Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Caddie Penalty


44 replies to this topic

#31 leezer99

leezer99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 94152
  • Joined: 09/10/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 1324

Posted 01 February 2019 - 11:25 PM

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 10:49 PM, said:

Denny McCarthy....look it up....sickening!  I look forward to this getting changed along with the Tour Championship format!

Stance to practice swing is apparently stance to shot.
I call it, "on the job training".


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#32 BertGA

BertGA

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 500442
  • Joined: 04/29/2018
  • Location:Georgia
GolfWRX Likes : 314

Posted 02 February 2019 - 06:38 AM

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 10:49 PM, said:

Denny McCarthy....look it up....sickening!  I look forward to this getting changed along with the Tour Championship format!

Stance to practice swing is apparently stance to shot.

Yeah, saw that after I posted. BS. Iím on the fence on Haotong, but Denny was someone being a little too eager.

Iím pretty sure the inevitable conclusion to all this is instant replay.

Edited by BertGA, 02 February 2019 - 06:41 AM.


2

#33 darter79

darter79

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 66967
  • Joined: 10/03/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 479

Posted 02 February 2019 - 09:10 AM

https://www.golfchan...gnment-rule-now

3

#34 darter79

darter79

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 66967
  • Joined: 10/03/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 479

Posted 02 February 2019 - 09:14 AM

View Postleezer99, on 01 February 2019 - 11:25 PM, said:

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 10:49 PM, said:

Denny McCarthy....look it up....sickening!  I look forward to this getting changed along with the Tour Championship format!

Stance to practice swing is apparently stance to shot.
I call it, "on the job training".

the rule in general is great where caddies can't line up players but how its written is stupid.

4

#35 davep043

davep043

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,589 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 489076
  • Joined: 12/20/2017
  • Location:Reston, VA, and Southern Pines, NC
  • Handicap:3.8
GolfWRX Likes : 2336

Posted 02 February 2019 - 10:37 AM

View Postsui generis, on 01 February 2019 - 09:45 PM, said:

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 08:46 PM, said:

https://mobile.twitt...478669892218880

Davep043–this should be penalty too?

Dave will tell you the same thing. What does the Rule say?

On the Rickie one, I'd like to see a longer clip, but it does seem that the caddie may not have been intentionally standing on the line.  That's an important part of the rule, the caddie has to be deliberately standing on or near the line.  A longer video might change my perception of that, but I can accept the decision not to penalize him.

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 10:49 PM, said:

Denny McCarthy....look it up....sickening!  I look forward to this getting changed along with the Tour Championship format!

Stance to practice swing is apparently stance to shot.

In the McCarthy one, the caddie is clearly intentionally standing exactly on the line while McCarthy makes several practice swings, and then moves before the player begins to take his actual stance at the ball itself.  So the question becomes an evaluation of whether McCarthy  "has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given" in which case "it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance."  Those quotes are from the Interpretations of the Rules, its important to read those before commenting on the decision, and on the rule itself. I'd say this qualifies, his feet are parallel to and only a couple of inches from where he'll actually take his stance, so that penalty is appropriate based on the rules as written.
I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Edited by davep043, 02 February 2019 - 10:38 AM.


5

#36 jj9000

jj9000

    Major Winner

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 2,361 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 99079
  • Joined: 11/23/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 2611

Posted 02 February 2019 - 11:15 AM

I'll say this a succinctly as possible.

The rule as it's written is stupid.



Add this rule to the ongoing stupid rules list brought on by the USGA.


Belly putters are just fine for a half century...uh oh...Keegan won our Major using a belly putter.  Hurry...let's change the rules despite evidence that the putters provide no advantage.

Why?  Because tradition and stuff.

Oh yeah...while we're at it...let's trick up another Major...burn the greens...and make sure everyone hates the course...to prove a point.

Why?  Because tradition and stuff.



6

#37 darter79

darter79

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 66967
  • Joined: 10/03/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 479

Posted 02 February 2019 - 12:00 PM

View Postdavep043, on 02 February 2019 - 10:37 AM, said:

View Postsui generis, on 01 February 2019 - 09:45 PM, said:

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 08:46 PM, said:

https://mobile.twitt...478669892218880

Davep043–this should be penalty too?

Dave will tell you the same thing. What does the Rule say?

On the Rickie one, I'd like to see a longer clip, but it does seem that the caddie may not have been intentionally standing on the line.  That's an important part of the rule, the caddie has to be deliberately standing on or near the line.  A longer video might change my perception of that, but I can accept the decision not to penalize him.

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 10:49 PM, said:

Denny McCarthy....look it up....sickening!  I look forward to this getting changed along with the Tour Championship format!

Stance to practice swing is apparently stance to shot.

In the McCarthy one, the caddie is clearly intentionally standing exactly on the line while McCarthy makes several practice swings, and then moves before the player begins to take his actual stance at the ball itself.  So the question becomes an evaluation of whether McCarthy  "has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given" in which case "it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance."  Those quotes are from the Interpretations of the Rules, its important to read those before commenting on the decision, and on the rule itself. I'd say this qualifies, his feet are parallel to and only a couple of inches from where he'll actually take his stance, so that penalty is appropriate based on the rules as written.
I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Intention has nothing to do with it just a badly written rule.

7

#38 heavy_hitter

heavy_hitter

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,864 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 366715
  • Joined: 03/16/2015
GolfWRX Likes : 2557

Posted 02 February 2019 - 05:07 PM

I agree with the spirit of the rule.  The USGA screws up anything they touch anymore.

8

#39 davep043

davep043

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,589 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 489076
  • Joined: 12/20/2017
  • Location:Reston, VA, and Southern Pines, NC
  • Handicap:3.8
GolfWRX Likes : 2336

Posted 02 February 2019 - 06:08 PM

View Postdarter79, on 02 February 2019 - 12:00 PM, said:

View Postdavep043, on 02 February 2019 - 10:37 AM, said:

View Postsui generis, on 01 February 2019 - 09:45 PM, said:

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 08:46 PM, said:

https://mobile.twitt...478669892218880

Davep043–this should be penalty too?

Dave will tell you the same thing. What does the Rule say?

On the Rickie one, I'd like to see a longer clip, but it does seem that the caddie may not have been intentionally standing on the line.  That's an important part of the rule, the caddie has to be deliberately standing on or near the line.  A longer video might change my perception of that, but I can accept the decision not to penalize him.

View PostDaddyCaddieIU, on 01 February 2019 - 10:49 PM, said:

Denny McCarthy....look it up....sickening!  I look forward to this getting changed along with the Tour Championship format!

Stance to practice swing is apparently stance to shot.

In the McCarthy one, the caddie is clearly intentionally standing exactly on the line while McCarthy makes several practice swings, and then moves before the player begins to take his actual stance at the ball itself.  So the question becomes an evaluation of whether McCarthy  "has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given" in which case "it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance."  Those quotes are from the Interpretations of the Rules, its important to read those before commenting on the decision, and on the rule itself. I'd say this qualifies, his feet are parallel to and only a couple of inches from where he'll actually take his stance, so that penalty is appropriate based on the rules as written.
I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Intention has nothing to do with it just a badly written rule.

Intention has something to do with it, in two ways.  First is that the caddie has to "deliberately" stand in that position.  The caddie has to intentionally be standing on or near the the line when the player begins to take his stance.  Once the caddie has deliberately taken that position, he is REQUIRED to move away before the player STARTS to take his stance.

Intention is important in another sense, that of the Ruling Bodies watching how things play out, making sure that the rules have their intended effect.  You can look here:
http://www.usga.org/...-player-up.html
to understand the stated intention of the rule change.  If its not working out as desired, or if there are unanticipated and undesirable consequences, they can and should clarify or alter the rule.  That's what I believe is happening now, with the Slugger White interview and other releases by the USGA.

9

#40 heavy_hitter

heavy_hitter

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,864 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 366715
  • Joined: 03/16/2015
GolfWRX Likes : 2557

Posted 02 February 2019 - 06:16 PM

They rescinded the penalty for McCarthy.  I hope the Tour tells the USGA to go to hell.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#41 BertGA

BertGA

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 500442
  • Joined: 04/29/2018
  • Location:Georgia
GolfWRX Likes : 314

Posted 02 February 2019 - 06:18 PM

Looks like the PGA consulted with USGA, retracted the penalty on McCarthy.

11

#42 davep043

davep043

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,589 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 489076
  • Joined: 12/20/2017
  • Location:Reston, VA, and Southern Pines, NC
  • Handicap:3.8
GolfWRX Likes : 2336

Posted 02 February 2019 - 06:20 PM

View Postheavy_hitter, on 02 February 2019 - 06:16 PM, said:

They rescinded the penalty for McCarthy.  I hope the Tour tells the USGA to go to hell.
that won't happen, they wouldnt do any better writing their own rules, and they'd actually have to accept responsibility when they have the inevitable problems.

12

#43 bulls9999

bulls9999

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 73827
  • Joined: 01/26/2009
  • Location:GHIN Index = 13.8
GolfWRX Likes : 78

Posted 06 February 2019 - 03:57 PM

OK, so the R&A/USGA now 'fixed the caddie alignment' thing by saying if the player backs off and resets, then it's no longer a 'caddie alignment problem'.  No, my 2-cents.  I can see on a green..... there is an 'invisible line' for the line of the ball to take and you can follow from the putter head, visually, to see if there is alignment on/near the line of the putt.

But....from the rough/fairway, some 100+ yards away, are you kidding me?  alignment of shot will depend on how the player swings the club, a little from the inside, a little over the top and the ball takes a completely different path.  Can you really expect help from someone aligning your stance on a distant iron shot?....(unless the person is that far off and aiming 45-degrees off to one side?....these are PGA pro's).
GHIN Index 13.8

13

#44 davep043

davep043

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,589 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 489076
  • Joined: 12/20/2017
  • Location:Reston, VA, and Southern Pines, NC
  • Handicap:3.8
GolfWRX Likes : 2336

Posted 06 February 2019 - 04:02 PM

View Postbulls9999, on 06 February 2019 - 03:57 PM, said:

OK, so the R&A/USGA now 'fixed the caddie alignment' thing by saying if the player backs off and resets, then it's no longer a 'caddie alignment problem'.  No, my 2-cents.  I can see on a green..... there is an 'invisible line' for the line of the ball to take and you can follow from the putter head, visually, to see if there is alignment on/near the line of the putt.

But....from the rough/fairway, some 100+ yards away, are you kidding me?  alignment of shot will depend on how the player swings the club, a little from the inside, a little over the top and the ball takes a completely different path.  Can you really expect help from someone aligning your stance on a distant iron shot?....(unless the person is that far off and aiming 45-degrees off to one side?....these are PGA pro's).
So obviously there's no reason for the caddie to stand there.  So move!

And apparently there was some benefit perceived by at least a few players, how many LPGA professionals had their caddie behind them on every single shot, stepping away only at the last moment before they took the club back?

14

#45 heavy_hitter

heavy_hitter

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,864 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 366715
  • Joined: 03/16/2015
GolfWRX Likes : 2557

Posted 07 February 2019 - 08:26 PM

USGA has completely messed this rule up.  Just come out and say that a caddie can’t line up a player.  Stop with the games.  Amateur organization writing amateur rules.


15



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors