Jump to content

Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Golf Pride Multicompound


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 DaCheap1

DaCheap1
  • Advanced Members
  • 139 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 24030
  • Joined: 01/14/2007

Posted 29 April 2012 - 10:01 AM

Hi, season is about to start here in Finland, and now I feel like I'd like to regrip my irons.
So, there are a few sets of GP multicompounds on ebay.co.uk, and the price seems really nice and the seller has 100% positive feedback so far...

So, are theses fake or are they genuine GP product?
White multicompound
Purple multicompounds
Green multicompounds

Thanks for reading and helping me!  :friends:

View Sig

#2 Crab Daddy

Crab Daddy
  • Members
  • 691 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 130302
  • Joined: 06/07/2011
  • Location:Maryland

Posted 29 April 2012 - 08:07 PM

From what can be seen, they appear to be legit.  One of the easiest ways to tell real from fake, so far, has been the label.  The label on the real grips will  read "Multicompound Std" on one line, color on the next line, model number (MCC-xxx-xxx-xxx) on the next, and the last line is "Made in Taiwan".  The fakes do not have "Made in Taiwan" and sometimes do not list the color.
This has been the case with every example I have seen on here. That does not mean there are no counterfeits out there that have copied GP's label.
As far as the other tell-tale signs, it's kind of hard, at least for me, to be certain one way or another from those pictures.
Not sure what the exchange rate is, but that price seems to indicate something is amiss, though.

Be sure to do a search here.  There are several threads on this, some very detailed in the differences.

Edited by Crab Daddy, 29 April 2012 - 10:17 PM.

View Sig

#3 golfnut5438

golfnut5438
  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 1,180 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 39280
  • Joined: 09/13/2007
  • Location:California
  • Ebay ID:golfnut5438

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:36 PM

From the pics they appear legit, but sometimes sellers picture legit grips and send fakes.  Not saying this would happen in this case, but you really can't tell much until they are in hand, except for appearance.  Unfortunately I had to learn the hard way like so many others.  Good luck!
View Sig

#4 RJRJRJ

RJRJRJ
  • Advanced Members
  • 3,041 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 106301
  • Joined: 04/14/2010
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted 30 April 2012 - 02:56 AM

View PostCrab Daddy, on 29 April 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

From what can be seen, they appear to be legit.  One of the easiest ways to tell real from fake, so far, has been the label.  The label on the real grips will  read "Multicompound Std" on one line, color on the next line, model number (MCC-xxx-xxx-xxx) on the next, and the last line is "Made in Taiwan".  The fakes do not have "Made in Taiwan" and sometimes do not list the color.
This has been the case with every example I have seen on here. That does not mean there are no counterfeits out there that have copied GP's label.
As far as the other tell-tale signs, it's kind of hard, at least for me, to be certain one way or another from those pictures.
Not sure what the exchange rate is, but that price seems to indicate something is amiss, though.

Be sure to do a search here.  There are several threads on this, some very detailed in the differences.

Doesnt seem too bad to me.  34 GBP = $70.  $70/9 grips = $7.78 each.
View Sig




GolfWRX Sponsors