Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Switching from interlock to overlap grip

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 MC21

MC21

• Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 163555
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 20 February 2012 - 06:19 PM

I've recently started playing golf again after a 4 year layoff. I had only used the overlap grip when I was younger and playing junior and tournament golf, but when I started playing again this past month I decided to give the interlocking grip a try. My grip was terrible though and fundamentally incorrect, and I believe that is why the interlock felt best. I have corrected my fundamentals now, or so I think, but I have switched from the interlock back to the overlapping grip that I grew up with.

My issue has been that my right pinky often slides out of the overlap on the follow through, and my right hand is barely holding onto the club at finish and has slid down the grip. I also do not feel as sound at the top of my back swing. I've attached some pictures of my current grip, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

One of the issues I'm trying to work on is not squeezing the life out of the club during my swing because I really struggle to release the club when doing this, but I do not think that this is the cause. My grip pressure is probably a 4 on a scale of 1-10. I still am able to strike the ball well even when my grip slides during follow through, but I know that this is not supposed to happen and isn't an issue I ever ran into when playing juniors. Thanks for any help.