Blade Junkie, on 05 April 2017 - 04:05 AM, said:
jonnygrouville, on 05 April 2017 - 03:33 AM, said:
Just seen the marking footage. Ridiculous. Professional golfer you don't like? Just pick up the 'phone and dial 0800-PGA-NUTS.
I'm going to have to sit in the minority camp on this one ... the only person at fault is Lexi for me ... marking a golf ball on a green properly is not a difficult thing to do ... to do what she did, mark the ball completely on the other side of her marker, can only be deliberate, especially at the speed at which it all happened. With the rules being what they are, I think she was very lucky she didn't get DQ'd, and that they gave her the benefit of the doubt that it wasn't intentional.
If she'd never missed a short putt ever, then OK you could argue "no advantage", but Lexi has a history of missing very short putts, some yes only a foot, and in my opinion she saw something on her line that she didn't like and marked in such a way that the line became something different that she preferred. We've all had putts like that ... patch of mud on the line, spike mark or ball in a slight depression etc etc. It's a tough break, but part of the game as it stands today ... you have to putt it from where it is .. not from a different position that takes the blemish, or doubt in your mind, out of it.
A year ago, her flaky short putting was discussed at length on the Golf Channel's Morning Drive. Here is the link: http://www.golfchann...ruggles-putter/
Nicole Castrale says at about 1 min 18 secs that some of the misses are a foot.
Her reaction to the ruling was very impressive - big stones to make the birdies to get herself into the play off. Yes a shame she didn't win, but s*** happens in life. I think she'll come through this just fine, and I highly doubt she'll ever mark a ball improperly again.
The episode does highlight that Pros need to be more vigilant on what their playing partners are doing when marking the ball. From what Mickelson was saying, this is sadly not a rare occurrence. I can only recall three main Tour players ever being pulled up for it ... Eliot Saltman, Chela Choi, and now Lexi.
The issue that only a few players are under the cameras is true, but no difference to what happens with motoring speeding offences in wider life. The rules are there, well known, and if you choose to break them and get caught then there are consequences. Though I must admit it did piss me off that last time I was booked for speeding and was sat in the Police car, that at least ten cars came by at speeds well in excess of what I had been doing
Well said, Geoff. I will quibble with your theory a bit but you have some great points.
First of all, I agree that it's possible that she noticed a spike mark or irregularity of some sort and fudged it a millimeter or two to get around it. I have seen some very good players do the same in tournaments I have played in. I think it happens more often than anyone would ever imagine. I have never called anyone on this. Either I don't have the stones for it, or I saw no real compatetive advantage, since they are going to make the 18" putt 99.5 per cent of the time anyway. I am also playing in the Safeway Grocery Amateur Invitational so the stakes are...um, lower.
However, I have looked at the Lexi replay 15 times and she marks it so casually that it just doesn't seem deliberate to me. She marked from the side which was the root of the problem. I do agree that the ball was mismarked so I agree in principle with the ruling. The ball marking rule was broken. Two strokes. Moving on folks, nothing to see here.
Unfortunately it didn't happen that way.
This is where I really have an issue with all of this.
The penalty was called and assessed, not by a fellow player, or a LPGA rules official or the tournament rules committee that night. It was assessed THE NEXT DAY, due to an email from some anal retentive person who may or may not have had something to gain from this. Not only did this happen the following day, but 3/4 of the way through her round when she had little time to make up the 4 strokes. This seems blatantly unfair in the extreme to me. The rule about signing an incorrect card when you had no idea it was incorrect is just bafflingly stupid.
It's either two strokes immediately after the round, before cards are signed and official, or get rid of the signing an incorrect card rule altogether. If this rule were eliminated then there would be time to assess things and penalty strokes could be assessed, if necessary, before the next day's play.
This is also completely unfair to So Yeon Ryu as well, she "won" the ANA, a major for her resume, but it will always be clouded with this. She is by all accounts a classy young lady. This sucks for her too.
And finally, it is always my hope in situations like this that something really crazy neat will happen. Like they tee it up for the playoff and So Yeon hits it out on purpose to not only concede the trophy to her opponent but to tweak the noses of the power that be that can't seem to get out of their own way. I hope one of these days at the Grilled Cheese Amateur Open I have this opportunity to do something like this. I'd like to think I would blast one OB and then head to the bar and buy a round for everyone. That would feel good.