Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Cold weather epoxy experts

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 ThePlatypus

ThePlatypus

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 185182
GolfWRX Likes : 1

Posted 27 February 2013 - 05:59 AM

I am a long time club builder but reserve that for April - September so I've never done any builds in the winter.

I know epoxy needs a certain temperature to cure but if I don't have that temperature will it just take longer to cure or will it increase the risk of failure?  Temps right now are in the 40's.

I was thinking one of two things.

Bring all the components in overnight to let them get to room temperature and then do the work in the garage.  I use the Mitchell 510 Quickcure so it cures pretty quickly.

OR

Do the work in the garage and let them cure in my basement although the basement is not heated and temps are probably 50's.

I am trying to build a set for my trip to Miami in 3 weeks so I don't have to build them right this second, I can see if it gets a little warmer in March but I can't have heads flying off during my trip as that will be my only set.

Thanks!

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

GolfWRX Forums

Advertisement

You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.