Welcome, Guest. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with existing members and access to certain forums. Join our community today and enter into a chance to win a free regular giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Playing from white tees vs. Blues

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Stylers

Stylers

Rookie

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 73666
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 09 June 2010 - 07:06 PM

I have been golfing seriously for about 3 years. I regularly play with a group of 6-8 individuals each Sunday morning at various courses in our area. The group consists of about 3-4 older people, 65+ and 3-4 people in their early 50's including myself. The older golfers, one is even in his late 70's, refuse to play from the blues, due to their inability to exceed 200yds on their drives. When I play with a couple of other friends, separate from this group, and ranging in age from 40-56, we play from the blues which exceed 6100yds+, sometimes 6500 or more depending on the course. The whites never exceed 5900 yds. My handicap from the whites, or senior tees as I have heard them being called, is 12.8. From the blues, it is 14.8. I recently played a PGA course in Florida from the whites and never used my 3 or 4 hybrid and shot 76. Just used driver on a few holes, then irons, 5i once and remainder 6-LW. I am not a long hitter in the least, at 50 I can hit a solid drive 250 occasionally, however am usually in the 220 - 240 range, not counting terrible shots of course.