Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Are they really that much longer

69 replies to this topic

#1 arzee2

arzee2

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 134946
GolfWRX Likes : 14

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:32 AM

While I was playing with  friend the other day I tried his Ping G 7 iron. I usually hit my 714AP2 7 iron 155 with a controlled swing. I hit the ping 180. Then I tried the 8 iron. I usually hit it 145 this went 160 into the wind.

My Ap2 irons have steelfiber i95 S and his Ping G irons had the AWT2.0 S.

I have been playing blades and then AP2 irons since I started playing again 5 or 6 years ago. I haven't hit SGI or GI clubs in over a decade. Are they all that long?

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

GolfWRX Forums

Advertisement

#2 Ri_Redneck

Ri_Redneck

Leather for Life!!

• ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 4,294 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 31808
GolfWRX Likes : 1007

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:34 AM

It's not uncommon for SGI lofts to be two clubs stronger in the long irons. 7s become 5s.

BT
DR #1. RED Amp Cell Pro w/ ATX Red 65 TX 44.5",
DR #2. BLUE Bio Cell Pro w/ ATX Blue 75 X 44.5"
DR #3. WHITE Fly-Z+ w/ Kiyoshi White 75 S 44.5"
DR #4. King LTD Black w/ SpeedrulZ Type A 70 S 44.5"
DR #5. Matte Black Fly-Z + w/ Aldila Rip Beta 70 X 44.5"
RED Bio Cell 3-4 W/ 7Q3 S, BLUE King F6 3-4 w/ Speeder 757 BO Ltd., WHITE Fly-Z 3-4 w/ Speeder 757 US Open Ltd
RED AC 3-4 w/ 7Q3 S, Matte Black Fly-Z 3-4 w/ Rip Beta 80 S - All at 43"
BLUE Bio Cell 5-7 w/ Speeder 757 S British Open LTD, RED Amp Cell 5-7 w/ 8Q3 S, WHITE Fly-Z 5-7 Fubuki Alpha 80 X - All at 42"
Cobra Amp Cell Pro 4-pw Aldila Rip Tour 115 R