Don't miss

Woods assessed 2-shot penalty for illegal drop

by   |   April 13, 2013
Tiger Woods

Tiger Woods, the favorite at this year’s Masters Tournament, has been assessed a two-shot penalty for an illegal drop he took in the second round on Augusta’s 15th hole.

Woods third shot on the hole, a par 5 with a water hazard in front of the green, hit the flagstick on the fly, causing it to ricochet into the water hazard.

Woods had three options after his ball entered the water hazard, which was a yellow-staked hazard (not lateral):

  1. Replay his shot from “as close as possible” from the original location.
  2. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the spot where the ball crossed the hazard between the hole and the spot where the ball was dropped.
  3. Play from the designated drop area.

Woods chose not to play from the designated drop area, but rather to drop his ball two yards behind the original location of his shot — a decision he discussed with ESPN’s Tom Rinaldi after the round.

Because Woods’ ball last crossed the hazard on a different line than where his ball originally crossed the hazard, Woods’ drop — two yards behind the original spot — was illegal.

Instead of disqualifying Woods, or Woods removing himself from the tournament, Masters rules officials have assessed Woods a two-shot penalty under a clause that gives rules officials discretion over infractions committed after a player has signed his card.

Click here to read the official statement from Masters Tournament headquarters.

Tiger took to twitter to make his own statement known at 11: 55 a.m. EST in a series of five tweets.

Tiger Woods will begin his third round at 1:45 p.m. EST. He is now 1-under (instead of 3-under for the tournament), five shots back of leader Jason Day.

Click here to see what people are saying in the “Tour Talk” forum.

About

You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook .


79 Comments

  1. Olivier

    May 2, 2013 at 10:48 am

    You know what I dont get? Tiger literally hit the flagstick… This means that the line of the flagstick, the point where his ball crossed the water hazard AND the point from where he played his third shot on hole 15 is exactly the same line as the line on which he can drop his ball behind the water hazard and moving back as much as he wants?

    Is this a stupid question or should Tiger not have been penalized at all??

  2. Brian

    April 14, 2013 at 8:12 am

    The committee made the ruling, they reviewed it later, after Peres conference and a call in they reviewed it more. These crazy runs are hard enough to keep straight, and they needed all this help and more hours to interpret. Yet, Tiger is to make the decision that moment. Committee made the decision, I don’t agree with Brandle, I agree with Frank Nobilo. He’s the correct one. Shame the master for not having rules officials with each group. The smallest major field and the they do not have outside rules officials.

    The penalty has been issued but there is one solution to satisfy me, GO EL ‘ PATO!!!

  3. Ryan

    April 13, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    He didn’t know he broke a rule. Rule 33-7 leaves it up to the commitee to call BS on whether he knew or didn’t know he was breaking a rule. They didnt call BS on him. Done.

  4. Dave

    April 13, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    And if it were anyone else they would have been DQ’d in a heart beat.. total BS.

  5. Poop Squirrel

    April 13, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    C’mon Tiger, New life baby! 66 to win it tomorrow!

  6. Ryan

    April 13, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    I hope Tiger wins just to rile up the naysayers even more.

  7. Ryan

    April 13, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    Well said Suge.

  8. Shug Avery

    April 13, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Third party complaints exist and this situation proves it. There was a rule violation and a penalty was assessed, an exception was granted per the rules. There is support from the players of the application of these rules. If Tiger goes on to win he did so playing and beating the field. He is deemed eligible to compete per the governing body. Guan’s penalty is a bigger tragedy.

    • Andre

      April 13, 2013 at 3:39 pm

      Well said shug! And for those who keep talking about the post round interview and tigers comments. He clearly says he moved back to yards, but it was cause he thought he was acting under the rules that he could move back. Not in the intent to cheat. Even the Davis ferehty was commentating, and was unsure on this options. And you can clearly hear as he speaking. It wasn’t intentional, but of course if he does happen to win. There will be those who think he didn’t deserve to be there.

      • Bob S

        April 13, 2013 at 5:45 pm

        Now lets see….”he clearly says he moved back to yards, but it was cause he thought he was acting under the rules….”. 1) I have not seen on any post interviews, or for that matter any interviews where Tiger is quoted as making this statement. 2) The last time i checked, it is the golfers responsibility to know precisely the rules of golf….esp at this level! 3) As to intent….Tiger specifically stated he moved back 2yds to accommodate the flight pattern of upcoming shot he wanted to hit. As to final outcome and “rules committee” opinion….you be the judge!!

  9. Brian

    April 13, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    I think the game of golf as a whole needs to be simplified. The fact that the USGA rulebook reads like the tax code and that a rules official is needed for each group of experienced professional players in a tournament tells me it’s time the whole thing needs to be reevaluated.

  10. shark

    April 13, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    Maybe Tiger should be DQ’d but I would like to ask the question why is Vijay Singh playing in the masters after admitting to taking drugs, no DQ for Vijay. Seems like golf is full of double standards…

  11. LObin

    April 13, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    Can someone explain me why the ball didn’t cross the hazard on the same line? Because he moved back a couple of yards and was coming on an angle? Seriously?!? The 2nd ball landed whithin 10 feet of the 1st ball landing spot (the flag).
    What happens if he drops the ball in the same spot where he hit his 1st shot from but pushes the ball 20 feet to the right? It wouldn’t cross on the same line either…

    • Gary Ward

      April 13, 2013 at 12:54 pm

      Lobin the rule is where the ball last crossed the margin i.e where it crossed AFTER it hit the flag i.e way to the left of the point he played from, he considered that apparently but the lie would have been terrible. The rule is the ball must be dropped on a straight line keeping the point the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard and the flag. It doesn’t mean the next time you hit it that it has to cross the same point :-)

  12. LObin

    April 13, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    Mario, I’ve been reading your comments and I strongly disagree. Refering to the Dustin Johnson’s incident isn’t a good comparaison. Dustin wasn’t DQied. He was assigned a 2 stroke penalty before signing his card, which put him outside of a playoff with Kaymer and Watson. And his case is totally different since he thought it wasn’t a hazard because of all the fans stepping in the “bunker”. Poor job by the rule official and poor job by his caddy (Tiger’s caddie…).
    When that whole sad story happened, the rule 33-7 didn’t exist. Now it does. Should he withdraw because other golfers in the past, prior to the 33-7 rule, got DQied? Eeehhhh… NO!
    AND, the rules official reviewed the play before Tiger signed his card and declared there was no penalty. I read that they changed there mind after someone called because after hearing Tiger’s comment on the play.

  13. Andre

    April 13, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    Since we are “following the rules” let dq all the player who have won with long anchored putter! That following the rules!

    • Gary Ward

      April 13, 2013 at 12:49 pm

      The point is that is not a rule, so they haven’t broken it. Tiger broke a very simple rule that anyone who plays golf should know then admitted that it was his intention to do so on TV.

      • Bob S

        April 13, 2013 at 2:07 pm

        And Gary is absolutely correct; Tiger indicted himself w/the post round interview….clearly stating what his thinking was PRIOR to the 5th shot. He is on record as wanting to give himself an additional 2yds with the drop for execution of the upcoming shot. Now…determining the facts, and putting timing of those facts in conjunction w/intent of the player….that becomes the essence of this discussion.

  14. Kevin

    April 13, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    I never liked the idea of being dq’ed for something you did not know you did wrong, but there is no precedent for how this 2-shot penalty was handed down instead of a dq. A rule is a rule for a 14-year old kid, but Tiger apparently is bigger than golf and gets treated differently.

  15. i.p.

    April 13, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    If Tiger is not disqualified at this event, then Roberto De Vincenzo should have won the Masters in his times instead of being disqualified for signing a wrong scorecard.
    Really a bad move… What a shame for the entire movement of Golf!!!!

    • Artie

      April 13, 2013 at 12:19 pm

      The rule didn’t exist when he played, unfortunately.

  16. TD

    April 13, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    A rule is a rule; I agree with Ryan M. & Forsbrand. It’s the people that call in, incorrect scorecard (why have them anymore?) ohh, that leaf moved, etc, etc. It’s that finky attitude that has led to the decline of golf. The purist say that shouldn’t be considered. Well if that was the case, then Augusta, USGA and PGA wouldn’t be teaming up to promote junior golf. If that wasn’t the case, the PGA wouldn’t have gone against the USGA/R&A on belly ban. The committee rendered its decision, based on the revision of the rule.

  17. northgolf

    April 13, 2013 at 11:53 am

    I like how people here think they are more qualified to make a decision than the rules committee at the Masters.

    • 2putttom

      April 13, 2013 at 12:38 pm

      Right on… bunch of arm chair officials.

  18. Cody

    April 13, 2013 at 11:46 am

    This is for The Masters rules committee and Tiger Woods. I am unsure if this has been said but:

    What would Robert Tyre Jones, Jr. have done?

    • Artie

      April 13, 2013 at 12:19 pm

      He let Palmer play two balls after he disagreed with a ruling, and went on to win…

  19. Jay

    April 13, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Hey Bob S, maybe u shouldnt make statements like that when u dont no what ur talking about. The tournament is run by Augusta National and not the PGA and they do make the decisions with regards to rules infranctions, get ur facts straight before u make comments like that.

    • Bob S

      April 13, 2013 at 11:05 am

      Jay….you sir need to get your “facts” straight; not only does the Masters and officials of Augusta National run this tournament in conjunction with the official rules of golf as established by the USGA/R&A/PGA…..but that was not the MAJOR point that i was addressing! You initially stated, and for the 2nd time i will quote, “Augusta has discretion over the rules….”unfortunately for your position, you sir are clearly WRONG!!

      • Dale W

        April 13, 2013 at 11:23 am

        When is the whole calling in penalties going to stop. I can’t believe that golf still allows this to happen. When was the last time I could call into a football or baseball game when they made a obvious bad call. Oh that’s right you can’t and it is taking away from this great game. In every sport there is going to be mistakes made that’s why we all watch and love live sports. Since when is it our responsibility to change the outcomes the athletes are competing in real time and we are able to call in long after they are done and gone home. Next time that pitch is called a strike I want to be able to call 6 hours later and have them change it to a ball. These guys play a game we can only dream about and rules officials follow them around so we should not be able to affect the outcome.

        • Adison

          April 13, 2013 at 11:51 am

          Agree with Dale W. This call-in B.S. should be stopped! Secondly after the rule officials reviewed the video and made the decision that he made a legit drop, it should stop there! Regardless of what tiger or any player says after the call has been made! In what other sport do the officials review a call, make a decision and then the next day decide to change their mind and implement a penalty? The answer is NONE! And don’t even get me started on the penalty they gave the 14 yr old even though its broke at every event by several players and hasn’t been used in the late 90′s. Ridiculous!

          • Mario

            April 13, 2013 at 11:58 am

            Adison: They tried to protect Tiger from penalty, then when Tiger spoke of his drop they knew they no longer could protect him as he pretty much bluntly said I broke the rules on tv..

        • Mario

          April 13, 2013 at 11:54 am

          In baseball, football, basketball etc. there are refs, or umps that are in charge of the game, (time, penalties, strikes and balls etc) in golf its up the golfers or fellow golfers to govern themselves and as I see it, all people watching are a part of fellow players. I believe Judgment calls are up to the players and fellow competitors, but blunt rules violations are everyone’s call. Golfers unlike any other sport are not playing to bend the rules or violate the rules…

          • Golflaw

            April 13, 2013 at 6:06 pm

            Your logic is faulty. The BS about golfers calling on themselves started at a time when there was no tv, was no media, was no crowds and people could cheat with impunity. And at that time balls were of feathers. There is ample opportunity for professional golf to use referees to call a penalty at the time on a player. Every other sport has referees and when they make a mistake such is life. Game stands. The baloney about golfers call penalties on themselves means we let jerks call in from their couch and change the results is another dumb rule that hurts the popularity of golf.

        • Gary Ward

          April 13, 2013 at 12:43 pm

          This was not in any way related to people calling in Tiger called it himself at interview!
          The rule 33 changes were brought in to stop players being DQ’d for breaking a rule they could not have been expected to know e.g. a ball moving imperceptably that was only seen by the HD camera that sort of thing not to allow the penalty to be ducked by a guy who broke the rule on purpose because he got it mixed up. The rules about how to drop from a water hazard are very simple it was a school boy error and the rules should be applied, if he wasn’t sure he should have asked.

  20. JL

    April 13, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Wow. This happens way too often for him. Shouldn’t he be calling the rules officials over more often? Wasn’t there that sandy lie thing? If he calls them over then it’s their responsibility not his. Guess a stroke or two doesn’t really matter to him in his mind. Don’t even understand why he thought that would even be ok. There should be a 5 foot radius where the ball enters the water where he could drop. Doesn’t make sense for him to have to hit across the water again when it rolled in it from closer to the pin.

    • Bob S

      April 13, 2013 at 11:08 am

      Agree completely; given this whole round of golf by all participants was off the charts from time perspective…..it would not have been causing anymore substantial delay to have sought out a rules official and let him/her make the decision as to proper drop point!

  21. TD

    April 13, 2013 at 10:48 am

    “I Narc’d on Tiger” T-shirts now available on http://www.mommydidntloveme.com...

  22. Andre

    April 13, 2013 at 10:33 am

    This is horse donk. The public shouldn’t be policing the players! Besides, this the masters,there should be a rule official with every group! Had it not been for the public he wouldn’t have been penalized. His intent, wasn’t to take advantage. Under the the hd, rule, he has the right to dq, himself. But how many player unknowingly break a rule, and are penalized because they are not on camera!

    • Mario

      April 13, 2013 at 10:44 am

      First off lets not blame the camera’s if it wasn’t for the cameras Tiger Woods wouldn’t be a Millionare and all Golfers wouldn’t be making millions.. So Tiger and the rest of those players can thank every camera man out there. Second is just because you didn’t know you where braking a rule doesn’t mean you should get away with it. Ask Dustin Johnson about that. This is like no other sport and that’s why I love it!!! Its pretty much in black and white and Tiger has been playing by them for years, he has made millions on top of millions because of this game, so in my opinion he should respect this game and its rules and DQ himself…. He owes golf at least that much. The Augusta officials have a different agenda on why he isn’t DQ’ed and its all about the mighty dollar of ratings..

      • LObin

        April 13, 2013 at 11:52 am

        Mario, I’ve been reading your comments and I strongly disagree. Refering to the Dustin Johnson’s incident isn’t a good comparaison. Dustin wasn’t DQied. He was assigned a 2 stroke penalty before signing his card, which put him outside of a playoff with Kaymer and Watson. And his case is totally different since he thought it wasn’t a hazard because of all the fans stepping in the “bunker”. Poor job by the rule official and poor job by his caddy (Tiger’s caddie…).
        When that whole sad story happened, the rule 33-7 didn’t exist. Now it does. Should he withdraw because other golfers in the past, prior to the 33-7 rule, got DQied? Eeehhhh… NO!
        AND, the rules official reviewed the play before Tiger signed his card and declared there was no penalty. I read that they changed there mind after someone called because after hearing Tiger’s comment on the play.

      • Andre

        April 13, 2013 at 12:02 pm

        Under the drop rule that he thought he was playing. He had the right to drop as far back as he wanted! So his intent wasn’t to cheat! He thought he was playing within the rules! So no I wasn’t in his head. Besides, how many people were around that green? Even his caddy, didn’t realize he was in violation. If it really fair, to dq, someone for something like this? Again, he taking the 2 stroke penalty. Was it fair for Padraig Harrington disqualified for Abu Dhabi error? When picking up his marker? Really?

        • Artie

          April 13, 2013 at 12:17 pm

          Correct me if I’m wrong, but he could drop anywhere between where he hit the ball, and where it entered the hazard. Only on a tee shot, can you go back to the tee (or, as far back as he wanted). Am I correct in that, really not sure?

          • Gary Ward

            April 13, 2013 at 12:35 pm

            Sorry thats in correct:
            The rule you refer to is only if he keeps the point the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard between you and the flag, he chose not to do that he chose to play from where he last played which he has to play as close as possible to, i think Tiger got those two mixed up like you have.
            The far back as possible would have been way to the left of where he hit it from.
            His other option was the drop zone which is smelly so he ruled that out too.
            If rules are unfair then they get changed after not because the guy breaking them is good. Like happened after Harrington and Roe etc

    • Bob S

      April 13, 2013 at 11:00 am

      Interesting that you comment on his intent; as if you were in his head! In his post round taped interview; “…two yards further back and took two yards off the shot…” which i am afraid to inform you would under anyone’s definition clearly imply not only his “intent” but his willingness to “take advantage” of the drop!

      • Forsbrand

        April 13, 2013 at 12:19 pm

        Did tiger take advantage of a drop a little further back and out of place from where he played his original shot? YES. Did he admit this? YES but did he admit this before he signed his scorecard? Who were the rules officials? Did they have their heads in the sand when tiger was explaining what he did? I ain’t understand what has hanged between tiger explaining it before he signed his iCard and afterwards in the press conference? Surely it’s the same story from tiger? Someone is not playing straight

    • Gary Ward

      April 13, 2013 at 12:30 pm

      Andre can i point out politley a few points:
      There is an official with every group Tiger had the option to call and ask which if he had no penalty could be applied
      The public had nothing to do with this it was not a TV viewer that called in as on previous occassions.
      He broke the rule and did exactly what he intended to do i.e move back 2 yards from where he played the original shot, he got 2 simple rules mixed up thinking he could go back on the same line. To me that is not an “exceptional unknowing error” it is ignorance of the rules as such he should be disqualified, shame as i think golf needs an on form Tiger but this hurts him and it hurst golf.

      • Chuck

        April 13, 2013 at 2:56 pm

        No. Not at the Masters. There is not a referee with every pairing.

        Tiger knew the rule, and the options. He just got mixed up on how to apply it, with the ball having crossed the margin of the hazard on the other side after careening off the flagstick. That gave him a completely different line to keep between himself and the hole. He didn’t want to go that way. Tiger got mixed up. He was supposed to drop as near to his original spot as possible. From where he wanted to play from, that was the only permissible option.

  23. Big Herm

    April 13, 2013 at 10:12 am

    He should be disqualified. He only got two strokes because Augusta is gutless and it’s Tiger Woods. ANYBODY else would be gone from this tournament. Maybe Nike will make a new commercial from this since they support cheaters.

  24. David

    April 13, 2013 at 10:05 am

    I hate to say it, because as with many rules in golf, a DQ seems too severe for what Tiger did, but based on how rules have been applied in the past, a DQ is the most appropriate penalty. Once they start making exceptions, the rule is no longer valid. I don’t think that Tiger intentionally broke the rule, but between he, his caddie, and the rules officials, they should not have made this mistake.

    By the way, a two-stroke penalty on a hole where an unlucky break already cost him 1-2 strokes is pretty severe, and Tiger will have to play some great golf to overcome it.

    • rtylerg

      April 13, 2013 at 11:00 am

      I completely agree. Where was the caddie? I’m sure Tiger was steamed after hitting the flag stick and then having it go in the water hazard so I can see how his decision could have been an overly-hasty one. His caddie should have huddled him up and gone over the options.

      Also, while I don’t think many things ethically merit a DQ, he should have called over a rules official. It can never hurt to ask and then there can be no questioning the decision. Tiger isn’t the best player in the world for his knowledge of the rules so let someone else handle that.

  25. J

    April 13, 2013 at 10:00 am

    This isn’t a PGA ran event. Augusta has discretion over the rules and they get to decide how infractions are handled. Did you all even READ that portion of the article you are commenting on.

    Really…

    • David

      April 13, 2013 at 10:11 am

      @J Though you are correct in noting that this is not a PGA event, that in itself would do nothing to dissuade many from believing that the lack of a DQ is playing favorites. The reason that players adhere to a strict interpretation of the rules of golf, whether or not they agree with the rules, is because without that, the integrity of the game comes into question. For The Masters to assess penalties differently than the rules of golf would suggest rightfully calls into question the integrity of this Tournament…especially unexpected at a place where running and wearing your cap backwards draw penalties and stern lectures.

    • Bob S

      April 13, 2013 at 10:18 am

      Really…..so let me get to the nuts and bolts of your implication; “this isn’t a PGA ran even. Augusta has discretion over the rules…”…Really!! I not only do not agree with you, but longer range ramifications would be profound for the game!!

      • Artie

        April 13, 2013 at 12:13 pm

        Well, for example, the Masters committee could decide to play a different ball – one that doesn’t travel as far, or spin as much, if they wanted to. It’s not a PGA event – they can do as they wish. The fact that it’s a “major” means absolutely nothing. “Major” is a made up term…

      • J

        April 13, 2013 at 8:38 pm

        Doesn’t matter if you agree with me or not… Your wrong. Plain and simple. August makes, polices, and enforces the rules of…

        THEIR TOURNAMENT.

        It’s not a hard concept. It is an invitational… You trying to tell me that ” local rules ” don’t apply at a golf course that sets them because the same rule doesn’t apply elsewhere. That, by definition, is golf.

        Through the green at the PGA Campionship…. Does that ring a bell?

        I dislike Tiger too..but that doesn’t mean there is a news story and some conspiracy going on because it was Tiger… Augusta enforced their rules the way they wanted. It’s their show.

        End of story.

    • Kccheadpro

      April 13, 2013 at 12:09 pm

      That’s what pathetic, it still is a Major golf tournament and they don’t want to follow the rules of golf. Total garbage.

    • Gary Ward

      April 13, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      It may be an Augusta run event in some ways but it is an official professional golf tournament and Augusta do not have the right to change or interpret the rules as they see fit. If they do then it cannot be called a golf tournment!

      • J

        April 14, 2013 at 2:15 am

        So Gary… No Local Rules…

        No Through the Green at the PGA Championship…

        Their are local rules in effect at alot of tournaments… Or does that simple and undisputed fact elude you?

  26. Mario

    April 13, 2013 at 9:53 am

    This happens to anyone else and they are DQ’ed!!! Tiger needs to do the right thing and DQ himself, I will have a more found respect for him

    • Ryan M

      April 13, 2013 at 11:27 am

      That’s ignorant- Rory/Hefty/Bubba Watson/Fred Couples none of them get DQ’d for this either.

    • Marionmg

      April 13, 2013 at 4:55 pm

      Anyone else does this and we never even hear/know about it.

  27. Mat

    April 13, 2013 at 9:50 am

    They blow the slow play call, but I HATED seeing people DQ’d for stuff. This is a good thing. I still think they should have only 2 hours after the last player signs for the day to make any changes, and only DQ for things in 4th round.

  28. dakota jones

    April 13, 2013 at 9:47 am

    Thanks for this article went on here because on golf channel they were not talking about why he was disqualified thanks for the info.

  29. Matt M

    April 13, 2013 at 9:46 am

    Can the call in police get out of golf. If no rules officials has problem with drop during the round then that should be final!

    • Mario

      April 13, 2013 at 9:51 am

      No body called in, Tiger in a interview admitted to his drop (Dropped to yards behind his original spot) in which was wrong. He didn’t realize it was wrong but that’s besides the point. Tiger didn’t want to brake the rule but he did!!! And the rule of signing the wrong scorecard is a DQ!!!! Tiger cheated unknownly but he cheated regardless….

    • Bob S

      April 13, 2013 at 9:52 am

      He didn’t call for the “rules officials” for their assessment; he made the drop decision on his own, later added fuel to fire with his comments as to his intent….should be disqualified!

    • Tservos

      April 13, 2013 at 11:09 am

      Seems like he called the penalty on himself.

      I hate the DQ rule.

      I really hate that some expert watching at home can call in a penalty (which apparently didn’t happen in this case)

      But he admitted to not only breaking the rule but that he did it to gain an advantage. He should be DQed and then they need to change the rule.

    • TD

      April 13, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      Who are these people that have nothing better to do than call in? Rethoical- I kind of know what type of invididual it is.

    • Golflaw

      April 13, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      Agree with you. The golf rule of self reporting made sense when there were no galleries, no tv and no media. The idea that a tour golfer can cheat and not get caught is silly. Another arcane and dumb rule that gets magnified when tv viewers can call in and say they saw something in slow motion. It began with someone calling in that Craig Stadler broke the rule by keeping his pants clean kneeling on a towel. was stupid then and is stupider today. Only sport where there is no referee to call penalties at the time. Imagine a viewer calling in who spotted a holding penalty on a winning touchdown and the next day the NFL changed the winner because the fan was right. At a minimum in major golf tournaments there ought to be a rules official with each group and he/she ought to call the penalty at the time it occurs. Avoids all the silly controversy.

  30. Mario

    April 13, 2013 at 9:44 am

    TIGER should be DQ’ed he signed a wrong scorecard.. PGA is playing favorites.. A Rule is a Rule….

    • Forsbrand

      April 13, 2013 at 10:33 am

      Absolute disgrace. Golf has sunk to a new low. It’s not tigers fault. But think how bookmakers will feel now? This could really effect sports betting

      • Forsbrand

        April 13, 2013 at 10:35 am

        If tiger were to go onto win it would almost certainly tarnish the reputation of Augusts masters . Just think back to the World Matchplay Championship. It was called this although if you were a non managed IMG client you didn’t get to play, which was a bit of a farce in itself. Absolute rubbish, anyo me else and they would be on the next plane home, but Tiger. Gutless PGA

    • Ryan M

      April 13, 2013 at 11:26 am

      http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-33/

      Rule 33-7

      33-7. Disqualification Penalty; Committee Discretion

      A penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.

      Any penalty less than disqualification must not be waived or modified.

      If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule.

      • Chuck

        April 13, 2013 at 2:47 pm

        The original post for this thread reads;

        “Instead of disqualifying Woods, or Woods removing himself from the tournament, Masters rules officials have assessed Woods a new two-shot penalty that gives rules officials discretion over rules infractions committed after a player has signed his card.”

        I think that is an incorrect wording. Woods wasn’t penalized under a new rule. The penalty (two shots) was for an incorrect drop. Which is a two-stroke penalty under good old Rule 20-7. Not a new Rule.

        Woods was rescued from a disqualification under a new Rule 33-7. That rule saved Woods from a DQ; it was not the source of the two-stroke penalty.

        I think that Fred Ridley did a pretty good job of explaining the action. He defended the Committee’s explanation very well.

        I also have some sympathy for the position of Brandel Chamblee. Would it be better for Tiger to withdraw? Would it serve the interest of the Masters? Would it enhance Tiger’s long-term reputation? Would it end a disasteful controversy, if Tiger were to win? Would other major champions withdraw?

        I have Tiger in a Masters pool, by the way. It would be in my financial interest for him to win.

        I think that Fred Ridely’s ruling was correct, and I think that Brandel Chamblee is correct when the better thing would be for Tiger to WD.

        • Thomas McAllister

          April 14, 2013 at 10:22 pm

          Brandel Chamblee is a Tiger hater, Tiger followed the ruling issued by the Masters Rules Committee and approved by every ruling body in Golf. Tell me how in the hell you think he should WD. He obeyed a ruling period

    • TD

      April 13, 2013 at 11:47 am

      A rule is a rule; I agree with Ryan M. & Forsbrand. It’s the people that call in, incorrect scorecard (why have them anymore?) ohh, that leaf moved, etc, etc. It’s that finky attitude that has led to the decline of golf. The purist say that shouldn’t be considered. Well if that was the case, then Augusta, USGA and PGA wouldn’t be teaming up to promote junior golf. If that wasn’t the case, the PGA wouldn’t have gone against the USGA/R&A on belly ban. The committee rendered its decision, based on the revision of the rule.

    • Artie

      April 13, 2013 at 12:09 pm

      The committee should have stopped him before he signed his scorecard, if they had an issue. Only when a player signs his card, is he deemed to have broken a rule. Until that time, he can correct the card himself. They reviewed it, and thought it was a legitimate drop. Only after his card was signed, and they heard his comments, did they look into it again. The decision is equitable. Under the rules of golf, the committee has the option of not DQ’ing a player. They exercised that option. Play on.

    • PETER

      April 13, 2013 at 5:33 pm

      I agree totality, #1 golfer in the world should know the rules and set example for other golfers. Man up and DQ yourself TIGER WOODS, for the good of the game.

      • Mark

        April 13, 2013 at 11:51 pm

        Thank you Peter…..he should have DQ’d himself. I do not buy that he I’d not know the rule……I am a weekend warier and even I know the rule. Bottom line is that he thought he would get by with it….. And he got caught !!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>