Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

* * * - - 2 votes

So will Tiger call a penalty on himself at his OWN TOURNAMENT?


356 replies to this topic

#1 BenSeattle

BenSeattle

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 610
  • Joined: 05/09/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 220

Posted 30 November 2018 - 02:54 PM

If you didn't see it the first time, check out Tiger Woods' second shot on 18 in Friday's round.  His ball is resting well off the fairway on sand under a palm bush or palmetto plant.  Virtually no backswing is possible so he appears to smash it out by just whipping the club forward from just behind the ball.  It runs probably 20 feet into a nice lie in the short rough.

HOWEVER.... replays showed that he "raked" or "carried" the ball on the clubface.  In other words, there was no "hit," the ball was scraped along the ground, carried out actually on the face of the club -- a CLEAR VIOLATION OF THE RULES.

Sadly, none of the announcers immediately mentioned a possible rules violation or a penalty...., not Dan Hicks, not David Feherty.  I write this only moments after the shot so there may be further developments.  

The question is: will Woody call the penalty on himself.  Or WILL ANYBODY?


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#2 DavePelz4

DavePelz4

    Legend

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 23,416 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 69051
  • Joined: 11/10/2008
  • Location:A golf course in the Chicago area.
GolfWRX Likes : 24722

Posted 30 November 2018 - 02:56 PM

What's that new movie that came out recently..."Ben Breaks the Internet?"

2

#3 mackepa

mackepa

    #TheWRX

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,976 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 38775
  • Joined: 09/04/2007
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
GolfWRX Likes : 2433

Posted 30 November 2018 - 02:57 PM

Slow motion replay ruins sports. I havenít seen the shot yet but I would imagine that raking a golf shot would be incredibly obvious.

Edited by mackepa, 30 November 2018 - 02:58 PM.

#TheWRX 12/11/16


2018 WITB LINK. http://www.golfwrx.c...-in-first-post/

Rogue SZ 9* AD TP 8

Rogue SZ 15* AD IZ 8


X Forged UT 18* Recoil 110 óoró Honma 737TW 19* w/ ADDI 85

X Forged UT 24* KBS Prototype


X Forged 5-PW KBS Prototype

MD4 Raw 52s, 56s (55*), 60x (59*) KBS $-Taper



Toulon Austin Longneck Garage


3

#4 the bishop

the bishop

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,860 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 439390
  • Joined: 09/03/2016
  • Location:Richmond, TX
GolfWRX Likes : 2785

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:01 PM

Even FoT (Friend of Tiger) Feherty thinks that one reeks a little.  Doesn't look good.
Ping G400 - Tour 65 - S
Ping G400 14.5* - Tour 75 - S
B-Stone TourB XD-H 21/24 - Kuro Kage Silver TiNi 80
W/S FG Tour Forged 5-P - DGS300
W/S PMP Raw  52/56/60 - KBS Hi-Rev 2.0
W/S Infinite/Bucktown

4

#5 bscinstnct

bscinstnct

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,052 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 77664
  • Joined: 03/17/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 19648

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:04 PM

TW like

Posted Image


5

#6 dropkicked

dropkicked

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 515544
  • Joined: 11/01/2018
  • Location:6ix
  • Handicap:High
GolfWRX Likes : 86

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:08 PM

Multiple angles shown.. rear angle shows backswing and follow through.. front shot shows the ball sticking to the face..  I'm not sure if that's a penalty..

6

#7 Shilgy

Shilgy

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,521 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 235237
  • Joined: 03/07/2013
  • Location:Phoenix
  • Handicap:3.1
GolfWRX Likes : 7121

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:09 PM

They are looking at it.  Slowed down from in front it appears to be scraped. In full speed less so and from behind not at all.

Edited by Shilgy, 30 November 2018 - 03:16 PM.

TM M3 440 10* Graphite Design AD IZ 6x
TM M1 3w 14*  Graphite Design BB7s
TM M2  5w 18* Fujikura Atmos TS Blue 8S or Srixon U65 18° Atmos Red 7s
Adams A12 UST Silver S 21°
Srixon Z765 5-AW Nippon Pro Modus3 125S
Titleist Vokey 54*F  58*S
Toulon Garage Rochester flow neck H5/ Toulon Rochester stock

To paraphrase Dr Seuss: Don't cry because the round of golf is over-smile because it happened .  :)

7

#8 IVM

IVM

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 401922
  • Joined: 11/05/2015
  • Location:Miami Beach
GolfWRX Likes : 228

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:15 PM

Should be DQ .

8

#9 BenSeattle

BenSeattle

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 610
  • Joined: 05/09/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 220

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:15 PM

Does anybody here wonder if Tiger is arguing on his own behalf?  That's exactly what happened four or five years ago after the world saw a closeup shot of his ball in the gunk, a ball that clearly moved at address.  Tiger fought the ruling (and the obvious) but walked away with a two-shot penalty.  Many were amazed at his contrary behavior.

As I write, he's still in the scoring hut but it's clear that this wasn't a clean hit -- more of a scoop and a carry.

9

#10 nbg352

nbg352

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,295 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 144021
  • Joined: 10/25/2011
  • Location:Ontario Golden Horseshoe
  • Handicap:8.6
GolfWRX Likes : 4010

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:16 PM

Looked fine from where I was sitting....

R11S 8* square; Stock stiff
Maltby  KE4  14* 3w , Axe Excaliber  R flex tipped 1"
RBZ 25* hb; RBZstage 2 19* hb
   Mizuno MP30  5 - PW, AXE Excaliber stiff, Hogan Apex PC E Wedge (50*) TT DG s300
GM Never Compromise GM2 putter
54*, 58* TM TP wedges 3* flat

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#11 G0lfer83

G0lfer83

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 291663
  • Joined: 01/13/2014
  • Handicap:3.9
GolfWRX Likes : 20

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:18 PM

Two stroke penalty, move on.

e: No penalty, ok.

Edited by G0lfer83, 30 November 2018 - 03:20 PM.


11

#12 Krt22

Krt22

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,951 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 261822
  • Joined: 07/05/2013
  • Location:East Bay
GolfWRX Likes : 2860

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:19 PM

Front on in slow mo is a bit deceiving, especially since he hit it well left with a closed face, full speed it looks like a clear stroke to me

12

#13 Krt22

Krt22

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,951 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 261822
  • Joined: 07/05/2013
  • Location:East Bay
GolfWRX Likes : 2860

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:20 PM

No penalty!

13

#14 Marco

Marco

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,558 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 34723
  • Joined: 07/16/2007
GolfWRX Likes : 521

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:21 PM

View PostBenSeattle, on 30 November 2018 - 03:15 PM, said:

Does anybody here wonder if Tiger is arguing on his own behalf?  That's exactly what happened four or five years ago after the world saw a closeup shot of his ball in the gunk, a ball that clearly moved at address.  Tiger fought the ruling (and the obvious) but walked away with a two-shot penalty.  Many were amazed at his contrary behavior.

As I write, he's still in the scoring hut but it's clear that this wasn't a clean hit -- more of a scoop and a carry.

i hope he's arguing since the ref gave him the go for the shot

14

#15 dropkicked

dropkicked

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 515544
  • Joined: 11/01/2018
  • Location:6ix
  • Handicap:High
GolfWRX Likes : 86

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:22 PM

Thought so.. no penalty.


15

#16 bscinstnct

bscinstnct

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,052 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 77664
  • Joined: 03/17/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 19648

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:23 PM

View Postdropkicked, on 30 November 2018 - 03:22 PM, said:

Thought so.. no penalty.

Posted Image

16

#17 IH82BOGEY

IH82BOGEY

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 49511
  • Joined: 02/21/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 255

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:24 PM

Not discernible to the "necked" eye????

17

#18 DavePelz4

DavePelz4

    Legend

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 23,416 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 69051
  • Joined: 11/10/2008
  • Location:A golf course in the Chicago area.
GolfWRX Likes : 24722

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:26 PM

View PostIH82BOGEY, on 30 November 2018 - 03:24 PM, said:

Not discernible to the "necked" eye????

Is that in effect now?

18

#19 legitimategolf

legitimategolf

    Fighting!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,279 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 144779
  • Joined: 10/31/2011
  • Location:New York NY
GolfWRX Likes : 2983

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:27 PM

View PostIH82BOGEY, on 30 November 2018 - 03:24 PM, said:

Not discernible to the "necked" eye????

Correct spelling is "nekkid", I think.

19

#20 bladehunter

bladehunter

    I have a great profile! Especially from the side !

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,634 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 291449
  • Joined: 01/12/2014
  • Location:south carolina
  • Handicap:NONE
GolfWRX Likes : 19120

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:27 PM

So if Iím hearing it correctly a newer ď if you canít see it with the necked eye ď statute saved him from a penalty?   Seems plausible.

Nike Oven TW Vapor Speed  Aldila Synergy proto 70TX
Tm 17 M1 tour 14.5  Graphite Design ADDI 8X
Tm M3 tour 19 Fuji Pro white 95X
Titleist 681 Proto 3-pw Modus 130X
Vokey Raw 54 60 Modus 130S
Camerom 009 1.5 GSS

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

20

#21 dropkicked

dropkicked

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 515544
  • Joined: 11/01/2018
  • Location:6ix
  • Handicap:High
GolfWRX Likes : 86

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:30 PM

they mentioned the specific rule.. 18, something, something.. official stated it stuck on the face for too long when they viewed it in super hi-def, slo-mo.. but also that Tiger would've never known or felt it.

21

#22 Lottaouts

Lottaouts

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 446680
  • Joined: 11/17/2016
  • Location:Norcal
  • Handicap:3.5
GolfWRX Likes : 53

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:33 PM

If it was SICJAM, the officials would have quickly DQed him because he is a known cheater at golf and life.  As for Tiger...well, it is his tournament.

Edited by Lottaouts, 30 November 2018 - 03:36 PM.


22

#23 BenSeattle

BenSeattle

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 610
  • Joined: 05/09/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 220

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:36 PM

Woody got lucky with this one but I'll agree that the ruling is correct.  He couldn't feel the double hit or "scoop" and since such a violation COULD ONLY BE DETERMINED with the aid of High-Def and slow-motion (that's an addition to the rule only about two years old) then there's no penalty.  If he HAD felt something off in the stroke -- as we all do with most double hits -- then it would be his responsibility to call a penalty on himself.

23

#24 BenSeattle

BenSeattle

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 610
  • Joined: 05/09/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 220

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:38 PM

View PostLottaouts, on 30 November 2018 - 03:33 PM, said:

If it was SICJAM, the officials would have quickly DQed him because he is a known cheater at golf and life.  As for Tiger...well, it is his tournament.


Sorry... we all know who "FIGJAM" is.... but who's this SICJAM of which you speak?

24

#25 bucky316

bucky316

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 785 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 3514
  • Joined: 07/28/2005
  • Location:Madison, WI
GolfWRX Likes : 273

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:38 PM

no surprise that Cheetah didn't call a rules infraction on himself....he's no Bobby Jones!


25

#26 llewol007

llewol007

    4KidsGolfer

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,974 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 211323
  • Joined: 11/15/2012
  • Location:San Jose, Ca
  • Handicap:4.1
GolfWRX Likes : 859

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:40 PM

Not sure about that one. Even if you slow motion play a swing it will look like that. Just because he has a short back swing, it will look as if he pushed it but if I were a rules official and intent is in play, then his intent was to put a forward swing on the ball and not push the ball forward.
2017 M1 TI 10.5 Evolution II 661X<br />2016 M2 HL Evolution II 757X

26

#27 golfnoob25

golfnoob25

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 320 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 256508
  • Joined: 06/16/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 126

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:43 PM

Video?

27

#28 jdl

jdl

    Masshole

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,439 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 272218
  • Joined: 08/22/2013
  • Location:Mass
  • Handicap:7.1
GolfWRX Likes : 798

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:43 PM

Posted Image

28

#29 mikpga

mikpga

    www.mikedeitersgolf.com

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,200 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 20303
  • Joined: 10/06/2006
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
GolfWRX Likes : 658

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:46 PM

Stop the insanity...

29

#30 DFS PFD

DFS PFD

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 691 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 485676
  • Joined: 10/30/2017
  • Handicap:1.8
GolfWRX Likes : 507

Posted 30 November 2018 - 03:48 PM

This is ridiculous. How can he generate enough speed in that short of a space to have the ball not appear to "stick" to the face unintentionally. The club speed and ball speed were probably close to identical, nothing he could do.

F8+ Kuro Kage DC 70 TX
M2 Tour 15* Kuro Kage DC 70TX
790 UDI Tensei Pro White 100TX
4-PW Nike VR Pro Blades X7's
50* MD4 Raw Tour issue S400
55* MD4 Raw Tour issue S400
60* Hi-Toe Tour Issue S400
009

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

30



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors