Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

bought the Mizuno JPX-825 Pro .. initial impression

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TNReb

TNReb

Tour Winner

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 614 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 206233
  • Handicap:2
GolfWRX Likes : 129

Posted 31 October 2012 - 09:41 PM

I've been tossing around the idea of buying these irons.  I've been playing the MP-59 but have been looking for something a little more forgiving.  

A quick background on me if it helps put things in context:

I've been playing for about 16-17 years.  For the past 5, I've played about 3 times a month.  I rarely practiced.  I just went and played.  I would generally shoot 76-82.  My best round during that time was 2 under and my bad rounds would be mid 80's.  

Two and a half months ago we moved.  We bought a house on a golf course, and I've been playing tons more.  I'm actually practicing and TRYING to get better.  I work from home, so I have the privilege of being able to run to the driving range during my lunch break (private course, so unlimited range balls).  I can also squeeze in 9 holes after work (until the time changes!).  My last 3 rounds have been 73, 80, 76.  I made 6 birdies one day and still shot 1 over par.  I guess what I'm trying to say is that I have the ability to play good, but inconsistency is hurting me.

My ball-striking isn't horrible, it's just inconsistent.  I wanted to see if something like the JPX-825 Pro's would give me a little more forgiveness.