Oops, sorry, missed the emoticon. I rescind the "tude" remark. But, I still disagree with putting out in a tournament until your group is all present or someone tells you to go ahead and play out. Just not good to do. And, as I stated before, disagree with the DQ too.
Agree somewhat. He didn't break any rules and they were told to play "ready golf", not "ready golf except for putting".
We all look back and, with the knowledge of what these guys were like, can advise him to be extremely cautious around them. But up to that point all their efforts were to try and exclude him from the competition. He had no way of knowing that they would make up a rule and penalize him for following instructions. Sounds like he was blindsided.
This happened on the 3rd hole, so why didn't they say anything then? Because, by my guess, they got together after the round and tried to find ANYTHING he'd done that could be construed as wrong. They probably didn't know the rules very well, and this was the worst they could come up with.
The DQ is definitely BS. I wonder if his marker was DQd for signing a scorecard he should've known was "incorrect"?