Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Referee error ?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Newby

Newby

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,745 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 1552

Posted 12 August 2018 - 02:54 PM

https://m.youtube.co...#fauxfullscreen


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#2 Mikey5e

Mikey5e

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 494264
  • Joined: 02/21/2018
  • Location:ohio
  • Handicap:3
GolfWRX Likes : 235

Posted 12 August 2018 - 02:58 PM

Why would it be a refereeing error?

2

#3 rogolf

rogolf

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,129 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 123050
  • Joined: 02/25/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 1407

Posted 12 August 2018 - 03:52 PM

Rahm should have been permitted to clean his ball.

3

#4 Halebopp

Halebopp

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,077 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 184750
  • Joined: 06/06/2012
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
GolfWRX Likes : 1307

Posted 12 August 2018 - 03:53 PM

According to what Rahm says, he touched the ball accidentally and the ball didn't move. The ref says the ball moved and hands the penalty. Are you thinking that decision requires further discussion?

He could've definitely cleaned the ball, that's a certain error.
D: Mizuno MP-650, 9.5º, Orochi Red Stiff
4W: Titleist 917 F2, 16.5º, Speeder Pro 84 TS Stiff
3 Iron: Mizuno MP-H5, KBS Tour Stiff
4-PW: Mizuno MP-4, KBS Tour Stiff
Mizuno MP-T5 50.07, DG Wedge
W/S FG Tour PMP: 55.12, KBS Hi-Rev 2.0
W/S FG Tour PMP: 59.10, KBS Hi-Rev 2.0
Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4
WITB Link

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6

4

#5 Newby

Newby

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,745 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 1552

Posted 12 August 2018 - 04:13 PM

View PostHalebopp, on 12 August 2018 - 03:53 PM, said:

According to what Rahm says, he touched the ball accidentally and the ball didn't move. The ref says the ball moved and hands the penalty. Are you thinking that decision requires further discussion?
No


5

#6 BrianMcG

BrianMcG

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,474 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 71565
  • Joined: 12/30/2008
  • Location:Tennessee
GolfWRX Likes : 1810

Posted 12 August 2018 - 04:15 PM

I like how he tried to blame the marker. Like that would make a difference.

6

#7 Roadking2003

Roadking2003

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,009 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 406342
  • Joined: 12/21/2015
  • Location:Austin
  • Handicap:8.7
GolfWRX Likes : 2020

Posted 12 August 2018 - 04:29 PM

Two observations;

1.  Rohm acted like it wasn't his fault because nobody told him where his ball was.  Grow up.  You are the only one responsible for the location of your ball !!!

2.  His caddy immediately told him it was a penalty.  Shut up caddy !!!!

7

#8 jlbos83

jlbos83

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 492 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 73472
  • Joined: 01/22/2009
  • Location:Sahuarita, AZ
GolfWRX Likes : 244

Posted 12 August 2018 - 07:31 PM

View PostRoadking2003, on 12 August 2018 - 04:29 PM, said:

Two observations;

1.  Rohm acted like it wasn't his fault because nobody told him where his ball was.  Grow up.  You are the only one responsible for the location of your ball !!!

2.  His caddy immediately told him it was a penalty.  Shut up caddy !!!!
I think the caddy was trying to avoid any confrontation with the rules official, in an attempt to keep Rahm's famous emotions from getting out of control.

It does seem the official was wrong when he said Rahm could not clean the ball.

Rahm wanted to claim he touched the ball, but it didn't move.  I've thinking if you felt your shoe touch the ball, claining it didn't move (when you did not even see it) is probably not going to fly.  Then the question was if he could place it, but the official (correctly, I think), had him drop, since he could not say where the ball was prior to touching it.  It was harsh in a way, but in the end, when people say "your ball is over there" you should probably be careful where you put your feet!
Jeff, an Arizona hacker

8

#9 Colin L

Colin L

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,691 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 195200
  • Joined: 07/28/2012
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Handicap:17
GolfWRX Likes : 831

Posted 13 August 2018 - 01:50 AM

As an aside, there will be no  penalty for accidentally moving your ball during a search from next year.

Edited by Colin L, 13 August 2018 - 01:50 AM.


9

#10 Newby

Newby

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,745 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 93129
  • Joined: 08/28/2009
  • Location:England
GolfWRX Likes : 1552

Posted 13 August 2018 - 01:55 AM

Interesting. We didn't see whether he was 'searching' or just walking in the general area of where his ball might be. Does 'searching' require any particular action like looking at the ground?


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#11 Colin L

Colin L

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,691 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 195200
  • Joined: 07/28/2012
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Handicap:17
GolfWRX Likes : 831

Posted 13 August 2018 - 09:59 AM

At a guess it should require more than wandering up and expecting someone else to show you where your ball is. :)

But we can't really tell in this instance without seeing what he actually did.

Edited by Colin L, 13 August 2018 - 09:59 AM.


11

#12 davep043

davep043

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,549 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 489076
  • Joined: 12/20/2017
  • Location:Reston, VA, and Southern Pines, NC
  • Handicap:4.2
GolfWRX Likes : 1305

Posted 13 August 2018 - 10:11 AM

View Postjlbos83, on 12 August 2018 - 07:31 PM, said:

View PostRoadking2003, on 12 August 2018 - 04:29 PM, said:

Two observations;

1.  Rohm acted like it wasn't his fault because nobody told him where his ball was.  Grow up.  You are the only one responsible for the location of your ball !!!

2.  His caddy immediately told him it was a penalty.  Shut up caddy !!!!
I think the caddy was trying to avoid any confrontation with the rules official, in an attempt to keep Rahm's famous emotions from getting out of control.

It does seem the official was wrong when he said Rahm could not clean the ball.

Rahm wanted to claim he touched the ball, but it didn't move.  I've thinking if you felt your shoe touch the ball, claining it didn't move (when you did not even see it) is probably not going to fly.  Then the question was if he could place it, but the official (correctly, I think), had him drop, since he could not say where the ball was prior to touching it.  It was harsh in a way, but in the end, when people say "your ball is over there" you should probably be careful where you put your feet!
I find it pretty contradictory that Rahm claimed that he felt his shoe touch the ball, but the ball didn't move, then later then said he didn't know where the ball started.  To me, that's evidence enough that he could not know that the ball didn't move, so the conclusion is that it DID move.  He could have placed the ball, in fact was required to place it in its original location if he could identify its original location.  Since he could not, he was required to drop it.  I'd say the official got all that correct.  I do agree that he should have been allowed to clean the ball.

12

#13 bknaepen

bknaepen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 482812
  • Joined: 09/25/2017
  • Location:Brussels
  • Handicap:6
GolfWRX Likes : 3

Posted 13 August 2018 - 12:10 PM

I agree that Rahm's statements were not convincing concerning the movement of the ball and that it's more likely than not that the ball moved given the circumstances.

But the referee was not on top of his game when he told Rahm that the reason for the penalty was that he touched his ball. Rahm even asked "even if it did not move?", and the referee responded yes...

13

#14 jlbos83

jlbos83

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 492 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 73472
  • Joined: 01/22/2009
  • Location:Sahuarita, AZ
GolfWRX Likes : 244

Posted 13 August 2018 - 12:28 PM

Watching the video, it seemed that the official was not all that interested in determining what happened, and wanted to get away as fast as he could.  It does seem that he may have come to the right ruling (other than not allowing cleaning) for the wrong reasons.
Jeff, an Arizona hacker

14

#15 SkiSchoolPro

SkiSchoolPro

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 486 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 469938
  • Joined: 06/01/2017
  • Location:Colorado
  • Handicap:4
GolfWRX Likes : 250

Posted 15 August 2018 - 01:10 PM

Touching the ball accidently with your club is NOT a penalty if the ball does not move or only occilates, correct?


Golfing when I can, Ski Coaching, Instructing and Guiding all winter at Vail, Beaver Creek, Copper Mountain, Keystone and Breckenridge.

15

#16 Halebopp

Halebopp

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,077 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 184750
  • Joined: 06/06/2012
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
GolfWRX Likes : 1307

Posted 15 August 2018 - 01:37 PM

View PostSkiSchoolPro, on 15 August 2018 - 01:10 PM, said:

Touching the ball accidently with your club is NOT a penalty if the ball does not move or only occilates, correct?

Correct, you can touch your ball accidentally by any means and there's no penalty as long as the ball doesn't move. You can also touch the ball intentionally with your club when addressing the ball, but even then, you can't move the ball. Rule 18-2.

Edited by Halebopp, 15 August 2018 - 01:47 PM.

D: Mizuno MP-650, 9.5º, Orochi Red Stiff
4W: Titleist 917 F2, 16.5º, Speeder Pro 84 TS Stiff
3 Iron: Mizuno MP-H5, KBS Tour Stiff
4-PW: Mizuno MP-4, KBS Tour Stiff
Mizuno MP-T5 50.07, DG Wedge
W/S FG Tour PMP: 55.12, KBS Hi-Rev 2.0
W/S FG Tour PMP: 59.10, KBS Hi-Rev 2.0
Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4
WITB Link

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6

16



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors