Jump to content

Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

should i count this ace?

hole in one

  • Please log in to reply
100 replies to this topic

#1 chunkyboy79

chunkyboy79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 201865
  • Joined: 09/06/2012
  • Location:bangor, north wales
  • Ebay ID:superchunk79
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:38 AM

so im at my local course with my friend and tee up on a 180 yard par three and hook the ball right into tree's on the left ball gone. so i proceed to take a three off the tee and that ball fly's beautifully towards the green. there are some trees blocking the view so we dont see it drop but when we get down there ..there she is sitting pretty in the cup. my first ever hole in one after playing for 3months, (pure luck i guess but i'll take it). my problem is my mate reckons i shouldnt count it as a hole in one as it was my provisional ball. obviously a three went down on the scorecard but i still tell people (as often as i can) that i had a hio. should i count it as one? :golfer:


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#2 paulshack

paulshack

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 149861
  • Joined: 12/04/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 109

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:45 AM

great par save m8 :pimp:

Edited by paulshack, 30 September 2012 - 08:45 AM.


#3 RRFireblade

RRFireblade

    AKA Jay.

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,383 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 23410
  • Joined: 01/01/2007
  • Location:Central Florida
  • Handicap:+6.1
  • Ebay ID:RRFireblade
GolfWRX Likes : 681

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:48 AM

Any time you have to ask , the answer is no.
RFE 8.5* XS
RHT #3 XS
Cally MB 3i-9i PX 7.0
Cally Forged 52*/56*/60*
Scotty Studio Select Custom

#4 lbj273

lbj273

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 779 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 164895
  • Joined: 02/20/2012
GolfWRX Likes : 125

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:48 AM

Its a par, a great par sure, but a par nonetheless. Save telling people you got a hole in one till you actually get one

#5 chunkyboy79

chunkyboy79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 201865
  • Joined: 09/06/2012
  • Location:bangor, north wales
  • Ebay ID:superchunk79
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:59 AM

suppose ill have to keep at it then.


#6 BrianL99

BrianL99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,435 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 156579
  • Joined: 01/20/2012
  • Handicap:6.7
GolfWRX Likes : 622

Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:11 AM

View Postchunkyboy79, on 30 September 2012 - 08:38 AM, said:

so im at my local course with my friend and tee up on a 180 yard par three and hook the ball right into tree's on the left ball gone. so i proceed to take a three off the tee and that ball fly's beautifully towards the green. there are some trees blocking the view so we dont see it drop but when we get down there ..there she is sitting pretty in the cup. my first ever hole in one after playing for 3months, (pure luck i guess but i'll take it). my problem is my mate reckons i shouldnt count it as a hole in one as it was my provisional ball. obviously a three went down on the scorecard but i still tell people (as often as i can) that i had a hio. should i count it as one? :golfer:

I disagree.

A "hole in one" is by definition, a shot that goes into the hole from the Tee:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hole_in_one

It's surely not an "Ace" and clearly not an "Eagle".   Your score on the hole was "3", but you made a hole in one.

There really is no such thing as an "official hole in one", other than some arbitrary standard that's been made up by some association or group ... the Rules of Golf make no mention of it.

#7 larrybud

larrybud

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 21167
  • Joined: 10/31/2006
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI
  • Handicap:3.0
GolfWRX Likes : 428

Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:24 AM

Brian, I have to disagree.  It's a "hole from the tee", and it's certainly a "hole out" but by words alone "hole in ONE" means ONE shot.   There's no other definition of what "one" means.  The OP was hitting three.

#8 BrianL99

BrianL99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,435 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 156579
  • Joined: 01/20/2012
  • Handicap:6.7
GolfWRX Likes : 622

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:59 AM

View Postlarrybud, on 30 September 2012 - 09:24 AM, said:

Brian, I have to disagree.  It's a "hole from the tee", and it's certainly a "hole out" but by words alone "hole in ONE" means ONE shot.   There's no other definition of what "one" means.  The OP was hitting three.

A semantic disagreement & not relevant in the world ... the guy's new to golf, give him his moment of glory :)

#9 Nessism

Nessism

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,859 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 131490
  • Joined: 06/23/2011
  • Location:Torrance, CA
GolfWRX Likes : 643

Posted 30 September 2012 - 11:07 AM

Not a hole in one.  A great shot none the less though.

#10 Sonny217

Sonny217

    50/50/90

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 175162
  • Joined: 04/14/2012
  • Location:Michigan
GolfWRX Likes : 66

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:27 PM

View PostBrianL99, on 30 September 2012 - 09:11 AM, said:

View Postchunkyboy79, on 30 September 2012 - 08:38 AM, said:

so im at my local course with my friend and tee up on a 180 yard par three and hook the ball right into tree's on the left ball gone. so i proceed to take a three off the tee and that ball fly's beautifully towards the green. there are some trees blocking the view so we dont see it drop but when we get down there ..there she is sitting pretty in the cup. my first ever hole in one after playing for 3months, (pure luck i guess but i'll take it). my problem is my mate reckons i shouldnt count it as a hole in one as it was my provisional ball. obviously a three went down on the scorecard but i still tell people (as often as i can) that i had a hio. should i count it as one? :golfer:

I disagree.

A "hole in one" is by definition, a shot that goes into the hole from the Tee:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hole_in_one

It's surely not an "Ace" and clearly not an "Eagle".   Your score on the hole was "3", but you made a hole in one.

There really is no such thing as an "official hole in one", other than some arbitrary standard that's been made up by some association or group ... the Rules of Golf make no mention of it.

Sounds good. Next round I'll take 1000 balls and hit until one goes in. Then I can brag to everyone about my sweet golf skills. If anyone challenges the authenticity of my hole in one, I can just point them to Wikipedia.


Sorry, it's not a hole in one.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#11 inthefairway

inthefairway

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 90812
  • Joined: 08/05/2009
  • Location:Massachusetts
GolfWRX Likes : 58

Posted 30 September 2012 - 01:05 PM

Not a hole in one unless everyone looks the other way!!!! :huh:

#12 Hawkeye77

Hawkeye77

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 100868
  • Joined: 12/27/2009
  • Location:Iowa
GolfWRX Likes : 528

Posted 30 September 2012 - 03:24 PM

View PostBrianL99, on 30 September 2012 - 09:11 AM, said:

View Postchunkyboy79, on 30 September 2012 - 08:38 AM, said:

so im at my local course with my friend and tee up on a 180 yard par three and hook the ball right into tree's on the left ball gone. so i proceed to take a three off the tee and that ball fly's beautifully towards the green. there are some trees blocking the view so we dont see it drop but when we get down there ..there she is sitting pretty in the cup. my first ever hole in one after playing for 3months, (pure luck i guess but i'll take it). my problem is my mate reckons i shouldnt count it as a hole in one as it was my provisional ball. obviously a three went down on the scorecard but i still tell people (as often as i can) that i had a hio. should i count it as one? :golfer:

I disagree.

A "hole in one" is by definition, a shot that goes into the hole from the Tee:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hole_in_one

It's surely not an "Ace" and clearly not an "Eagle".   Your score on the hole was "3", but you made a hole in one.

There really is no such thing as an "official hole in one", other than some arbitrary standard that's been made up by some association or group ... the Rules of Golf make no mention of it.

Wiki?

Obviously, wrong-ee.

Hole in one means it goes on your scorecard as 1.


#13 jwrogers

jwrogers

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,141 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 5343
  • Joined: 08/21/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 144

Posted 30 September 2012 - 04:01 PM

View PostBrianL99, on 30 September 2012 - 09:11 AM, said:

View Postchunkyboy79, on 30 September 2012 - 08:38 AM, said:

so im at my local course with my friend and tee up on a 180 yard par three and hook the ball right into tree's on the left ball gone. so i proceed to take a three off the tee and that ball fly's beautifully towards the green. there are some trees blocking the view so we dont see it drop but when we get down there ..there she is sitting pretty in the cup. my first ever hole in one after playing for 3months, (pure luck i guess but i'll take it). my problem is my mate reckons i shouldnt count it as a hole in one as it was my provisional ball. obviously a three went down on the scorecard but i still tell people (as often as i can) that i had a hio. should i count it as one? :golfer:

I disagree.

A "hole in one" is by definition, a shot that goes into the hole from the Tee:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hole_in_one

It's surely not an "Ace" and clearly not an "Eagle".   Your score on the hole was "3", but you made a hole in one.

There really is no such thing as an "official hole in one", other than some arbitrary standard that's been made up by some association or group ... the Rules of Golf make no mention of it.

No way.   I don't even understand how the question gets asked.   While you are writing down "3" on the card, it should be intuitively obvious you didn't make a 1.

#14 Sawgrass

Sawgrass

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,165 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83736
  • Joined: 05/24/2009
  • Location:Stamford, Connecticut
GolfWRX Likes : 1065

Posted 30 September 2012 - 05:30 PM

I want to know what a Tourament organizer, who offers a new car as a prize for a hole in one, will have to say about this profound question.

#15 BrianL99

BrianL99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,435 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 156579
  • Joined: 01/20/2012
  • Handicap:6.7
GolfWRX Likes : 622

Posted 30 September 2012 - 06:09 PM

View Postchunkyboy79, on 30 September 2012 - 08:38 AM, said:

so im at my local course with my friend and tee up on a 180 yard par three and hook the ball right into tree's on the left ball gone. so i proceed to take a three off the tee and that ball fly's beautifully towards the green. there are some trees blocking the view so we dont see it drop but when we get down there ..there she is sitting pretty in the cup. my first ever hole in one after playing for 3months, (pure luck i guess but i'll take it). my problem is my mate reckons i shouldnt count it as a hole in one as it was my provisional ball. obviously a three went down on the scorecard but i still tell people (as often as i can) that i had a hio. should i count it as one? :golfer:

The first (6) sources on a Google search of the Internet, agree with me.

You can chose to agree with whoever you want, including the experts on WRX.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Hole in one.jpg


#16 lander215

lander215

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 983 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 65964
  • Joined: 09/18/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 45

Posted 30 September 2012 - 06:20 PM

Actually they don't. Look again very first one says no intervening shots.

Stop trying so hard to be stupid on this.

#17 Matty T

Matty T

    Keen to give it a pump

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 193348
  • Joined: 07/19/2012
  • Location:Friendswood, TX
  • Handicap:10
  • Ebay ID:mtheobald-us
GolfWRX Likes : 66

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:03 PM

just tell people you holed out from 180yds for a par
Titleist 910D3 10.5* VTS Silver 7X
Titleist 910F 15* VTS Silver 7X
Titleist 910H 21* VTS Red 100X
Adams CMB 3-P, SM4 50.12* DG X100's
54.11*, 58.08* DG S400
Scotty Cameron Studio select Newport 2
WITB Link

#18 Long Shot

Long Shot

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 1752
  • Joined: 06/18/2005
  • Location:Long Island
GolfWRX Likes : 17

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:17 PM

Great Par though.

#19 BrianL99

BrianL99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,435 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 156579
  • Joined: 01/20/2012
  • Handicap:6.7
GolfWRX Likes : 622

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:27 PM

View Postlander215, on 30 September 2012 - 06:20 PM, said:

Actually they don't. Look again very first one says no intervening shots.

Stop trying so hard to be stupid on this.

You perhaps should look up the meaning of the word "intervening".

#20 lander215

lander215

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 983 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 65964
  • Joined: 09/18/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 45

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:45 PM

Without even looking I'm confident his first shot into the trees would fit the definition.

You're just arguing without merit. If you come up with new evidence I may respond to you again. Otherwise bye-bye.


OP - as others have said, great recovery for par. Keep playing for that first hole in one.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#21 puttingmatt

puttingmatt

    puttingmatt

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,779 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 50753
  • Joined: 03/05/2008
  • Location:Summer/ Michigan-- Winter/ Florida
  • Ebay ID:puttingmatt
GolfWRX Likes : 140

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:56 PM

Its a hole out, for three !! Nice par !!
I am guessing you could not find your
first ball, and returned to the tee ?
Callaway BB Alpha 9* Driver
Tour Edge Exotics CB5 3  Wood
TEE XCG6 19* & 24*  Hybrids
Callaway Apex Pro  5 thru PW irons
Odyssey ix  protype 9 HT Putter
Vokey 50*, 54*, & 58* Wedges

#22 2bGood

2bGood

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,659 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 91033
  • Joined: 08/07/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 76

Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:00 PM

not a hole in one, nice shot though.

#23 LULynx'er

LULynx'er

    Lynx Golfer

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 204577
  • Joined: 09/25/2012
  • Location:Belleville, IL(Lindenwood)
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:35 PM

Always a good feeling to hole out from 180!

#24 Guia

Guia

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,521 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 97501
  • Joined: 10/28/2009
  • Location:Southwest
GolfWRX Likes : 381

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:42 PM

Great par.  Freddie did the same thing at the TPC water hole a few years back.

For a previous poster:  a hole in one, means in the first stroke (that would be 1 stroke) on the hole
from the teeing ground.  Check your rules.  I have 7 holes in one, but have never holed out for a par on a par 3 from the tee.  Great recovery.

Edited by Guia, 30 September 2012 - 10:43 PM.


#25 BrianL99

BrianL99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,435 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 156579
  • Joined: 01/20/2012
  • Handicap:6.7
GolfWRX Likes : 622

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:06 AM

View PostGuia, on 30 September 2012 - 10:42 PM, said:

Great par.  Freddie did the same thing at the TPC water hole a few years back.

For a previous poster:  a hole in one, means in the first stroke (that would be 1 stroke) on the hole
from the teeing ground.  Check your rules.  I have 7 holes in one, but have never holed out for a par on a par 3 from the tee.  Great recovery.

Show me the "rule", I'll send you $100.


#26 AndrewZA

AndrewZA

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 191914
  • Joined: 07/13/2012
  • Location:Oxford, UK
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:10 AM

Nice hole out but no to the hole-in-one.  If you don't write "1" on the scorecard it isn't a hole-in-one.  Knowing my luck, the first time I manage to hole out off the tee will be have been immediately preceded by sending the previous ball OB ;-)

#27 lander215

lander215

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 983 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 65964
  • Joined: 09/18/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 45

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:53 AM

View PostBrianL99, on 01 October 2012 - 05:06 AM, said:

View PostGuia, on 30 September 2012 - 10:42 PM, said:

Great par.  Freddie did the same thing at the TPC water hole a few years back.

For a previous poster:  a hole in one, means in the first stroke (that would be 1 stroke) on the hole
from the teeing ground.  Check your rules.  I have 7 holes in one, but have never holed out for a par on a par 3 from the tee.  Great recovery.

Show me the "rule", I'll send you $100.

From the USGA, Definitions:

Quote

stroke’’ is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.

Therefore, his first stroke went into the woods, and his second stroke went into the hole. Add on the penalty, and the OP has his 3. Since a score is a count of all strokes and penalties, and you need a score of one to have made a hole-in-one, that's the rule that would be applied.

I won't bother sending you my address, as I know you won't pay up.

Edited by lander215, 01 October 2012 - 07:54 AM.


#28 Veng

Veng

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,191 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 170380
  • Joined: 03/20/2012
GolfWRX Likes : 94

Posted 01 October 2012 - 09:26 AM

His point (right or wrong) is the definition from all of his sources, say nothing about it having to be the FIRST stroke from the tee.  Only that it is A shot from the tee into the hole in one stroke.  That is, a hole in one is a hole out from the tee box, while an ace is a hole in which a single stroke is played.

#29 lander215

lander215

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 983 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 65964
  • Joined: 09/18/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 45

Posted 01 October 2012 - 09:46 AM

View PostVeng, on 01 October 2012 - 09:26 AM, said:

His point (right or wrong) is the definition from all of his sources, say nothing about it having to be the FIRST stroke from the tee.  Only that it is A shot from the tee into the hole in one stroke.  That is, a hole in one is a hole out from the tee box, while an ace is a hole in which a single stroke is played.

No they don't, my post #16 refutes his references because his very first one says "no intervening shots".

#30 Veng

Veng

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,191 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 170380
  • Joined: 03/20/2012
GolfWRX Likes : 94

Posted 01 October 2012 - 10:47 AM

View Postlander215, on 01 October 2012 - 09:46 AM, said:

View PostVeng, on 01 October 2012 - 09:26 AM, said:

His point (right or wrong) is the definition from all of his sources, say nothing about it having to be the FIRST stroke from the tee.  Only that it is A shot from the tee into the hole in one stroke.  That is, a hole in one is a hole out from the tee box, while an ace is a hole in which a single stroke is played.

No they don't, my post #16 refutes his references because his very first one says "no intervening shots".

From the tee, does not mean "the first ball hit off the tee", it simply means a ball hit from the teeing area.  See the below decision, which is one of many to use the term this way to define second balls, and provisional balls as being from the tee.

Quote

27-2a/2
Q.A player's tee shot might be in a water hazard, but clearly it is not lost outside a water hazard or out of bounds. The player announces that, since his ball might be in the hazard, he is going to play a provisional ball and he does so. Rule 27-2a seems to prohibit a provisional ball in the circumstances. What is the ruling?

A.The player did not play a provisional ball which, according to the Definition of "Provisional Ball," is a ball played under Rule 27-2 for a ball which may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds. The second ball from the tee was in play since it was not a provisional ball.

If you'd like to argue his definition, you can, but under the definition above, the second shot is a HIO, but not an ace.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.





Also tagged with hole in one

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors