hands as far apart as possible on the putter grip. For a lot of golfers, Flatso will feel way too big, however, like they’re gripping a pop can. But for some golfers, like K.J. Choi, who has used SuperStroke’s Fatso grip for nearly a decade, it has the potential to kill off the small twitches that can make 3-footers miss the cup.

Most golfers will probably gravitate toward the Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra grips, which are a much more manageable size. Like SuperStroke’s “Slim 2.0” round-backed grip, the Flatso Mid is a nice middle ground between a conventional-size putter grip and the company’s largest grips. It gives a feeling of splitting the hands without making them feel like strangers.

The Flatso Ultra, played by Jordan Spieth, will probably be the model liked by most better players because of its more conventional size. But it’s still a very unique-feeling grip thanks to its firm underlisting, which maintains the grip’s crisp pentagonal lines that act much like a reminder rib in a club grip.

The 2014 Flatso Mid (red) and Flatso Ultra (silver)

fe5ab460c1902286fff54481ae910b9e
157d3507d52a5431c1365401726a8e78

Personally, I did not care for the Flatso Mid or Flatso Ultra as much as the Flatso, because I could not seem to make the three distinct ridges on the back of the grip fit properly in my hands. But I have very large hands, and know that my preferences will be in the minority.

The Flatso (100 grams) and Flatso Ultra (85 grams) are a little heavier than most models, which gives them the counterbalancing effect that is trending right now in the world of golf. The Flatso Mid, 60 grams, should not affect swing weight on most golfers’ putters.

A note about installation: The Flatso grips were easy to install and remove using the “blow on method.” All three versions of the Flatso were installed with one piece of build up tape and stayed secured throughout the testing process. Aligning the grip was easy and hassle free thanks to the wider flat sections of the grips.

Looks and Feel

SuperStroke’s “CrossTraction” grip texture is used on all three Flatso putter grips. It debuted on its 2013 line of putter grips, and was well received for its improved performance in the rain and hot, humid weather. What’s best about the new grip texture is that it did not change what originally attracted most golfers to SuperStroke’s putter grips in the first place, the tacky polyurethane material that balances a soft feel with a firm underlisting.

In 2013, the company launched the Flatso grips with “split graphics” that were a slight departure from the company’s cleaner design on its round-backed grips. For 2014, the cleaner graphics have returned, with a dual-color thumb-placement design that’s new for the company’s retail grips.

2013 Flatso graphics

30aee0b2b63aa0088f6357b9ab8eabc3

2014 Flatso graphics

7e5be69161e57c4138b0d74b7c47ea92

Each of the 2014 grips have their own unique colorway, with the Flatso available in white/black/green, the Flatso Mid available in white/black/red and the Flatso Ultra available in white/black/silver. The new graphics will help differentiate the models being used on the professional tours, and will also make the grips appear smaller because of the removal of the center line on the middle of the flat front section.

The Takeaway

The new Flatso series of grips are a great addition to the company’s product line. They’re a niche product, and for that reason they won’t sell like the company’s original round-backed grips. But players who like them are going to love them, growing SuperStroke’s notoriety in the serious golfer community.

Flatso

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.superstrokeusa.com/index.php/products/putter-grips/” oemtext=”Learn more from SuperStroke” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSRVFCU/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HSRVFCU&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=RVNMMW4NVGPSNPVT”]

Flatso Mid

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.superstrokeusa.com/index.php/products/putter-grips/” oemtext=”Learn more from SuperStroke” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSRVFYI/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HSRVFYI&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=GT2SAUVERZRLMMI6″]

Flatso Ultra

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.superstrokeusa.com/index.php/products/putter-grips/” oemtext=”Learn more from SuperStroke” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSRVGSI/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HSRVGSI&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=IXIVL56SAUA3222X”]

Click here to see more photos of SuperStroke’s 2014 putter grips, as well as prototype putter grips.

Click here to see more photos of SuperStroke’s 2014 putter grips, as well as prototype putter grips.

Your Reaction?
  • 42
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW4
  • LOL3
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK5

Kadin Mahmet has a passion for golf. He has coached at the collegiate level and has worked as an instructor specializing in youth athletics. You can follow Kadin on Twitter @BigKadin. "Like" Growing Up Golf on Facebook @ facebook.com/Growing.Up.Golf for more content.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. cory

    Sep 22, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    Agree need all black the white gets dirty and makes slippery.
    I’ll bet to get you to to replace not just for adverticing.
    Scotty Cameron will copy it and make it better…

  2. Danny Sternod

    May 31, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    I used the flatso 1.4 and felt really good but didn’t live up to the hype. I tinkered with it and then turned the flat side toward the target and what a difference. A completely different feel and now I’m averaging 27-30 putts around instead of the normal 32-36 putts. Anything 10 feet and in are automatic.
    Give it a try….

  3. golfraven

    May 9, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    Got the Super Stroke Flatso Ultra now on my Scotty and it grips nice though the grip appears bit slithery at first. Had the Scotty Pistolero for about two years and I am now keen to see how the Ultra performs. Like the fact that this is slightly wider and fairly flat on the top than the usual putter grips. I believe we will become friends for a long time.

  4. Matt

    Feb 13, 2014 at 11:52 am

    Been using the Flatso Ultra since about June. Amazing feel to it. Cant see myself using any other grip for a long time

    • Curtis

      May 1, 2014 at 1:00 pm

      I hear you man, just hope they come out with something counter balanced very soon!

  5. Harvey

    Jan 27, 2014 at 2:59 am

    It’s what you do not how you look doing it! Had one put on yesterday and is 10x better than the Standard super stroke, the flat front keeps you in contact with the position of the club face throughout the stroke. Switched from a std ultra to flatso mid

  6. Rob

    Jan 6, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    launch date? I assume after the PGA show?

    • WhoDey98

      Jan 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

      Golfworks has them for sale on their site now. I got one on the way in the mail.

      • Mark

        Jan 28, 2014 at 12:50 am

        I just ordered the Flatso 1.1 Ultra so hopefully it’s on it’s way. I tweeted @SuperStrokeGolf and they said that they were planning on having the Ultra out by april, but apparently GolfWorks has them. Crossing my fingers!

  7. BeckyStyles

    Jan 6, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    BLACK COLOR OPTION!!!! I’ll buy it, I promise! Git’er Done!!!

  8. Sam Gray

    Jan 2, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Have not actually put my hands on these but I like the idea. I have a Slim 3.0 on my putter and it is just a little to big and I think that this may be my solution…

  9. nik d

    Dec 21, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    I have the fatso 85(I bought mine well before duff won with it!) on my phil mickelson prototype putter and I love it, the only problem I had was it made the head feel too light, so I put 20 grams of lead powder down the shaft. ive never been steadier. I also installed the flatso ultra (the 1.4″) diameter grip on my playing partners Wilson 8882 blade putter and he has shaved at least 4 strokes off of his game, I might get one for myself even, its like the perfect size, especially with the rib. the grip is the same every time. for people with Arnold palmer sized hands, its a no brainer. imagine if the king had a grip that big, those speedy greens he hated would have been bit easier

  10. Martin

    Dec 21, 2013 at 6:23 am

    I have hooked putts my whole life, generally conquered the problem but still rears it’s ugly head occasionally.

    I tried one of these after Duff won the PGA, had it on my favourite putter for a month or so and never hooked a putt, ever.

    Missed all sorts of putts right instead, went back to my standard grip, didn’t help me.

  11. PeanutsDaddy

    Dec 20, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    Kadin,

    Thank you for the comprehensive review. I am currently using a Super Stroke 2.0 grip and will give the Flatso a chance in the spring. I too wish the company would provide an all-black grip as the mostly white design looks awful in a short period of time.

    • nik d

      Dec 21, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      my fatso 85 is white with black accents. and your right. it has a nice yellow tint too it now. imagine if I was a smoker, it would be even worse! but maybe more tacky from the tar

  12. Just a thought

    Dec 20, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    Reverse the color scheme. Mostly black, some white and some of the “bright” color. Viewers would still know they are SS and users would get what they want. I actually have white iron grips but haven’t gone to SS because too much is going on with all the logo and everything else.

  13. Bout time

    Dec 20, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Definitely a fan but two things really stick out. One: The release on the ultra has been pretty annoying (dates, color, communication). Two: The colorway is horrible, I would like to see one user that has been able to get more then one season out of these grips without it looking gross. We pay big money for these, and unlike the pros we like our gear to last/look good for more then 4 rounds. It’s time to offer your loyal customers some options.

    I totally understand the marketing concept of making the product stand out, but now that everyone knows what super stroke is. Give us some options! Please! Other companies are now eating into the market share due to color choice alone… Wake up already! I guess there just too busy counting money to listen. A real shame.

    • david

      Dec 20, 2013 at 1:02 pm

      +1. it seems like rbz white and grip white are just to stand out on tv so they can sell em to us

  14. Richard

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Loving the Flatso Mid I put on about 2 months ago. Never was really into the SuperStroke grips, but the new shape of the Flatso really fit my hands very well and fit my stroke. Great grips.

  15. SuperStroke Doesn't Care

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:34 am

    They don’t have to make solid colors or less busy graphics. They don’t care that customers are clamoring for better coloring because they are the only ones who make it.

    Pretty disappointing they don’t care.

  16. Rob

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Let’s hope they actually come out on time as I have been waiting to try the flatso ultra

  17. Sean

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Nice review Julia, I mean Kadin! I would like to see the grips come in a solid, dark color. The problem with white grips is they get dirty very quickly. I clean my grips regularly, but still…

  18. LorenRobertsFan

    Dec 20, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Graphics are still too busy for me to try one.

    • nik d

      Dec 21, 2013 at 4:10 pm

      I look at the ball when I putt, not the grip lol, its funny how the little things can throw a person off though, so I hear ya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: T Squared TS-713i Standard Series putter

Published

on

Product:  T Squared TS-713i Standard Series Putter

About T Squared: T Squared Putters is a small putter manufacturer just south of Buffalo, New York. The company was founded by Tony Tuber who created his first prototype putters, after hours, in his father’s machine shop. Since then Tony and his father have been creating high-quality putters in the same facility that creates high precision instruments for the medical field. They pride themselves on creating the highest quality, most precise putter they can offer. They offer a few different head shapes from small traditional blades to high MOI mallets and even a custom program to get exactly what you want.

The Ts-713i Standard Series is based on the Ts-713, the first prototype that Tony created. It is a blade-style putter with a slightly longer flange and a unique face insert milled from 6061 aluminum. The body of the Ts713i is milled from a solid block of 303 stainless steel that is produced in the USA and has a Teflon backing between the body and face insert.

This Teflon backing helps give the putter a softer feel at impact and reduce any unwanted vibration. Details are what T Squared is all about and the neck of the putter shows off their milling expertise. The neck is similar to a plumbers neck, built with multiple pieces and offering some cool texture on the section bonded to the head. Another great detail is that all the silver markings on the putter are not filled with paint, they are milled into the head. T Squared finished the head in a sharp matte black and then milled all the markings on the putter for a unique, shiny silver look that really stands out. Ts-713i putters are built for customizing and have a ton of options that you can select if you would like to build something totally unique

On the green, the T Squared TS-713i really performs fantastic. I found the feel at impact very solid without any unwanted vibration. The impact produces a muted click and soft feel that I wasn’t expecting from this aluminum insert and thin face. The deep milling and Teflon coated back to the insert really work together to produce a great, responsive feel that I enjoyed. Deep milling usually makes me a little worried because it can soften the putter too much and lose that feel we all demand.

The TS-713i has no issues and transmits impact feel back to your hands with ease. Mishits are a little louder and harsh, but nothing even close to unpleasant. I have used putters that don’t feel as good on perfectly struck shots as the TS-713i feels on mishit putts. Distance and accuracy on those mishit putts are not as drastic as you would expect with a blade putter. I often just missed the cup by small margins when I struck a putt on the toe or heel of the TS-713i. There aren’t too many blade putters that have shown this level of forgiveness on the green for me.

The “T” alignment aid on the flange of the putter is large and easy to use. Not only do you get a straight line from the face to the back edge for alignment, but the back of the “T” also helps you square the putter up to your target. The Pure grip is not my thing, and it would be great for T Squared to offer a few more options, but that is an easy fix and a very minor criticism.

Overall, the T Squared TS-713i is a great putter from young Tony Tuber that exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail, precision milling, and take on a classic head shape offer golfers something different without sacrificing any performance. If you are looking for a great feeling putter that is made in the USA, you should take a look at T Squared and see what they can make for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 53
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW5
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Equipment

WRX Spotlight: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Published

on

Product: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Pitch: From Odyssey/Toulon: “The Odyssey Toulon San Diego Stroke Lab Putter is our take on on another classic putter. It’s an expertly crafted, premium milled blade, with our multi-material Stroke Lab Shaft, deep diamond milled cross hatch grooves, and a new Charcoal Smoke finish.”

Our take on the Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Toulon is the line of all milled putters from Odyssey, originally started by club designer Sean Toulon and his sons. Toulon putters have always featured their Deep Diamond Mill face, adjustable sole weight, and brazed (instead of welded) necks. That combination has created a great putter line that has become popular on tour as well as us amateur players. For 2019, there are some new head shapes, Charcoal Smoke Finish, Deep Diamond Milling across the whole face, and the Stroke Lab putter shaft.

I got my hands on the Toulon San Diego, a more squared-off blade shape, for this review. The shape, milling, and finish on the San Diego are great and really show off what a high quality piece it is. The biggest change visually is the full Deep Diamond Mill face, making the view from address more uniform. The face used to have the milling only in the center of the face and to some that was a distracting look while others liked the way it framed the ball. The new finish also looks great. I always have liked darker finishes and this looks high end while still reducing glare in the brightest conditions.

The Stroke Lab shaft goes well with the finish on the San Diego and the head cover is a plush synthetic leather that feels like it will hold up for years of use.

On the green the San Diego SL has a crisp sound and feel. If you like a little more click to your putter, then the San Diego SL will be right what you are looking for. And don’t take that as a negative thing, that crisp feel gives great feedback on face contact. You know exactly where the putter face and ball met by the sound and feel. The Deep Diamond Mill gets the ball rolling quickly on line with very minimal hop and skid, providing very consistent and repeatable distance control.

This is blade, so shots off the toe to tend to stray from your intended line a bit, the face does seem like it wants to rotate open a bit. Heel strikes defiantly stay online better, but tend to lose more steam and net get the roll out you might expect. The simple alignment line on the flange of the putter is easy to align, even for a guy who has been using mallets for years.

Like I have said before, I think there is something to the Stroke Lab tech, the lighter shaft and weight in the butt of the shaft do affect tempo for me; I noticed a slight calming of my backstroke and stroke through the ball.

Overall, the San Diego is a great putter for those who like a little firmer feel and more audible click on their putter. It is very responsive and putts a great roll on the ball. This isn’t a cheap putter ($450) and the fit and finish let you know that you are getting what you paid for.

Your Reaction?
  • 65
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW4
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP5
  • OB1
  • SHANK37

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: Miura MGP-NM1 Putter

Published

on

Product: Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Pitch: Limited to 300 pieces, the Miura MGP-NM1 is Miura’s first 303 stainless steel putter. Its appearance is in keeping with the bolder designs of the Miura Giken family.

Our take on the Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Miura Giken has become the brand where Miura can push some limits and try out designs and technology not really fit for the standard Miura line. And if doing something new and different is what Miura Giken is about, then the MGP-NM1 fits like a glove. When most people think of Miura, they think forged carbon steel and traditional, old school shapes. The MGP-NM1 is a long ways from that, being milled from 303 stainless steel, having adjustable weights and milled stepped pockets in the sole.

If you love mill marks, then the MBG-NM1 will fulfill all our needs because the head is covered with them. I really liked the top line where the mill marks go front to back but then get much finer around the alignment line. If you look close the milling is still there, but just much finer. It works great along with the alignment lines on the “fangs.” The MGP-NM1 is a great size: large enough to give you confidence that a mishit will stay online, but not too big to be distracting. Like most putters with this (Odyssey No. 7)  shape, it frames the ball really well and looks great to my eye. The way the shaft goes into the head is for sure unique, it is straight from address but does drop down into the head.

I will get my one con on this putter out of the way early: the way the shaft goes into the head from address. I love the shape of the head, but the way the shaft enters the head makes it harder for me to line up. At address you can see the the top line of the putter on both sides of the shaft and for some that might be helpful, but it took me a long time to get comfortable with my alignment. Also, the head cover isn’t up to standard for a putter in this price range.

But the good of this putter really outweighs that bad. The putter  feels and sounds great, much like the Miura KM-009 reviewed previously. Feel is very solid with, to me, the perfect amount of click on impact. There might be just a slight bit of vibration on contact, but very minimal and will probably vary with the ball you play. Contact on the toe and heel really stay on target well; you can tell this mallet has a fairly high MOI. Like any responsive putter should do, this really provides good feedback on mishits. Toe and heel shots are not punished as much as you would think, the ball still rolls out well with minimal distance loss. That solid, soft Miura feel really does come through with this putter.

Overall, I think the Miura Giken MGP-NM1 is a really great way for a mallet user to put a Miura putter into the bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending