Jump to content

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at GolfWRX such as viewing all the images, interacting with members, access to all forums and eligiblility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE GolfWRX account here.

* * * * * 1 votes

GPS Golf Guru - Any thoughts on this?


880 replies to this topic

#871 MrFlapjack

MrFlapjack

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,553 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 46436
  • Joined: 01/19/2008
  • Location:SK
  • Handicap:3.6
GolfWRX Likes : 614

Posted 27 July 2009 - 12:17 AM

Thanks for the information guys.  At this point I probably need to map out all the greens myself and see if that helps.  If it still seems to be off in yardage I will contact tech support about a possible replacement, or a second unit to try.

Cobra LTD Pro HZRDUS 75g 6.5 (Synergy Black 70TX tipped 1/2")
Ping 2014 Rapture 3W - Blueboard 73x5ct
Srixon Z U45 18, 20, 23 () (Testing Cobra F8 and Ping G 3 hybrids)
Srixon Z545 5-AW (SF i110 stiff) (Testing Cleveland CBX 7-PW, and Nike Vapor Fly 4-6 irons)
RTX 3.0 - 54 and 58 (SF i125 stiff) (Testing Cleveland CBX wedges 48, 52, 56 bent to 50, 54, 58)
YES Milly - 100gm TLP.  (Testing Ping Ketsch Mid)

Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


1

#872 GTakacs

GTakacs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83604
  • Joined: 05/22/2009
  • Ebay ID:gtakacs
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 27 July 2009 - 07:43 AM

View PostPlaneMaker, on Jul 26 2009, 08:13 PM, said:

When I use my Garmin eTrex the most accurate it would ever register was 10 feet.

10 feet might seem like a lot but that is pretty much as good as it has to get when it comes to conventional GPS without carrier phase tracking. Even with WAAS enabled GPS the requirement is to provide a position accuracy of 7.6 meters or better (for both lateral and vertical measurements), at least 95% of the time. Anything better than that and it's just gravy.

Here is a link to an article that plots accuracy curves for both WAAS and non-WAAS receivers. http://users.erols.c...son/gpswaas.htm

2

#873 phil75070

phil75070

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,894 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 1580
  • Joined: 06/11/2005
  • Location:North Texas - 32m North of Dallas
  • Handicap:3.6
GolfWRX Likes : 195

Posted 27 July 2009 - 08:15 AM

View PostGTakacs, on Jul 27 2009, 07:43 AM, said:

View PostPlaneMaker, on Jul 26 2009, 08:13 PM, said:

When I use my Garmin eTrex the most accurate it would ever register was 10 feet.

10 feet might seem like a lot but that is pretty much as good as it has to get when it comes to conventional GPS without carrier phase tracking. Even with WAAS enabled GPS the requirement is to provide a position accuracy of 7.6 meters or better (for both lateral and vertical measurements), at least 95% of the time. Anything better than that and it's just gravy.

Here is a link to an article that plots accuracy curves for both WAAS and non-WAAS receivers. http://users.erols.c...son/gpswaas.htm

Uh.....the information on that site is from 2001 and is outdated. A lot has changed with GPS technology since then. The 7M spec was the original WAAS spec but does not reflect actual performance of the system today. The FAA tests WAAS accuracy monthly and for June 2009 the 'mean' was under 2M and the worst site was still under 3.

Here is what Garmin says about relative accuracy of various forms of GPS:

100 meters: Accuracy of the original GPS system, which was subject to accuracy degradation under the government-imposed Selective Availability (SA) program.

15 meters: Typical GPS position accuracy without SA.

3-5 meters: Typical differential GPS (DGPS) position accuracy.

< 3 meters: Typical WAAS position accuracy.

3

#874 GTakacs

GTakacs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83604
  • Joined: 05/22/2009
  • Ebay ID:gtakacs
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:49 AM

View Postphil75070, on Jul 27 2009, 08:15 AM, said:

Uh.....the information on that site is from 2001 and is outdated. A lot has changed with GPS technology since then. The 7M spec was the original WAAS spec but does not reflect actual performance of the system today. The FAA tests WAAS accuracy monthly and for June 2009 the 'mean' was under 2M and the worst site was still under 3.
< 3 meters: Typical WAAS position accuracy.

Straight from the bottom of the website I have linked: The above analysis shows that WAAS can improve the accuracy of position measurement.  WAAS gave 95% of the time horizontal position within 3.2 meters and vertical position within 6.0 meters in these tests.  Averaging for2 or 3 hours reduced this to 95% of the time horizontal position within 2 meters and vertical position within 4 meters.

How is that different from saying Typical WAAS position accuracy < 3 meters? Sounds like nothing has changed in the past 8 years. And FYI 3.2 meters = 10.4 ft, the exact accuracy the above poster has mentioned.

Phil, if you want to pick a pissing contest, pick on someone else.....

4

#875 phil75070

phil75070

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,894 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 1580
  • Joined: 06/11/2005
  • Location:North Texas - 32m North of Dallas
  • Handicap:3.6
GolfWRX Likes : 195

Posted 27 July 2009 - 04:32 PM

Not trying to get into a "pissing contest". We just seem to have different ways of looking at things. You see the glass as half empty while I look at it as half full.  :)

Edited by phil75070, 27 July 2009 - 06:38 PM.


5

#876 GTakacs

GTakacs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 83604
  • Joined: 05/22/2009
  • Ebay ID:gtakacs
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 28 July 2009 - 09:31 AM

I just got an e-mail from GG saying they have fixed the power down issue when pushing the mark button on occasions. Woot! The 2.04 update only fixes this issue no further enhancements or fixes.

6

#877 MrFlapjack

MrFlapjack

    Major Winner

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,553 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 46436
  • Joined: 01/19/2008
  • Location:SK
  • Handicap:3.6
GolfWRX Likes : 614

Posted 04 August 2009 - 12:01 AM

I played another course course yesterday (Kananaskis) and had bad yardage readings with my G002.  One of the guys I played with had a SC 2.5, and on one hole the yardages were exact on front to back.  Then on another hole mine read 236 to center, and his read 285.  Several other holes were wrong as well, and the green outlines looked nothing like the actual green.  Do you have to map the greens yourself to get any accuracy for all 18 holes?  I get more frustrated everytime I use this thing, since I have to check for marked course yardages, and then see if the GPS yardages are even close.  Does anyone else experience this on a regular basis with the GG maps?  Do you regularly have to map the greens yourself?  thanks

Update:

I played 4 courses in Minnesota, and they were all mapped perfectly.  Maybe they have a problem mapping Canadian courses.

Edited by MrFlapjack, 25 August 2009 - 02:57 PM.

Cobra LTD Pro HZRDUS 75g 6.5 (Synergy Black 70TX tipped 1/2")
Ping 2014 Rapture 3W - Blueboard 73x5ct
Srixon Z U45 18, 20, 23 () (Testing Cobra F8 and Ping G 3 hybrids)
Srixon Z545 5-AW (SF i110 stiff) (Testing Cleveland CBX 7-PW, and Nike Vapor Fly 4-6 irons)
RTX 3.0 - 54 and 58 (SF i125 stiff) (Testing Cleveland CBX wedges 48, 52, 56 bent to 50, 54, 58)
YES Milly - 100gm TLP.  (Testing Ping Ketsch Mid)

7

#878 masterli

masterli

    Advanced

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 499 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 41139
  • Joined: 10/21/2007
  • Location:Chicago
GolfWRX Likes : 4

Posted 04 August 2009 - 12:19 AM

View PostMrFlapjack, on Aug 4 2009, 12:01 AM, said:

I played another course course yesterday (Kananaskis) and had bad yardage readings with my G002.  One of the guys I played with had a SC 2.5, and on one hole the yardages were exact on front to back.  Then on another hole mine read 236 to center, and his read 285.  Several other holes were wrong as well, and the green outlines looked nothing like the actual green.  Do you have to map the greens yourself to get any accuracy for all 18 holes?  I get more frustrated everytime I use this thing, since I have to check for marked course yardages, and then see if the GPS yardages are even close.  Does anyone else experience this on a regular basis with the GG maps?  Do you regularly have to map the greens yourself?  thanks

just ask them to remap it and they will take care of it.  i think i've only had a yardage problem once and that was probably me w/ a bad shot.  otherwise every time i've stood on a marker it was either exactly the yardage or 1 yard off which is pretty amazing.  honestly, i trust the gg yardage over anything else (someone else's gps, cart gps...) and it has served me well.  i did have a mapping problem once where a course was repeated (2 courses at the club) just w/ the different name.  They fixed it but then every hole was a par 4 (correct yardage though).  they fixed that promptly.  i have no problem w/ mistakes if they take care of it right away.

my current dilema is i'm loving this iPhone app Golfshot but since i trust the GG so much been using both lol.

8

#879 areiss

areiss

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 78557
  • Joined: 03/28/2009
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 08 August 2009 - 09:24 AM

The Gps Golf Guru is awesome.   If you use the code 1000063 for a discount at checkout.   You should check it out.

9

#880 rroger45

rroger45

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 55556
  • Joined: 05/11/2008
GolfWRX Likes : 0

Posted 02 September 2009 - 02:45 PM

For those of you that have been waiting for a G002 Guru, check out the following from the Guru Website.  No indication if these are new or refurb units.


"BACK BY POPULAR DEMAND - THE G002 GRAYSCALE GURU!
We received the message loud and clear. Buyers want a simple, reliable, and accurate GPS for golf. We will be bringing back the G002 Guru within the next 30 days in a limited quantity. Please add your name to the notify me list for the product, and you will receive an email when stock is added. These Gurus will be sold on a first come, first serve basis."


Remove This Advertisement Viewing As Guest

    GolfWRX Forums

    Advertisement


10

#881 BlackDiamondPar5

BlackDiamondPar5

    Hall of Fame

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,017 posts
  •  
  • Member #: 71580
  • Joined: 12/30/2008
  • Location:Western NY
GolfWRX Likes : 3628

Posted 03 September 2009 - 07:55 AM

View Postrroger45, on Sep 2 2009, 03:45 PM, said:

For those of you that have been waiting for a G002 Guru, check out the following from the Guru Website.  No indication if these are new or refurb units.


"BACK BY POPULAR DEMAND - THE G002 GRAYSCALE GURU!
We received the message loud and clear. Buyers want a simple, reliable, and accurate GPS for golf. We will be bringing back the G002 Guru within the next 30 days in a limited quantity. Please add your name to the notify me list for the product, and you will receive an email when stock is added. These Gurus will be sold on a first come, first serve basis."

That is great news!  The G002 is top of its class.  Anyone thinking of a skycaddie sg2.5 or one of the Bushnell yardage pro's or neos, or something similar, should give the Golf Guru 002 a try.  I've had a G002 since March of this year and have found the product to be outstanding in every way.  Accurate and detailed maps, huge map database and they have outstanding customer service.  I just wish the G002 wasn't a limited time offer.  I certainly hope they come out with a replacement model for the G002 if the don't continue producing it.  Something like the G004 (or anything with a pretty touch screen display) just doesn't cut it for me.  I love the simplicity and ease of use of the G002.  You don't have to interact with it much to get full use out of it.

11



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

GolfWRX Sponsors