Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

The Golf Swing Shirt: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: A great training aid for golfers who struggle with the “flying elbow,” or staying connected during the swing. The Swing Shirt is simple and easy to use, eliminating the learning curve we see with some training aids. It’s portable, light and durable.

Cons: It looks a little awkward, and larger golfers may find it a little tight. While it’s intuitive to use on short shots, it takes time to adjust to hitting drivers, woods and hybrids.

Bottom Line: The Golf Swing Shirt is designed to “keep you connected” during the swing and it largely delivers on its promise in a simple and clever design.

Overview

When I first opened the Swing Shirt I thought, well this is going to feel weird. But when I put it on the first time my body and made my first swing I sensed that it had a lot of potential.

Here are the instructions from Swing Shirt on how and why to use its product:

“To use ‘The Golf Swing Shirt’ you simply slip it on over your shirt and insert your arms in the center trunk sleeve. The shirt is designed to fit more snug than a customary shirt, which helps promote the feeling of body ‘connection’ as you are swinging the club.

This ‘connection’ is what most great ball strikers feel and is the key to great golf. The structure of the shirt and proprietary compression fabric immediately instills ‘connection’ and muscle memory, which is why The Golf Swing Shirt” is so effective.”

Swing Shirt recommends that golfers start out with chipping and putting before they move onto full swings. I agree with these instructions, because it allows your body to adapt to this “connected” feel before moving on to aggressive swings.

I put it on at home and with smooth tempo made some half and full swing and even putted some balls.  I noticed right away that even with slower swings mu whole body responded to the swinging motion and everything felt like it was swinging in unison. If you have back issues, I think you will like his sensation. I liked it for putting not only for the connected feel, but also for the fact that that the material of the trunk sleeve creates a plan in which you can see if your arms are square to your target, to each other or if one arm is forward of the other at address and it is easy to make the adjustment to square yourself up. This is also true for full shots.

The material is a mid-weight compression shirt that fits pretty snug to your body but more snug around your arms, or so it felt.  The company offers eight different sizes and three colors.  If you order size No. 1 or No. 2, then orange will be your only color choice, as per the website. I am 5-foot 8-inches tall and 170 pounds, and No. 5 fits just fine. At the time of this review, Swing Shirt retails for $59.95 or $69.95, depending on the size.

Here is a GolfWRX interview with instructor Jimmy Ballard and former long drive champion Art Sellinger from the 2013 PGA Merchandise show. Click here for the full story. 

[youtube id=”P4ORQb1NC6w” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Using the Swing Shirt

To say the Swing Shirt is intuitive is an understatement. It doesn’t require too much thought and you don’t have to read a booklet of instructions or watch a DVD for tips, trick and drills to learn at home and then remember them at the range. We are golfers, we have a head on our shoulders, we watch, we read and we can figure things out! Just look at the website www.golfswingshirt.com.  Not a lot of information because it is that easy to use!

Slip the shirt on over your torso then feed your arms into the trunk sleeve and start chipping balls (or putting) and you will immediately know if you are not using your arms and trunk together in a connected like motion.  It feels different at first and I did hit some loose shots. However, negative feedback is sometimes a good thing and sometimes a different feel is necessary to get better. You will soon realize that you will get used to this connected feel and you will see results in the very first session you use it.

My recommendation is to chip about 10 to 15 balls and then remove my arms, tuck the trunk back into itself and focus on maintaining that connected feel and hit about 10 to 15 more balls. I like that even with my arms out of the trunk but the shirt still on the compression around my trunk was enough of a reminder to stay connected through the swing. To me this was another bonus for the shirt as I felt it was a small progression in fundamentals to ingrain the connect feel into my swing without the shirt being on completely. No more gloves or towels under your arms, because this is better.

During the first two range sessions I only chipped and hit half and full wedge shots. I think this is the best way to progress into the mid irons through to the driver. You build a sense of what the feeling is like and that makes the transition into the longer clubs easier.  I think if you just start whacking drivers then you would probably get frustrated and therefore think there isn’t any merit to this product. Start with the short irons to build up your feel for the swing shirt then progress through the rest of your bag — there’s no rush.

What I didn’t like was even with the trunk tucked into the shirt, after hitting 5 to 10 balls the trunk would start to back itself out and I would have to pull it back in. It never affected my vision, but you just know it was happening. The other and most annoying thing was raking a new ball over to hit. I think that is why I most hit at max about 10 to 15 balls at a time and dreaded hitting tee shots.

I don’t want to end on a negative note. I feel this product has merit to those who believe in what it is trying to accomplish and want to take the time and effort to get the most out of it.  I will leave it like this: Did it feel strange at first? Yes. Am I still getting used to the feel? Yes. Do I feel connected? Yes. Am I hitting better and more consistent shots with better body tempo? Yes.

Reviewed by GolfWRX member Lenny318

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW33
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Ray

    Apr 13, 2017 at 12:13 pm

    I am a beginner golfer. Have flying right elbows/ chiken wing. I am 5’6 and 150 lbs . What is my size?

  2. Anthony Mc

    Oct 24, 2016 at 5:30 pm

    Just received mine, I even put the wrong address on order…emailed to which I received a very quick response..have had a few swings with a 7 iron in the garden, first few felt like I was closing the club face at the top of the swing…after 15 swings looked in the reflection at the top and completely on plane…I struggle with an overswinging, this also helped in my brief practice to stop at about 80% which I have been trying to get to over the last year practicing 3 times a week. I was on holiday in memphis and a guy recommended this is golf Smith, said his friend invented it? Can’t wait to get to the range in 2 days time and try this…on top of my black jumper (black vest)

  3. Sean

    Apr 8, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    I ordered my Golf Swing Shirt last week. Once I hit order I had no clue about shipping but within a day or so it was in my mailbox. I immediately put it on and went out into the backyard and started practicing with it. I had just taken a lesson and my Pro was having me do drills with a kickball to practice staying connected. There’s definitely something different about the golf swing shirt I just wish there was a video to watch as I can swing to the top connected but because I am trying to correct a hands and arm swing I’m not sure how it should feel getting back to the finish position. After swinging with the shirt a bunch I was really sore the next day so I figured that must be a good thing. I have played several rounds since getting the shirt and have been pleased with my results so far.

  4. Jesse Perryman

    Oct 9, 2014 at 9:35 pm

    I’m so Stoaked with the GSS ! I got mine today and I IMMEDIATELY felt connection ! My golf swing felt like one big pivot with everything in sync ! I would HIGHLY recommend this simple and extremely effective product to anyone !

  5. Pingback: Get Golf Swing Shirt | Golf Swing Tips

  6. BkRich

    Jun 8, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    I am a 9 handicap who struggles with overall consistency (who doesn’t?). My swing tends to get too flat and the club gets inside on the backswing, both errors of course require compensations in my downswing. I prefer to hit a draw and that it my usual shot shape.
    I purchased the Golf Swing Shirt and have begun working with it. I am getting comfortable swinging shorter clubs while wearing it. My practice swings feel good, however anytime I hit a ball wearing it I end up with an outside to in swing that produces a push or fade, with a feeling that I am coming way over the top. Also my swing seems to be getting even flatter.
    I have been unable to get comfortable hitting anything more than a 7 iron wearing the swing shirt, the longer the club, the more outside to in, over the top I feel.
    It this something that you have seen in other users? Do you have any thoughts or suggestions?
    When I take the swing shirt off and hit balls my swing feels good, producing a lower flighted draw than I am accustomed to (I am good with lowering my ball flight).

    • Dvaldez

      Jun 9, 2014 at 10:01 am

      If you are swinging out to in with this on. Its telling you are not loading.
      The shirt forces you to build pressure into the right leg and use the core for power.

    • Dvaldez

      Jun 9, 2014 at 10:11 am

      By I play to about a +1 and worked with one of jimmy Ballards certified instructors for years its taught me more about connection in one session then all the lessons combined.
      I don’t use Jimmy’s methods any longer, now more of a single pivot flatter swing that is being taught today but the shirt works for either.
      Doesn’t matter which swing type you are using, one thing is certain you must have a connected swing to play truly consistent good golf.

  7. BkRich

    Jun 8, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    I have struggled with a swing that gets flat and inside, forcing many compensations, my desired and normal swing produces a draw. I have started using the Golf Swing Shirt. I am getting comfortable swinging it with shorter clubs. My practice swings feel good, however every time I hit a ball wearing the swing shirt I end up with an outside to in swing, that results in a push or fade. I feel like I am way over the top. My swing seems to be getting flatter as well. Thus far I am not comfortable swinging longer than a 7 iron in the golf swing shirt.
    Is this something that you have seen in others? Do you have any thoughts or recommendations?
    When I take the swing shirt off and hit balls I am hitting it well, with my normal straight shot to slight draw.

  8. Jeff

    Apr 6, 2014 at 7:12 am

    Interested in follow-up comments after a year for most who posted. My tendency is to overswing and fold my left elbow making me rely on timing to play well.

  9. shark

    Oct 4, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Very very dissapointed with the swing shirt. The product looks good but I never received mine not even a shipping conformation I have emailed customer service twice and have had no reply in fact the only reply I had from them was the receipt of when they stole my money.. disgusting…stay away

    • Donald Cross

      Jan 7, 2014 at 8:11 am

      Sorry to read your comment. Please can you advise name and address and I will investigate immediately.

      Regards

      Donald Cross
      International Sales Director – Golf Swing Shirt

      • Donald Cross

        Jan 14, 2014 at 7:52 am

        Regarding the above comment from Shark. Just wanted to reassure readers that we have never received an order from this individual and the above comment should be treated as false.

  10. Ron

    Sep 7, 2013 at 8:44 am

    What size. 6’2″. 250 lbs

  11. Jason Crosby

    May 19, 2013 at 5:24 am

    I am 6’2″ 315….no size for me?

    • Jason Crosby

      May 19, 2013 at 5:25 am

      And my swing is Daly like…maybe even more past parallel than him

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      May 23, 2013 at 7:12 pm

      Hi Jason,
      You would fit in a size 8..we have fit NFL Players no problem !!!
      Regards,
      Ray

  12. Paul

    May 16, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    My biggest problem is using my arms and hands too much in the golf swing. If I am able to time it correct I usually can score pretty well but when my timing is off my game suffer. I think this aid will help me use more of the bigger muscles in the golf swing and not rely so much on hands and arms and timing. I am really interested in this and will have to check this out.

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      May 16, 2013 at 11:21 pm

      Yes you are correct…handzy /armz swingers struggle to become god ball strikers. The Golf Swing Shirt promotes the feeling of “connection” between the arms and torso which then syncs your yper body to your lower body.
      Check out videos at http://www.golfswingshirt.com
      Cheers,
      Ray

  13. Matt

    May 11, 2013 at 11:28 am

    Hi, love the look of this – is it available in the UK as the website does not seem to allow for international orders

    Thanks

  14. Scott

    Apr 27, 2013 at 9:36 am

    this looks like a joke

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      Apr 29, 2013 at 5:11 pm

      Hi Chris,
      The Golf Swing Shirt is used on the professional tours such as the PGA,LPGA,Canadian and Web.com tour. In addition thousands of amateur golfers have found The Golf Swing Shirt to be a great way to teach yourself a reliable golf swing.
      Regards,
      Ray

  15. Kurt

    Apr 22, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    I purchased the Swing Shirt and have been working with it for 2 weeks. I’ve constantly struggled with being “connected”. Mostly I didn’t know what that really meant or felt like. Within about 10 swings I got it. You can’t hit good shots in this shirt if you don’t swing in the manner it is teaching you to.

    If you have struggled at all with chipping and pitching – as I have – you will IMMEDIATELY benefit from this shirt. I’m working my way up through the bag, but already I am hitting crisper shots with short and mid-irons, with better balance, and don’t have to “hold off the release” in order to keep the hands ahead of the ball at impact. Being connected and swinging with the big muscles allows it to happen naturally.

    Buy the dang shirt. But buy it in black or white.

    • Raymond Rapcavage

      Apr 25, 2013 at 9:28 am

      Kurt,
      Thanks so much for the great feedback.
      Keep up the good work and let me know how you are progressing.
      Cheers
      Ray
      PRESIDENT/INVENTOR
      THE GOLF SWING SHIRT
      (Also feel free to post your video in the instructional forum/golf WRX)

      • Kurt

        Apr 25, 2013 at 10:46 am

        Raymond –

        Nice work making a simple product with great effect. I look forward to using it as a practice tool, but also, what a great way to warm up pre-round. Throw the shirt on, take 10 warm up swings on the tee-box to get that feel going, take it off, throw in bag, take sh*t from buddies, and then swing away.

        Kurt

        p.s. I’ll try and supply a video at some point.

        • Raymond Rapcavage

          Apr 25, 2013 at 9:27 pm

          Thanks ! Do not worry about the funny looks from other golfers -you get used to it and who cares when you are hitting great shots ! Last week we were doing a demo day at Sea Pines/Harbor Town
          during The RBC. We put The Golf Swing Shirt on several skeptics and watched how it transformed their swings. A few people watched in amazement as our teaching Pro Bobby Tracy was crushing drives over 320 yards while he was practicing with The Golf Swing Shirt. It got real quite , real fast …even the Titleist rep next to us was shaking his head while looking at the trackman numbers.
          Cheers,
          Ray

      • Mike

        Apr 25, 2013 at 10:34 pm

        Ray,

        I am interested in the shirt, but am 6′, 180, so on the line between sizes 5 and 6. Your website has no contact information in order to ask question (very frustrating). What size do you recommend, and why no contact info on your website?

        -Mike

        • Rob

          May 3, 2013 at 3:59 pm

          Hi Mike, I just got my swing shirt. I emailed the contact person on the Golf Swing Shirt website and he responded with the recommended shirt size for me. He was very quick and helpful.

          • Raymond Rapcavage

            May 7, 2013 at 6:30 pm

            Thanks Rob..hope you enjoy it and if you are able please post feedback and observations on one of my threads in the forum section.
            Easy to find..just do a quick search.
            Best regards,
            Ray

        • Raymond Rapcavage

          May 7, 2013 at 6:28 pm

          Mike,
          You would be a perfect size #5.
          Thanks for the inquiry and hope you give it a try !
          Best regards,
          Ray

  16. Three Guys Golf

    Apr 22, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Just a note on sizing. We reviewed this shirt as well. One of our reviewers is 6′ 3″ 240 lbs XXL and it fits him fine so big boys are welcomed.

    • Burt

      Jun 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm

      I suggest that your magazine and readers boycott this company. Their egregious behavior at the US Open at Merion Golf Club should be an affront to all golfers. By hiring a plane to circle the neighborhood and golf course during the tournament carrying a banner touting free shipping from golf swing shirt is outrageous. The fact that the CEO of this company would disturb the fans and golfers at the tournament tells you something about him and his company.

      • Raymond Rapcavage

        Nov 10, 2013 at 12:25 am

        Burt,
        Congrats …You one of two people in 70,000 fans to complain about a single engine banner plane flying at 2000 feet.
        The other person was a lunatic doctor who lived three blocks from the course and from the sound of your tone I think that YOU maybe HIM and that you are using a fake screen name. If not maybe you can go seek him out and both of you join a support group for whiners.
        Did you also complain about the Met Life blimp that flew for 10 hours per day at 1000 ft and is four times the size ?
        Grow up Doc and chill out.
        Raymond Rapcavage
        President
        The Golf Swing Shirt

        • Jon

          Jan 24, 2014 at 12:44 pm

          Just because of your response to ‘Burt/Doc’ I’m IN! Going to web-site now to order. Too many ‘politically correct’ people in this world to get anything done. I’ll send open & honest review once I get mine. Hopefully see you at the Phoenix Open Next week…will be on 17!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 48
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending