Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Hip Replacement - How long till you golfed again @ 100%

93 replies to this topic

#31 Forged4ever

Forged4ever

Putting is 98%+ Mental...Numbers & Mechanics? Yea Right€

• ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 13,650 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 183106
GolfWRX Likes : 23105

Posted 23 October 2016 - 08:07 PM

View Postshort game, on 23 October 2016 - 06:47 PM, said:

choosing surgeons is an opaque process. as a surgeon myself i had some trouble deciding. so i can imagine how difficult it is. numbers are important - however a lead surgeon at a large institution can "cherry pick" his cases, this can lead to outcomes that may look better than they really are because high risk cases have gone elsewhere.

i knew the regional rep for a large prosthetic company. he gave me like 5 names. 2 of the names he gave me didn't even use his prosthesis - so you knew they were good.

its really amazing to me that we don't have better metrics to choose surgeons. all of this data should be available to patients and insurance companies.
Your honesty is refreshing!!

The problem lies with Your Fellow and Lady Surgeons(though this too is a guy thing cuz whether it be Chief of Surgery at a Major Institution or the Officers in the National Organizations and specialty "colleges," well, its a guy thing).

However, #1, getting a bunch of surgeons together in one room, unless it specifically pertains to them and their self interests is like herding cats and #2, getting a committed consensus would take an Act of God.