Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Does this count as a hole-in-one?


48 replies to this topic

#31 Under2hours

Under2hours

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,182 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 383344
  • Joined: 06/30/2015
  • Location:Toronto
  • Handicap:13.2
GolfWRX Likes : 364

Posted 11 September 2017 - 01:54 PM


If you're playing two balls, and the first goes in the water, is the second one you hit supposed to be your third stroke for the first ball, or you first stroke for your second ball? I bet you'd chose the latter if you holed out. Fortunately for anyone justifying a hole in one when playing two balls, there's not really rules behind playing two balls, because it's not an official round, and none of your scores would really be official.

I'd be frustrated had it happened to me. I prefer to play by the rules to the best of my knowledge and ability as much as I can so I can honestly post a good round, or if by chance it happened, a really rare and great shot.

The practice round thing doesn't really apply.. It'd be an ace if you played the same course twice in a day, sure, unless there's a rule about that? But I'm guessing there's not, since tournaments do it under certain circumstances plenty.

I personally think it's hard to argue.. I mean, the argument is stronger if it's your first shot, sure, but I don't see how it'd be justified on your second shot, or tee shot in the scenario of a par 3, as you literally would've had a practice shot already (which I understand hardly increases your odds of making an ace), but since the argument for the latter is much stronger, by default, it carries over to the first scenario, and it just doesn't count when you're playing more than one ball, and neither does your score. If your score for an entire round doesn't count for anything, how does your score on one of the holes count for anything?


Not sure the point or if you answered the question.  I told the OP it was not a HIO as it was not his first shot playing that hole as he played holes that round (similar to me putting it in the water).


Now if he had played multiple balls on I don't care how many holes and walked up to this tee box and got a HIO on his first ball, it is a HIO.


I was only using an example.


Here is a situation I had.  Junior were teeing off so I decided to run down 18 and played 17 (par 3) & 18 while I waited as could see they were empty).  Proceeded to then follow the Juniors.  They were slow as mollasses and again then whil waiting went to #15 (another par 3 and hit a few tee shots) and played the holes.  Finally they were gone after 9.  


Now if I got a HIO when I played 15 or 17 while waiting on the juniors or when I actually got around to it it is in my opinion a HIO as long as the first hit whenever I play the hole.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#32 RRFireblade

RRFireblade

    AKA Jay.

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,764 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 23410
  • Joined: 01/01/2007
  • Location:Central Florida
  • Handicap:+6.2
  • Ebay ID:RRFireblade
GolfWRX Likes : 2725

Posted 11 September 2017 - 02:20 PM

View PostUnder2hours, on 11 September 2017 - 11:29 AM, said:

View PostRRFireblade, on 11 September 2017 - 08:06 AM, said:

View PostUnder2hours, on 11 September 2017 - 07:50 AM, said:

Again congrats to the OP (and from the blacks).  This one was a fine line, however was the second shot you took on the hole (though a different tee).  Razor thin line regardless in my opinion.

What bothers me to no end is the how a great shot is just scoffed at if one does anything in a round that would negate it.

Example....  Playing golf at the club and it is crowded with a few slow groups, so I started to zigzag the course to find an opening, played a few holes and then returned to my original position to and resumed the round (late in the day so no one behind me).  Playing alone so on some holes would hit an extra ball.  On #10 , which was one of the holes I played earlier I got a hole in one (no need to hit an extra shot)!!!!!  It is a hole I use the same club every time and nothing is different any rounds I play as I swing, hit and pray.  No one saw me, but I would never lie about anything as sacred as a HIO.  Walked in the clubhouse and announced it and was told it did not count. I asked if it was a hole I did not play prior was it a HIO and told no also as I was alone and not playing a round as had used multiple balls prior.

I can understand your frustration with the concept. I guess one just has to understand and accept the rules and spirit of the game. Most everyone can hit a great shot, given enough attempts, number one...and number 2, pressure and stress are probably the number one cause for failure and performance issues in the game by a long shot.

When one goes out hitting multiple balls, playing random holes and some of them multiple times, you simply remove most of the things the majority of people struggle with in this game. No pressure, no stress, no consequences...therefore no trophies.

How many 3' putts for par or bogey do you think I miss? How many do you think I miss for birdie or eagle? How about when I have 10 grand on the line and a miss sends me home broke?

The game is about one swing, one stroke. If you want the credit for the many milestones in the game, play it by the rules and earn the credit. Simple as that.

IMO  :)

Again you miss the point.  I can hit as many shots as I want, and if i get up to the hole and put it int he hole on my first swing I have attained and made a HIO.

Now let's pretend another scenario.  I am playing in a charity golf tournament and arrive very early and decide to go play 9 prior with the blessing of the club.

Now there is a car for a HIO and lo and behold I make a HIO.  Do I win the car (even though I have already played the hole that day prior to the tournament and let's pretend hit 2-3 balls into the green)?

Damn right I do!!!!!  Same for the club member who has played the hole a 1000X's before and happens to be signed up and now got another one.

A HIO is HIO is a HIO......

I missed no point. You either played by the rules or didn't.

You didn't. No point to be made other than that.

Charity tourny scores don't count either. And you can buy as many shots at the free car as you want. Again, not in the rules of golf. So no you can't record the score for the day or the round even if you paid for a dozen shots and holed each and every one. ;)

BUT....

"You" can do whatever you want, claim whatever you want, tell people whatever makes you happy. In the end, you are the only one you have to convince. Everyday someone claims a round that didn't follow the rules, hit a second shot as practice or did a dozen other things that the rules forbid. I'm sure they sleep just fine as I'm sure you will too. :)

Have a good one.
XRP 8.5* XS
XRP #3 XS
Cally Apex MB 3i-9i PX 7.0
Cally MD3 52*/56*/60*
Scotty Studio Select Custom

2

#33 Under2hours

Under2hours

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,182 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 383344
  • Joined: 06/30/2015
  • Location:Toronto
  • Handicap:13.2
GolfWRX Likes : 364

Posted 12 September 2017 - 04:36 AM

You can't buy shots for a car on a HIO in any scramble tournament I've played.  You get one shot when you get to the hole.  

The point I was making is that someone who is a member of the course or played it multiple times has the advantage of knowing the hole and what to do, and I have already in my scenario played it earlier.  

Still hit the ball and it goes in and the car is in no questions asked and it is a HIO.

3

#34 atteberry23

atteberry23

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 474820
  • Joined: 07/12/2017
  • Location:Bradford PA
  • Handicap:3
  • Ebay ID:attebeerry
GolfWRX Likes : 10

Posted 12 September 2017 - 09:34 AM

Funny story.  I went out late last fall and played 3 balls (I went after work and only played 5 holes).  I hit a "hole in one" on 17 my first ever.  I was super bummed b.c I knew it wasn't a legit hole in one. That was on a Thursday.  Everyone was giving me grief about it, teasing me.  I went out Saturday and hit a legit one, so the first one really didn't matter!

Hopefully you get another one!

4

#35 Under2hours

Under2hours

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,182 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 383344
  • Joined: 06/30/2015
  • Location:Toronto
  • Handicap:13.2
GolfWRX Likes : 364

Posted 12 September 2017 - 02:24 PM

View Postatteberry23, on 12 September 2017 - 09:34 AM, said:

Funny story.  I went out late last fall and played 3 balls (I went after work and only played 5 holes).  I hit a "hole in one" on 17 my first ever.  I was super bummed b.c I knew it wasn't a legit hole in one. That was on a Thursday.  Everyone was giving me grief about it, teasing me.  I went out Saturday and hit a legit one, so the first one really didn't matter!

Hopefully you get another one!
If with the first ball on the hole it was a HIO.  

Wow two in a week......Well done......


5

#36 mablax12

mablax12

    I can put what I want here?!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 382562
  • Joined: 06/25/2015
  • Location:NYC
GolfWRX Likes : 4

Posted 09 February 2018 - 11:35 AM

The one I've hit I was playing with my dad to an uphill blind location. Absolutely shite shot that was about 15' off the ground and well left, took a hop off a hill and must have been the perfect hop. Spent a couple minutes looking in the rough before taking a "peek" in the hole. Pops was still walking up from his second so didnt actually see it go in. How does this change the situation? There was no issue but I could've theoretically kicked it in or so,etching and still had someone to attest...

View PostMoonlightgrm, on 09 September 2017 - 10:10 PM, said:

The fact that you were playing alone, ends the discussion. I was playing alone one evening and aced our 14th hole. When I told our pro about my good fortune, he asked me who attested your shot? When I told him, no one, he asked me how many aces I'd had prior to this one. I told him, one. His response? "You still have one." Ouch!


6

#37 Viktoryred3

Viktoryred3

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 492022
  • Joined: 01/27/2018
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Handicap:15
  • Ebay ID:Viktoryred3
GolfWRX Likes : 33

Posted 09 February 2018 - 12:35 PM

I’d say yes with an asterisk*

7

#38 596

596

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,434 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 122006
  • Joined: 02/09/2011
  • Location:Lakeland, FL
GolfWRX Likes : 1428

Posted 11 February 2018 - 05:02 PM

So lets compare.  You are out playing a practice round and you hit 2 tee shots on a hole, among all the other practice shots you took.  One of those tee shots goes 287 and one goes 320.  I'm betting nearly every single person on this board would say that was a 300 yard tee shot!!!

Same difference.  It was a tee shot that went over 300 just like the tee shot that went into the hole.

8

#39 TigerWoodsIV

TigerWoodsIV

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 8669
  • Joined: 12/12/2005
GolfWRX Likes : 11

Posted 16 February 2018 - 12:32 PM

It's a hole in one and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. As far as posting, based on the disjointed nature of your round, you can't post it.  But imagine if you played all 18 from the blues and the blacks at the same time.  You'd have 2 scores, and one of them has a hole in one.  At least that's how I'd imagine it'd work.

Either way, you tee up a ball and get it in in one shot without hitting from the same tee beforehand and hitting it OB or something, it counts.  They're too damn rare to argue over the semantics, just enjoy it haha.

9

#40 Under2hours

Under2hours

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,182 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 383344
  • Joined: 06/30/2015
  • Location:Toronto
  • Handicap:13.2
GolfWRX Likes : 364

Posted 17 February 2018 - 08:07 AM

How about you're playing 36 holes and the second time you play you get a HIO.  Why is it a HIO since you already played the hole earlier (same pin and yardage)?

Some people love to suck the joy out of the game.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#41 Bbo569

Bbo569

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 392170
  • Joined: 08/19/2015
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Handicap:8
  • Ebay ID:Uscbbo
GolfWRX Likes : 42

Posted 17 February 2018 - 09:54 AM

I would say no by the rules but you can’t take away the fact that you hit it in

11

#42 kujosit

kujosit

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 46695
  • Joined: 01/22/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 29

Posted 18 February 2018 - 11:13 PM

I had a similar situation happened to me several years ago.  I played 2 balls, 1st was official and 2nd was "for fun".  One the 4th hole (197 yards) par 3, I hit my first ball and it went in...  Felt incredible, but sadly, not a hole in one according to rules...  Oh well...

12

#43 nsxguy

nsxguy

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,029 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 431858
  • Joined: 07/08/2016
  • Location:Florida
  • Handicap:3.8
GolfWRX Likes : 1426

Posted 18 February 2018 - 11:25 PM

View PostUnder2hours, on 17 February 2018 - 08:07 AM, said:

How about you're playing 36 holes and the second time you play you get a HIO.  Why is it a HIO since you already played the hole earlier (same pin and yardage)?

Some people love to suck the joy out of the game.
Posted Image
Callaway Fusion 9* Project X Handcrafted Hzrdus Black "60" 6.0
Adams A12 Pro hybrids, 16*, 20*, 23*, Aldila VS Proto Stiff
Ping G20 5-U, DG S300
Cleveland RTX-3 56* SW & 64* LW
TaylorMade Tour Spider Black

Chrome Soft Truvis Yellow/Black

13

#44 franklin15

franklin15

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 478032
  • Joined: 08/08/2017
  • Location:Ohio
GolfWRX Likes : 24

Posted 19 February 2018 - 12:19 AM

does wherever you going to display the ball care. no.

14

#45 nsxguy

nsxguy

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,029 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 431858
  • Joined: 07/08/2016
  • Location:Florida
  • Handicap:3.8
GolfWRX Likes : 1426

Posted 19 February 2018 - 07:29 AM

View Postfranklin15, on 19 February 2018 - 12:19 AM, said:

does wherever you going to display the ball care. no.

But HE will know,,,,,,,,,,, and forever have to tell people "But it was only a practice round hitting multiple balls, so it's not really "official"".

Callaway Fusion 9* Project X Handcrafted Hzrdus Black "60" 6.0
Adams A12 Pro hybrids, 16*, 20*, 23*, Aldila VS Proto Stiff
Ping G20 5-U, DG S300
Cleveland RTX-3 56* SW & 64* LW
TaylorMade Tour Spider Black

Chrome Soft Truvis Yellow/Black

15

#46 Under2hours

Under2hours

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,182 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 383344
  • Joined: 06/30/2015
  • Location:Toronto
  • Handicap:13.2
GolfWRX Likes : 364

Posted 19 February 2018 - 01:23 PM

View Postkujosit, on 18 February 2018 - 11:13 PM, said:

I had a similar situation happened to me several years ago.  I played 2 balls, 1st was official and 2nd was "for fun".  One the 4th hole (197 yards) par 3, I hit my first ball and it went in...  Felt incredible, but sadly, not a hole in one according to rules...  Oh well...
Your's is a HIO.....  You walked up to the tee and sank your first shot.

Why is that any different then arriving 2 hours early and practising every shot and distance possible?

Or maybe if your HIO is on the 17th or 18th hole it shouldn't count because you've spent a hole round playing getting comfortable and knowing the conditions.

You people are something else with your stubbornness when discussing rules.

Edited by Under2hours, 19 February 2018 - 03:17 PM.


16

#47 driveandputtmachine

driveandputtmachine

    4 wedges or 2 iron? That is the question!

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 1,034 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 302417
  • Joined: 03/18/2014
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Handicap:0.0
GolfWRX Likes : 550

Posted 19 February 2018 - 02:17 PM

Unfortunately it is not a hole in one.  I have some official ones, and I have a few non official ones.

Non Official......
Screwing around trying to play slower than the groups ahead of me I was hitting 2 and 3 balls from each shot into the green.  I was making sure of loft changes and average and max distances the ball traveled.  Hole number 6 is a hole I absolutely hate at the previous course I was a member at.  I hit a thin to win shot that hit the flag and dropped with my second ball.

I was out playing by myself one afternoon and trying to get the round in before the rain hit.  I only hit one ball on every shot, and on hole 16 I knocked it in.  Unfortunately there was no one even remotely close to have witnessed it.
Driver - Cobra F8+ on Aldila NV 2KXV Green
Fairway - Callaway F8+ on UST Axivcore Black
Hybrid - TM UDI 2 iron on Nippon 130
Irons - Srixon 565 4-6 on Nippon Modus 130.
Srixon 765 7-PW on Nippon Modus 130
Wedges - Cleveland Rotex 2.0 50*, 54*, 60* w/ Nippon 130
Putter - Mannkrafted MA/66 or Sunset Beach Custom - Ocean Isle Beach black
Ball - Snell MTB or Srixon Z Star XV

17

#48 Hehateme

Hehateme

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 450 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 133784
  • Joined: 07/21/2011
  • Location:North Florida
GolfWRX Likes : 161

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:20 PM

15 years ago or so, Par 3 145 yards. My brother and me arguing over what club I should hit. I tell him it is a 9, he insists it is a wedge as it is downwind. So, I hit the wedge, come up short. Walk back to the cart, pull a 9 and promptly knock it in the hole. Turned around and told him "I told you it was a 9". I 2 putted for PAR

true story

Edited by Hehateme, 27 February 2018 - 09:21 PM.


18

#49 Jackrwesty

Jackrwesty

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 497494
  • Joined: 03/30/2018
  • Location:California
  • Handicap:6
  • Ebay ID:Jacksonwestermeyer19
GolfWRX Likes : 25

Posted 29 April 2018 - 04:25 PM

Put that ball on the mantle!


COUNT IT!

19



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors