Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Darn That Second Guy!


46 replies to this topic

#31 1ironcharlie

1ironcharlie

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 482210
  • Joined: 09/19/2017
  • Location:Colorado
  • Handicap:8
GolfWRX Likes : 48

Posted 02 May 2018 - 02:44 PM

Among my buddies, if you make a good score on your second ball, we call it a "Barry Bonds", cause it has an asterisk next to it. I can just see him doing an infomercial. ...

"Do you want to play like a tour pro, but dont have the time to practice, the skill to hone, or the attention span to actually improve? Well, welcome to the Barry Bonds school of golf, where we will teach you proven concepts like, Hand Wedge, Foot Club, and "I'll just hit from here". Now let's hear from Lance Armstrong...."


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#32 2bGood

2bGood

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,549 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 91033
  • Joined: 08/07/2009
  • Location:Rock Star From Mars
  • Handicap:3-8
GolfWRX Likes : 2641

Posted 02 May 2018 - 02:50 PM

View PostHehateme, on 21 April 2018 - 04:37 PM, said:

My second guy did actually get a hole in one. On the tee box arguing with my brother weather the shot is a PW or a 9, he talks me into the PW. Hit the shot short, imagine that. Go back to the cart, grab a 9 iron, throw the ball down and knock it into the hole. 1ST guy gets par, second guy gets a 1

I have a legit situation like that. 1st ball in the water/second in the hole for a 3

2

#33 kozubs

kozubs

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 176704
  • Joined: 04/22/2012
  • Handicap:5
GolfWRX Likes : 149

Posted 02 May 2018 - 02:55 PM

View PostMedic, on 21 April 2018 - 04:29 PM, said:

We've all done it. Hit a terrible shot and then, afterwards, dropped another ball to give it another try. After all surely you cannot hit it THAT bad twice in a row, right?

The second guy.

He always hits the perfect drive.

The pured iron.

The chip shot.

And putt of course.

So today there was hope. (See other thread on what you think of your own swing for explanation) For the first time I played pain free and was on cruise control. On the 14th I hit an awesome drive that rolled underneath some trees - required a lucky iron shot that would stay low and roll up. I did it! To under 2 feet from the hole.

And then.

I lipped out the birdie putt.

Still had a blast playing pain free. And still shot a great round. But of course the second guy nailed that birdie putt. And on the very next hole he managed a pure long iron to the front of the green when my first shot landed way short and in trouble.

Yup, that second guy. If only I could figure out how to pretend I already hit a bad shot and could channel that second guy into my first shot, right?

So...

What's your second guy story? Maybe it's an ace. Or a nice eagle putt. Not a chance that I'm the only one whose second guy is always better than I am!

Second guy almost got an albatross 2 days ago.  I was 238 out.  First 3 iron was a bit off the toe and came up about 10 yards short left.  As no one was around I decided to hit a second.  Well struck and landed right inline with the pin.  It rolled, hit the cup and rolled around the cup finishing 1.5 ft away.  

First guy thinned the chip over the green to make par.

3

#34 Break81

Break81

    Broke80

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 263738
  • Joined: 07/13/2013
  • Location:Chino Hills
  • Handicap:9.5
  • Ebay ID:marcbogey
GolfWRX Likes : 494

Posted 02 May 2018 - 06:07 PM

View PostBob9604, on 24 April 2018 - 05:14 AM, said:

My wife likes the second guy better too! ��
  You have won the best comment of the month even though its only May 2nd, you've earned it now!
Cobra F7+ - Stiff
   Cobra F7 - 5/6 set at 17*
  Ping 22 degree Hybrid
Mizuno JPX850 Forger 4-GW - XP115 S300
Callaway Forged 52 degree
Titleist 55 F grind / 60 M grind
EVNROLL ER5 or Cleveland #6
   Srixon XV - K3 - Vice Pro

4

#35 lchang

lchang

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 53955
  • Joined: 04/17/2008
  • Location:San Carlos, CA
  • Handicap:9
GolfWRX Likes : 218

Posted 14 May 2018 - 11:22 PM

View Post2bGood, on 02 May 2018 - 02:50 PM, said:

View PostHehateme, on 21 April 2018 - 04:37 PM, said:

My second guy did actually get a hole in one. On the tee box arguing with my brother weather the shot is a PW or a 9, he talks me into the PW. Hit the shot short, imagine that. Go back to the cart, grab a 9 iron, throw the ball down and knock it into the hole. 1ST guy gets par, second guy gets a 1

I have a legit situation like that. 1st ball in the water/second in the hole for a 3

Friend: “If this second attempt goes in, does that count as a hole in one?”

Me: “I might let you count it as a par.”


5

#36 Under2hours

Under2hours

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,031 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 383344
  • Joined: 06/30/2015
  • Location:Toronto
  • Handicap:13.2
GolfWRX Likes : 325

Posted 15 May 2018 - 04:30 AM

And all your rounds are now considered practice by rules of the USGA as you hit additional shots on the course.  Funny how this is considered a usual occurrence by at least everyone I know, but go to my thread in Rules & Etiquette and read the scorn, condemnation and disgust when I cop to hitting extra shots throughout the round (and please don't tell me it is different unless your first shot was OB).

BTW I was playing solo last week (and keeping score) and on the final par 3 (third time out this year) on my second shot did stiff it to 1'......  I was actually happy it did not go in.  Now if it was my first shot again we'd have the argument that since solo & playing multiple balls during the round it would not count. :taunt:

Edited by Under2hours, 15 May 2018 - 04:31 AM.


6

#37 NEhomer

NEhomer

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 497926
  • Joined: 04/04/2018
  • Location:Western, MA
  • Handicap:8
GolfWRX Likes : 40

Posted 15 May 2018 - 04:39 AM

View PostSetTheBarrHigh, on 21 April 2018 - 06:54 PM, said:

There is a tournament at my club every year with the format of a "one man scramble". You get to hit two balls each time and take your best option. You'd be surprised at how good that second guy can be at times, especially when his partner gives him a good read from a putt.

Never heard of a one man scramble but it seems like a cool idea.

7

#38 r0scoe

r0scoe

    Hardcore Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 471572
  • Joined: 06/16/2017
  • Location:Saint John, NB
  • Handicap:19
GolfWRX Likes : 27

Posted 15 May 2018 - 05:18 AM

View PostSetTheBarrHigh, on 21 April 2018 - 06:54 PM, said:

There is a tournament at my club every year with the format of a "one man scramble". You get to hit two balls each time and take your best option. You'd be surprised at how good that second guy can be at times, especially when his partner gives him a good read from a putt.

That sounds like a ton of fun (it's sort of how I play when by myself)

8

#39 Hit 'Em Straight

Hit 'Em Straight

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 256 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 480284
  • Joined: 08/27/2017
  • Location:South Jersey (Philly Burbs)
  • Handicap:14.1
GolfWRX Likes : 899

Posted 15 May 2018 - 06:21 AM

If my first shot wasn't good, my second attempt is never any better.  Perhaps because I know it doesn't count I don't really reset.

9

#40 jli2636

jli2636

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 814 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 129436
  • Joined: 05/24/2011
  • Location:Columbia, MO
  • Handicap:9
GolfWRX Likes : 285

Posted 15 May 2018 - 06:54 AM

View PostNEhomer, on 15 May 2018 - 04:39 AM, said:

View PostSetTheBarrHigh, on 21 April 2018 - 06:54 PM, said:

There is a tournament at my club every year with the format of a "one man scramble". You get to hit two balls each time and take your best option. You'd be surprised at how good that second guy can be at times, especially when his partner gives him a good read from a putt.

Never heard of a one man scramble but it seems like a cool idea.

The course I worked at in college did one of these. The catch was if you hit a 2nd ball you had to play the 2nd ball no matter where it ended up.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#41 Hehateme

Hehateme

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 390 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 133784
  • Joined: 07/21/2011
  • Location:North Florida
GolfWRX Likes : 124

Posted 15 May 2018 - 07:13 AM

View Postgolfer07840, on 25 April 2018 - 11:21 AM, said:

View PostHehateme, on 21 April 2018 - 04:37 PM, said:

My second guy did actually get a hole in one. On the tee box arguing with my brother weather the shot is a PW or a 9, he talks me into the PW. Hit the shot short, imagine that. Go back to the cart, grab a 9 iron, throw the ball down and knock it into the hole. 1ST guy gets par, second guy gets a 1



Very 1997 Fred Couples like at the 17th TPC

Funny you mention that, me and my friends were sitting behind 17 green when that happened!

11

#42 FlyingLaw1

FlyingLaw1

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 505 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 468870
  • Joined: 05/23/2017
  • Location:MO
  • Handicap:1
GolfWRX Likes : 147

Posted 15 May 2018 - 03:21 PM

View PostNEhomer, on 15 May 2018 - 04:39 AM, said:

View PostSetTheBarrHigh, on 21 April 2018 - 06:54 PM, said:

There is a tournament at my club every year with the format of a "one man scramble". You get to hit two balls each time and take your best option. You'd be surprised at how good that second guy can be at times, especially when his partner gives him a good read from a putt.

Never heard of a one man scramble but it seems like a cool idea.

I played in my first one man scramble last fall. It was a blast!
GO DAWGS

12

#43 Tight-right

Tight-right

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 482596
  • Joined: 09/23/2017
  • Location:Windsor on
  • Handicap:4.1
GolfWRX Likes : 24

Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:07 AM

I don't hit second shots. There's no do overs in golf.

I would of had 5 majors with my "second shots" . Golf is easy when it doesn't matter, like a second shot. That's not golf

13

#44 Carl Spackler3

Carl Spackler3

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 544 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 136528
  • Joined: 08/15/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 333

Posted 16 May 2018 - 05:58 PM

1st real round with my Dad at 12 yrs old, 2nd birdie a 5 yrs later

14

#45 MilkyButterCuts

MilkyButterCuts

    Sensei

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 492318
  • Joined: 01/31/2018
  • Location:UT
  • Handicap:4.1
GolfWRX Likes : 70

Posted 16 May 2018 - 10:03 PM

My dad always said “Any poor dumb bastxxx can do it the second time”


15

#46 hybrid25

hybrid25

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,242 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 434860
  • Joined: 08/01/2016
  • Location:michigan
GolfWRX Likes : 498

Posted 16 May 2018 - 10:07 PM

There's no pressure like the pressure of the first shot.

16

#47 rawdog

rawdog

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,077 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 424320
  • Joined: 05/08/2016
  • Location:Cleveland, OH
  • Handicap:8.6
  • Ebay ID:staghornsandmore
GolfWRX Likes : 1560

Posted 16 May 2018 - 10:39 PM

View PostMtlJeff, on 22 April 2018 - 12:01 PM, said:

View PostSetTheBarrHigh, on 21 April 2018 - 06:54 PM, said:

There is a tournament at my club every year with the format of a "one man scramble". You get to hit two balls each time and take your best option. You'd be surprised at how good that second guy can be at times, especially when his partner gives him a good read from a putt.

It's a very fun thing to do. I have done it for fun playing after work as a single, when i know the course is a little jammed.

It's pretty easy to shoot a really good score. Only done it a few times but always under par

This is a primary way my friend and I compete when playing as a twosome. Match play, keeps it close as we are only a few shots apart in HDCP.

It's a good way to get extra reps and it's always good to make more birdies. Teaches us how it feels to score, and what our potential is.

No real downside unless it's crowded or you lose a ball on the second shot.
Cobra F7 Driver
HZRDUS Yellow, 8.5* @44.5"

In1Zone Single Length Fairway Woods
Graffaloy ProLaunch Axis Blue @41.5"
3W = 15*
5W = 19*
7W = 23*

Cobra F7 One Length Irons
Nippon Modus 105 Stiff @ 36.5"
6I = 24*
7I = 29*
8I = 34*
9I = 39*
PW = 44*
GW = 49*
SW = 54*
LW = 59*

Odyssey #9 HT Metal X Milled @33.5"

Maxfli SoftFli

17



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors