Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Video Of Ernie With Persimmon, Young Phil And Jumbo In 1993

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 EmperorPenguin

EmperorPenguin

Tour Winner

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 983 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 217859
GolfWRX Likes : 468

Posted 04 July 2018 - 06:52 PM

This is one of the days when you are watching YouTube and you see in the Related Videos on the right side one you curiously clicked.  Usually you end up watching a chain of videos and you end up watching something very strange, but this time it was good.  I actually remember watching this broadcast here in America in 1993, soon after I started playing golf.  It was my second time seeing this Ernie Els fellow (the first time was in the 1992 Open Championship at Muirfield when David Leadbetter was on the mic talking about his new prodigy Ernie), and here in this tournament he was using a persimmon driver.  I am posting the video here because the title is in Japanese and I may lose it forever, so while I am watching it now, I want to share it with you.

https://youtube.com/...h?v=_meanDXxW68

Curiously, I remember that when I first saw this on ESPN, I tuned in at this exact moment when Ernie was teeing it up on the final hole.  The first thing I thought when I saw this guy's swing and thought how beautiful his swing is.  It is good to see Ernie swinging a persimmon wood, though Jumbo passed him by twenty or so yards.