Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

18 degree 5 wood vs. 19 degree hybrid

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TitleistHOG

TitleistHOG

Tour Winner

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 787 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 1878
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 03 February 2007 - 10:50 AM

Topic says it all. I have a 15 degree 3 wood and a 19 degree hybrid. I was considering getting an 18 degree 5 wood to rotate in and out of the bag depending on the course. What are the pros and cons.

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

GolfWRX Forums

Advertisement

You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#2 Gallery_moecat_*

Gallery_moecat_*
  • Guests
  •  
  • Member #: 0
GolfWRX Likes :

Posted 03 February 2007 - 11:36 AM

Hybrid pros: easier to hit and control, money out of the rough and fairway bunkers
Hybrid cons: loss of distance, possible lower trajectory and not as soft a landing on approach shots

5W pros: easier off the tee, more distance, softer landing on approach shots
5W cons: longer shaft harder to control, not a good choice out of bunkers and rough

I have an Adams Idea Pro hybrid bent to 17.5* from 18* (yes, Adams will do this for you) and can get 5 wood distance.  Approach shots also check up nicely.