Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

An honest, unthought mistake...now what

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Sniperman

Sniperman

Major Winner

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,294 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 67325
GolfWRX Likes : 72

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:58 AM

I've been playing golf for about 5 years, started in '07 after a successful fight with colon cancer.  Over the course, as my game was gradually improving and stated beating all my friends who's played the game longer, I was encouraged to get an official handicap.  Having limited budget to play, I always leaned over using the $50 for a weekend round.  Then finally, last month, I took the plunge and got myself an official USGA handicap.

After reading up on how the handicap system works, and slowly grasping the calculation method, I've come to realize that I have been entering my scores incorrectly.  Instead of entering the "ESC," I've been entering the raw score.  My index right now is listed as 5.8 based on raw scores entered.

If I had been entering my ESC versus raw, does it mean I would have a slightly lower index?  Would this be labeled as sandbagging?  I would edit my scores, but the USGA system doesn't allow the user, and I don't feel it would make much of a difference to warrant a call to my club and submit a revision to the USGA.  I believe I have entered about 25 rounds.

Thoughts?

And yes, going forward I will enter the ESC!

Anser 8.5 Speeder VC 6.2
i20 3w Speeder VC 7.1 / i20 3h VTS Tour
'11 TM TP MB NO1s!
Bettinardi ss7
Z Star XV

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest