Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Flawed Question


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Colin L

Colin L

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,926 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 195200
  • Joined: 07/28/2012
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Handicap:16.5
GolfWRX Likes : 962

Posted 11 February 2019 - 02:52 PM

This genuinely came up in my homework, Mr Bean, and so no ticking off, thanks.  

Here's #41 in Lew Blakey's 500 Question Quiz:

If a player decides his or her ball in a bunker is unplayable, there are two options that require the ball to be dropped in the bunker and only one option that allows relief outside the bunker.
FALSE

As it stands, the answer could be either True or False.  What further bit of information is needed in order to determine which is the correct answer?

Edited by Colin L, 11 February 2019 - 02:53 PM.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#2 sui generis

sui generis

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,687 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 132389
  • Joined: 07/05/2011
  • Location:Asheville
GolfWRX Likes : 2515

Posted 11 February 2019 - 02:56 PM

 Colin L, on 11 February 2019 - 02:52 PM, said:

This genuinely came up in my homework, Mr Bean, and so no ticking off, thanks.  

Here's #41 in Lew Blakey's 500 Question Quiz:

If a player decides his or her ball in a bunker is unplayable, there are two options that require the ball to be dropped in the bunker and only one option that allows relief outside the bunker.
FALSE

As it stands, the answer could be either True or False.  What further bit of information is needed in order to determine which is the correct answer?

I'll bite. Aren't there two options for relief outside the bunker?
Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.

2

#3 SkiSchoolPro

SkiSchoolPro

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 615 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 469938
  • Joined: 06/01/2017
  • Location:Colorado
  • Handicap:4
GolfWRX Likes : 302

Posted 11 February 2019 - 02:59 PM

Whether the previous shot was from the bunker or not.
Golfing when I can.

3

#4 sui generis

sui generis

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,687 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 132389
  • Joined: 07/05/2011
  • Location:Asheville
GolfWRX Likes : 2515

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:03 PM

 SkiSchoolPro, on 11 February 2019 - 02:59 PM, said:

Whether the previous shot was from the bunker or not.

Ah, you're on to something there. :)
Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.

4

#5 Newby

Newby

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,362 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 1736

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:12 PM

I'll rephrase my original post.

The question refers to 'require' and 'allow'


5

#6 Colin L

Colin L

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,926 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 195200
  • Joined: 07/28/2012
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Handicap:16.5
GolfWRX Likes : 962

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:29 PM

 SkiSchoolPro, on 11 February 2019 - 02:59 PM, said:

Whether the previous shot was from the bunker or not.

That's what I was thinking of.  If the previous shot was played from outside the bunker, there are two options which allow the ball to be played outside the bunker: back on the line and stroke and distance.  If the previous shot was played from the bunker, there is only one option outside the bunker  -  back on the line but after posting, I realised that means there are three options requiring you to drop in the bunker and so that seems to make the answer false anyway.  But finally, I'm not sure in terms of the wording that that does make the answer false since if there are three options requiring your ball to be dropped in the bunker, it is true to say that there are two such options.

In the end it's a bit messy as is the state of my brain.  Questions like this are a test of verbal detective work and little to do with the ability to go up to a situation on the course and give a player his options or sort out what he has done.  Irritating. :angry22:

6

#7 Mr. Bean

Mr. Bean

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,589 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 146095
  • Joined: 11/09/2011
  • Handicap:3,8
GolfWRX Likes : 1170

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:35 PM

 Colin L, on 11 February 2019 - 03:29 PM, said:

 SkiSchoolPro, on 11 February 2019 - 02:59 PM, said:

Whether the previous shot was from the bunker or not.

That's what I was thinking of.  If the previous shot was played from outside the bunker, there are two options which allow the ball to be played outside the bunker: back on the line and stroke and distance.  If the previous shot was played from the bunker, there is only one option outside the bunker  -  back on the line but after posting, I realised that means there are three options requiring you to drop in the bunker and so that seems to make the answer false anyway.  But finally, I'm not sure in terms of the wording that that does make the answer false since if there are three options requiring your ball to be dropped in the bunker, it is true to say that there are two such options.

In the end it's a bit messy as is the state of my brain.  Questions like this are a test of verbal detective work and little to do with the ability to go up to a situation on the course and give a player his options or sort out what he has done.  Irritating. :angry22:

Agree. IMO questions like this do not teach you anything.

7

#8 Sawgrass

Sawgrass

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,530 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83736
  • Joined: 05/24/2009
  • Location:Stamford, Connecticut
GolfWRX Likes : 6612

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:43 PM

 Mr. Bean, on 11 February 2019 - 03:35 PM, said:

 Colin L, on 11 February 2019 - 03:29 PM, said:

 SkiSchoolPro, on 11 February 2019 - 02:59 PM, said:

Whether the previous shot was from the bunker or not.

That's what I was thinking of.  If the previous shot was played from outside the bunker, there are two options which allow the ball to be played outside the bunker: back on the line and stroke and distance.  If the previous shot was played from the bunker, there is only one option outside the bunker  -  back on the line but after posting, I realised that means there are three options requiring you to drop in the bunker and so that seems to make the answer false anyway.  But finally, I'm not sure in terms of the wording that that does make the answer false since if there are three options requiring your ball to be dropped in the bunker, it is true to say that there are two such options.

In the end it's a bit messy as is the state of my brain.  Questions like this are a test of verbal detective work and little to do with the ability to go up to a situation on the course and give a player his options or sort out what he has done.  Irritating. :angry22:

Agree. IMO questions like this do not teach you anything.
I certainly agree with you in spirit.  But I'm amused to note that questions are more often created to test you than to teach you.  (Though this one seems to have shot itself in the foot either way.)

8

#9 davep043

davep043

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,656 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 489076
  • Joined: 12/20/2017
  • Location:Reston, VA, and Southern Pines, NC
  • Handicap:3.8
GolfWRX Likes : 2427

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:49 PM

I guess this shows that developing a test about the Rules of Golf is a little like writing the Rules of Golf themselves.  Its extremely difficult to consider every possible permutation, those often become evident only after you put it into action.

9

#10 Sawgrass

Sawgrass

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,530 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83736
  • Joined: 05/24/2009
  • Location:Stamford, Connecticut
GolfWRX Likes : 6612

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:53 PM

 davep043, on 11 February 2019 - 03:49 PM, said:

I guess this shows that developing a test about the Rules of Golf is a little like writing the Rules of Golf themselves.  Its extremely difficult to consider every possible permutation, those often become evident only after you put it into action.
I wrote a line, then my caddie stood behind an extension of my thought while I was trying to take a stance on the issue.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#11 sui generis

sui generis

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,687 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 132389
  • Joined: 07/05/2011
  • Location:Asheville
GolfWRX Likes : 2515

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:54 PM

 Sawgrass, on 11 February 2019 - 03:53 PM, said:

 davep043, on 11 February 2019 - 03:49 PM, said:

I guess this shows that developing a test about the Rules of Golf is a little like writing the Rules of Golf themselves.  Its extremely difficult to consider every possible permutation, those often become evident only after you put it into action.
I wrote a line, then my caddie stood behind an extension of my thought while I was trying to take a stance on the issue.

Deliberately? ;)
Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.

11

#12 SNIPERBBB

SNIPERBBB

    Hit Ball Hard

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,995 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 79142
  • Joined: 04/04/2009
  • Location:SE Ohio
  • Handicap:6
GolfWRX Likes : 597

Posted 11 February 2019 - 03:55 PM

They must have people on the NFHS test committee working for the USGA.
2016 M1 9.5 tuned to 7.5
TM r15 3 wood
Adams Idea Pro 2h/4h
Mizuno JPX 900 HM 5-GW
Vokey SM7 48* F Grind
Vokey SM7 54* F Grind
Vokey SM7 58* M Grind

12

#13 HitEmTrue

HitEmTrue

    @HitEmTrue1

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,018 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93756
  • Joined: 09/04/2009
  • Location:North Texas
GolfWRX Likes : 1809

Posted 11 February 2019 - 05:10 PM

 SNIPERBBB, on 11 February 2019 - 03:55 PM, said:

They must have people on the NFHS test committee working for the USGA.

USGA does get blamed for a lot of stuff they didnít do....


13

#14 Sawgrass

Sawgrass

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,530 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83736
  • Joined: 05/24/2009
  • Location:Stamford, Connecticut
GolfWRX Likes : 6612

Posted 11 February 2019 - 05:27 PM

 HitEmTrue, on 11 February 2019 - 05:10 PM, said:

 SNIPERBBB, on 11 February 2019 - 03:55 PM, said:

They must have people on the NFHS test committee working for the USGA.

USGA does get blamed for a lot of stuff they didn't do....
I blame them for my crappy swing.

14



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors