Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Ball hits another ball in the fairway


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 jmtbkr

jmtbkr

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 122982
  • Joined: 02/24/2011
  • Location:Palm Beach Gardens & Long Island
  • Handicap:8.2
GolfWRX Likes : 242

Posted 13 November 2017 - 02:20 PM

What’s the ruling?

Ping G15 9* Serrano 60
Callaway Diablo Edge  18* 24* 27* 30*
Mizuno JPX850  6-GW  DGR300
Mizuno T5   55* 60*  DGR300
Scotty Cameron California Fastback
Nike PD Long
Pro V1

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#2 augustgolf

augustgolf

    Golf with dignity

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,157 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 438244
  • Joined: 08/25/2016
  • Location:Coastal NC
  • Handicap:0
  • Ebay ID:augustgolf
GolfWRX Likes : 2181

Posted 13 November 2017 - 02:22 PM

Ball doing the striking played as it lies. Ball struck must be placed as near as possible to original position,.

The rule book is your friend
Pings from the beginning

OGA member 1415
or is it 1514...
I don't remember exactly

2

#3 jmtbkr

jmtbkr

    Tour Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 122982
  • Joined: 02/24/2011
  • Location:Palm Beach Gardens & Long Island
  • Handicap:8.2
GolfWRX Likes : 242

Posted 13 November 2017 - 02:33 PM

Thank you!

Thank you!
Ping G15 9* Serrano 60
Callaway Diablo Edge  18* 24* 27* 30*
Mizuno JPX850  6-GW  DGR300
Mizuno T5   55* 60*  DGR300
Scotty Cameron California Fastback
Nike PD Long
Pro V1

3

#4 LeoLeo99

LeoLeo99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,494 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 326383
  • Joined: 07/12/2014
GolfWRX Likes : 1466

Posted 13 November 2017 - 03:01 PM

Fairway, green, rough... all the same rule.

4

#5 bknaepen

bknaepen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 482812
  • Joined: 09/25/2017
  • Location:Brussels
  • Handicap:6.6
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 13 November 2017 - 03:11 PM

What happens if the collision happens quite far away on the fairway and the players can only estimate where the original ball lay upon reaching the location? Shouldn’t the moved ball be dropped instead of placed as suggested in note 3 to rule 18-5 ?


5

#6 LeoLeo99

LeoLeo99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,494 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 326383
  • Joined: 07/12/2014
GolfWRX Likes : 1466

Posted 13 November 2017 - 03:30 PM

View Postbknaepen, on 13 November 2017 - 03:11 PM, said:

What happens if the collision happens quite far away on the fairway and the players can only estimate where the original ball lay upon reaching the location? Shouldn’t the moved ball be dropped instead of placed as suggested in note 3 to rule 18-5 ?

Depends on how well you can determine the spot to replace the ball.  I think if  you can estimate the spot,  you can place it.  I can't think of a situation where you'd know a ball hit another ball but were unable to determine the spot of the original ball.  And I'd hate to see someone penalized because they dropped instead of placing or placed instead of dropping.

Edited by LeoLeo99, 13 November 2017 - 03:30 PM.


6

#7 rogolf

rogolf

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,683 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 123050
  • Joined: 02/25/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 1175

Posted 13 November 2017 - 04:49 PM

View PostLeoLeo99, on 13 November 2017 - 03:30 PM, said:

View Postbknaepen, on 13 November 2017 - 03:11 PM, said:

What happens if the collision happens quite far away on the fairway and the players can only estimate where the original ball lay upon reaching the location? Shouldn’t the moved ball be dropped instead of placed as suggested in note 3 to rule 18-5 ?

Depends on how well you can determine the spot to replace the ball.  I think if  you can estimate the spot,  you can place it.  I can't think of a situation where you'd know a ball hit another ball but were unable to determine the spot of the original ball.  And I'd hate to see someone penalized because they dropped instead of placing or placed instead of dropping.

If you know the precise spot to within 1 cm, you can place it.  If not, you must drop it at the estimated spot, except you would always place on the putting green. (Rule 20-3c)

7

#8 Augster

Augster

    Mr. Fairway

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,350 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 30291
  • Joined: 05/31/2007
  • Location:MPLS, MN
GolfWRX Likes : 1249

Posted 13 November 2017 - 05:13 PM

View Postrogolf, on 13 November 2017 - 04:49 PM, said:

View PostLeoLeo99, on 13 November 2017 - 03:30 PM, said:

View Postbknaepen, on 13 November 2017 - 03:11 PM, said:

What happens if the collision happens quite far away on the fairway and the players can only estimate where the original ball lay upon reaching the location? Shouldn’t the moved ball be dropped instead of placed as suggested in note 3 to rule 18-5 ?

Depends on how well you can determine the spot to replace the ball.  I think if  you can estimate the spot,  you can place it.  I can't think of a situation where you'd know a ball hit another ball but were unable to determine the spot of the original ball.  And I'd hate to see someone penalized because they dropped instead of placing or placed instead of dropping.

If you know the precise spot to within 1 cm, you can place it.  If not, you must drop it at the estimated spot, except you would always place on the putting green. (Rule 20-3c)

This.

Anything like this where you can’t see the lie, not on the green, is going to be a drop.

8

#9 Llortamaisey

Llortamaisey

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,200 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 11574
  • Joined: 02/09/2006
GolfWRX Likes : 1869

Posted 13 November 2017 - 05:32 PM

View Postjmtbkr, on 13 November 2017 - 02:20 PM, said:

What’s the ruling?

Was the player trying to backstop his ball in the fairway using the other ball?

9

#10 Londoner

Londoner

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 483738
  • Joined: 10/07/2017
  • Location:Sheffield England
  • Handicap:14
  • Ebay ID:Woofwoof666
GolfWRX Likes : 141

Posted 13 November 2017 - 05:53 PM

View PostLlortamaisey, on 13 November 2017 - 05:32 PM, said:

View Postjmtbkr, on 13 November 2017 - 02:20 PM, said:

What’s the ruling?

Was the player trying to backstop his ball in the fairway using the other ball?
I suspect he was after a glancing blow to get round a dogleg.

Mizuno mp h5. 4-W KBS tour stiff 2 iron modus 3 stiff.
taylormade m2 Driver + hl 3 wood
ping anser
Titleist sm6 50 +54
Cleveland 60

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#11 Swisstrader98

Swisstrader98

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 170802
  • Joined: 03/23/2012
GolfWRX Likes : 317

Posted 13 November 2017 - 06:30 PM

View PostLlortamaisey, on 13 November 2017 - 05:32 PM, said:

View Postjmtbkr, on 13 November 2017 - 02:20 PM, said:

What’s the ruling?

Was the player trying to backstop his ball in the fairway using the other ball?

Am I the only one who got this :swoon:

11

#12 LeoLeo99

LeoLeo99

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,494 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 326383
  • Joined: 07/12/2014
GolfWRX Likes : 1466

Posted 13 November 2017 - 06:35 PM

View Postrogolf, on 13 November 2017 - 04:49 PM, said:

View PostLeoLeo99, on 13 November 2017 - 03:30 PM, said:

View Postbknaepen, on 13 November 2017 - 03:11 PM, said:

What happens if the collision happens quite far away on the fairway and the players can only estimate where the original ball lay upon reaching the location? Shouldn’t the moved ball be dropped instead of placed as suggested in note 3 to rule 18-5 ?

Depends on how well you can determine the spot to replace the ball.  I think if  you can estimate the spot,  you can place it.  I can't think of a situation where you'd know a ball hit another ball but were unable to determine the spot of the original ball.  And I'd hate to see someone penalized because they dropped instead of placing or placed instead of dropping.

If you know the precise spot to within 1 cm, you can place it.  If not, you must drop it at the estimated spot, except you would always place on the putting green. (Rule 20-3c)

Where does "1 cm" come from?  That seems too precise.

12

#13 Londoner

Londoner

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 483738
  • Joined: 10/07/2017
  • Location:Sheffield England
  • Handicap:14
  • Ebay ID:Woofwoof666
GolfWRX Likes : 141

Posted 13 November 2017 - 07:01 PM

View PostSwisstrader98, on 13 November 2017 - 06:30 PM, said:

View PostLlortamaisey, on 13 November 2017 - 05:32 PM, said:

View Postjmtbkr, on 13 November 2017 - 02:20 PM, said:

What’s the ruling?

Was the player trying to backstop his ball in the fairway using the other ball?

Am I the only one who got this :swoon:
no. :taunt:
Mizuno mp h5. 4-W KBS tour stiff 2 iron modus 3 stiff.
taylormade m2 Driver + hl 3 wood
ping anser
Titleist sm6 50 +54
Cleveland 60

13

#14 rogolf

rogolf

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,683 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 123050
  • Joined: 02/25/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 1175

Posted 13 November 2017 - 07:02 PM

View PostLeoLeo99, on 13 November 2017 - 06:35 PM, said:

View Postrogolf, on 13 November 2017 - 04:49 PM, said:

View PostLeoLeo99, on 13 November 2017 - 03:30 PM, said:

View Postbknaepen, on 13 November 2017 - 03:11 PM, said:

What happens if the collision happens quite far away on the fairway and the players can only estimate where the original ball lay upon reaching the location? Shouldn’t the moved ball be dropped instead of placed as suggested in note 3 to rule 18-5 ?

Depends on how well you can determine the spot to replace the ball.  I think if  you can estimate the spot,  you can place it.  I can't think of a situation where you'd know a ball hit another ball but were unable to determine the spot of the original ball.  And I'd hate to see someone penalized because they dropped instead of placing or placed instead of dropping.

If you know the precise spot to within 1 cm, you can place it.  If not, you must drop it at the estimated spot, except you would always place on the putting green. (Rule 20-3c)

Where does "1 cm" come from?  That seems too precise.
It's what I've been taught and it's purposely precise in order to cause the ball to be dropped, retaining the element of randomness.  Everyone knows that placing is an advantage (see Decision Misc./1)

14

#15 farmer

farmer

    Hall of Fame

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 6,355 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 70095
  • Joined: 12/02/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 2269

Posted 13 November 2017 - 08:05 PM

In my group, it would be astonishing if two balls were in the fairway, and even more astonishing if anyone saw one ball hit another.


15

#16 RickKimbrell

RickKimbrell

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,313 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 85054
  • Joined: 06/08/2009
  • Location:Weston Lakes, TX
GolfWRX Likes : 345

Posted 13 November 2017 - 10:21 PM

View Postfarmer, on 13 November 2017 - 08:05 PM, said:

In my group, it would be astonishing if two balls were in the fairway, and even more astonishing if anyone saw one ball hit another.

We must be playing in the same group and just did not know it.  :)

Edited by RickKimbrell, 13 November 2017 - 10:21 PM.


16

#17 wildcatden

wildcatden

    China Cat Sunflower

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 481904
  • Joined: 09/14/2017
GolfWRX Likes : 15

Posted 14 November 2017 - 02:46 PM

How can you place your ball back to the original location on a green if you are both hitting from the fairway from 100+ yards?   I'm not good enough at golf to have any spectators watching at the green.

17

#18 rogolf

rogolf

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,683 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 123050
  • Joined: 02/25/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 1175

Posted 14 November 2017 - 02:51 PM

View Postwildcatden, on 14 November 2017 - 02:46 PM, said:

How can you place your ball back to the original location on a green if you are both hitting from the fairway from 100+ yards?   I'm not good enough at golf to have any spectators watching at the green.

It's a procedure:
1.  estimate the spot on the green
2.  place the ball on the estimated spot

If you don't replace it, it's a two stroke penalty in stroke play, loss of hole in match play.

18

#19 wildcatden

wildcatden

    China Cat Sunflower

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 481904
  • Joined: 09/14/2017
GolfWRX Likes : 15

Posted 14 November 2017 - 03:29 PM

View Postrogolf, on 14 November 2017 - 02:51 PM, said:

View Postwildcatden, on 14 November 2017 - 02:46 PM, said:

How can you place your ball back to the original location on a green if you are both hitting from the fairway from 100+ yards?   I'm not good enough at golf to have any spectators watching at the green.

It's a procedure:
1.  estimate the spot on the green
2.  place the ball on the estimated spot

If you don't replace it, it's a two stroke penalty in stroke play, loss of hole in match play.

What if neither you nor your playing partner can see the green surface (uphill shot)? Suppose in that case your ball is hit and moves 5 feet.  Is it like that "if a tree falls in the woods and nobody hears it"?

19

#20 Sawgrass

Sawgrass

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,800 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83736
  • Joined: 05/24/2009
  • Location:Stamford, Connecticut
GolfWRX Likes : 5468

Posted 14 November 2017 - 03:47 PM

View Postwildcatden, on 14 November 2017 - 03:29 PM, said:

View Postrogolf, on 14 November 2017 - 02:51 PM, said:

View Postwildcatden, on 14 November 2017 - 02:46 PM, said:

How can you place your ball back to the original location on a green if you are both hitting from the fairway from 100+ yards?   I'm not good enough at golf to have any spectators watching at the green.

It's a procedure:
1.  estimate the spot on the green
2.  place the ball on the estimated spot

If you don't replace it, it's a two stroke penalty in stroke play, loss of hole in match play.

What if neither you nor your playing partner can see the green surface (uphill shot)? Suppose in that case your ball is hit and moves 5 feet.  Is it like that "if a tree falls in the woods and nobody hears it"?
18-1/3


Player Unaware Ball Moved by Outside Agency Does Not Replace Ball


Q.In stroke play, a player's ball was moved by an outside agency. Neither the player nor his caddie was aware that his ball had been moved, so the player played the ball without replacing it. He then learned that his ball had been moved. What is the ruling?


A.As it was not known or virtually certain that the ball had been moved by an outside agency when the player played the ball, he proceeded properly and incurred no penalty - see the Note to Rule 18-1.



Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

20

#21 Cwebb

Cwebb

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,387 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 21353
  • Joined: 11/04/2006
GolfWRX Likes : 1063

Posted 14 November 2017 - 03:53 PM

View Postwildcatden, on 14 November 2017 - 03:29 PM, said:


What if neither you nor your playing partner can see the green surface (uphill shot)? Suppose in that case your ball is hit and moves 5 feet.  Is it like that "if a tree falls in the woods and nobody hears it"?

If nobody knows it happened, it would never come into question and be an issue.  Play on

21



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors