Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

- - - - -

Garmin S20 GPS Watch


589 replies to this topic

#541 pitchinwedge

pitchinwedge

    Major Winner

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 1,479 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83576
  • Joined: 05/22/2009
  • Location:So Cal
  • Handicap:7.6
GolfWRX Likes : 367

Posted 04 May 2017 - 11:30 PM

^^  hah!  I tried this so many times.  I distinctly remember one instance where I just couldn't get the thing to record my location no matter what.  I hit the turf so many times they thought I was the gardener.

917 D2 8.50* - Tensei CK Pro White 60
917 F2 13.5* - Rogue Max 70
816 H2 19.0* - D+ Plus 90
716 T-MB (3i, 4i) - Modus 120
716 CB (5-PW) - Modus 120
Hogan TK15 - 49, 55
Edel Deschutes

Photo WITB

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#542 HoosierMizuno

HoosierMizuno

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,664 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 87620
  • Joined: 07/06/2009
  • Handicap:5
GolfWRX Likes : 697

Posted 05 May 2017 - 11:29 AM

is there a way to delete a shot from the watch while playing. if it registers a swing and ask you for the club hit and you hit the back button will it delete the shot or will it still show up once you log in to the pc
TM M2 10.5 w/ Rogue Silver 70 S
TM M2 3HL w/ Rogue Black 70 S
Titleist 915H 18* w/ Rogue Black 85 S
J15CB w/ Modus 120X
Ping Glide 50, 54, 58
Odyssey O-Works #9

2

#543 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 05 May 2017 - 11:37 AM

View PostHoosierMizuno, on 05 May 2017 - 11:29 AM, said:

is there a way to delete a shot from the watch while playing. if it registers a swing and ask you for the club hit and you hit the back button will it delete the shot or will it still show up once you log in to the pc

It wont delete the shot, it will just show-up without an assigned club. Only way to delete them is through Garmin Connect.

3

#544 BlackDiamondPar5

BlackDiamondPar5

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,514 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 71580
  • Joined: 12/30/2008
  • Location:Western NY
GolfWRX Likes : 1898

Posted 05 May 2017 - 11:47 AM

View Postpitchinwedge, on 04 May 2017 - 11:30 PM, said:

^^  hah!  I tried this so many times.  I distinctly remember one instance where I just couldn't get the thing to record my location no matter what.  I hit the turf so many times they thought I was the gardener.

Hmm... weird then-- I don't have the S20 but rather X40. It rarely misses a shot, but if it does and I catch it, I will swing again from the same spot. Normally it happens when I first turn it on at the first tee. Also sometimes it picks up a practice swing, but since I making that swing next to my ball it doesn't matter since the location is recorded correctly.

Maybe a call to Garmin -- they have good state side support.

4

#545 Redpro

Redpro

    Advanced

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 456 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 107190
  • Joined: 04/30/2010
GolfWRX Likes : 234

Posted 12 May 2017 - 07:31 PM

My Garmin Approach S20 GPS watch just can't locate any courses nearby, even when I'm standing on a course. It worked okay for two rounds and does not work now.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Edited by Redpro, 12 May 2017 - 08:24 PM.


5

#546 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 13 May 2017 - 03:35 AM

View PostRedpro, on 12 May 2017 - 07:31 PM, said:

My Garmin Approach S20 GPS watch just can't locate any courses nearby, even when I'm standing on a course. It worked okay for two rounds and does not work now.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

I've had that happen twice with my x40. Try hooking it up to Garmin express on your computer and see if it shows if any course updates available.  That worked both times for me but if that doesn't work, call Garmin support.

Edited by Stuart G., 13 May 2017 - 03:36 AM.


6

#547 pitchinwedge

pitchinwedge

    Major Winner

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 1,479 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83576
  • Joined: 05/22/2009
  • Location:So Cal
  • Handicap:7.6
GolfWRX Likes : 367

Posted 13 May 2017 - 09:48 AM

+1

Also, if you traveled a good distance it takes a long time to acquire satellites.
917 D2 8.50* - Tensei CK Pro White 60
917 F2 13.5* - Rogue Max 70
816 H2 19.0* - D+ Plus 90
716 T-MB (3i, 4i) - Modus 120
716 CB (5-PW) - Modus 120
Hogan TK15 - 49, 55
Edel Deschutes

Photo WITB

7

#548 Redpro

Redpro

    Advanced

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 456 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 107190
  • Joined: 04/30/2010
GolfWRX Likes : 234

Posted 13 May 2017 - 09:23 PM

View PostStuart G., on 13 May 2017 - 03:35 AM, said:

View PostRedpro, on 12 May 2017 - 07:31 PM, said:

My Garmin Approach S20 GPS watch just can't locate any courses nearby, even when I'm standing on a course. It worked okay for two rounds and does not work now.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

I've had that happen twice with my x40. Try hooking it up to Garmin express on your computer and see if it shows if any course updates available.  That worked both times for me but if that doesn't work, call Garmin support.

That's the route I took, new course update and new version update. Tried it today and it worked perfectly! Thanks!

8

#549 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 14 May 2017 - 04:21 AM

No problem.  

It's not common, but I believe if a course update fails or is interrupted, it leaves the device thinking there are no courses loaded and that's why it can't find a course near you.  Fortunately, going back and reloading the courses has always fixed it for me.

9

#550 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 24 May 2017 - 11:35 AM

This is a bit crazy.  I've searched for a picture of the s20 with the regular 'time' display and couldn't find one.

Simple question for those of you who own one - does it (can it) show seconds?  or just hour, minutes, and date?

Edited by Stuart G., 24 May 2017 - 11:38 AM.


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#551 Two_Putt

Two_Putt

    SEASONS GREETINGS

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 1,209 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 316443
  • Joined: 05/22/2014
  • Location:Chico, CA
  • Handicap:HIGH
  • Ebay ID:Par_Hunter
GolfWRX Likes : 499

Posted 24 May 2017 - 12:19 PM

Just the time. No minutes or seconds.

11

#552 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 24 May 2017 - 12:21 PM

Bummer.   But thanks.

Edited by Stuart G., 24 May 2017 - 12:21 PM.


12

#553 enigma2k

enigma2k

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 281955
  • Joined: 10/28/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 07 June 2017 - 05:38 PM

Is it possible to manually track the distance of a shot by pressing a button? As far as I can see the watch only tracks shots when you actually hit one but it is not possible to track something if you did not hit a ball or if the watch missed a shot?

13

#554 enigma2k

enigma2k

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 281955
  • Joined: 10/28/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 08 June 2017 - 05:13 PM

In settings there is "Club Tracking" and "Scoring" with the options  "Off", "Always Ask" and "On". Can anybody please explain what the difference is between "On" and "Always Ask"? The manual says nothing about it...

14

#555 emanthei

emanthei

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 122097
  • Joined: 02/11/2011
GolfWRX Likes : 4

Posted 08 June 2017 - 07:16 PM

View Postenigma2k, on 08 June 2017 - 05:13 PM, said:

In settings there is "Club Tracking" and "Scoring" with the options  "Off", "Always Ask" and "On". Can anybody please explain what the difference is between "On" and "Always Ask"? The manual says nothing about it...
Always ask will ask you if you want to use this feature before you start every round. If you put it to on it will always be on and won't ask you.


15

#556 enigma2k

enigma2k

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 281955
  • Joined: 10/28/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 12 June 2017 - 03:52 PM

where on the garmin connect website or smartphone app is it possible to see the average distances I'm hitting with the clubs?

16

#557 Abertil

Abertil

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 411736
  • Joined: 02/10/2016
  • Handicap:12
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 13 June 2017 - 02:04 AM

View Postenigma2k, on 12 June 2017 - 03:52 PM, said:

where on the garmin connect website or smartphone app is it possible to see the average distances I'm hitting with the clubs?

You will find it under Equipment.

17

#558 enigma2k

enigma2k

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 281955
  • Joined: 10/28/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 13 June 2017 - 02:39 AM

View PostAbertil, on 13 June 2017 - 02:04 AM, said:

View Postenigma2k, on 12 June 2017 - 03:52 PM, said:

where on the garmin connect website or smartphone app is it possible to see the average distances I'm hitting with the clubs?

You will find it under Equipment.

Where exactly is Equiment? can't find this in neither the iOS app nor the garmin connect website.

18

#559 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 13 June 2017 - 03:56 AM

Actually, it's listed under "Gear"

But you have to switch to the "full page" for the widget view to see the average distances

.Capture.PNG

19

#560 Abertil

Abertil

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 411736
  • Joined: 02/10/2016
  • Handicap:12
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 13 June 2017 - 04:22 AM

View PostStuart G., on 13 June 2017 - 03:56 AM, said:

Actually, it's listed under "Gear"

But you have to switch to the "full page" for the widget view to see the average distances

.Attachment Capture.PNG

I translated from my local language and gear and equipment is the same word... :swoon:  Sorry for the confusion!


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

20

#561 enigma2k

enigma2k

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 281955
  • Joined: 10/28/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 13 June 2017 - 05:26 AM

Thanks guys, I've found it. I really like the watch but the web platform and iOS app is a bit of a mess in regard to the UI. There is so much potential here that goes to waste. I hope they are working on a complete re-design.

21

#562 nlk10010

nlk10010

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 261162
  • Joined: 07/02/2013
  • Handicap:oo
GolfWRX Likes : 51

Posted 16 June 2017 - 06:55 AM

I just picked one (i.e. Approach S20) up and immediately ran into a problem. When I try to power the watch off I long-press "Up", the watch asks if I want to Power Off with "Yes" selected (enlarged). But when I press "Ok" nothing happens (except the backlight brightens). I have to keep pressing the button, perhaps altering depth or "AoA", until at some point the screen blanks and the watch finally powers off. "Ok" also seems not to work at some other points in the Menus (e.g. "Discard" round results) but never fails otherwise.

At first I thought (naturally) that this was a hardware issue with the button, but now I'm beginning to think that it MIGHT be software related (at initial charge I was prompted to Update the software).

Anyone else (especially those of you on the latest software) seen this?

TIA.

Edited by nlk10010, 16 June 2017 - 06:56 AM.


22

#563 pitchinwedge

pitchinwedge

    Major Winner

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 1,479 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83576
  • Joined: 05/22/2009
  • Location:So Cal
  • Handicap:7.6
GolfWRX Likes : 367

Posted 16 June 2017 - 10:09 AM

Nope.  Never had such an issue with power off.  Could be anything so update software first.  Then, if you still have problems call Garmin support.  They are actually pretty helpful most of the time.  Good luck!
917 D2 8.50* - Tensei CK Pro White 60
917 F2 13.5* - Rogue Max 70
816 H2 19.0* - D+ Plus 90
716 T-MB (3i, 4i) - Modus 120
716 CB (5-PW) - Modus 120
Hogan TK15 - 49, 55
Edel Deschutes

Photo WITB

23

#564 deadsolid...shank

deadsolid...shank

    Hall of Fame

  • ClubWRX Charter Members
  • 8,039 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 99408
  • Joined: 11/30/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 4033

Posted 22 June 2017 - 07:59 AM

How is the hole view working for everyone?  I don't really care about shot tracking but really like being able to "see" the hole and pinpoint distances on the screen. This feature quit working on my S6.
Titleist 910 8.5
Titleist 910 15*
Titleist 910H 17*
2-6 Mizuno MP-60, 7-PW MP-67
SC GoLo
Vokey SM5 52,58,62

24

#565 enigma2k

enigma2k

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 281955
  • Joined: 10/28/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 26 June 2017 - 02:59 PM

My S20 is only 1 month old and at the beginning the Autoshot tracking worked almost perfect but now I had a round where it registered shots that I did not make. Autoshot really messed up this round. Has anybody else experienced this and know the cause for this?


25

#566 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 27 June 2017 - 05:56 AM

I get false shots on occasion (with the x40), maybe a handful per 18 hole round. Have not really found them to be much of a problem though, they are easy to detect and delete when you log onto the connect web site and review the round.

Edited by Stuart G., 27 June 2017 - 05:57 AM.


26

#567 enigma2k

enigma2k

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 281955
  • Joined: 10/28/2013
GolfWRX Likes : 2

Posted 30 June 2017 - 03:59 PM

I sometimes have shots on the map that are not connected with the following shot on the map. Anybody knows why this happen?

27

#568 RobD74

RobD74

    Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 385782
  • Joined: 07/13/2015
  • Location:Glen Mills, Pa
  • Ebay ID:Rusty974
GolfWRX Likes : 18

Posted 17 July 2017 - 02:52 PM

I have an S3 now and wear it on my left wrist, I tend to hit the buttons with the wrist movement and it resets or changes modes, anyone have this issue with the S20?
The ever changing bag....

Titleist 917D3 10.5*
Callaway Big Bertha Fusion 15* 3 Wood

Titleist 716 TM-B 23*
Titleist 816h1 21*
Titleist AP2 712 Irons 5-P
Vokey SM5 54* SM6 58*
Odyssey O-Works 1W

28

#569 dcmidnight

dcmidnight

    Major Winner

  • Marshals
  • 2,865 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 18357
  • Joined: 08/24/2006
  • Location:NH native stuck in Northern Virginia
  • Handicap:6.1

Posted 04 August 2017 - 05:50 AM

So after almost 4 seasons my S1 is dying and wont hold a charge anymore. Even though its out of warranty Garmin is offering me 20% off any of their new watches but I just really don't want all of the bells an whistles - dont use them at all.

Can all of the extra "stuff" on the S20 be shut off? The pedometer I don't need showing, the shot tracker, can all of that be turned off?

Ordinarily I would just go to Amazon and buy an S2 or S6 but the 20% off offer makes the S20 a better deal, especially factoring in the battery upgrade.

Thanks.
'16 M2 10.5 - Kiyoshi White 65x
'16 M2 3W - Tour Blue 75s
Epic 3h - GD Tour ADs / Epic 3i - Steelfiber 95s
Cobra F7 Single Lengths 5-PW
Cleveland RTX3 tour raw blade - 56* / 60*
Toulon Indy 35" / TM TP5x

29

#570 Stuart G.

Stuart G.

    Legend

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,392 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 174728
  • Joined: 04/12/2012
  • Location:New Hampshire
GolfWRX Likes : 5011

Posted 04 August 2017 - 06:19 AM

Yes the activity tracking can be disabled

http://www8.garmin.c...CF83A1C570.html


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


Wanna get rid of this ugly yellow box? And remove other annoying "stuff" in between posts? Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

30



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors