Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

The Golf Swing Shirt: Editor Review



Pros: A great training aid for golfers who struggle with the “flying elbow,” or staying connected during the swing. The Swing Shirt is simple and easy to use, eliminating the learning curve we see with some training aids. It’s portable, light and durable.

Cons: It looks a little awkward, and larger golfers may find it a little tight. While it’s intuitive to use on short shots, it takes time to adjust to hitting drivers, woods and hybrids.

Bottom Line: The Golf Swing Shirt is designed to “keep you connected” during the swing and it largely delivers on its promise in a simple and clever design.


When I first opened the Swing Shirt I thought, well this is going to feel weird. But when I put it on the first time my body and made my first swing I sensed that it had a lot of potential.

Here are the instructions from Swing Shirt on how and why to use its product:

“To use ‘The Golf Swing Shirt’ you simply slip it on over your shirt and insert your arms in the center trunk sleeve. The shirt is designed to fit more snug than a customary shirt, which helps promote the feeling of body ‘connection’ as you are swinging the club.

This ‘connection’ is what most great ball strikers feel and is the key to great golf. The structure of the shirt and proprietary compression fabric immediately instills ‘connection’ and muscle memory, which is why The Golf Swing Shirt” is so effective.”

Swing Shirt recommends that golfers start out with chipping and putting before they move onto full swings. I agree with these instructions, because it allows your body to adapt to this “connected” feel before moving on to aggressive swings.

I put it on at home and with smooth tempo made some half and full swing and even putted some balls.  I noticed right away that even with slower swings mu whole body responded to the swinging motion and everything felt like it was swinging in unison. If you have back issues, I think you will like his sensation. I liked it for putting not only for the connected feel, but also for the fact that that the material of the trunk sleeve creates a plan in which you can see if your arms are square to your target, to each other or if one arm is forward of the other at address and it is easy to make the adjustment to square yourself up. This is also true for full shots.

The material is a mid-weight compression shirt that fits pretty snug to your body but more snug around your arms, or so it felt.  The company offers eight different sizes and three colors.  If you order size No. 1 or No. 2, then orange will be your only color choice, as per the website. I am 5-foot 8-inches tall and 170 pounds, and No. 5 fits just fine. At the time of this review, Swing Shirt retails for $59.95 or $69.95, depending on the size.

Here is a GolfWRX interview with instructor Jimmy Ballard and former long drive champion Art Sellinger from the 2013 PGA Merchandise show. Click here for the full story. 

[youtube id=”P4ORQb1NC6w” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Using the Swing Shirt

To say the Swing Shirt is intuitive is an understatement. It doesn’t require too much thought and you don’t have to read a booklet of instructions or watch a DVD for tips, trick and drills to learn at home and then remember them at the range. We are golfers, we have a head on our shoulders, we watch, we read and we can figure things out! Just look at the website  Not a lot of information because it is that easy to use!

Slip the shirt on over your torso then feed your arms into the trunk sleeve and start chipping balls (or putting) and you will immediately know if you are not using your arms and trunk together in a connected like motion.  It feels different at first and I did hit some loose shots. However, negative feedback is sometimes a good thing and sometimes a different feel is necessary to get better. You will soon realize that you will get used to this connected feel and you will see results in the very first session you use it.

My recommendation is to chip about 10 to 15 balls and then remove my arms, tuck the trunk back into itself and focus on maintaining that connected feel and hit about 10 to 15 more balls. I like that even with my arms out of the trunk but the shirt still on the compression around my trunk was enough of a reminder to stay connected through the swing. To me this was another bonus for the shirt as I felt it was a small progression in fundamentals to ingrain the connect feel into my swing without the shirt being on completely. No more gloves or towels under your arms, because this is better.

During the first two range sessions I only chipped and hit half and full wedge shots. I think this is the best way to progress into the mid irons through to the driver. You build a sense of what the feeling is like and that makes the transition into the longer clubs easier.  I think if you just start whacking drivers then you would probably get frustrated and therefore think there isn’t any merit to this product. Start with the short irons to build up your feel for the swing shirt then progress through the rest of your bag — there’s no rush.

What I didn’t like was even with the trunk tucked into the shirt, after hitting 5 to 10 balls the trunk would start to back itself out and I would have to pull it back in. It never affected my vision, but you just know it was happening. The other and most annoying thing was raking a new ball over to hit. I think that is why I most hit at max about 10 to 15 balls at a time and dreaded hitting tee shots.

I don’t want to end on a negative note. I feel this product has merit to those who believe in what it is trying to accomplish and want to take the time and effort to get the most out of it.  I will leave it like this: Did it feel strange at first? Yes. Am I still getting used to the feel? Yes. Do I feel connected? Yes. Am I hitting better and more consistent shots with better body tempo? Yes.

Reviewed by GolfWRX member Lenny318

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW29
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK13

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.



  1. Ray

    Apr 13, 2017 at 12:13 pm

    I am a beginner golfer. Have flying right elbows/ chiken wing. I am 5’6 and 150 lbs . What is my size?

  2. Anthony Mc

    Oct 24, 2016 at 5:30 pm

    Just received mine, I even put the wrong address on order…emailed to which I received a very quick response..have had a few swings with a 7 iron in the garden, first few felt like I was closing the club face at the top of the swing…after 15 swings looked in the reflection at the top and completely on plane…I struggle with an overswinging, this also helped in my brief practice to stop at about 80% which I have been trying to get to over the last year practicing 3 times a week. I was on holiday in memphis and a guy recommended this is golf Smith, said his friend invented it? Can’t wait to get to the range in 2 days time and try this…on top of my black jumper (black vest)

  3. Sean

    Apr 8, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    I ordered my Golf Swing Shirt last week. Once I hit order I had no clue about shipping but within a day or so it was in my mailbox. I immediately put it on and went out into the backyard and started practicing with it. I had just taken a lesson and my Pro was having me do drills with a kickball to practice staying connected. There’s definitely something different about the golf swing shirt I just wish there was a video to watch as I can swing to the top connected but because I am trying to correct a hands and arm swing I’m not sure how it should feel getting back to the finish position. After swinging with the shirt a bunch I was really sore the next day so I figured that must be a good thing. I have played several rounds since getting the shirt and have been pleased with my results so far.

  4. Jesse Perryman

    Oct 9, 2014 at 9:35 pm

    I’m so Stoaked with the GSS ! I got mine today and I IMMEDIATELY felt connection ! My golf swing felt like one big pivot with everything in sync ! I would HIGHLY recommend this simple and extremely effective product to anyone !

  5. Pingback: Get Golf Swing Shirt | Golf Swing Tips

  6. BkRich

    Jun 8, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    I am a 9 handicap who struggles with overall consistency (who doesn’t?). My swing tends to get too flat and the club gets inside on the backswing, both errors of course require compensations in my downswing. I prefer to hit a draw and that it my usual shot shape.
    I purchased the Golf Swing Shirt and have begun working with it. I am getting comfortable swinging shorter clubs while wearing it. My practice swings feel good, however anytime I hit a ball wearing it I end up with an outside to in swing that produces a push or fade, with a feeling that I am coming way over the top. Also my swing seems to be getting even flatter.
    I have been unable to get comfortable hitting anything more than a 7 iron wearing the swing shirt, the longer the club, the more outside to in, over the top I feel.
    It this something that you have seen in other users? Do you have any thoughts or suggestions?
    When I take the swing shirt off and hit balls my swing feels good, producing a lower flighted draw than I am accustomed to (I am good with lowering my ball flight).

    • Dvaldez

      Jun 9, 2014 at 10:01 am

      If you are swinging out to in with this on. Its telling you are not loading.
      The shirt forces you to build pressure into the right leg and use the core for power.

    • Dvaldez

      Jun 9, 2014 at 10:11 am

      By I play to about a +1 and worked with one of jimmy Ballards certified instructors for years its taught me more about connection in one session then all the lessons combined.
      I don’t use Jimmy’s methods any longer, now more of a single pivot flatter swing that is being taught today but the shirt works for either.
      Doesn’t matter which swing type you are using, one thing is certain you must have a connected swing to play truly consistent good golf.

  7. BkRich

    Jun 8, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    I have struggled with a swing that gets flat and inside, forcing many compensations, my desired and normal swing produces a draw. I have started using the Golf Swing Shirt. I am getting comfortable swinging it with shorter clubs. My practice swings feel good, however every time I hit a ball wearing the swing shirt I end up with an outside to in swing, that results in a push or fade. I feel like I am way over the top. My swing seems to be getting flatter as well. Thus far I am not comfortable swinging longer than a 7 iron in the golf swing shirt.
    Is this something that you have seen in others? Do you have any thoughts or recommendations?
    When I take the swing shirt off and hit balls I am hitting it well, with my normal straight shot to slight draw.

  8. Jeff

    Apr 6, 2014 at 7:12 am

    Interested in follow-up comments after a year for most who posted. My tendency is to overswing and fold my left elbow making me rely on timing to play well.

  9. shark

    Oct 4, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Very very dissapointed with the swing shirt. The product looks good but I never received mine not even a shipping conformation I have emailed customer service twice and have had no reply in fact the only reply I had from them was the receipt of when they stole my money.. disgusting…stay away

    • Donald Cross

      Jan 7, 2014 at 8:11 am

      Sorry to read your comment. Please can you advise name and address and I will investigate immediately.


      Donald Cross
      International Sales Director – Golf Swing Shirt

      • Donald Cross

        Jan 14, 2014 at 7:52 am

        Regarding the above comment from Shark. Just wanted to reassure readers that we have never received an order from this individual and the above comment should be treated as false.

  10. Ron

    Sep 7, 2013 at 8:44 am

    What size. 6’2″. 250 lbs

  11. Jason Crosby

    May 19, 2013 at 5:24 am

    I am 6’2″ 315….no size for me?

    • Jason Crosby

      May 19, 2013 at 5:25 am

      And my swing is Daly like…maybe even more past parallel than him

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      May 23, 2013 at 7:12 pm

      Hi Jason,
      You would fit in a size 8..we have fit NFL Players no problem !!!

  12. Paul

    May 16, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    My biggest problem is using my arms and hands too much in the golf swing. If I am able to time it correct I usually can score pretty well but when my timing is off my game suffer. I think this aid will help me use more of the bigger muscles in the golf swing and not rely so much on hands and arms and timing. I am really interested in this and will have to check this out.

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      May 16, 2013 at 11:21 pm

      Yes you are correct…handzy /armz swingers struggle to become god ball strikers. The Golf Swing Shirt promotes the feeling of “connection” between the arms and torso which then syncs your yper body to your lower body.
      Check out videos at

  13. Matt

    May 11, 2013 at 11:28 am

    Hi, love the look of this – is it available in the UK as the website does not seem to allow for international orders


  14. Scott

    Apr 27, 2013 at 9:36 am

    this looks like a joke

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      Apr 29, 2013 at 5:11 pm

      Hi Chris,
      The Golf Swing Shirt is used on the professional tours such as the PGA,LPGA,Canadian and tour. In addition thousands of amateur golfers have found The Golf Swing Shirt to be a great way to teach yourself a reliable golf swing.

  15. Kurt

    Apr 22, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    I purchased the Swing Shirt and have been working with it for 2 weeks. I’ve constantly struggled with being “connected”. Mostly I didn’t know what that really meant or felt like. Within about 10 swings I got it. You can’t hit good shots in this shirt if you don’t swing in the manner it is teaching you to.

    If you have struggled at all with chipping and pitching – as I have – you will IMMEDIATELY benefit from this shirt. I’m working my way up through the bag, but already I am hitting crisper shots with short and mid-irons, with better balance, and don’t have to “hold off the release” in order to keep the hands ahead of the ball at impact. Being connected and swinging with the big muscles allows it to happen naturally.

    Buy the dang shirt. But buy it in black or white.

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      Apr 25, 2013 at 9:28 am

      Thanks so much for the great feedback.
      Keep up the good work and let me know how you are progressing.
      (Also feel free to post your video in the instructional forum/golf WRX)

      • Kurt

        Apr 25, 2013 at 10:46 am

        Raymond –

        Nice work making a simple product with great effect. I look forward to using it as a practice tool, but also, what a great way to warm up pre-round. Throw the shirt on, take 10 warm up swings on the tee-box to get that feel going, take it off, throw in bag, take sh*t from buddies, and then swing away.


        p.s. I’ll try and supply a video at some point.

        • Raymond Rapcavage

          Apr 25, 2013 at 9:27 pm

          Thanks ! Do not worry about the funny looks from other golfers -you get used to it and who cares when you are hitting great shots ! Last week we were doing a demo day at Sea Pines/Harbor Town
          during The RBC. We put The Golf Swing Shirt on several skeptics and watched how it transformed their swings. A few people watched in amazement as our teaching Pro Bobby Tracy was crushing drives over 320 yards while he was practicing with The Golf Swing Shirt. It got real quite , real fast …even the Titleist rep next to us was shaking his head while looking at the trackman numbers.

      • Mike

        Apr 25, 2013 at 10:34 pm


        I am interested in the shirt, but am 6′, 180, so on the line between sizes 5 and 6. Your website has no contact information in order to ask question (very frustrating). What size do you recommend, and why no contact info on your website?


        • Rob

          May 3, 2013 at 3:59 pm

          Hi Mike, I just got my swing shirt. I emailed the contact person on the Golf Swing Shirt website and he responded with the recommended shirt size for me. He was very quick and helpful.

          • Raymond Rapcavage

            May 7, 2013 at 6:30 pm

            Thanks Rob..hope you enjoy it and if you are able please post feedback and observations on one of my threads in the forum section.
            Easy to find..just do a quick search.
            Best regards,

        • Raymond Rapcavage

          May 7, 2013 at 6:28 pm

          You would be a perfect size #5.
          Thanks for the inquiry and hope you give it a try !
          Best regards,

  16. Three Guys Golf

    Apr 22, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Just a note on sizing. We reviewed this shirt as well. One of our reviewers is 6′ 3″ 240 lbs XXL and it fits him fine so big boys are welcomed.

    • Burt

      Jun 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm

      I suggest that your magazine and readers boycott this company. Their egregious behavior at the US Open at Merion Golf Club should be an affront to all golfers. By hiring a plane to circle the neighborhood and golf course during the tournament carrying a banner touting free shipping from golf swing shirt is outrageous. The fact that the CEO of this company would disturb the fans and golfers at the tournament tells you something about him and his company.

      • Raymond Rapcavage

        Nov 10, 2013 at 12:25 am

        Congrats …You one of two people in 70,000 fans to complain about a single engine banner plane flying at 2000 feet.
        The other person was a lunatic doctor who lived three blocks from the course and from the sound of your tone I think that YOU maybe HIM and that you are using a fake screen name. If not maybe you can go seek him out and both of you join a support group for whiners.
        Did you also complain about the Met Life blimp that flew for 10 hours per day at 1000 ft and is four times the size ?
        Grow up Doc and chill out.
        Raymond Rapcavage
        The Golf Swing Shirt

        • Jon

          Jan 24, 2014 at 12:44 pm

          Just because of your response to ‘Burt/Doc’ I’m IN! Going to web-site now to order. Too many ‘politically correct’ people in this world to get anything done. I’ll send open & honest review once I get mine. Hopefully see you at the Phoenix Open Next week…will be on 17!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Accessory Reviews

Review: FlightScope Mevo



In 100 Words

The Mevo is a useful practice tool for amateur golfers and represents a step forward from previous offerings on the market. It allows golfers to practice indoors or outdoors and provides club speed, ball speed, smash factor, launch angle, spin rate, carry distance and flight time.

It also has a video capture mode that will overlay swing videos with the swing data of a specific swing. It is limited in its capabilities and its accuracy, though, which golfers should expect at this price point. All in all, it’s well worth the $499 price tag if you understand what you’re getting.

The Full Review

The FlightScope Mevo is a launch monitor powered by 3D Doppler radar. With a retail price of $499, it is obviously aimed to reach the end consumer as opposed to PGA professionals and club fitters.

The Mevo device itself is tiny. Like, really tiny. It measures 3.5-inches wide, 2.8-inches tall and 1.2-inches deep. In terms of everyday products, it’s roughly the size of an Altoids tin. It’s very easy to find room for it in your golf bag, and the vast majority of people at the range you may be practicing at won’t even notice it’s there. Apart from the Mevo itself, in the box you get a quick start guide, a charging cable, a carrying pouch, and some metallic stickers… more on those later. It has a rechargeable internal battery that reaches a full charge in about two hours and lasts for about four hours when fully charged.

As far as software goes, the Mevo pairs with the Mevo Golf app on your iOS or Android device. The app is free to download and does not require any subscription fees (unless you want to store and view videos of your swing online as opposed to using the memory on your device). The app is very easy to use even for those who aren’t tech savvy. Make sure you’re using the most current version of the firmware for the best results, though (I did experience some glitches at first until I did so). The settings menu does have an option to manually force firmware writing, but updates should happen automatically when you start using the device.

Moving through the menus, beginning sessions, editing shots (good for adding notes on things like strike location or wind) are all very easy. Video mode did give me fits the first time I used it, though, as it was impossible to maintain my connection between my phone and the Mevo while having the phone in the right location to capture video properly. The only way I could achieve this was by setting the Mevo as far back from strike location as the device would allow. Just something to keep in mind if you find you’re having troubles with video mode.

Screenshot of video capture mode with the FlightScope Mevo

Using the Mevo

When setting up the Mevo, it needs to be placed between 4-7 feet behind the golf ball, level with the playing surface and pointed down the target line. The distance you place the Mevo behind the ball does need to be entered into the settings menu before starting your session. While we’re on that subject, before hitting balls, you do need to select between indoor, outdoor, and pitching (ball flight less than 20 yards) modes, input your altitude and select video or data mode depending on if you want to pair your data with videos of each swing or just see the data by itself. You can also edit the available clubs to be monitored, as you will have to tell the Mevo which club you’re using at any point in time to get the best results. Once you get that far, you’re pretty much off to the races.

Testing the Mevo

I tested the FlightScope Mevo with Brad Bachand at Man O’ War Golf Center in Lexington, Kentucky. Brad is a member of the PGA and has received numerous awards for golf instruction and club fitting. I wanted to put the Mevo against the best device FlightScope has to offer and, luckily, Brad does use his $15,000 FlightScope X3 daily. We had both the FlightScope Mevo and Brad’s FlightScope X3 set up simultaneously, so the numbers gathered from the two devices were generated from the exact same strikes. Brad also set up the two devices and did all of the ball striking just to maximize our chances for success.

The day of our outdoor session was roughly 22 degrees Fahrenheit. There was some wind on that day (mostly right to left), but it wasn’t a major factor. Our setup is pictured below.

Outdoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our outdoor testing are shown below. The testing was conducted with range balls, and we did use the metallic stickers. The range balls used across all the testing were all consistently the same brand. Man O’ War buys all new range balls once a year and these had been used all throughout 2017.  The 2018 batch had not yet been purchased at the time that testing was conducted.

Raw outdoor data captured with range balls including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

You’ll notice some peculiar data in the sand wedge spin category. To be honest, I don’t fully know what contributed to the X3 measuring such low values. While the Mevo’s sand wedge spin numbers seem more believable, you could visibly see that the X3 was much more accurate on carry distance. Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our outdoor session when separated out for each club. As previously mentioned, though, take sand wedge spin with a grain of salt.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (outdoor testing).

The first thing we noticed was that the Mevo displays its numbers while the golf ball is still in midair, so it was clear that it wasn’t watching the golf ball the entire time like the X3. According to the Mevo website, carry distance, height and flight time are all calculated while club speed, ball speed, launch angle and spin rate are measured. As for the accuracy of the measured parameters, the Mevo’s strength is ball speed. The accuracy of the other measured ball parameters (launch angle and spin rate) is questionable depending on certain factors (quality of strike, moisture on the clubface and ball, quality of ball, etc). I would say it ranges between “good” or “very good” and “disappointing” with most strikes being categorized as “just okay.”

As for the calculated parameters of carry distance, height and time, those vary a decent amount. Obviously, when the measurements of the three inputs become less accurate, the three outputs will become less accurate as a result. Furthermore, according to FlightScope, the Mevo’s calculations are not accounting for things like temperature, humidity, and wind. The company has also stated, though, that future updates will likely adjust for these parameters by using location services through the app.

Now, let’s talk about those metallic stickers. According to the quick start guide, the Mevo needs a sticker on every golf ball you hit, and before you hit each ball, the ball needs to be placed such that the sticker is facing the target. It goes without saying that it doesn’t sound like a whole lot of fun to spend time putting those stickers on every ball, let alone balls that will never come back to you if you’re at a public driving range. Obviously, people are going to want to avoid using the stickers if they can, so do they really matter? Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls with and without the use of the stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you use the metallic stickers and when you don’t

The FlightScope website says that the metallic stickers “are needed in order for the Mevo to accurately measure ball spin.” We observed pretty much the same as shown in the table above. The website also states they are working on alternative solutions to stickers (possibly a metallic sharpie), which I think is wise.

Another thing we thought would be worth testing is the impact of different golf balls. Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls as compared to Pro V1’s. All of this data was collected using the metallic stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you switch from range balls to Pro V1’s

As shown above, the data gets much closer virtually across the board when you use better quality golf balls. Just something else to keep in mind when using the Mevo.

Indoor testing requires 8 feet of ball flight (impact zone to hitting net), which was no problem for us. Our setup is pictured below. All of the indoor testing was conducted with Titleist Pro V1 golf balls using the metallic stickers.

Indoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our indoor session are shown below.

Raw indoor data captured with Pro V1’s including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our indoor session when separated out for each club.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (indoor testing)

On the whole, the data got much closer together between the two devices in our indoor session. I would think a lot of that can be attributed to the use of quality golf balls and to removing outdoor factors like wind and temperature (tying into my previous comment above).

As far as overall observations between all sessions, the most striking thing was that the Mevo consistently gets more accurate when you hit really good, straight shots. When you hit bad shots, or if you hit a fade or a draw, it gets less and less accurate.

The last parameter to address is club speed, which came in around 5 percent different on average between the Mevo and X3 based on all of the shots recorded. The Mevo was most accurate with the driver at 2.1 percent different from the X3 over all strikes and it was the least accurate with sand wedge by far. Obviously, smash factor accuracy will follow club speed for the most part since ball speed is quite accurate. Over every shot we observed, the percent difference on ball speed was 1.2 percent on average between the Mevo and the X3. Again, the Mevo was least accurate with sand wedges. If I remove all sand wedge shots from the data, the average percent difference changes from 1.2 percent to 0.7 percent, which is very, very respectable.

When it comes to the different clubs used, the Mevo was by far most accurate with mid irons. I confirmed this with on-course testing on a relatively flat 170-yard par-3 as well. Carry distances in that case were within 1-2 yards on most shots (mostly related to quality of strike). With the driver, the Mevo was reasonably close, but I would also describe it as generous. It almost always missed by telling me that launch angle was higher, spin rate was lower and carry distance was farther than the X3. Generally speaking, the Mevo overestimated our driver carries by about 5 percent. Lastly, the Mevo really did not like sand wedges at all. Especially considering those shots were short enough that you could visibly see how far off the Mevo was with its carry distance. Being 10 yards off on a 90 yard shot was disappointing.


The Mevo is a really good product if you understand what you’re getting when you buy it. Although the data isn’t good enough for a PGA professional, it’s still a useful tool that gives amateurs reasonable feedback while practicing. It’s also a fair amount more accurate than similar products in its price range, and I think it could become even better with firmware updates as Flightscope improves upon its product.

This is a much welcomed and very promising step forward in consumer launch monitors, and the Mevo is definitely worth a look if you’re in the market for one.

Your Reaction?
  • 169
  • LEGIT14
  • WOW3
  • LOL10
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP7
  • OB3
  • SHANK31

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Choose Your Tartan: Enter now to win a Sunfish Tartan headcover



Sunfish, well known for its stylish headcover designs, is offering up free Tartan-style headcovers to five GolfWRX Members. All you have to do to apply is become a GolfWRX member, if you’re not already, and then reply in the forum thread with your favorite the Tartan pattern.


The five winners will receive a free headcover in the pattern that they select. Winners will be selected on Friday, so don’t wait.

Click here to enter into the giveaway and pick your favorite style.

Reminder: Commenting on this post WILL NOT enter you into the giveaway.

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: Golf Simulator Software for SkyTrak



SkyTrak is a personal launch monitor packed with impressive features and accuracy. It sells for $1995, and is aimed at golfers looking for a high-quality, personal launch monitor and golf simulator. I’ve recently hit more than 1,000 golf balls on SkyTrak and tested it head-to-head against Trackman to find out if it truly is as good as it sounds.

Spoiler alert: It is. You can read the full review here.

In writing my SkyTrak review, I felt that I could better serve the GolfWRX Community and the greater golf world with an additional SkyTrak review that focused specifically on SkyTrak’s golf simulation partners. This… is that review.

Golf Simulation Partners

Out of the box, SkyTrak comes with an impressive driving range app, which golfers looking to hone and refine their swing will really appreciate. But one of the ways SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors, especially lower-priced ones, is by integrating with five leading golf simulation software packages.

This is where SkyTrak starts to widen its appeal. Serious golfers will enjoy playing a full round, but you can also get casual golfers involved. My wife and kids will enjoy playing a round of golf, and I won’t have to worry about holding up the group behind me. As my kids get older, having a simulator at home will be invaluable, allowing them practice at any time… assuming they want to play golf, of course.

SkyTrak Simulation Partners

Data Provided to Each Software

SkyTrak provides each simulation partner with the exact same, five directly measured data points which include: ball speed, launch angle, backspin, side spin and side angle. Each software applies their own ball flight model. For that reason, I did see differences in the ball flight and data displayed.

WGT (World Golf Tour)

Almost every golfer with a mobile phone or a Facebook profile has played or heard of WGT (World Golf Tour). The same game that has been played on mobile phones for years can now be played with SkyTrak. The most obvious difference is the visuals. Their patented, photo-realistic imagery and terrain mapping has created some of the most realistic course simulation available. What’s more interesting is that WGT is included at no additional cost when you purchase the $199.95 per year SkyTrak plan. This is great news for people interested in playing full courses, but not yet ready to commit to another simulator package.

There are 10 full courses that can be played. They include St. Andrews, Chambers Bay, Bandon Dunes and others. Closest-to-the-pin challenges can be played on 18 total courses.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight model is very accurate and similar to what I see in the SkyTrak app. It also calculates my wedge shots correctly, which is typically a slight fade that I cannot seem to fix. Total distance is a bit strong, with some clubs flying an average of five yards farther than normal.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

It is hard to beat the photo-realistic visuals of WGT. It took me a minute to get used to them after playing rounds on the other simulators, but the courses look amazing, especially on a large projector screen. With the combination of the photos and terrain mapping, these courses are spot-on representations of their real-life counterparts.

WGT SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

I wish there were more courses, but WGT is continuing to add to its roster and I value the realism of the courses it has. I would rather higher quality courses over quantity. They also have some “Best Of” bundles, like playing the Best of Bandon Par 3s, which is a lot of fun.

The gameplay is solid, although the options are limited. You don’t have a lot of fancy camera angles or the ability to view a replay of your shot. In fact, some of the starting camera angles aren’t even from the player’s point of view, which is a little weird and hard to get used to. The SkyTrak data presented has everything you would want, except carry distance. The interface is clean and easy to use.

Reliability of the Software

Although the specs say an iPad is required (and preferred if you’re not using a projector), I didn’t experience any issues connecting to either my iPad or my iPhone 6s.


Included with SkyTrak’s Play & Improve Package

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf

I want to love Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf, and I almost do. The main game includes really nice, quality courses, and you can purchase add-ons such as Muirfield Village or PGA National for $5.95. Additionally, its Course Forge Software, which is the same software used by Jack Nicklaus Golf course designers, can be used by anyone to create an unlimited number of courses that you can download and play.

You can adjust almost any setting you can imagine, from camera angles that allow you to walk freely around the golf course to video and audio settings that adjust everything from the sky effects to the way the grass looks. This is critical to helping dial in the settings to maximize gameplay for your specific PC setup.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight was similar to what I saw on the SkyTrak range, but the distances were consistently a bit shorter. There is a good chance I could mess around with the various settings and get the numbers to match up, but out of the box, I felt like the distances were slightly shorter across the board.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I really like the quality of the courses. There is an almost unlimited combination of settings you can use to dial in the visuals to create a very realistic experience. The real courses I downloaded look, appear and play very accurately. The textures of the tee boxes and greens are very realistic.

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The included courses are a mix of fictional, user-created courses, and real courses with fake names. For example, you can play Florida Glades, which is actually modeled after TPC Sawgrass. I played Muirfield Village while watching coverage of the Memorial last weekend, which was fun.

With the exception of the occasionally shorter distances, the gameplay is excellent. Shots on the fairways and into the greens follow the real-life contours of the course. Just check out the video above to see what I mean.

The game really shines with the smooth camera movements and replay options. I love being able to watch each shot from the player point of view, but also angles like the spectator view. It feels just like TV and is a lot of fun to see my shots from different angles.

Reliability of the Software

This is where Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf falls short, at least for me. During testing, I was never able to get through an entire round without the simulator connection crashing, which meant that SkyTrak was no longer connected to the simulator software. This is an issue with Perfect Golf reported by others, too. As of June 1st, the company provided an update that has solved this issue for me, and I can now get through a full round, but it is something to keep in mind.


Multiple packages starting at $99.95 per year for the driving range package. It’s $199.95 per year for the simulation package, and $249.95 per year for everything including the ability to play user-created courses or compete in online tournaments.

TruGolf E6

TruGolf E6 feels and plays like the most solid of all the simulator options. Each of the 87 total courses are mapped using precise terrain and course data, and you can tell they spent a lot of time making each course feel as realistic and accurate as possible.

The app has numerous settings to control time of day, wind, lighting, camera angles and more. Course elevation is accurate, and factored into the ball flight. The base software includes a driving range with target practice, chipping area, and a putting area.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight, carry and total distance are almost identical to what I see in the SkyTrak app.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

The quality of each course is impressive. Fairways and greens are responsive and variable, mimicking the actual terrain of the course. The textures, shadows, and lighting are realistic. And the camera movements to follow the ball or during replays are natural. The overall graphics are not quite as good as Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf or The Golf Club, but still very solid.

TruGolf E6 SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The main package includes 15 championship courses, including Pinehurst  No. 2, Bay Hill, Gleneagles and others. You can also buy seven other packs of courses, each for a one-time fee.

The actual gameplay is very realistic. The standard camera angles feel like I am watching a shot from my actual point of view, but I can also watch the replay from various other camera angles. Putting is realistic, even if I haven’t yet mastered putting on SkyTrak. And if you’re looking to practice a specific hole on a course, you can choose to play only that hole.

Reliability of the Software

Rock solid. Throughout my entire testing, I never had any software issues.


$299 per year in addition to the SkyTrak Game Improvement Package. Additional course packs can be purchased for $240-500 each.

The Golf Club Game

There is so much to like about The Golf Club.  The graphics are quite possibly the best of any of the simulators (up to 4K Ultra HD) and allow you to move around the course in real-time. There are 100,000+ high definition courses, you can create your own courses, and TGC has live tournaments. There is even an announcer who gives you the play-by-play.

Ball Flight and Data

Just like TruGolf E6, the ball flight model and key data points are very similar to what I see on the SkyTrak range. I have noticed some deviation, more total distance for example, but for the most part, the results are very similar and accurate.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I can’t deny having access to 100k+ courses isn’t a strength, but it is also a weakness. You will never get bored if you own this software, but if you like playing realistic golf courses, it can be difficult to navigate. With so many “Augusta National” or “St. Andrews” courses listed, it is hard to find one to play that truly feels realistic. I selected an “Augusta National Sunday Pin Position” course and saw white-capped mountains in the distance teeing off No. 1. There certainly aren’t mountains around Augusta.

The Golf Club SkyTrak Partner

I’ll say it again, the HD visuals are outstanding, especially if your system can max out the settings.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

You’ve got access to a ton of courses for free, which will be  huge for many people. The gameplay is also excellent, with realistic bounces and rolls on the fairways and greens. The rough and sand are penalizing, and putting and chipping around the green is accurate.

Reliability of the Software

I have had some minor connectivity issues with TGC. But other than that, the rest of the software has worked great.


$479/year or a one-time fee of $895.

Creative Golf 3D

Creative Golf 3D, the newest integration with SkyTrak, offers some unique twists on the traditional simulators by focusing more on entertainment than pure simulation. Sure, there is a range and you can play up to 100 courses located in Europe, but more importantly, you have access to 20 different entertainment-focused games including island targets, mini-golf, and abandoned factory demolition.

I can see playing mini-golf with my kids even before sticking them on the SkyTrak range. Fun is the real power of Creative Golf 3D, and yet another way that SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors or simulators on the market.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight and data matches up nicely with the SkyTrak ball flight model. I haven’t noticed any issues with distances or other data points not lining up.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

All the courses are based on real elevation and satellite data, which is evident when you play a round. While I’ve never played golf in Europe, I love watching the European Tour partly because they play courses in beautiful parts of the world. Creative Golf 3D captures that beauty by focusing only on courses throughout Europe.


The reason I would buy Creative Golf over the others is not for the course play; it’s for the entertainment options. I really enjoy hitting knock down wedges to smash windows of an abandoned building and playing mini-golf in Europe.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The base package includes five courses. You can buy add-on packages for $99 per package (one-time fee) and get access to up to 100 courses. I enjoy hitting shots with snow-capped mountains in the background and the standard camera angles and replay are smooth. The visuals are good, don’t get me wrong, but they feel a little more like a computer game than an actual simulation compared to the other software options.

Reliability of the Software

So far, so good. I haven’t experienced any issues with connectivity to this point.


$199.95 per year or a one-time fee of $499.95. I like that Creative Golf 3D offers a one-time fee. For those of us who plan to have this simulator for many years, it makes a lot of sense. You can also buy additional course packs for $99.95/one time.

Bottom Line

If I had to choose my favorites so far, one would be Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf for the overall high quality of courses and smooth, realistic gameplay. I also will keep Creative Golf 3D on hand for entertainment options like mini-golf to play with my kids and friends.

But the good news is all of SkyTrak’s five simulation software partners offer high-quality gameplay, realistic and accurate 3D ball flight, and the ability to play 18 holes anytime, anywhere, on some of the best courses around the world.

Further Reading: A Review of the SkyTrak Personal Launch Monitor

Your Reaction?
  • 68
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW6
  • LOL4
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole