Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Rules question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 darter79

darter79

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 66967
  • Joined: 10/03/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 43

Posted 13 November 2017 - 01:20 PM

I know we all see this a lot with caddies lining up puts shots ect.. but from a rules standpoint can a caddie physically alien the club to the target?  We have this one caddie that does this all the time.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#2 augustgolf

augustgolf

    Golf with dignity

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,183 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 438244
  • Joined: 08/25/2016
  • Location:Coastal NC
  • Handicap:0
  • Ebay ID:augustgolf
GolfWRX Likes : 2219

Posted 13 November 2017 - 01:46 PM

Attached File  Alien Wedge - Worst Golf Club Ever - CaddyDigest.jpg   94.38K   7 downloads
Pings from the beginning

OGA member 1415
or is it 1514...
I don't remember exactly

2

#3 Socrates

Socrates

    How can it be so *&#% hard to make a shoulder turn?

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 7,518 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 60534
  • Joined: 07/15/2008
  • Location:Winnipeg
GolfWRX Likes : 2664

Posted 13 November 2017 - 01:50 PM

For another 13 months, I can’t see why they can’t. After that, they will be alienated. �
Ping G400 9 TFC 419 Stiff at 45" Ping G30 10.5 Ping TFC 419 Reg or Stiff Jazz Bear Cat 3 wd Aerotech Stiff Ping i20 3 Hyb 707H Stiff X2 Hot 5-PW Recoil Reg - D2 Vokey SM2 52 cc Ping ES 56 and ES 60 Scotty X7M Dual 38"

3

#4 heavy_hitter

heavy_hitter

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,296 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 366715
  • Joined: 03/16/2015
GolfWRX Likes : 803

Posted 13 November 2017 - 07:29 PM

I have know idea.

On a side note, I know I would have made a snide comment after about ohhhhh the third shot.  That is ridiculous.

4

#5 darter79

darter79

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 66967
  • Joined: 10/03/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 43

Posted 13 November 2017 - 08:47 PM

View Postheavy_hitter, on 13 November 2017 - 07:29 PM, said:

I have know idea.

On a side note, I know I would have made a snide comment after about ohhhhh the third shot.  That is ridiculous.

I understand the girl is 5 and learning but on every shot. I get helping am I aliened right quick check move on, but to get down adjust the club head, really bad on putts. Absurd.

Is it 2019 yet, that will be interesting when those rules come down.


5

#6 wildcatden

wildcatden

    China Cat Sunflower

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 481904
  • Joined: 09/14/2017
GolfWRX Likes : 18

Posted 13 November 2017 - 10:58 PM

Complain to your tournament director in private. Usually, they will then get the starter to mention that this practice is not really encouraged (without having the starter mention whether it is legal or not).

Unfortunately, I believe they are within the rules as long as they are not using any training equipment. For example, I think the caddie could lay down a driver from the bag to give them the line in front of the ball, but then remove it and get off to the side. However, if the caddie used one of those alignment sticks then that would be illegal.  Note, if we are talking USKG tournament, they are supposed to take their shot within 45 seconds. Warning after first violation. Penalty stroke afterwards. Never seen it called. Would certainly be an interesting round of golf if ever was called.

Edited by wildcatden, 13 November 2017 - 11:00 PM.


6

#7 Guia

Guia

    Ancient Dude

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,941 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 97501
  • Joined: 10/28/2009
  • Location:Southwest
  • Handicap:12
GolfWRX Likes : 1870

Posted 13 November 2017 - 11:52 PM

I don't think laying a driver in front of ball would be legal.  That makes it a training aid, which is not allowed.

I could be wrong, but as an opponent I would protect, also protest if the caddie is actually touches the head of the club to align the shot.

Edited by Guia, 13 November 2017 - 11:54 PM.


7

#8 Noles

Noles

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,064 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 136360
  • Joined: 08/14/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 256

Posted 14 November 2017 - 11:10 AM

I remember in a US Kids tournament years ago a parent being told that they cannot physically touch the player when lining them up.  Not sure if that is really a rule or not or whether it also includes the club.

8

#9 Noles

Noles

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,064 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 136360
  • Joined: 08/14/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 256

Posted 14 November 2017 - 11:12 AM

View PostGuia, on 13 November 2017 - 11:52 PM, said:

I don't think laying a driver in front of ball would be legal.  That makes it a training aid, which is not allowed.

I could be wrong, but as an opponent I would protect, also protest if the caddie is actually touches the head of the club to align the shot.
You can lay a club down to use as alignment as long as it is removed prior to making the stroke/swing.  I remember when I first saw someone do this back in my days of caddying, my first instinct was that it was illegal.  The guy had checked ahead of time with the pro and it was in fact legal.

9

#10 wildcatden

wildcatden

    China Cat Sunflower

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 481904
  • Joined: 09/14/2017
GolfWRX Likes : 18

Posted 14 November 2017 - 01:58 PM

Looked at USGA rule 8-2. http://www.usga.org/...ml#!rule-08,8-2 (specifically rule 8-2b)

"b. On the Putting Green

When the player's ball is on the putting green, the line of putt may be indicated before, but not during, the stroke by the player, his partner or either of their caddies; in doing so the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere for the purpose of indicating a line of putt."


Seems pretty clear. For your junior golfer, I would recommend this: practice your putting at practice. Use all of the alignment aids you want in practice. When it comes time for tournaments, I'd steer clear as this isn't going to help a junior develop the skills necessary anyway.

Edited by wildcatden, 14 November 2017 - 01:58 PM.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors