Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Odyssey “Tank” Putter: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: Thanks to the balance between its heavier head, heavier shaft and heavier grip, the Tank is a counter-balanced putter that doesn’t feel like one. We love the beefier head shape, and the White Hot insert and heavy, soft shaft deliver on feel. Big props to Odyssey for offering four different lengths — 34, 36, 38 and 40 inches.

Cons: We’d like to see center-shafted and slant-neck model, as well as an adjustable weight in the sole for tuning. And can we get it with Versa paint?

The Takeaway: The Tank will be huge for golfers who like the look and feel of an Odyssey No. 7 putter but get twitchy on the greens.

Overview

EditorsChoice_131

Odyssey’s Tank putter is one of the two anchored-putter alternatives that the company has released since the announcement of theproposed anchored-putter ban from golf’s ruling bodies. Unlike Odyssey’s Arm Lock putter, which features a shaft bend that allows golfers to anchor the putter to their lead forearm in the Matt Kuchar-style, the Tank is used in the same way as a conventional putter.

The performance difference comes from the fact that the Tank is counter balanced, meaning that it features a heavier head, shaft and grip that increases the overall MOI of the putter.

“It’s not just a super heavy putter that swings like a log,” said Greg Sabella, director of marketing for Odyssey.

IMG_2505

The Tank is one of Odyssey’s counters to the proposed anchored putter ban.

This makes the Tank different from TaylorMade’s Daddy Long Legs putter (click here for a full review), which is also counter balanced, but in a way that moves the balance point closer to the hands. After testing both models side by side, there’s no doubt that the Tanks feels more like a standard putter than the Daddy Long Legs, which some golfers will like and some will not. More on that later.

Like the Daddy Long Legs, golfers should try a Tank putter that is longer than their standard-length putter and grip it where it feels comfortable — ideally a few inches below the butt of the grip. The added length above the hands will add to the putter’s counter-weighting, which leads to more more stability and a more pendulum-like stroke.

The Tank is available on April 12 and like the Daddy Long Legs will cost $199. It is available in 34- and 36-inch models that have a total MOI that’s 34 percent greater than the company’s standard No. 7 putter, and 38- and 40-inch models that have a total MOI that is 109 percent higher.

All models come with a standard loft of 3 degrees and a lie angle of 70 degrees.

Performance

IMG_2467

The 34- and 36-inch putters have the same 400-gram putter head as the longer versions, but use different grips, shafts and counter weights to achieve the “tour” balance point of Odyssey’s standard-length putters.

The 34-inch model has a 130-gram shaft, while the 36-inch model has a 137-gram shaft. They also feature a standard-weight grip (about 63 grams) which conceals the 40-gram counter weight that gives the putters their traditional feel. The 38-inch model has a 151-gram shaft, while the 40-inch model has a 161-gram shaft, with grips that weigh about 111 grams and conceal a 30-gram counter weight.

This attention to detail makes all four models feel just like a standard putter, but gives them a much heavier total weight that will help golfers take the twitchiness out of their strokes.

Looks

IMG_2486

The Tank putter heads are 57 grams heavier than the standard No. 7 Odyssey putter. To increase the weight, yet keep the center of gravity relatively the same, Odyssey engineers added a different camber to the sole and beefed up the top of the putter, eliminating the divide between the top line and back portion on the No. 7.

They also added “double barrel” alignment aids — two white lines on the heel and toe of the putter, which frame the three red dots that denote the center of the putter face. The look is fresh, but not far enough away from the No. 7 that it will scare away its fans.

Feel

IMG_2472IMG_2476

The most impressive part of the Tank’s design is its careful attention to feel, which is off-the-charts good for a putter of its weight.

To achieve its standard-putter feel, Odyssey uses two different shafts — a standard putter shaft in the 34- and 36-inch models and a ski poll shaft in the 38- and 40-inch models, which feature thicker walls to accommodate their extra weight. Those shafts feel softer than most because of the increased load from the heavier components, which feel-oriented golfers will like.

Odyssey Tank or TaylorMade Daddy Long Legs?

IMG_2528

You’ll notice that we’ve given the Tank a 5-star rating and the Daddy Long Legs a 4.5. But don’t let those ratings lead you to believe the Tank is the better putter.

We’ve heard from several putter designers that the reason that belly putters receive more use on tour than long putters, which are actually more effective than bellies at delivering a consistent pendulum stroke, is because belly putters are more similar to conventional putters in the way that they are used.

That’s why we’re so impressed with the Tank — it feels pretty much identical to a standard Odyssey No. 7 putter, but is much more stable.

The Daddy Long Legs has a slightly stiffer-feeling shaft and insert, which some will like more than the Tank. And its higher MOI it will be everything many golfers are looking for if they want an extremely stable putter that will keep their hands steady when their knees are knocking.

Our advice? Give them both a shot and see which one swings better for you. One good thing that has come from the proposed anchor ban by golf’s ruling bodies is that it has forced putter makers to find creative ways to add stability to a golfer’s putting stroke, which is why these two great putters are coming to market. Maybe in time, golfers will find that they didn’t need that silly old anchor anyways. These might be good enough.

Check out the additional photos and comparison shots of the Tank and Daddy Long Legs putters in the gallery below:

Your Reaction?
  • 40
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW5
  • LOL0
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

21 Comments

21 Comments

  1. Rick Ford

    Mar 26, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    Picked up the DLL 38″ 3 weeks ago, played two rounds with it and the paint fill around the face insert started peeling away! Liked the way it felt not happy with the quality. Returned it to Golfsmithh and exchanged it for the 38″ Odyessy Tank Versa 7. Noticeably heavier, looks and feels like a quality putter should. Believe it will hold up much better than the DLL

  2. Frank

    Jan 27, 2014 at 12:24 am

    Can you shorten the 38inch Tank 7 down to 37 inches? It feels a little long and yet I did not like the grip on the standard grip on the 36 inch model. Will shortening the length involve moving the counter balance weight in the top of the shaft? Will this change the properties to the putter in any noticeable way? Just wondering. Odyssey is sort of mum about changing the length.

  3. froneputt

    Dec 6, 2013 at 3:00 am

    I tried it several times at the store and it was too heavy and numb feeling. I think you can achieve the objective with a putter that feels like a putter off the ball and not as heavy — something playable.

  4. Snowman

    Jul 28, 2013 at 11:25 am

    Tried the tank at the golf store…liked it. Seems Stupid to me that they did not come out with Versa versions of the Tank….. If Versa is so great and is their ‘latest gratest’, Why Not? I think Els won a tournament with a custom Versa Tank, so I just don’t understand……

  5. kevin

    Jul 4, 2013 at 4:47 am

    I recently changed from the Odyssey Black Series No 7 , which I’ve used for about 3 Years, to a 38″ Tank. I tried the 34″ ,same as my Black , but felt the 38″ gave me better control . I grip down with the heel of my left hand on the first “Y” in Odyssey. The 38″ grip feels thicker which I like. Straight away my short and medium putts were good but still working on distance control for the long ones. With the old putter I had a tendency to crouch and not get my eyes over the ball, with this new one not a problem and it feels really comfortable . The top of the putter head is much better visually with the front & back divide from the old one gone and very clear sight lines. BTW I tried the ” Heavy” putters and they didn’t do it for me – this Tank is totally different. Worth more than a 5 star rating!

  6. Jason

    Jun 10, 2013 at 7:47 am

    Why do these putters come with same 70 degree lie angle, irrespective of length? I thought putter lie angles changed by approx 1 degree for every half-inch change in length.

  7. MikeD

    May 17, 2013 at 11:43 am

    I’ve tried these. I like the idea and the feel, but it’s beyond me as to why the 34 and 36 inchers have such cheapo grips, while the 38 and 40 have good grips. The DDL has the long, thick grip in both lengths. That right there is enough to sway a lot of golfers to the DDL.

  8. chris

    Apr 9, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    Walter your putter is awful and the reviews prove it. try again buddy!http://www.oobgolf.com/content/fore+play/1-3586-Double_Duty_Divot_Repair_Putter.html

  9. RH

    Apr 4, 2013 at 10:59 am

    So if the grip is weighted, what happens if I want to change the grip? Do I need a special weighted odyssey grip to maintain the counter balance?

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Apr 4, 2013 at 4:20 pm

      The grip is heavier than most grips, but it is not weighted. There is a weight underneath the grip that acts as a counterbalance that will remain when the grip is changed.

  10. Wallter Graves

    Mar 28, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    I sure would like someone noted in the golfing industry who would take a look at my putter, give me an evaluation on its putting ability and give me their honest opinion on the overall performance. I will be more than happy to send them a putter for testing ( R or L Handed) to the right person who I feel would accept the putter with no strings attached for a true and honest opinion. Walter Graves, W.H.Golf LLC — DOUBLE DUTY-the divot repair putter.

  11. mike mcferron

    Mar 28, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Duh! – I see the April 12 availability date. Still wondering about the grip.

  12. mike mcferron

    Mar 28, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Is the grip on the Odyssey longer than standard? When are these going to be available?

  13. Gary Goetz

    Mar 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Heard these are going to sell for $199.Any one hear any different?

    • Ralph

      Oct 19, 2013 at 11:53 am

      I looked around on line and at shops and could not find one cheaper so bought one at a pro shop and love it! I think it is going to be worth the cost, at least for me.

      Ralph

  14. Justin Angelier

    Mar 24, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    Rickie using this one this week?

    • Ty

      Mar 24, 2013 at 9:24 pm

      I’m sure it feels good, but its not very original. Just looks like they copied Boccieri’s Heavy Putter. And with Boccieri’s three weight categories, its easy to find the right “feel”.

      It’ll be interesting to see how many anchored players switch to a counter balanced putter if and when the USGA ruling goes into effect.

      BTW I saw the commercial for Boccieri’s Secret Grip, looks pretty cool. Anyone try it? Would love some insight.

  15. Zak Kozuchowski

    Mar 23, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    The Tank and Daddy Long Legs putters are huge improvement over the original Heavy Putter models.

    They have great-feeling inserts, beautiful head designs and much more conventional balance points that will allow users to feel the head more in the stroke.

    No, this isn’t new technology, but TaylorMade and Odyssey paid attention to the details and got these right. Like a soft feel? Try the Tank. Prefer a firmer feel? Try the Daddy Long Legs.

  16. Yohanan

    Mar 23, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Just got the tax refund. sshh dont tell the wife!

  17. Mike

    Mar 23, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    How do both these putters compare to the “Heavy Putter” line of putters? Do both of these putters have better feel and better distance control than the Heavy Putter Line? Do these feel heavier than the Heavy putter line or are they better balanced?

  18. John

    Mar 23, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    Brand new idea that Boccieri Heavy putters have been doing for years with a very large head, weight selection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Putter Reviews

Review: Optic Z Putters

Published

on

Pros: Point-and-shoot putting. Optic Z putters use a Z-neck design that can lead to a more consistent setup with your hands and eyes on every putt.

Cons: It could take a little while to get used to the design.

Who It’s For: Players looking to develop a consistent setup and stroke.

The Review

  • Model: Optic Z8
  • Head Weight: 365 grams
  • Material: Proprietary “Power 51” Alloy
  • Finish: Black “High-Tech Molecular” application
  • Face Milling: Deep Double Mill
  • Stock Lie: 70.5 degrees (rolled sole allows angles from 67 to 75)
  • Loft: 2.25 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 35 inches (All lengths available custom order)
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin E.B.L “Optic” grip (Custom grips available)
  • Stock Shaft: True Temper Steel (Aerotech, Loomis, and UST available)
  • Price: $325 Base (Up to $500 with custom options)

Over the past decade, it seems like there have been as many new putter companies as there have been drivers released in the past year (I think another one just released since I typed that sentence). While many of them have come up with ways to re-create or re-design the classic favorites of the past 40-plus years, there are a few companies that are pushing the boundaries of what a putter can be and how it can help make putting easier. And a company called Optic Z Putters has done just that.

Z8Putter4

I reviewed the company’s Optic Z8 putter, which has a distinct batwing shape. It’s one of three putters the company offers — its Z3 is more blade-like in shape, while its Z7 is more mallet-like — and each putter sells for $325.

According to the company, Z Optic putters take the two main parts of putting and making them easy to reproduce. And with every putt, Optic Z putters are said to help golfers set their hands and eyes in the same exact position for every putt. “This has been done!” you say? Well, let’s find out if my experience with the Z8 was different.

The Look

back optic z8

When I first saw the Z8 putter with its Z-shaped hosel, I began to wonder, “What exactly is going on here?” It has a unique Z-neck that creates a “3D” effect when looking down over the ball at address. But when looking at the putter in any other view, it does look odd. It will take a little bit of time to get used to it, but like many putters that come out these days, after a while you simply get used to it and forget about it.

Z8putter1

The putter is 100 percent milled, U.S.A. made, and has a deep “double” milled face pattern that is familiar to most people. It offers an incredibly soft feel that is part from the milling, but also from the Proprietary Power 51 alloy metal that is used. The sole of the Z8 has 8 degrees of roll to it. This means that it can effectively play with a lie angle anywhere from 67 to 75 degrees. The new Z-neck hosel also makes the putter face balanced as if it was a center-shafted putter. And finally, there are several thick alignment lines, both horizontal and vertical, to help aim.

The Z Revolution?

3WayAlignment_grande

Once you set the putter down and see how everything lines up in a “3D” type of alignment, you get the point of the Z-neck. Instead of just giving one point of reference similar to other putters, the Z8 gives you three points of alignment.

You align the Z-neck bend with the toe of the putter, the heel and shaft together, and then make sure both are lined up together. Once you have this set, your hands and eyes will be in the correct position.

Z8Putter6

In addition to adding more reference points, the key difference with the Z8 is that it actually requires you to have forward press with your hands. The stated loft of 2.25 degrees is the loft with your hands in that forward-press position. The Z-neck is also supposed to eliminate the visual moment of impact of when the ball comes off the face of the putter. The theory is that it helps you relax more through the stroke by not seeing the point of impact, a similar theory to looking at the hole instead of the ball when putting.

Does it work?

Z8Putter5

I was skeptical of the putter when I first started using it, and it took me a little bit to get used to the 3D effect. After spending a good amount of time with it, I can say that it does what it is supposed to do. It really becomes a “point-and-shoot” kind of putting, and it makes the set up of putting incredibly easy. The ball rolls really well off the face, too, and the feel is incredibly soft. The alignment aids do a good job helping at address, and I’m someone who has moved away from alignment aids because I tend to aim them incorrectly.

The Optic Z8 putter performed the best for me on putts inside 10 feet. I struggled on longer putts, but it was more due to the weight of the putter. At 365 grams, it is much heavier compared to what I’ve been using, but I’ve always struggled with long-distance putting with heavier putters. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance. And the more I used it, the more comfortable I became and the more putts I made.

The Takeaway

Z8putter

If you struggle with consistency, especially at set up, this is one to try. It may take some time to get used to Optic Z putters, but most golfers should be able to adjust. These putters are well made, feel great and can truly help golfers in two areas that we know are important to putting.

To learn more about Optic Golf’s putters, visit the company’s website

Your Reaction?
  • 111
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW13
  • LOL7
  • IDHT9
  • FLOP6
  • OB6
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Directed Force Putters

Published

on

Pros: Stroke stability and consistency are likely to improve with a proper fitting. The putters also double as training aids for stroke tempo.

Cons: The looks, overall feel and forced-forward-press grip will likely take getting used to.

Who’s it for: Golfers seeking more stability in their stroke. If you don’t get fit properly, however, the technology will not reach its maximum potential.

The Review

DirectedForcePuttersOften times, great inventions are made out of necessity — a solution to a problem. That’s how Bill Presse, founder of Directed Force, developed his innovative putter technology. As a playing professional and teaching pro, he was frustrated by poor putting and needed a solution. Presse began building putters, and after “drilling holes in [putter] heads,” he figured out he could make a putter that stayed square to the putter path. His buddies were disbelievers, so he built “the revealer” to prove the technology — another invention born because of a problem.

Unlike most putters, which are either face-balanced or have what’s called “toe hang,” Directed Force putters ($399.95) are lie-angle balanced. That means the putter face stays straight (or perpendicular) to the putter path throughout the stroke, which is ideal in theory. And serious golfers across the globe have spent countless hours trying to improve their ability to keep their putter face perpendicular to their path during their stroke.

Can this new putter technology provide a shortcut? Watch the video below to see it in action.

Presse’s technology is effective for golfers because of the importance of the face angle at impact. According to findings from SAM PuttLab, the face angle at impact determines 83 percent of a putt’s initial starting direction, and is thus about 5 times more important than putter path.

Here’s how they’re made.

DirectedForcePutters5

The company first forges the putter heads from 6061 aircraft aluminum, then CNC-milled to the proper shape and finishes them with a type-3 anodized coating. It’s important to note that lie-angle balance is not achieved because of the outlandish head shape, which is the immediate assumption, but rather due to the location of the shaft relative to the center of gravity (CG) in the club head. To dial in the specific lie angle of each putter — which are weighted differently depending on a putter’s lie angle, length and grip — weights are installed on each side of the putter face (toe and heel), as well as on the sole. It’s those weights, in conjunction the putter’s shaft position, that give the putters their “lie-angle balance.”

DirectedForcePutters4

Not only does the head shape look, well… weird, but the grip is unconventional, too. But there’s science behind it, as well. Watch the video below to learn more about the PressGrip, developed by Presse, and how it works.

The putter shaft runs through the PressGrip at 3 degrees, instead of straight in (or 0), placing the putter in a forward-press position without the golfer’s hands moving forward of center. This allows the golfer to choke down or up on the grip without losing lie angle, and since the grip is made with a constant taper, changing hand positions doesn’t affect the feel of the grip.

The PressGrip comes in two sizes: Mid-Size (1.250 inches) and Large (1.375 inches), and can be purchased separately for $29.95.

Directed Force’s putter technologies are not dependent on the PressGrip, however, so the putters can be made with the aftermarket grip of your choice. Presse says the grip size and weight affect weighting in the head, so make sure to factor that in during your purchase.

Does it work?

DirectedForcePutters3

First off, the grip feels very different at first, even for someone who forward presses their putter. It’s the first thing most golfers comment on when they try it for the first time. And while it can feel strange, all it takes is a few strokes to get used to it. After that, you’ll be disappointed going back to a normal putter grip — at least I was.

The second thing someone will comment on is the head shape… obviously. It’s a lot of putter head to look at, and the shape is far from conventional. That being said, different doesn’t mean bad in this case.

DirectedForcePutters6

This putter has one of those, you’re-just-along-for-the-ride feels, and seems to swing itself. For yippers or those who struggle with short putts, those are great words to hear. And due to the displacement of so much weight well behind the face, it has a very high moment of inertia (MOI). That means it hardly matters whether you hit it off the toe, heel or center of the face. The putter allows you — and I have confirmed this — to hit 30+ foot putts dead off the heel or toe without much, or any, noticeable affect on distance or direction.

Because of its reliance on lie-angle balance, the technology won’t be as beneficial if the putter isn’t fit to your lie angle. So make sure — if you’re seriously interested in buying a Directed Force putter — you get fit by a Directed Force Fitter, or do a Remote Fitting with Directed Force, which cost $30 but comes with a $30 discount code if you choose to purchase the putter.

The Numbers

So how do Directed Putters perform? We tested them with two golfers on SAM PuttLab, each of which was fit remotely for Directed Force putters several weeks before the test.

  • Tester 1 was me, a former college golfer and now a 1-handicap, weekend player. I’ve used the same off-the-rack Anser-style putter for the last two years, and only practiced with a Directed Force for about 30 minutes at the PGA Merchandise, which is where we discovered the putters.
  • Tester 2 was GolfWRX’s Zak Kozuchowski, our editor and resident professional golfer. He was recently fit for his gamer, an 8802-style, in the fall by another putter company.

Tester 1: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.55.40 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.20 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.58.00 PM

Tester 1: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.09 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.51 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.34 PM

Tester 1 Data Analysis

  • Consistency improved on average with Directed Force putter (98 percent versus 90 percent with gamer).
  • Face rotated less with Directed Force putter on average.
  • Putter path was more neutral with Directed Force putter on average (3.5 degrees left versus 3.9 degrees with gamer).
  • Putter path improved with Directed Force putter (56 percent consistency versus 52 percent consistency with the gamer).
  • Rise angle was higher with gamer putter (1.6 degrees up versus 1.0 up with the Directed Force).

Tester 2: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.41 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.53 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.02 PM

Tester 2: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.22 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.35 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.45 PM

Tester 2 Data Analysis

  • Putter path consistency improved with Directed Force on average (95 percent versus 87 percent with gamer).
  • Putter path was 2.3 degrees left with the Directed Force on average, but much more neutral with gamer putter (only 0.5 degrees left).
  • Rise angle was less downward with the gamer (1.1 degrees down) versus 2.6 degrees down with the Directed Force putter on average.
  • Face rotation consistency was better with the gamer on average (93 percent versus 89 percent with the Directed Force)
  • The face rotated less throughout the stroke with the Directed Force on average, and was less closed at impact on average (0.6 degrees versus 1 degree).

The numbers show a rise in consistency for both golfers when using the Directed Force putter compared to gamers. Tester 1, who had little experience with the putter, struggled with alignment, and both players hit more “down” on their putts with the Directed Force, most likely due to the forced forward press.

Therefore, it appears that the Directed Force putters can immediately add consistency to a golfer’s stroke, although it is likely that it will take time for golfers to truly optimize their putting with them.

The Takeaway

DirectedForcePutters7

If you’re going to try a Directed Force putter, make sure you get fit for it. It’s designed to work with your specific lie angle, and isn’t going to be as effective as it could be if it’s more than a few degrees off.

The oversize putter head’s feel and the grip could be a shock to many golfer’s systems, but after just a few putts most golfers will find that they’re no longer even noticing the odd-shaped putter head. And while the setup and stroke that the putter encourages may take some time to master, the benefits are fruitful.

Based on our testing, there’s no question golfers can improve the consistency of their strokes with a Directed Force putter, which is a rare thing to be able to say.

Your Reaction?
  • 207
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW22
  • LOL14
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP7
  • OB5
  • SHANK70

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Toulon Design Putters

Published

on

Pros: Toulon putters offer clean, classic lines. Exceptional feel and matching sound. Adjustable sole plates allow for custom head weights.

Cons: Only available in RH and polished stainless-steel (for now). Prices start at $399.

Who they’re for: All golfers, especially those true enthusiasts, collectors, and competitive players looking for something new and unique.

The Review

For this review, I tested a Toulon San Diego putter. The specs are listed below. 

  • Weight: 352 grams (head)
  • Material: 303 stainless steel
  • Finish: Tour Satin Mist
  • Face Milling: Deep Diamond
  • Stock Lie/Loft: 71 degrees/3 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 33-35 inches
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin Deep Etch (also available in charcoal or gray add $10; and SuperStroke Pistol GT Tour or Mid-Slim 2.0 add $20)

Along with the five different models (San Diego, Madison, San Francisco, Rochester and Memphis), Toulon Design Putters are also available in two counter-balanced options: Moderate Release (MR) and Aggressive Release (AR) for $459 and $499, respectively.

From a young age, I have primarily sifted my way through putters designed around the modern blade with the L-shaped hosel. Whether it be a Ping Anser 2 or Scotty Cameron Newport 1995 First Run, some of those putters have hung around, while most have not with a destination unknown. Call me stuck in the past, but apart from occasionally fiddling with the latest and greatest mallet, I have remained loyal to this classic style.

Given that tendency, I was understandably thrilled and equally excited to review the “San Diego” from a new putter company known as Toulon Design. Incidentally, my San Diego was built with a 345-gram putter head and additional 7-gram aluminum plate. The loft was 3 degrees, the lie was 70 degrees and without a grip it measured 34 inches. The overall weight was 541 grams and the swing weight was D4.

Started in 2015, but currently launching its initial stable of putters (Madison, San Diego, Rochester, San Francisco, and Memphis) over the coming months, Toulon Design has set it sights on making the best performance putters in the world, with looks to match that lofty goal. The company is based in Vista, California, and it was started by Sean Toulon, formerly involved with TaylorMade Golf for 16 years in product creation and design, and his sons, Tony and Joe. The founding principles of the company being mentorship, collaboration, and making putters with the serious golf enthusiast in mind — but all players welcome.

cb-toulon_gsi-0345-e1457364212407

Sean Toulon (pictured)

Upon cracking the box open to take my first look at the San Diego built for me, it was clear that Toulon Design has taken the time to painstakingly build something that any equipment lover should try. If you are the type of person who says, “I’m a golfer” when asked at a cocktail party what do you like to do in your free time, then seriously check out Toulon Design ASAP. The technology behind this initial line of putters, including the San Diego, is simply the icing on the cake. A review can not honestly do justice to what Toulon Design is attempting to create, which is a company satisfied with being no less than extraordinary.

Classic Look

Beautiful and timeless in its clean lines, the San Diego pushed all the rights buttons for me from the outset. It has a dark charcoal alignment mark that somehow seemed superior both cosmetically and technically in my eyes, especially given the satin mist finish of the putter. While Toulon is opening its “Garage” in May 2016 in an effort to provide its customers with the full “Tour experience” and a variety of options (not readily available for most putters), I chose the stock Lamkin Deep Etch emblazoned with the Toulon Design logo.

cb-toulon_brazing-0713

Before I even hit a putt, it felt like this putter was destined to make its way into my golf bag. What’s truly difficult to communicate in words is the attention detail that was evident in closely examining the San Diego. Toulon Design utilizes what is known as vacuum brazing (through the “Big Green Egg” above) to fuse the putter head and hosel in a manner that makes it feel and look as if those parts of the putter were always one in the same. Everything just simply felt and looked right.

Matching Sound and Feel

Possibly the most important aspect of the technology behind Toulon Design putters (including, the San Diego) is the concept of matching sound and feel with launch conditions of your golf ball. It may seem strange, but this concept is effectively untapped in the industry at present. As Toulon explains, “Sound and feel are totally intertwined. And those two things create the expectation of the distance the ball will travel for the golfer.” In other words, when sound and feel are successfully synced, it is easier to correlate and control distance in putting; not surprisingly, when things are off, controlling distance becomes much more difficult. Can you say 3-putt?

I’ve been playing golf for 30 years and I honestly can’t recall a putter that felt or sounded better. Again, words can’t properly describe it, but for me, uphill putts are particularly revealing and my expectation for putts hit with the San Diego closely aligned with my actual result. When I hit any putt (though, in particular, an uphill putt of 20+ feet), the feedback was immediate and in that regard I was able to quickly adjust to the speed and conditions of the greens on which I was playing or practicing. Put differently, I didn’t feel as if I was guessing from putt to putt (which happens) and instead, I was able to trust what I was hearing and feeling.

Diamonds in the Rough

cb-toulon_asigma-0560

The face milling pattern is also unique to Toulon Design, and the product of not only the creativity of its design team, but its relentless pursuit of something better. The goal was to achieve a crisp, yet soft feel as the result of a putter face that would create gentle (rather than aggressive) overspin on the ball at the point of impact. Inspired by the tread pattern on car tires, Toulon Design putters use what is referred to as a “Deep Diamond Mill” pattern. Within each diamond is a separate groove (or “eyelid,” as I refer to it), which minimizes the opportunity for your golf ball to climb up the putter face upon contact. The result being, to date, a reasonable, yet appropriate amount of forward roll immediately after impact.

My experience is that everything matches up almost perfectly. And rather than a ball coming hot off the face with an almost uncontrollable amount of forward roll, Toulon Design putters (and in my case, the San Diego) produce roll that allows for consistency, especially from beyond 20 feet.

Performance on the Green

It is certainly 9-plus out of 10 for me. The technology, coupled with the classic look and attention to detail, which is evident, make the San Diego an easy putter to love. What makes it easy to use is the feedback it provides by eliminating much of the confusion (that I’ve had with other putters) when hitting putts expecting a certain result and not getting it. The by-product of which is not being able to harmonize the feel and sound in order to gain consistency. In short, I have yet to feel as if I needed to guess with this putter. No, I do not make everything, but I actually feel like I have a very good chance on almost every putt I hit because I am confident that my stroke will match with the speed and distance I need to hit any given putt. And this is especially true from inside 10 feet.

Overall, the San Diego is worth every penny and Toulon Design is committed to making putters for golfers and golf enthusiasts that will make a difference in your game. There’s no question its an investment, but one you won’t regret.

I have yet to take advantage of the adjustable weighted sole plates (I absolutely plan on it), but in the near future (May 2016) you will be able to purchase from Toulon’s Garage the 7-gram aluminum plate, 20-gram stainless steel plate and 40-gram tungsten plate, as they are interchangeable in every Toulon Design putter. In doing so, you will easily be able to vary the putter head weight from 352 grams to 365 grams to 385 grams.

Toulon_Sole_weights

Don’t overlook Toulon Design when looking for a new putter in 2016, and with five models to choose from there’s probably one for you.

To learn more about the company and its products, visit toulondesign.com. 

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW14
  • LOL1
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP5
  • OB2
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending