Jump to content

Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

should i count this ace?

hole in one

  • Please log in to reply
100 replies to this topic

#91 Desert Golf

Desert Golf

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 25707
  • Joined: 02/19/2007
  • Location:Palm Springs
  • Handicap:9.8
GolfWRX Likes : 179

Posted 07 October 2012 - 09:26 PM

If you allow yourself mulligans than you most definately had a hole in one.  CONGRATS ;)

R9 Supertri 10.5 Rombax 6X07
Titleist 904f Aldila NV
Nickent 3DX
Mizuno MX25
Odyssey Black Tour #5

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#92 Guia

Guia

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,543 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 97501
  • Joined: 10/28/2009
  • Location:Southwest
GolfWRX Likes : 388

Posted 07 October 2012 - 09:38 PM

Anyone with common sense knows that an Ace and a HIO are the same things.  In accordance with the Rules
of the USGA the player was making his second stroke stroke.  Only the the rules of the USGA apply, not
the dictionary or any other sourse.  This argument over semantics is ridiculous when it must be scored as a 3 and not a 1, then it is obvious to most idiots that it is not an ace or HIO.  







#93 DBo9

DBo9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 220219
  • Joined: 01/08/2013
  • Location:So. Cal
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 08 January 2013 - 12:48 AM

View PostMatty T, on 30 September 2012 - 07:03 PM, said:

just tell people you holed out from 180yds for a par

Haha, That sounds terrible no matter how you say it

#94 KYMAR

KYMAR

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,718 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 99014
  • Joined: 11/22/2009
  • Location:Cleveland, Oh
GolfWRX Likes : 2249

Posted 08 January 2013 - 01:50 AM

This is shocking and hysterical to me! The essence of this debate is "what is one?"

I simply can't believe there are those demanding that a ruling body, a dictionary, or any outside source whatsoever be called on to inform all of golfdom what "one" means.
RAZR Fit Xtreme 10.5 with 7M3 S
Maltby KE4-ST-F, Razr fit, MP650???
Adams Super Hybrid 17*  Program 7.1 S
Adams A12 Pro KBS Tour 4-GW
Adams Pugliellii 56 and 60 DG spinners
TM Daddy Long Legs 38'

#95 TheCityGame

TheCityGame

    Chicks dig the bucket hat.

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,177 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 122960
  • Joined: 02/24/2011
  • Location:Baltimore
GolfWRX Likes : 355

Posted 08 January 2013 - 01:48 PM

View PostKYMAR, on 08 January 2013 - 01:50 AM, said:

This is shocking and hysterical to me! The essence of this debate is "what is one?"

I simply can't believe there are those demanding that a ruling body, a dictionary, or any outside source whatsoever be called on to inform all of golfdom what "one" means.
In a similar vein. . .who cares what wiki or the first 10 poorly worded google hits turn up? Especially by people who never considered someone would be so dense as to think a hole in three could actually be considered a hole in one.

WE'RE golfers. We decide. There's no such entity as a "hole in one" ordained by the cosmos whose truth we seek out. WE decide it. We define it. We, who are literate enough to write about golf with each other in a forum.

And I'll be god-damned if it's getting called anything other than standing on the tee and hitting your first attempt into the hole.

LASTLY, a hole-in-one only has import when it comes up in golf conversation. And when it does, the OP can say, "I've never had one, but once I jacked one OB, and knocked my provisional in for a 3."

Just like when it comes up, I say, "I've never had one, but I was playing with my mother once, and she bounced a 3 wood off a tree, across a cart part, onto the green, and into the hole." <- true story.


#96 lander215

lander215

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 983 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 65964
  • Joined: 09/18/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 45

Posted 08 January 2013 - 01:53 PM

I think everyone can calm down...this thread was dead until a new poster dusted it off. ;-)

Congrats to your mom though! lol

Edited by lander215, 08 January 2013 - 01:54 PM.


#97 BrianL99

BrianL99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,486 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 156579
  • Joined: 01/20/2012
  • Handicap:6.7
GolfWRX Likes : 634

Posted 09 January 2013 - 05:20 AM

View PostTheCityGame, on 08 January 2013 - 01:48 PM, said:



LASTLY, a hole-in-one only has import when it comes up in golf conversation. And when it does, the OP can say, "I've never had one, but once I jacked one OB, and knocked my provisional in for a 3."



There's no such thing as "jacked one OB and knocked in my provisional".


& Lander215 is right, the thread was better dead.

#98 TheCityGame

TheCityGame

    Chicks dig the bucket hat.

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,177 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 122960
  • Joined: 02/24/2011
  • Location:Baltimore
GolfWRX Likes : 355

Posted 10 January 2013 - 01:14 PM

OK, when a hole-in-one comes up in conversation, the OP can say, "I've never had one, but once I hit one into the trees, hit a provisional, and hit the next one into the hole from the tee."

If that upsets you, fine. . .go find another tiny, tiny, tiny hill to defend.

#99 shaffe

shaffe

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 873 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 158869
  • Joined: 01/30/2012
GolfWRX Likes : 265

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:14 PM

I thought my 16 year old daughter could justify anything ... I was wrong.:)

Edited by shaffe, 16 January 2013 - 10:33 PM.


#100 Ghost_Orchid

Ghost_Orchid

    Golf Junkie

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 1,669 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 37491
  • Joined: 08/16/2007
  • Location:Upstate NY
  • Handicap:17
GolfWRX Likes : 72

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:31 PM

Hmmmm...no one asked the most important question...

To the OP

Did you buy? and how much was the hio bar tab?


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#101 Graymulligan

Graymulligan

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 215421
  • Joined: 12/11/2012
  • Location:Sodus, NY
  • Handicap:9ish
GolfWRX Likes : 215

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:47 AM

View PostSawgrass, on 30 September 2012 - 05:30 PM, said:

I want to know what a Tourament organizer, who offers a new car as a prize for a hole in one, will have to say about this profound question.

As someone who used to work for Buick in my younger years, and did the paperwork for a LOT (hundreds and hundreds) of hole in one contests, I can say that without question, there is language disqualifying someone from a prize in this case.  It must be the first ball struck, a ball in a hazard or OB and a re-tee don't count.  We have a Chari-tee hole on my home course that has similar language on its placard as well.  

To the original questions...Nice shot.  Good 3.  No hio.  (but to be honest, I would almost rather have this story than a hole in one.  Way more fun to tell, and you'd likely have people buy you drinks, rather than the other way around)
910D2 10.5*, 913Fd 15*
Titlesit 909h 19*
Mizzy JPX800 pros, x100 shafts
Mizzy JPX 54/58
Ping Sydney.  (ugly, but effective)





Also tagged with hole in one

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors