Jump to content

Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Blayne Barber's Q School Incident


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 aclemfan48

aclemfan48

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 166675
  • Joined: 02/28/2012
GolfWRX Likes : 1

Posted 15 November 2012 - 11:47 AM

Link to the story... http://www.pgatour.c...lumn/index.html

For those who haven't read, Barber disqualified himself 6 days after finishing in 4th place in the first stage of Q-School due to a small rules infraction of rule 13-4c.

I wanted to know what everyone on here thought of this, as it bears a striking resemblance to the Brian Davis penalty at harbor town a few years back.  I understand the rule, and I have a lot of respect for Blayne for being honest and doing the right thing (I hope most on here would too), but I find the rule in and of itself ridiculous.  Your club brushing a lose impediment like a leaf or blade of grass is not giving you an advantage over anyone, and really cost this young player, this should be looked at in more detail than the long putter ruling IMO.

I understand if he walked in and moved all the leaves around his ball to get a better lie, but this is clearly not what happened, what does everyone think?


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#2 BallPincher

BallPincher

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 125871
  • Joined: 04/04/2011
  • Location:Madison, WI
  • Ebay ID:moonman12
GolfWRX Likes : 17

Posted 15 November 2012 - 11:53 AM

IMO this rule and lots of others are BS. With that said, he broke the rules, did what he thought was correct at the time. Found out later he had acted incorrectly, and took care of that.

Sucks, but there will always be opportunities for honest, good people. I'll throw him an exemption for my tournament, the BallPincher Invitational (still trying to get OWGR points this year).

Edited by BallPincher, 15 November 2012 - 11:54 AM.

Nike VR Ltd 9.5 Diamana Ahina X
Nike VR Str8-Fit 15 Diamana BB X
Callaway X-14 2-PW Dynamic Gold X100
Nike VR Forged 52 & 58 C-Taper S
Nike Method Core MC-01w

#3 tembolo1284

tembolo1284

    Jack still da man!

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 18,166 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 71802
  • Joined: 01/03/2009
  • Location:NYC
  • Handicap:Beef
GolfWRX Likes : 1864

Posted 15 November 2012 - 01:46 PM

Poor dude...but he did the right thing.
Wishon 919 THI 11* 0.5* Open
Wishon 929 HS 14.5*, 19* 0.5 Open
Wishon 775HS 22*, 25*
Wishon 5, 6 560 MC 7-PW MMC MB
Wishon 54, 59 Micro-Groove HM
All shafts are S2S Stepless Steel Wishon

#4 kevcarter

kevcarter

    Legend

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 10,720 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 3616
  • Joined: 07/28/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 1169

Posted 15 November 2012 - 06:31 PM

The rule didn't get him DQ'd, a mis-application of the proper penalty, and ultimately signing an incorrect scorecard got him DQ'd. He did the right thing and made the only call that would allow him to sleep at night.
I could be wrong.
I have been before.
I will be again.
========================================
GEOMETRICALLY ORIENTED LINEAR FORCE
========================================

#5 ej002

ej002

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,040 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 27552
  • Joined: 04/06/2007
GolfWRX Likes : 320

Posted 15 November 2012 - 06:35 PM

Man, what a difficult thing to do.  Hopefully the golf gods will shed some good will in his direction.


#6 bscinstnct

bscinstnct

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,327 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 77664
  • Joined: 03/17/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 1999

Posted 15 November 2012 - 06:59 PM

Is it considered poor form to review your card with the officials before you sign?

I don't know how it works but it seems like every player should have some sort of back-stop/audit/"spell check" type procedure before they sign.

Didn't a guy lose the Masters for signing the wrong score?!

But, he is a good man and he can look himself in the mirror.

#7 kevcarter

kevcarter

    Legend

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 10,720 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 3616
  • Joined: 07/28/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 1169

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:10 PM

View Postbscinstnct, on 15 November 2012 - 06:59 PM, said:

Is it considered poor form to review your card with the officials before you sign?

I don't know how it works but it seems like every player should have some sort of back-stop/audit/"spell check" type procedure before they sign.

Didn't a guy lose the Masters for signing the wrong score?!

But, he is a good man and he can look himself in the mirror.

Exactly Sir. That was the point I was trying to make. He knew the rule, but applied the wrong penalty. A question in the scorers tent would have kept him on track. Simply a little careless.

He did the right thing, making a VERY difficult telephone call. I hope he received great Karma in return
I could be wrong.
I have been before.
I will be again.
========================================
GEOMETRICALLY ORIENTED LINEAR FORCE
========================================

#8 PZero

PZero

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,582 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 129810
  • Joined: 05/30/2011
  • Location:Ohio
  • Handicap:1.5
GolfWRX Likes : 1129

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:22 PM

So many stupid and petty rules that really need to be changed and soon. They have no business being a penalty.
R11S 10.5 Whiteboad 63S
913F 15, R9 19
Titleist 712 AP2 4-GW
Vokey 50, TVD 56
Studio Select Newport

#9 Sean2

Sean2

    Wait...what?

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 18,005 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 29539
  • Joined: 05/23/2007
  • Location:South of Boston
  • Ebay ID:None
GolfWRX Likes : 4422

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:22 PM

I find some of the rules of golf...baffling.
Hey...be nice.

#10 teeman2116

teeman2116

    Advanced

  • Jr. Boomers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 42157
  • Joined: 11/12/2007
  • Location:Warner Robins, Georgia
GolfWRX Likes : 11

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:29 PM

There is another thread about this http://www.golfwrx.c...11#entry5930611


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#11 zargaro

zargaro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 191484
  • Joined: 07/11/2012
  • Location:Sarasota, Florida
GolfWRX Likes : 1

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:55 PM

He’s very commendable for coming forward and DQ himself, after the fact.

Golf is full of rules, and some can be very vague on how they are to be applied.
Hence the reason, even the PGA players are quick to request an official when in doubt.

#12 502 to Right

502 to Right

    Badds

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 7,214 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 23773
  • Joined: 01/09/2007
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA
  • Handicap:7.9
GolfWRX Likes : 1534

Posted 15 November 2012 - 10:22 PM

. . .

Edited by 502 to Right, 15 November 2012 - 10:24 PM.


#13 Truman

Truman

    Advanced

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 443 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 119361
  • Joined: 12/25/2010
  • Location:Missouri
GolfWRX Likes : 32

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:52 PM

It looked bad that he took 6 days to come forward, when he was told that night that he had made a mistake.  Everyone who plays should try and understand the rules and decisions of golf.  When you are uncertain ask.  When you make a mistake correct it as soon as you are aware.

#14 GAL007

GAL007

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 102912
  • Joined: 02/03/2010
GolfWRX Likes : 35

Posted 19 November 2012 - 10:15 PM

I imagine Chesson Hadley is pretty excited that Barber came to the decision he did. Hadley finished 1 shot off the number to advance at first stage but moved inside the cut line when Barber disqualified himself. Hadley then proceeded to advance through second stage and will be competing at final stage. Talk about taking advantage of an opportunity

#15 OptionlessM

OptionlessM

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 178878
  • Joined: 05/04/2012
GolfWRX Likes : 10

Posted 28 November 2012 - 10:37 PM

Blayne is a very good guy, we speak regularly.  He will be on television in the future, no doubt.


#16 Thrillhouse

Thrillhouse

    EVERYTHING'S COMING UP THRILLHOUSE!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,344 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 140851
  • Joined: 10/02/2011
  • Location:Canada
GolfWRX Likes : 1958

Posted 29 November 2012 - 12:06 AM

The rules are the rules and competition can't work properly unless everybody plays by the same ones.

Good for him for doing the right thing, hopefully he moves past this and winds up on tour sooner rather than later.

#17 Jim Clark

Jim Clark

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,424 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 143353
  • Joined: 10/20/2011
  • Location:Northern VA
GolfWRX Likes : 198

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:12 AM

I think that rule has to do with moving a loose impediment in a hazard during the backswing which gives the player a clear shot at the ball which he might not have had. For example: there's a fairly large stick behind the ball, not touching it but definitely in the way on the downswing. The player moves the stick out of the way with the backswing giving them a clear path to the ball on the downswing. I agree that touching and/or moving a blade of grass on the backswing does not give the player an advantage. But a loose impediment is a loose impediment, it doesn't matter how big it is. When in doubt, don't touch anything with the backswing in a hazard.

#18 smuhunter

smuhunter

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 123 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 471
  • Joined: 05/01/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 1

Posted 29 November 2012 - 12:03 PM

He knew mistake after the second round when someone mentioned it was a 2 stroke penalty and still played two more rounds!  Then he came forward 6 days later when guilt probably got the best of him...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors