
As some of you may know, I have a semi-longstanding interest in websites that offer deals on golf equipment that are too good to be true. Some of my personal favorites are
"golfinstock.com"
"ebayoyo.com"
"overstockseller.com"
"maxdiscountgolf.com"
"wowogolf.com"
Note Recent Additions (6-10-09)
"askforgolf.com"http://www.easybuygolf.com/Ping-G15-Irons-Set_199.html
"dhgate.com" (This one seems particularly interesting. Sort of a Wal-mart for "interesting" merchandise)
More additions (8-27-09)
"easybuygolf.com"
These sites are very closely related. Read the FAQ sections of each and you can see that they are written by the same person(s). Read through the text on each of these sites, and you will note very, very awkward phrasing, misspellings, and other markers that indicate that the text was written my someone who is not a native English speaker.
It seems that these wonderful business people have discovered GolfWRX. I have seen recent posts that indicate to me that there is a more or less concerted attempt by person or persons unknown (very Jack Webbish, don't you think) to get the names of these sites out to the WRX community in some legitimatizing form. You can make of them what you will. I know how I would take them - with a level of righteous indignation that I usually reserve for spiders, gophers, and other noxious varmits.
Please help in this effort. If you know of other sites that sell or promote golf equipment of dubious heritage, let your fellow WRXers know who they are. I will try to keep this list updated, with your help. Please help keep this business model in the perspective it deserves.
"golfinstock.com"
"ebayoyo.com"
"overstockseller.com"
"maxdiscountgolf.com"
"wowogolf.com"
Note Recent Additions (6-10-09)
"askforgolf.com"http://www.easybuygolf.com/Ping-G15-Irons-Set_199.html
"dhgate.com" (This one seems particularly interesting. Sort of a Wal-mart for "interesting" merchandise)
More additions (8-27-09)
"easybuygolf.com"
These sites are very closely related. Read the FAQ sections of each and you can see that they are written by the same person(s). Read through the text on each of these sites, and you will note very, very awkward phrasing, misspellings, and other markers that indicate that the text was written my someone who is not a native English speaker.
It seems that these wonderful business people have discovered GolfWRX. I have seen recent posts that indicate to me that there is a more or less concerted attempt by person or persons unknown (very Jack Webbish, don't you think) to get the names of these sites out to the WRX community in some legitimatizing form. You can make of them what you will. I know how I would take them - with a level of righteous indignation that I usually reserve for spiders, gophers, and other noxious varmits.
Please help in this effort. If you know of other sites that sell or promote golf equipment of dubious heritage, let your fellow WRXers know who they are. I will try to keep this list updated, with your help. Please help keep this business model in the perspective it deserves.
Edited by smith5606, 06 November 2009 - 09:39 AM.













