Noles, on 05 October 2018 - 09:05 AM, said:
Sixcat, on 05 October 2018 - 08:12 AM, said:
Noles, on 05 October 2018 - 07:31 AM, said:
Sixcat, on 05 October 2018 - 07:06 AM, said:
I witnessed a high school kid get DQ'd about 5 years ago for signing an incorrect scorecard after not declaring a provisional, playing a provisional and then choosing to play the provisional even after the original was found. It was the final round of the state tournament at my home club. The kids team finished second by a couple of shots. Whole team got punished by his mistake. In Virginia, 6 play for 4 scores. The 5th and 6th player on his team were both in the 100's. His score, even with penalties, would have been more than enough to secure a state title.
This confuses me. If he didn't say that it was a provisional, then by rule that ball is in play. He played the ball that was in play. What was the infraction?
He finished the hole with his "provisional" without taking penalty for the original, hence, signing for a wrong score. It was a long and heated argument that led to some disciplinary action against the kid and his coach.
Edit to add; He demanded he had made a birdie on the hole after hitting two tee shots and finishing the hole with the second.
Not taking a penalty for the original is a big detail to leave out. So no one would know that unless they saw his score on that hole or heard him say what he thought he scored on that hole. Did the opposing coach know this before the scorers table?
To be fair, I did say in my original post the kid was "DQ'd for signing an incorrect scorecard."
Given he is a kid and this garnered statewide media attention, I was trying to be somewhat discrete in not publicly tearing down a mistake by a 16 year old kid.
This was the state tournament so, there were several teams in the match. Several opposing coaches were at the tee when the incident happened and most of the coaches in the field were present at the scorers table when the foursome arrived. The foursome consisted of a kid from four different schools. The three remaining players in the grouping refused to sign as this kid was insisting he had made birdie. It got ugly after that which is why I was attempting to be vague.
One of the kids in the foursome was on the team who would eventually win the state championship. The DQ'd player and his coach accused that kid of cheating to get the other kid DQ'd so his team could win. That's not what happened and several in attendance defended the three remaining kids for having the courage to refuse to sign for a wrong score.
What's funny, had the kid who got DQ'd and his coach just taken the stroke and distance penalty, he would have finished top 5 individually and his team would have won the state championship by more than 20 strokes.