Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Med School or Golf Career

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 Handbanana

Handbanana

Rookie

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 128567
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 09 March 2012 - 03:59 AM

I love golf...it influences my sleep and has since I started playing at age 14.  Now I am a veteran and pre-med about to graduate and rack up major students loans...if I get in to med school.  The only thing holding me back is my mediocre gpa (3.4) and my lack of having professional relationships with doctors to provide letters of rec!  My question is this...I love golf, but would really enjoy a job where I can help people and feel like I am making a difference...the only thing is if my job is not golf related, then I need major stress and adrenaline to keep my ADD head in the game.  I left the military because I got bored with playing with explosives all day.  If I am a scratch golfer who plays better than most of the club pros I play with, what are the chances that I make a decent amount of money in a golf career considering I have a degree in Bio-Chemistry and am also a combat vet from both Iraqi and Enduring freedom?  What dream would you follow...golf seems more tangible because I have friends in the career, but I don't know any doctors...only other pre-meds who I cannot relate to because Im married, a parent, and do not know any doctors personally....most pre-meds that I know have either parents or something that are doctors.

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

GolfWRX Forums

Advertisement