Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Swing Speed - technique vs athletic ability

121 replies to this topic

#1 Legend McSniff

Legend McSniff

Advanced

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 114268
GolfWRX Likes : 9

Posted 12 June 2012 - 10:13 AM

Hi Guys,

This has been bugging me.

I just fitted a guy for a Driver, 5 foot 8 inches, 60 kg, been to the driving range twice in his life.

Swing speed = 120 mph

I've been playing for 20+ years, to a decent handicap and I swing my driver at 96mph.

I'm bigger and by most standards probably as strong as this guy.

What gives here, clearly this individule must have a strong athletic advantage over me, i dont think his technique can be better as he was hitting it all over the clubface and to all corners of the compass but there is no denying the raw power is there.

I guess my actual question is how much is Swing Speed related to technique and how much does it relate to bodytype, athletic ability.?

I would hazard a guess that once you have a half decent swing, only between 5-10% extra MPH would be available through improving technique and your actual physical make up is FAR more significant with regards to how far you hit the ball.

Thoughts??

Edited by Legend McSniff, 12 June 2012 - 10:18 AM.

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

GolfWRX Forums

Advertisement