Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Tiger- why did he get a drop from embedded ball from the rough?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Jaliveto

Jaliveto

    ssjj

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 10312
  • Joined: 01/22/2006
  • Location:charlotte, nc
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 13 August 2010 - 07:46 PM

PGA championship

Tiger got a drop in his second round for a ball embedded in  the rough of a bunker face.  Why?

Rule  states:

25-2. Embedded Ball
A ball embedded in its own pitch-mark in the ground in any closely mown area through the green may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole. The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the coursethrough the green. "Closely mown area" means any area of the course, including paths through the rough, cut to fairway height or less.


It was not cut to fairway height or less?


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

#2 larrybud

larrybud

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,244 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 21167
  • Joined: 10/31/2006
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI
  • Handicap:3.5
GolfWRX Likes : 1184

Posted 13 August 2010 - 07:54 PM

Did you have mute on?  They said the embedded ball was "through the green" today.

#3 dplasters

dplasters

    How little they know about what they imagine they can design

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 520 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 101355
  • Joined: 01/04/2010
  • Location:Where all the children are above average, Fairfax VA
GolfWRX Likes : 75

Posted 13 August 2010 - 07:56 PM

View Postlarrybud, on 13 August 2010 - 07:54 PM, said:

Did you have mute on?  They said the embedded ball was "through the green" today.

he is pointing out that the rule doesn't state just 'through the green' it states 'closely mown area, through the green'.  Tiger was certainly not in a closely mown area.

#4 ZBigStick

ZBigStick

    2 Under

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 13111
  • Joined: 03/06/2006
  • Location:MCO
GolfWRX Likes : 257

Posted 13 August 2010 - 07:57 PM

It could be a local rule enacted for the tournament.  Rainy conditions often necessitate the relief of all embedded balls "through the green".

Jim Nance read the rule and the only exception to NOT receive relief from an embedded ball was for sandy terrain, not soil mixed with sand.

I see no problem, but can't find a written rule.

Rules Officials reply.
Callaway FT Tour 10.5 X-Con 5
                Callaway X2-Hot Pro 15 Diamana Blue 83
                Callaway X2-Hot Pro 20hy Kuro Kage 80
                Callaway X-Proto 23, Apex Pro 5-A PXi
                Callaway MD2 54T, MD2 58T PX
                Odyssey White Hot Pro #7

#5 kevcarter

kevcarter

    Legend

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 11,424 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 3616
  • Joined: 07/28/2005
  • Location:Rice Lake, Wisconsin USA
GolfWRX Likes : 1951

Posted 13 August 2010 - 08:05 PM

The specimen local rule is ALWAYS in effect at many courses in the wet north land where the golf committee's are paying attention. I believe the PGA always uses this local rule for its championship.

Quote

Appendix 1 4a. Relief for Embedded Ball

Rule 25-2 provides relief, without penalty, for a ball embedded in its own pitch-mark in any closely mown area through the green. On the putting green, a ball may be lifted and damage caused by the impact of a ball may be repaired (Rules 16-1b and c). When permission to take relief for an embedded ball anywhere through the green would be warranted, the following Local Rule is recommended:
"Through the green, a ball that is embedded in its own pitch-mark in the ground may be lifted, without penalty, cleaned and dropped as near as possible to where it lay but not nearer the hole. The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the coursethrough the green.
Exceptions:

1. A player may not take relief under this Local Rule if the ball is embedded in sand in an area that is not closely mown.

2. A player may not take relief under this Local Rule if it is clearly unreasonable for him to make a stroke because of interference by anything other than the condition covered by this Local Rule.

I could be wrong
I have been wrong before
I will be wrong again
=============================
Geometrically Oriented Linear Force
Turtleback Golf & Conference Center

#6 dplasters

dplasters

    How little they know about what they imagine they can design

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 520 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 101355
  • Joined: 01/04/2010
  • Location:Where all the children are above average, Fairfax VA
GolfWRX Likes : 75

Posted 13 August 2010 - 08:07 PM

View Postkevcarter, on 13 August 2010 - 08:05 PM, said:

The specimen local rule is ALWAYS in effect at many courses in the wet north land where the golf committee's are paying attention. I believe the PGA always uses this local rule for its championship.

Quote

Appendix 1 4a. Relief for Embedded Ball

Rule 25-2 provides relief, without penalty, for a ball embedded in its own pitch-mark in any closely mown area through the green. On the putting green, a ball may be lifted and damage caused by the impact of a ball may be repaired (Rules 16-1b and c). When permission to take relief for an embedded ball anywhere through the green would be warranted, the following Local Rule is recommended:
"Through the green, a ball that is embedded in its own pitch-mark in the ground may be lifted, without penalty, cleaned and dropped as near as possible to where it lay but not nearer the hole. The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the coursethrough the green.
Exceptions:

1. A player may not take relief under this Local Rule if the ball is embedded in sand in an area that is not closely mown.

2. A player may not take relief under this Local Rule if it is clearly unreasonable for him to make a stroke because of interference by anything other than the condition covered by this Local Rule.

thank you.

#7 ZBigStick

ZBigStick

    2 Under

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 13111
  • Joined: 03/06/2006
  • Location:MCO
GolfWRX Likes : 257

Posted 13 August 2010 - 08:21 PM

Thank you KevCarter.  I wondered if you were lurking. :)

I find it frustrating that I had heard of that Local Ruling at a club I belonged to in Atlanta, but struggled to find it in the Rules and Decisions.  This is the kind of thing that makes golf rules so complicated and restrictive to new and experienced golfers to fully grasp and understand the rules of this wonderful game.  Even with the internet it is complicated.  The good ole USGA.  Keeping the game as complicated and mysterious as ever. :swoon2:  

As the OP noted the most often retained factoid of this rule is the mention of "closely mowed" conditioned, but as quoted by KevCarter, many Golf Committees enact a local rule.  How many golfers know that? :fool:

Knowledge is Power.  Power to the People.  :bb:
Callaway FT Tour 10.5 X-Con 5
                Callaway X2-Hot Pro 15 Diamana Blue 83
                Callaway X2-Hot Pro 20hy Kuro Kage 80
                Callaway X-Proto 23, Apex Pro 5-A PXi
                Callaway MD2 54T, MD2 58T PX
                Odyssey White Hot Pro #7

#8 kevcarter

kevcarter

    Legend

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 11,424 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 3616
  • Joined: 07/28/2005
  • Location:Rice Lake, Wisconsin USA
GolfWRX Likes : 1951

Posted 13 August 2010 - 08:24 PM

View PostZBigStick, on 13 August 2010 - 08:21 PM, said:

Thank you KevCarter.  I wondered if you were lurking. :)

I find it frustrating that I had heard of that Local Ruling at a club I belonged to in Atlanta, but struggled to find it in the Rules and Decisions.  This is the kind of thing that makes golf rules so complicated and restrictive to new and experienced golfers to fully grasp and understand the rules of this wonderful game.  Even with the internet it is complicated.  The good ole USGA.  Keeping the game as complicated and mysterious as ever. :swoon2:  

As the OP noted the most often retained factoid of this rule is the mention of "closely mowed" conditioned, but as quoted by KevCarter, many Golf Committees enact a local rule.  How many golfers know that? :fool:

Knowledge is Power.  Power to the People.  :bb:

LOL

If the rules weren't complex, what would nerds like me have to do with our spare time, and what would I do to feel important?

:cheesy:

Kevin
I could be wrong
I have been wrong before
I will be wrong again
=============================
Geometrically Oriented Linear Force
Turtleback Golf & Conference Center

#9 Newby

Newby

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,084 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 559

Posted 14 August 2010 - 04:42 AM

The 'Embedded Ball Through the Green' Local Rule is on the PGA 'Hard Card'.

It is in force for all PGA events.

Edited by Newby, 14 August 2010 - 04:43 AM.


#10 rafal

rafal

    Irons are from PING, Woods are from Taylormade

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,115 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 95401
  • Joined: 09/28/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 1402

Posted 14 August 2010 - 06:28 AM

There was never any doubt that he will get relief from this particular situation.  Nor is there any doubt that he will continue to receive relief as long as he plays.

Was there seriously any person who thought they will not let him clean and place that? :cheesy:

SLDR 12* Matrix Ozik HD6
AeroBurner 5W Grafalloy Blue 75
<- spot to be filled ->
PING G25 4-SW ProjectX 5.5
PING Glide 58* WS
TM DLL 36"

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

Remove This Advertisement GolfWRX

GolfWRX

    Team Golfwrx

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Viewing GolfWRX as Guest


Hi there. Wondering why this box is in your way from continuing to read down this awesome thread? Just join for free and you will never see it again.




#11 Sawgrass

Sawgrass

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,021 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83736
  • Joined: 05/24/2009
  • Location:Stamford, Connecticut
GolfWRX Likes : 2594

Posted 14 August 2010 - 08:04 AM

View Postrafal, on 14 August 2010 - 06:28 AM, said:

There was never any doubt that he will get relief from this particular situation.  Nor is there any doubt that he will continue to receive relief as long as he plays.

Was there seriously any person who thought they will not let him clean and place that? :cheesy:


You just learn that this free relief option exists at all PGA events, and your conclusion is that Tiger has received favorable treatment?  Hmmm . . .

#12 SNIPERBBB

SNIPERBBB

    Hit Ball Hard

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 79142
  • Joined: 04/04/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 14 August 2010 - 09:39 PM

Rules in almost all sports are complex. If not there would not be a such a thing as "sports official shortage" for high school,summer, and recreational sports programs.

Edited by SNIPERBBB, 14 August 2010 - 09:39 PM.


#13 Newby

Newby

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,084 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 559

Posted 15 August 2010 - 02:46 AM

View PostSNIPERBBB, on 14 August 2010 - 09:39 PM, said:

Rules in almost all sports are complex. If not there would not be a such a thing as "sports official shortage" for high school,summer, and recreational sports programs.


Maybe but what is the relevance here?

#14 TheShaun

TheShaun

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 477 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 96319
  • Joined: 10/11/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 11

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:03 AM

What is meant by "through the green"?

#15 ZBigStick

ZBigStick

    2 Under

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 13111
  • Joined: 03/06/2006
  • Location:MCO
GolfWRX Likes : 257

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:08 AM

View PostTheShaun, on 16 August 2010 - 12:03 AM, said:

What is meant by "through the green"?
Everything but hazards and the putting green.

Callaway FT Tour 10.5 X-Con 5
                Callaway X2-Hot Pro 15 Diamana Blue 83
                Callaway X2-Hot Pro 20hy Kuro Kage 80
                Callaway X-Proto 23, Apex Pro 5-A PXi
                Callaway MD2 54T, MD2 58T PX
                Odyssey White Hot Pro #7

#16 Sawgrass

Sawgrass

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,021 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83736
  • Joined: 05/24/2009
  • Location:Stamford, Connecticut
GolfWRX Likes : 2594

Posted 16 August 2010 - 08:57 AM

View PostZBigStick, on 16 August 2010 - 12:08 AM, said:

View PostTheShaun, on 16 August 2010 - 12:03 AM, said:

What is meant by "through the green"?
Everything but hazards and the putting green.

The teeing ground is the third and last part of that which is not "through the green."

#17 puttingmatt

puttingmatt

    puttingmatt

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,549 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 50753
  • Joined: 03/05/2008
  • Location:Summer/ Michigan-- Winter/ Florida
  • Ebay ID:puttingmatt
GolfWRX Likes : 377

Posted 16 August 2010 - 09:24 AM

It's Tiger !!!  Are you kidding, LOL's !!!!   Who gets
the fans to  move a loose impediment the size of a volvo
years ago ?  Tiger !!! LOL's !!!!  Keep in mind,
The rules work both ways, and yes, sometimes
rules assist  your game, not just penelize !!!!
Mizuno JPX 850  Driver Motore 6.3 T
  Mizuno JPX 850 3 Wood Motore 6.3 TS
TEE  E8 19* & 24*  Hybrids
Mizuno MP4 Nippon 950 NS
  Odyssey Metal X Milled Versa 9 HT Putter
Vokey SM5 50*,56*,& 60*degree Wedge

#18 Newby

Newby

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,084 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 559

Posted 16 August 2010 - 01:29 PM

View PostSawgrass, on 16 August 2010 - 08:57 AM, said:

View PostZBigStick, on 16 August 2010 - 12:08 AM, said:

View PostTheShaun, on 16 August 2010 - 12:03 AM, said:

What is meant by "through the green"?
Everything but hazards and the putting green.

The teeing ground is the third and last part of that which is not "through the green."

The teeing ground and putting green of the hole being played

#19 Augster

Augster

    Mr. Fairway

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,796 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 30291
  • Joined: 05/31/2007
  • Location:MPLS, MN
GolfWRX Likes : 414

Posted 16 August 2010 - 11:02 PM

View PostNewby, on 14 August 2010 - 04:42 AM, said:

The 'Embedded Ball Through the Green' Local Rule is on the PGA 'Hard Card'.

It is in force for all PGA events.

It is ALSO in effect for all USGA events.  AND the USGA suggests that all local clubs should adopt this "local rule".

I wrote the USGA about this once because Sergio had a similar incedent.  They wrote back that the only reason it isn't changed in the Rules is that the R&A wants to keep the embedded ball in the rough penal.  

No idea why.  

Since I received that response, I now play all my embedded balls as free drops "through the green" when playing recreationally.  If it's good enough for the pros....


TO the OP...

That ball was not embedded in a bunker face.  It was in the rough that is almost surrounded by a bunker.

Edited by Augster, 16 August 2010 - 11:05 PM.


#20 Newby

Newby

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,084 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 559

Posted 17 August 2010 - 02:35 AM

View PostAugster, on 16 August 2010 - 11:02 PM, said:

I wrote the USGA about this once because Sergio had a similar incedent.  They wrote back that the only reason it isn't changed in the Rules is that the R&A wants to keep the embedded ball in the rough penal.  

No idea why.  


The R&A wanted the decision to be made when conditions are appropriate. Which it is why it is a Local Rule.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

Remove This Advertisement GolfWRX

GolfWRX

    Team Golfwrx

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Viewing GolfWRX as Guest


Hi there. Wondering why this box is in your way from continuing to read down this awesome thread? Just join for free and you will never see it again.







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors