Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Multiple ball types in a round?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Porker

Porker

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 467048
  • Joined: 05/10/2017
  • Location:South Australia
GolfWRX Likes : 79

Posted 07 January 2019 - 03:47 AM

Interesting conversation came up at work, club in Adelaide, apparently some time ago, disqualified and stripped a player from his membership for playing more than 1 type of ball in a pennant match play tournament. This was a local club championship... not a state or national amateur tournament.

My understanding is a big no in pro golf and top end amateur events. In club level golf, it’s allowed unless the club has a local “1 ball rule”. Or it’s allowed because it’s impossible to enforce the law?

Don’t agree a player should be striped of membership for breaching such a rule. That’s a bit harsh.My questions to club players are:

1) do you switch balls on holes where it could give you an advantage?
2) how many different balls you play in a round ?
3) do you, like me, play a different ball as your provisional?
4) does your club have any local rules in place regarding?

Also if you feel from an ethical point of view this is not within the spirit of the game, please comment. Maybe your 4 ball has a rule? I have seriously been considering having a ball for different conditions and the difficulty of my local course could be lessened with his strategy but I’m having a moral dilemma regarding it. Love to hear from ya!


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#2 Ferguson

Ferguson

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,916 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 371587
  • Joined: 04/16/2015
  • Location:VA
  • Handicap:7.1
GolfWRX Likes : 5778

Posted 07 January 2019 - 05:29 AM

Thought this thread was going the way of "shrinkage" and such.  


Never change a ball unless lost, and that happens rarely.

ProV1 - summer
Bridgestone - winter

2

#3 dubbelbogey

dubbelbogey

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 2795
  • Joined: 07/15/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 197

Posted 07 January 2019 - 12:57 PM

I've never changed ball type in any sort of real competition, be it club level or sanctioned by a higher-level organization.

In casual play, or even friendly comps with my buddies, I'll switch balls all the time, but not because I'm trying to gain an advantage. Most of the time, it's a ball I've found out on the course, and I'm curious enough about it to give it a try. In that situation, who cares? I also tend to keep a "clean" putting ball in my pocket that matches the ball I used tee-to-green. Sometimes I forget to bring my towel onto the green and it's easier to switch to the clean ball rather than walk back to my bag to clean the dirty ball.

3

#4 KAndyMan

KAndyMan

    JUST GOTTA SEND IT!!!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 497560
  • Joined: 03/31/2018
  • Location:MI
  • Handicap:Many
GolfWRX Likes : 133

Posted 07 January 2019 - 02:10 PM

My answers for tournaments or any official play where you hdcp or GHIN is recorded:

1) NEVER. Its against the rules!
2) (refer to question #1 answer)
3) Nope play a different # ball. Say i hit a #2 first ill hit a #3 for a provisional  
4) Dont currently belong to a club so for me N/R

With todays balls I dont see how swapping helps. For me i want consistent flight characteristics and only way ive found that to happen is playing the same ball all the way around. I understand people will want a distance ball for longer holes and something that spins more on short holes yet at the same time you will have to hit an approach shot and putt/s. The distance ball and spinny (not sure thats a word) ball are going to respond totally different to those shots and it makes it too difficult (specially for amateurs) to be able to make corrective swing changes hole to hole putt to putt.

As far as kicking a member out. Yes that seems a bit harsh yet there are always 3 sides to every story and some clubs can be/are very strict on their rules. Pretty sure if Augusta, Pine Valley etc etc had the rule and wanted to enforce it they would have ZERO trouble filling your spot within in a matter of min. Just depends on if they are full and have a waiting list like many clubs do.

4

#5 augustgolf

augustgolf

    Golf with dignity

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,609 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 438244
  • Joined: 08/25/2016
  • Location:Coastal NC
  • Ebay ID:augustgolf
GolfWRX Likes : 4230

Posted 07 January 2019 - 03:41 PM

Wonder what they do to a golfer who has 15 clubs in the bag?????

Pings from the beginning

OGA member 1415
or is it 1514...
I don't remember exactly

5

#6 Porker

Porker

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 467048
  • Joined: 05/10/2017
  • Location:South Australia
GolfWRX Likes : 79

Posted 07 January 2019 - 03:50 PM

KAndyman... but is it illegal for normal saterday club competitions? Your thoughts reflect that, maybe it is but because the advantage is a bit of a give and take... no one cAres if the rule is breached

6

#7 jlbos83

jlbos83

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 73472
  • Joined: 01/22/2009
  • Location:Sahuarita, AZ
GolfWRX Likes : 273

Posted 07 January 2019 - 04:38 PM

KAndyman, it is not against the rules unless the competition is being run with the "one ball condition of competition", which is NOT recommended except for very high level tournaments.  In almost all cases where normal humans are playing you can change ball types whenever substitution of the ball is allowed, such as between holes, when a ball is lost, or a ball is damaged.  There may be a couple others, but that is the idea.
Jeff, an Arizona hacker

7

#8 Justsomeguy

Justsomeguy

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 412064
  • Joined: 02/13/2016
  • Location:New Orleans
  • Handicap:15
GolfWRX Likes : 352

Posted 10 January 2019 - 12:35 AM

View Postaugustgolf, on 07 January 2019 - 03:41 PM, said:

Wonder what they do to a golfer who has 15 clubs in the bag?????
Stone him! He's a witch!
Titleist 915D3 9.5*, Diamana S+ Blue 60, R, @11*
Titleist 915F 15* Diamana S+ Blue 70, R
Titleist 915H 20* Diamana S+ Blue 70, R
Titleist 716 AP1 4-W52, Kuro Kage Tini 65, S
Cleveland CBX, 56*/12, Rotex Graphite Wedge Flex
Cleveland Smart Square Blade

8

#9 Jkellender

Jkellender

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 269 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 261626
  • Joined: 07/04/2013
  • Location:Texas
  • Handicap:3
  • Ebay ID:Jadon11
GolfWRX Likes : 116

Posted 10 January 2019 - 12:49 AM

How do you know she’s a witch?
Titleist 913 D2 Fuji F3 Motore
Titleist 913f Aldila Phenom
Titleist 913h Diamana
714 AP2 4-W PX 5.5
Scotty Cameron Fastback 1.5
Vokey SM4 56, 60
WITB Link

9

#10 Justsomeguy

Justsomeguy

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 412064
  • Joined: 02/13/2016
  • Location:New Orleans
  • Handicap:15
GolfWRX Likes : 352

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:53 PM

View PostJkellender, on 10 January 2019 - 12:49 AM, said:

How do you know she’s a witch?
She looks like one!

Titleist 915D3 9.5*, Diamana S+ Blue 60, R, @11*
Titleist 915F 15* Diamana S+ Blue 70, R
Titleist 915H 20* Diamana S+ Blue 70, R
Titleist 716 AP1 4-W52, Kuro Kage Tini 65, S
Cleveland CBX, 56*/12, Rotex Graphite Wedge Flex
Cleveland Smart Square Blade

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#11 Jkellender

Jkellender

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 269 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 261626
  • Joined: 07/04/2013
  • Location:Texas
  • Handicap:3
  • Ebay ID:Jadon11
GolfWRX Likes : 116

Posted 13 January 2019 - 09:20 AM

Yes but what also floats in water?
Titleist 913 D2 Fuji F3 Motore
Titleist 913f Aldila Phenom
Titleist 913h Diamana
714 AP2 4-W PX 5.5
Scotty Cameron Fastback 1.5
Vokey SM4 56, 60
WITB Link

11

#12 sevenfourate

sevenfourate

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 7732
  • Joined: 11/12/2005
  • Location:ENGLAND.
  • Handicap:ped
  • Ebay ID:sevenfourate
GolfWRX Likes : 840

Posted 13 January 2019 - 10:08 AM

Thought about (For example) ProV1X on longer holes and ProV1 on a short par 3 many times over the years.

IMO: from what little you might gain in performance; you'd lose in feel / touch / control by swapping between models.

Just adding another variation into the game. And there enough of those already. You need some constants in you want some consistency.......
Regards - 'Shuv'

TITLEIST 905-R 9.5 degree  -  Grafalloy ProLaunch Red - X
BRIDGESTONE J33-R (15) - Grafalloy ProLaunch Red - X
MIZUNO FLI-HI CLK (20) - Grafalloy ProLaunch Red - X
CALLAWAY X-22 Tour Irons (5-PW) - PX 6.5 Flighted
CALLAWAY MD-3 Black (52 + 58) - DG PRO S300
ODYSSEY White Hot Pro 7 Putter - 343g / 34.75"
TAYLORMADE TP-5 Golfballs

SHUV'S WITB: http://www.golfwrx.c...l-and-now-2016/

12

#13 larciel

larciel

    I play for eagle

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 228091
  • Joined: 02/10/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 569

Posted 13 January 2019 - 04:20 PM

Stripped of membership.. bit too harsh

13

#14 Tanner25

Tanner25

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,085 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 46356
  • Joined: 01/18/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 413

Posted Yesterday, 05:31 PM

On a solo round, I have used a distance ball of the tee and a spin ball into the green. In theory, it would help. But, it was hassle to constantly change balls. Also, I would feel foolish doing this if playing with the boys.

Sometimes, I switch to a crappy ball, when shooting over water.

Edited by Tanner25, Yesterday, 05:31 PM.


14

#15 Break81

Break81

    Broke80

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,883 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 263738
  • Joined: 07/13/2013
  • Location:Chino Hills
  • Handicap:9.5
  • Ebay ID:marcbogey
GolfWRX Likes : 696

Posted 55 minutes ago

For local clubs who cares unless they have a rule in place.  If you think about it, guys on tour wouldn't do it because they are so accustomed to 1 ball as it is, but for us weekend hacks, highly unlikely it would make any difference in overall score.

   I believe the rules say you must finish the hole with a same ball unless damaged so if your club allows it, why not?

Cobra F7+ - Stiff
   Cobra F7 - 5/6 set at 17*
  Ping 22 degree Hybrid
Mizuno JPX850 Forger 4-GW - XP115 S300
Callaway Forged 52 degree
Titleist 55 F grind / 60 M grind
EVNROLL ER5
  Chrome Soft Truvis / TF Gamer

15

#16 okie21

okie21

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 516014
  • Joined: 11/08/2018
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Handicap:6
GolfWRX Likes : 10

Posted 5 minutes ago

Yeah, if I'm not playing well I will switch between holes and such. But that's to save my good balls, not to gain an edge. Stripping a membership is way too harsh in this case though.
Titleist 917 D2 9.5 deg (Diamana 70 S) std
Titelist 917 D2 16.5 deg (Diamana 70 S) std
Titleist 718 AP1s 4-GW (DG AMT White S300), 1 1/4" over with 1/4" intervals 8-9i and shorter
Vokey SM7 52 deg tour chrome (DG Wedge flex)
Vokey SM '09 56 deg tour chrome (DG Wedge flex)
Vokey SM '09 60 deg oil can (DG Wedge flex) all wedges same length as GW
Scotty 2018 Newport 3, fresh from Custom Shop, std length and lie
Vice Pro Plus

16



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors